Caribbean Princess Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Excellent
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.1
from 61 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

61 User Reviews of Caribbean Princess Cruise Ship

Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: November 13, 2004

7 day Eastern Caribbean-San Juan, St. Thomas, St. Maarten Room: P303

I had always wanted to try one of the bigger ships, and I'm so glad I finally did. It took several days before the ship map was left in the room. This was also a first for Anytime Dining which is a great addition.

Pre-Cruise Stay: Marriott Beach Place Towers. This is a great beach location not far from Las Olas Blvd. The resort is located in the BeachPlace Mall so there are several shops and restaurants located in the area. The pool is located on the 7th floor. The morning of the cruise we took a walk along the beach before checking out.

Embarkation: Since the hotel had a 10:00 check out, we were at the terminal by 10:30. Passengers were still debarking when we arrived. Check in started around 11:30. I did like the way check in was done by which deck you were on with each deck having two lines with one being for passengers who completed the express check in process. A surprise was waiting on check-in, an upgrade from an inside to an outside cabin. So we

were on board and off to a great start shortly after noon.

Accommodations: This cabin is located behind the Fine Arts Gallery so there was virtually no noise in the hallways. I especially liked the layout of the closet and shelf storage areas. There seemed to be more than enough spaces to put things.

Movies under the Stars: Found this to be one of our favorite areas. This was nice during the day to set and watch movies while enjoying the sun. The movies in the evening were recent films (Spiderman II and I Robot) and that's when they put blankets on the lounge chairs and served popcorn. Other evening treats were the Wizard of Oz, Monday night football, and different live concerts.

Food: Since we chose anytime dining, the Coral and Palm Dining Room were our picks for dinner. The Coral Dining Room was used for breakfast and lunch, which we used several times to try to cut down on the amount of food we were consuming. Since we had early port tours, we used room service for breakfast those mornings. There were also two buffets, which came in handy during the day and in the evening if we found ourselves staying too late at Movies under the Stars. There were several theme buffets (Seafood, Bavarian, Creole, and Oriental). Then you had the normal hamburger grill and pizza. So you always had several things to select from. We found the food presentation and quality to be very good. We just didn't seem to remember to try the alternative restaurants but heard great things about Sterling Steakhouse and the Italian Sabatini.

Entertainment: The comedians are always our favorite and we enjoyed having several of them. The other favorite was Kimika, which was husband/wife comedy/musical act. We missed the production numbers because of other entertainment in the lounges. Club Fusion had different theme musical nights (70's, country, Karaoke, 50's, and Pop) mixing trivia with these themes. Again, you had several different types of entertainment to pick from every evening.

Ports: San Juan was the substitution for Princess Cays. You could leave the ship at 4pm and had to be back on board by 10:30pm. Originally, we had decided to stay on ship but changed our minds and walked thru downtown and did some shopping. This was a nice break in the cruise since we had some rough seas getting to San Juan.

In St. Thomas we took the Trunk Bay Beach and Snorkel. Unfortunately, the ocean was so rough it made for some poor snorkeling. The snorkel probably should have been cancelled. We spent most of the time setting on the beach watching the children bodysurf. Still a very beautiful beach and a nice morning excursion. Not being real big shoppers we just walked around the areas outside the cruise terminal. This was sufficient for us with several of the jewelers having satellite shops here and plenty of the souvenir type things.

We had snorkeled in St. Maarten our last trip so we opted for the Under Two Flags Island Tour. This gave us an opportunity to see both the Dutch and French side of the Island. The shopping areas close to the ship are under construction. With six other ships in port this was an extremely busy area. Again, not being big shoppers we grabbed the normal souvenirs and went back to the ship.

Overall Cruise Experience: Definitely our best cruise yet and so glad we picked one of the larger ships they have a lot to offer. Princess limits the amount of teenagers, which seems to have eliminated problems around the pools and hot tubs, that we've seen on past cruises. We found the staff to be friendly and extremely helpful. Everyday there were new and different things to do and even if you just wanted to lounge around the pool there were several areas to choice from.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: October 16, 2004

Embarkation: we arrived at 2:45, so we went through very quickly.

Cabin: Inside, was quite adequate, lots of closet space, comfortable queen bed and refregerator, good reception on TV.

Entertainment: Fabulous, lots to do day and night. We had to eat early so we did not miss any shows. (shows ran from 7 pm to l2 midnight). Dancing: GREAT, we dance a lot and there was always venues to dance. We did not go to the skywalkers since it was a younger coud with "headbanger" music, not suitable for ballroom dancing.

Food: Very disappointing since other pricess ships were better. The buffet food was cold, and looked like a mess of leftovers. We usually ate in the dining room. The food was inconsistent. The chicken kiev and lobster tails were wonderful, however, the filet was ordered medium and arrived bloody red, when sent back another filet was delivered very well done, so much it was tough. The same thing happened when I ordered prime rib one evening. They never offered cavier or baked alaska, cherries jubilee or creme bruule', as they had on other cruises. Breakfast was the ordinary fare. Lunch was horrible in

the dining room and buffet. The selections were lots of casserole type dishes. They served the same rolls every night. On other cruise lines, the bread and rolls were varied every evening to coordinate with each evening. This was very disappointing. They offered too many unconventional foods like rabbit, duck, pheasant, liver, sweetbreads and buffalo. I would have preferred some more conventional foods to choose from.

Service: Our cabin stewart was fine, there was a bit of language problem, he did not understand when I tried to explain I wanted more shampoo and less conditioner. Also, the pillow were very hard and I wanted softer ones.

The waiters and busboys were very rude, and acted as if they were doing us a favor by serving us. They were disappointed when we told them we did not drink except for water. They forgot items, got the orders mixed up and some waiters had a language problem, undserstanding each other. I asked for extra vegetables one night and the waiter did not understand me. Some evenings the food was long in arriving. We wanted personal choice dining. We had to call the concerige and make reservations ahead of time. (times were 6 and 8:30) This is not personal choice dining, this is the same as lst and 2nd seating.

Boutiques: The usual fare, chains by the inch, t-shirts, magnets, perfume and hats. Nothing too exciting.

Overall: the ship was beautiful, clean and the entertainment and activities onboard were wonderful. It's a shame the food and service did not match up.

Ports: Been done, did that, we stayed on board except for St Maarten. We were not told that Island was renovatiing. You had to walk on lumpy sand, with pipes, bricks and garbage everywhere!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: October 16, 2004

Let me tell you a few things about our wonderful week on the Caribbean Princess from 10/16-23 in the hope that they may make your next cruise better or bring back some good memories of your own. Since so many reviews have been written, I will steer clear of an exhaustive review, but will give you our impressions based on our unique experience. First and foremost, I have never had a bad cruise, and certainly this was a great one. I greet each cruise with much anticipation and my expectations are always exceeded. For me, the best part of the cruise experience is not the ship or the food or the entertainment, but the people. The camaraderie and espirit on a ship is simply wonderful.

With that, here are our thoughts:

OUR GROUP: Bob and Kathy (40s) and Judy (MIL), all from suburban Indianapolis. We are all veteran cruisers of Princess, Celebrity, RCI and Carnival. We are pretty typical midwesterners--we appreciate good service but are low maintenance; we like good food, but are not gourmets; we like to be entertained, but have two left feet when it comes to dancing; we dabble

in games of chance on board, and occasionally would like to win.

EMBARKATION: Nonstop Indy to FLL morning of cruise and in line by 11 a.m. We had filled all forms out online. CSR passed out form asking us to sign and confirm that we did not have flu-like symptoms (form was more descriptive!). We heard later that if you indicated yes, you could be quarantined to your room. The doors finally opened at noon. Even though there were probably 800-1000 in line by that time, things moved very quickly. Once the doors opened, we were onboard in 15 minutes.

CABIN: We were in Aloha 740 and 744. These are inside aft, Cat. JJ. This was a "bonus" vacation for us. The fall rates were so low that we decided to cruise on the cheap. With credits and discounts, we were able to cruise for $50 a day. Of course, the MIL paid more for a single, but still very good. We chose this cabin because we had been in this location on the Grand last year and really liked being able to walk out the back door to the aft pool. Guess what? When Princess inserted the Riviera Deck between Aloha and Lido on the Caribbean Princess, that eliminated the backdoor on Aloha. As a result, we had to double back and go up the stairs to go out the back. No big deal. As for the cabin, it was identical to Grand and Golden insides except that the closet/bath area had been redesigned and was a bit more functional. Of course, everything was in great shape. We especially appreciate the refrigerator and safe. We brought a few drinks of our own and added to our stash during the week. We met Ruben, our steward, and requested fresh fruit and robes, which were quickly brought. One note...two essentials are an alarm clock and an extension cord. The only clock in the room is on the phone, which is on the desk. While it is great to sleep in, if you have an inside cabin, you have no idea what time it is with no natural light. the extension is needed because there are few outlets, especially in the bath.

POOLS: The Personal Choice concept applies to the pools more than anywhere else. There are four pools/areas, each of which takes on its own personality. All have hot tubs adjacent and bars close by. The forward spa pool has a very "resort" feel, with marble and stone figurines and fountains, tiered wooden benches and a very quiet sedate tone. This pool also is accessible from the spa and gym. No kids...very upscale. The party pool has the ubiquitous pool band (Cruze Control in our case), pool games and two levels of lounge chairs. This is where we spent most of our days. (Tip: when you are cruising, watch along the bow of the ship for flying fish to skirt along the water.) We are not huge party people, but found lots of great people on the upper deck and kept coming back every day. The service also was absolutely great. We did not find any drop off because of the automatic gratuity. MIL had a drink sticker and had no problem at all with it either. (Bar tip: Dos Equis and Beck's were $12.60 for a bucket of 5....cheaper than at my local bar.)

The MUTS pool showed movies all day and night. In the morning, there were cartoons, then older movies during the day and first run features at night (more later). This was very nice for those seeking an alternative. The only problem I noted was the volume level. The MUTS pool is adjacent to Horizon Court, i.e. many outside tables are located there. If you like to enjoy breakfast outdoors around the pool, you must endure the decibel-drilling shrill of cartoon laughter. Not a complaint, as there are other places to eat, but Princess may want to consider turning down the volume or having a quiet time until 10 or 11 a.m. (at some times, they ran a volume-free video of deep sea diving or other nature film....very engaging without the noise).

Finally, the Aft pool presents a very peaceful alternative, especially for those wanting to avoid the sun. Since this pool is located under the "shopping cart handle" aka Skywalkers, there is usually shade. If you want a nap, I guarantee this is the place. It is mesmerizing to sit aft and watch the wake of the ship....you will be asleep in 6 minutes or less!

DINING: We usually do PC, but elected for the late seating this time because of the increased pax load. We really enjoyed it. This is not a knock on PC, which we still appreciate, but there is something very nice about getting to know your tablemates and waitstaff over the course of the cruise. We will probably do fixed seating again for this reason. We also enjoyed late seating because it gave us a chance to see an early show, have a nice dinner and then see a later show. As well, we were never rushed to get ready for dinner and could enjoy sunsets. That was a very nice pace. As for cuisine, we found the food to be very well done. We always found many good choices, our selections were well prepared and the service was impeccable. On several occasions, I ordered an additional entree to share. The portions are small enough so that this is possible and encouraged. Highlights? That is a matter of personal taste, but the fettucine is excellent, and we usually ordered that as a side to split. The Beef Wellington and lobster were wonderful. Desserts were very good, although the selection seemed to be a bit more limited than on prior cruises. As far as the MIL is concerned, as long as the Love Boat Dream is offered, everything else is irrelevant. We also had dining room lunch and did tea on a previous cruise...each of these should be done once if you have the chance.

Cafe Caribe is a wonderful addition. We did not fully understand the set-up until late in the week, but there is a completely different menu in here for lunch and dinner from Horizon Court. Especially for lunch, it is far superior. On one lunch occasion, the Mexican-themed lunch included fajitas, chili con carne with huge chunks of beef and garlic shrimp...outstanding. The nicest thing about Cafe Caribe is that it is a serving line....you pick up a plate and proceed in order through a line. The only problem is that the line is convex, so that you cannot see what is being offered. Princess could solve this (and save a lot of food) by posting the menu at the start. Otherwise, people tend to grab the first thing offered and then find other items down the line.

Finally, since I promised not to dwell on the negative, I will not talk about Horizon Court or the coffee! (Note to coffee drinkers: go to the lobby bar on 5 in the morning for complimentary real fresh-brewed coffee.) If you do go to Horizon for breakfast, bypass the lines and go to made-to-order omelet station on either side of the eggs. It takes a few minutes, but it well worth the wait. The pool grill and pizza parlor are both consistently good. (Note to Princess: Add some additional "ballpark" choices for poolside munching, e.g. popcorn, hot pretzels, nachos.)

Finally, we dined at Sterlings. While others raved, I found the cut of meat to be no better than in the dining room and the service not as attentive. Please note that others did not share this view. It was good for a change of pace, in any event.

ENTERTAINMENT: This was the highlight of the cruise. The selection of lounge acts was outstanding. In our case, Fernandez (a hypnotist), Scott Weyler (a comedian) and Bert Stratton (piano man) were tremendous. We did not miss a show. Each had us captivated. The quality of these entertainers amazed us and was far greater than we had seen on previous cruises. We had heard a lot about Bert on these boards and he certainly lived up to billing as a first-rate entertainer and very personable musician. See www.bertstratton.com. The others were new to us, but will certainly be making the circuit on other cruises. Because the entertainment is such a hit-and-miss thing, we hope that our experience is evident that Princess is raising the bar with the level of entertainment generally.

Three other notes in this regard. First, the International crew show should not be missed. This was begun to fill time when the ship had extra sea days during a recent hurricane. It features crew member performances a la Star Search. Great show. Second, the cruise staff was very good at encouraging passenger involvement. This is a fairly young staff (Graham is gone; James Lay is in charge), but they make up in enthusiasm what they lack in polish. Third, the production shows just don't cut it. We went to them. They were technically proficient, but wholly uninspired. I wonder if time has passed by the need for these. It just seems that Princess may be better off investing its entertainment budget in other directions...for instance, I would love to see a play on board or more individual entertainers. I should also mention here that Kathy and Judy were pleased to find nickel slots and gave them quite a workout in the casino before finally surrendering to the inevitable.

SPORTS: A somewhat off-topic note. The selection of TV channels is very limited. The treatment of sports fans is even more limited. Churchills, the former sports bar, is now a cigar bar. As a St. Louis Cardinals fan and NFL fan, I was disappointed to learn that I could not see the NLCS or NFL games on the cruise (Monday Night Football was shown, as was the ALCS). In talking with a crew member, he explained to me that this is a common complaint of passengers. Princess has a satellite, of course, but they choose not to buy the feed. Instead, they get ESPN International. As a result, you can watch Spanish soccer games till the cows come home, but little else. Princess does not understand Americans affection (affliction?) with our brand of football. Princess, get a clue. This is a moneymaker. Pax will go to Churchills and pay for drinks while watching football. On an even-more off-topic note, I am surprised that the TV system does not offer pay-per-view options like this. Since this ship is sailing exclusively in the Caribbean, the satellite coordinates would not be an issue. This could have been a revenue producer for Princess, just as it is for almost every hotel. For a new ship with a dedicated sailing path, Princess dropped the ball on this technology.

MUTS: Of course, you can't go on the Caribbean Princess and not have an opinion about Movies Under the Stars! I was really excited about this. In fact, it probably was the reason we booked. After going, I can say (1) I loved it at times; and (2) the presence or absence of MUTS will probably not impact future cruise decisions. In other words, it was nice, but not that nice. The highlight for me was watching the Monday Yankees/Red Sox game. There were probably about 500 or more pax packed into the area--there are three levels of seating plus the pool. We were in San Juan that night, next to the Celebrity Century (those people had cruise ship envy!). I also watched the Tina Turner concert one night. The picture is incredibly crisp and the sound is exceptional. Still, I am not sure Princess has figured this out completely yet. As noted, the noise in the morning is a real problem. I noted that people seemed to stay away, and I think this is a reason. As well, the movie selection was curious. During our cruise, the only "second run" films being shown were Shrek 2 and 13 Going on 30. The former was shown at least six times. By the end of cruise, I was thinking that immigration wasn't going to let us get off the ship unless we could recite the dialogue. In the morning, Finding Nemo was shown every day as far as I could tell. The afternoon movies were a hodgepodge of old dramas, etc. Old movies are great, but when I am sailing under a bright Caribbean sun, something more upbeat might be appropriate---Vacation, Caddyshack, Cool Runnings, Stripes, Home Alone, Mrs. Doubtfire, etc. Something where the plot doesn't matter, you can watch for ten minutes and move on if you choose. Also, a few hours of music videos would be great. These were shown only at dusk. Let's just say that MUTS is great technically, but Princess still needs to work on the application.

OTHER ACTIVITIES: I could write a book about everything we intended to do, but did not. Scholarship at Sea included Ceramics by the pool, computer classes, wine tastings, etc., but we never got off our b..ts! Our tablemates went to the art auctions and were very pleased with their purchases, as well as the way things were run. We did the galley tour before and wished we had again. Karaoke was high on the to-do the list, as was Princess Idol, the passenger makeover show, bingo, trivia and Skywalkers. We did do an open booking for a future cruise...a no brainer.

INTERNET: As a dedicated surfer, the new facilities were a welcome change. Unfortunately, the satellite was down for most of our cruise. Still, the facility is top notch. The 35-cent rate is reasonable. The staff was helpful when a billing adjustment was required. (Wow, the purser's desk was helpful!) The speed is slow, but this was a nice improvement.

GYM: Wow. 20 treadmills looking out over the bow from 16 stories high. If that doesn't inspire you, nothing will. Each unit also has a flat screen TV monitor (wireless headphones upon request). There also are stairclimbers, rowing machines, weights and a bunch of other stuff that I don't know how to use! There was never a wait. Lots of free classes too.

PORTS: Everyone has different ideas about what to do, so let me offer what we found helpful. First, San Juan was substituted for Princess Cays, and was a 4 to 11 p.m. call. We had low expectations, and they were met. Old Town is gradually being cleaned up, but there is not much to do on your own after dark (and before 10) here. If you have this itinerary, you can walk to Old Town, look at the craftsmen, grab some free rum drinks and return to the ship for dinner. In St. Thomas, we took the ferry to St. John and ultimately to Cruz Bay. This is paradise. Do this on your own. It is cheap, easy and safe, and you can take your time. St. Maarten is undergoing restoration downtown. Don't let the construction throw you. Take the water taxi and enjoy a nice walk through the shops....even I enjoyed it. Of course, I especially enjoyed it because there are vendors selling $1 Heinekens about every block. That makes the shopping experience quite enjoyable!

DEBARKATION: Easy and quick. We had a night flight out of FLL, so we waited to disembark, but were called by 9:30. No problems.

POST-CRUISE: If you spend the day in FLL, I recommend dropping your luggage at the Marriott Marina (or renting a car) and taking the water taxi to Las Olas. The water taxi is like a tour boat ($5 RT) and takes you past some beautiful homes on the Intercostal waterway. You can get off at Stop 12 or 18 for restaurants and shopping. This is a great way to spend the day if you have a later flight.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: October 2, 2004

Embarkation gets an A+. Easiest yet. Arrived at the port about 11:30, doors opened at 12 and was enjoying the ship by 1:15 or so. Luggage arrived quickly and everything anyone checked was delivered with no problems. Liquor packed in luggage arrived safely. Didn't attempt to put it in carry-ons but heard that worked, too.

Ship: A+ Fantastic ship. Loved the fact that there were Adult Only pools. YES! So much to do while on board we just couldn't do it all.

Cabin: A We splurged and got a balcony. Don't know that I'll be able to cruise without one now. We were on Riviera Deck so ours was completely covered. It was smaller than some of those below but they were partially exposed so I think it's a trade off. Closet space was amazing and luggage all fit under the bed so the entire cabin useable. Air temp seemed to work fine although in port the first day we were worried. Refrigerator is a cooler NOT a refrigerator. It will keep something cool but not cold. We tried leaving the door open to improve circulation but nothing worked.

Food: C (and that's

generous) We had read the food was diappointing and, unfortunately, that was the case. Buffet food was cold and blah. Same thing reworked day after day. First cruise I've been on where I wasn't even half tempted by the buffet offerings. Dining room food was pretty much the same (perhaps a bit better) and at least hot. Service is non-existent in buffet area. No one pouring your drinking for you here. It's pretty much self-service. Those who ate in the specialty restaurants said the food was wonderful. Maybe that's the ploy - you're so desperate for the food you expected you'll pay extra?? We opted for pizza one day (fair) and hamburgers another just for variety. Hope this improves because we loved the ship but won't sail her again if food doesn't improve.

On Board entertainment: James, the cruise director and his assistant, Lisa get A+. They did a great job with everything. We enjoyed the lounge entertainment - especially the pianist. Didn't take in the shows so can't comment on those.

Excursions: St. Thomas: Too independent island tour - $20 - B Guide wasn't too helpful or informative

Had him drop us off at Coki Beach. Had read that cruise ships book Discover Scuba at 8:30 and 1:30 so we booked independently at 11. Had the place and the instructor to ourselves and saved $30 each. Highly recommend Coki Beach Dive Club and the Discover Scuba experience.

St. Maarten Rented a jeep (somewhat of a hassle) and drove to Simpson Bay for the 3-hour Jet Ski tour and snorkel. Again book independently, saved $25 on the Internet and had a private tour. Snorkeling was disapppointing but we loved the jet ski ride. Once he saw we could handle the jet skis, he turned us loose. It was fantastic. Gave us different perspective of the island and we saw things (like Marlon Brando, Robert Redford and Sly Stallone's homes) that no one else saw. Jeeped to Marigot but missed Orient Beach. Maybe next time. Rated the jet ski experience A but the snorkeling C.

Nassau: C Skip the town unless you just want to be able to say "been there, done that" . Head over the Atlantis! Water taxis are only about $3 and it doesn't cost anything to look around Atlantis. Don't miss the aquarium.

All-in-all this was a great cruise. Food was secondary to the ship and the ports of call so it didn't matter that much to us. If good food is priority for you, this is NOT your ship!

Happy sailing!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: September 18, 2004

First Cruise

Dodging hurricanes in Florida, we managed to board the Caribbean Priness as scheduled at Port Everglades. The internery changed from eastern to western due to hurricane jeanne, but that did not bother us as this was our first visit to the region anyway. When jeanne turned west later in the week, we got 2 extra days at sea.

The boarding and unboarding process was quick and painless.

The ship is beautiful. We had a balcony cabin on the Aloha deck, and it was great. Having a balcony was well worth the extra money. We could look down directly on the balonies on C and D deck, which was probably somewhat annoying to those folks.

The service on the ship was outstanding in every regard.

The buffet food was pretty good for a buffet. The dining room dinners were excellent.

The Movies Under the Stars outdoor cinema was lots of fun. I was even able to watch Monday Night Football on it.

To be sure, there were lots of people on the ship, but we never felt crowded, and we were always able to do whatever we wanted.

The only bad part

of the cruise was when we were unable to return to port as scheduled. There are only 6 ship-to-shore phone lines, and 3000 people tried to use them all at the same time to change their travel arrangements.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: September 18, 2004

What can I say. It was a tremendous cruise from start to finish. There seems to be some grumbling going around about our cruise and the next one. I think this is very natural because of the abrupt changes that everyone had to endure. After all they changed our intinerary from East to West and mid-cruise cut out Nassau as our 3rd stop and then added 2 days that thru a lot of people into a frenzy quite naturally as plans had to be changed in less than optimal conditions. We were lucky as we had plans to stay in Fla for the week after so the changes for us were great as we a nine day glorious cruise. So here goes:

Embarkation: Stayed per-cruise one night at Wyndham A/P ($50/Priceline) which was very nice and after 5/10 min cab arrived @11:20 and got on line. 11:35 doors opened and line started to move. We were in cabin @12:05. Very very smooth. Only line was for security.

Room: Dolphin mini suite. Incredible cabin. So much space and big balcony with 2 reclining chairs with cushions, 2 regular chairs, a table and a

small table/drink stand. The bathroom was great size with tub and shower. The extra area in the cabin had a very big couch, a comfortable chair, extra TV, and extra counter space under the TV. The mini-suite is a must if you can spend the extra bucks. Even it you can't afford it, it's worth it.

The Ship: It's gorgeous. Very elegant. We thought the 2 main decks (6 and 7) were pretty hard to negotiate and are set up strangely but we figured it out after a while.

Dining: Our 1st foray into PC dining and did not know what to expect. We loved it to death. The 1st 2 nights we sat with other people and met some really nice people of all ages (we are 40ish). When we asked to sit alone we were sat right away with no wait. There were always plenty of open tables for 2 on each night which was great in the Palm. We thought the food was excellent and the service the same and we never had the same waiter. My wife is a chef, so she knows a little about food and agreed with me that almost everything tasted great. A couple misses here or there, but you are gonna get that anywhere.

Ports: Again, all plans went south with the Hurricane, but that's the risk you take. No big deal. In Cozumel we went to the new Paradise Beach which would have been fine except it poured for an hour so we went back to pier which of course was dry as a bone. In 9 days we figured it rained during the day for approx 2-3 hours which it pretty incredible but we know they know how to get you away from it if they can. We were not looking forward to Ocho Rios. We went to the new shopping/beach area right off the pier and had a blast. Margaritaville was great. Small but nice beach. Swim up bar in their pool which had a big slide in it and plenty of tables for lunch. Lots of people from the ship went here and the partying was plentiful.

Pools: Pools are plentiful and well spaced out. We never once had a problem getting a lounger and went to the pool each day. I laughed more than once thinking about the hysteria on the board way back when about the worry of the space ratios etc.

Nightlife: We thought it was a pretty quiet ship at night compared to our Carnival cruises (what a shock). The lounges were very nice we thought. The entertainment was very lame though. 2 shows pretty much sucked (Caliente was so bad). They had a crew talent show which we think might have been added on the next to last night that was absolutely hysterical. Club Fusion is great and they have many diverse things going on here each night. It's truly a multi-purpose joint. After 12 the only real place to go is Skywalkers. We think they should keep Club Fusion open really late so there is a choice but it closes after the last event, so Skywalkers it is. We went there almost every night and had a great time. Nice waiters who you get to know and the service is great. We met some great people up there too.

I know I forgot lots of stuff so ask away. I got a lot of help from this board and I'd like to give some back. After a week or so I plan to disappear from this board and try to get a life back. It was fun while it lasted. I think all the not so great reviews have to taken with a grain of salt. There were many people in a grumpy mood because of all the changes. Most had a great time and I know you will too. __________________ Fig Caribbean Princess 9/18

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: August 21, 2004

CRUISE LINE SHUTTE SERVICE FROM AIRPORT This is a wonderful service, cost was $20 per person to/from ship. Highly recommend using this service. All we had to do was go to baggage claim and there was a person there holding "Princess Cruises" sign. We picked up our luggage from the carousel, stood to the side, followed the person guiding us to the shuttle, but our luggage by the bus, it was loaded by the driver, get on the bus and enjoy the 10 minute ride to the ship. When we arrived at the ship, the bus driver unloaded our luggage, and we got in line to embark.

EMBARKATION Embarkation was very and easy and ran very smoothly. When we first arrived, everything was "overwhelming," huge ship and very long line. But the line moved very fast, I would say we were only outside in line for about 15 -20 minutes, and being out of the sun, made it very enjoyable. We entered a large warehouse type setting, and check in was so easy. You went to the line that had your "Deck Name," and we were checked in within 5

- 10 minutes, (ensure you take care of all your boarding & immigration information on the "Princess Cruises" website, it makes everything so much easier). After receiving our passenger cards, we went to the security area, put our carry on items on the conveyer belt and go through security screener (just like when you go to the airport), went up stairs and onto the ship.

THE SHIP The ship was beautiful, very big and overwhelming at first sight. However, we all enter through the same location, making it very crowded and elevators overloaded, because everyone was trying to get on the same elevators. Some of the crew directing passengers to their quarters were rude, but the majority were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. Everything was new, shiny and clean. There are 17 decks on this ship, so be prepared to do a lot of walking if you can't get on an elevator, which sometimes was hard to do. We stayed on the Caribe Deck (deck 10) which was perfect.

THE ROOM This cruise we stayed in an interior room - C517 (Caribe deck). The room was very nice, your standard room, but we had more moving room on this ship than the other 2 cruises we went on. The room was laid out so much better, every space was utilized in a wonderful way. We chose to have two twin beds, which gave each of us a night stand which had plenty of drawer space, and there was more drawer space in the dressing table. There was plenty of closet space (which we were able to store our two large suitcases) and space in the closet area where the safe was. We felt we had more than enough room for the two of us. Our room steward was fantastic, and kept us updated on daily events and always making sure we had everything we needed or wanted. The only complaint we had, was that children and some young adults, would run up and down the hallways, but it wasn't that big a deal, we never heard any other noises. It was very peaceful.

THE FOOD We were not very impressed with the hot breakfast or lunch buffet food in the Horizon dinning room. The food that should have been hot, was maybe room temperature. We felt there were a lot of choices, but sometimes there were items that did not appeal to our taste, but we did not starve, we always found something to eat. The way the food was set up was a little confusing, and people were all over the place cutting in and out of people, which made it very congested at times. The ice in big plastic container with a spoon, was uncalled for, don't understand the logic in that. We chose to have the "Traditional" dining, and we were told by our travel agent, and I saw it, that we were "Confirmed," however, when we checked in we were told we were "Not Confirmed," and would have to speak with the Head Waiter, which we did, and the next day after returning from the Private Island, we had a confirmation table. We sat with some very nice people who we enjoyed tremendously. The food in the "Island" dining room was very good, however, everyday, there were a few items on the menu that did not appeal to our tastes, and my husband will eat just about everything. We had a wonderful waiter for our table, Eduardo, he was funny, polite, very knowledgeable, and made our dining special every night. We did not eat at any of the specialty dining rooms (Sabatini's or Sterling Steakhouse), because they were always booked, we tried but could not get in. We have decided that the next time, we will make our reservation as soon as we get on the ship. There was no "Midnight Buffet," which we had on our other cruises.

THE PORTS Our first stop was Princess Cays, the private island. We got up early, ate breakfast, and took the first launch over. We had a really nice time, didn't do much, but hang out in the water and the sun, but we loved it. We only stayed a few hours and did a little shopping right there before taking the launch back to the ship.

Our next stop was Montego Bay, Jamaica, which were not even going to go and explore, but at the last minute we decided to take a morning excursion, "Taste of Jamaica and Bellfield Plantation (with lunch tour). We had breakfast before leaving the ship to go to the shopping area to catch our bus tour. Our first stop was the City Centre Plaza (shopping area), then off to the plantation. The tour of this over 300 year old plantation was very interesting, with a breathtaking view of the beautiful blue ocean. After the first portion of our tour, we had a traditional Jamaican lunch, which consisted of: Jerk Chicken and Jerk Pork, beans and rice, plantains, salad, fruit, and coffee or tea. The food was absolutely delicious, and the entertainment by the women tour guides was wonderful. After lunch, we were shown how the sugar cane was stripped and processed during that time. We then got back on our tour bus, and were let off at our pick up location, and did some more shopping. We are so glad that we decided to go into Montego Bay, we had a wonderful day.

Our third stop was Grand Cayman, British West Indies which we were the most excited about going to. We planned a morning excursion to the "Butterfly Farm and Nautilus Semi Sub." So we got up, had a good breakfast, as we knew we would be gone most of the day, took the first launch over, met up with the person taking us to the bus for our excursion, which by the way, we had to walk a very long distance to get too. We boarded our bus, without a tour guide, were dropped off at the "Butterfly Farm" and then our bus left, which I am glad that we did not leave our backpack on. We were a little disappointed by this tour. After completed our tour of the very small "Butterfly Farm," we boarded another bus, which dropped us off at the Nautilus part of the tour, must say we were not impressed by this tour either. After that tour, we again boarded the bus, and were dropped off at the same location that we picked it up from. We had to walk the rest of the way into Georgetown, and had very little time for shopping. The place was so crowded, as there were "four", yes I said "four" cruise ships in, which made everything very crowded. However, we did, however, find the "Harley Davidson" and Lladro shops (which we bought items from), and we picked up some tee-shirts at other shops along the way. We would have loved to have more time in Grand Cayman, but everyone had to be back in time for a 4:00 p.m. departure.

Our last stop was Cozumel, Mexico, which we had not been to since 1994 in the evening, so we didn't see much of anything. We did not plan any excursions here, we just wanted to shop and enjoy the sights, which we did. When we got off the ship, we immediately noticed how beautiful it was there and that the pier we were on was not the one we got off at in 1994, it was a new pier. We did have to walk quite a ways to take a taxi ($6.00 each way) to the "Forum" shopping area. We then noticed that the shops were very familiar to us, and we knew that we had been in these shops before, so we asked one of the employees if there was another pier that the cruise ships use to come to and he said yes, the one across the street. Cozumel has really prospered, and is so beautiful. We had a wonderful time.

We had a wonderful time in all our ports.

ENTERTAINMENT All the shows we attended were fantastic and beautiful, we always got there about 30 minutes before the show was to start, as it got crowded very quickly. I, however, did not enjoy a few of the comedians, I felt they were a little "Raw" for my taste, however, my husband liked them. I prefer the singing and dancing shows. My favorite show was "Kimba," they are so talented. The cruise director, Graham Syemour, was fantastic and so funny. We always saw his morning show.

BOUTIQUE SHOPPING The boutiques were very nice, and had a lot of merchandise. The fine jewelry store was beautiful. I especially loved the "Fire Opal," and was tempted to purchase one, but didn't. I also so another wonderful stone, "Parieba Topaz," which I also, did not purchase. Maybe the next Princess Cruise. We felt the boutique prices were very reasonable. We did find some very nice items to purchase in the boutiques, and the "Inch of Gold" deals were fantastic. We purchase a really nice chain for my husband, and some very nice "Amber" jewelry for our daughter and myself.

TIPPING The $10 per person per day tipping system is wonderful. You do not have to worry about making up your tipping envelopes and ensuring each person receives them. We especially like the idea that if you wish to give extra to a particular employee, you can, and as we did to our waiter "Eduardo" and room steward.

EXTRA INFORMATION When we cruised with Norwegian and Royal Caribbean, the ice cream and cokes were free, not the case on the Princess cruise, which was very disappointing. We did not purchase the $20 soda sticker, and every time you got a soda from the bar, there was a 15% gratuity fee. We recommend bringing your own coke with you, if you can. Unfortunately, when you're flying in, that is difficult to do. We decided that if when we cruise again and have to fly in, we will go down the evening before and get our soda and water to take to the ship. We did not care for any of the pictures that were taken of us. It was like "Cattle Call," just hurry up, stand still or face this way and "Click." You could make an appointment and have pictures done, but it was always busy.

DISEMBARKATION This went very well. On Thursday evening, you receive a package with all your luggage tags, custom forms, and any other information required. The luggage tags are based on your flight times. You are requested to have your luggage outside your door on Friday evening beginning at 5:00 p.m., but we put ours out around 8:30 p.m. after returning from dinner. We chose to begin our luggage packing Friday morning, as we were at sea all day, and just kept out our dinner clothes, pajamas, toiletries and clothing for the next day. This worked out wonderful, because all we had to do after dinner on Friday evening, was come back to the room, change, and put our luggage outside our door. Disembarkation begins Saturday morning approximately 8:30 a.m., everyone goes to a location and waits to hear their luggage tag color called. We had to show our room key as we were leaving the ship, and go to the same warehouse where we checked in, locate our luggage, which can be very tedious, (I suggest putting something on your luggage that will make it stand out), we had to turn in our customs papers before we left the building with our luggage. We then took our luggage to the shuttle, it was loaded by the driver and off we went to the airport.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE We had a wonderful time, so glad we went on this much needed trip. We had an amazing time, and can't wait to go again. We would travel on Princess Cruises and this ship again, and I think we would do more on the ship the next time, but relaxing and doing the ports was so much fun.

Thanks Princess

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: July 17, 2004

This was my 25th cruise, 1st on this cruiseline. Here is a quick overview of my observations:

Pros:

1. This is a beautiful ship and towers over all others at every port. 2. Our cabin stewart was excellent, always watching out for us especially when the pool towel supply ran low at the end of the cruise. 3. The spa was beautiful and my massage was excellent. 4. Embarkation, tendering and debarkation were the best ever. 5. Coin operated laundry facilities were excellent.

Cons:

1. Bar service was the worst ever. Bartenders visited amongst themselves, restocked shelves, washed glasses or just about anything possible to avoid having to wait on customers. Bar waiters were impersonal and hard to find. Immediately, you get the feel that these people hate their jobs and would rather be anywhere but on this ship. Do not expect to be greeted or acknowledged by the waitstaff. Staff appears to be overworked, angry and stressed.

(examples: when I asked for a glass of iced water in the casino bar, I was handed and glass with ice and told to go get the water pitcher on the bar and pour myself a

glass....all the while the bartender is visiting with a bar waiter and joking amongst themselves; while watching the final edition of Princess Idol in Club Fusion, all of the bartender were in the back of the bar, cleaning and restocking, etc. and no one was available to take orders?)

2. Pool deck layout of lounge chairs. Six chairs are layed arm rest to armrest across the deck..with a single aisle for servers near the railing that overlooks the pool. The rows of chairs are positioned so close together that it is difficult at best to get to the sixth chair...and the wait staff doesn't even try to manuever that area. Which means chairs number 4-6 don't get very good service - and the wait staff doesn't really care anyway. (Most cruise lines divide the chairs with a center aisle for waitstaff so they can accomodate all passengers and are at most 3 lounge chairs away from each guest)

3. Club Fusion - here the waitstaff has brought slow service to a whole new level. 3 Bartenders, 2 barwaiters and aproximately 30 passengers and it takes 25 minutes for 2 drinks? Also, they begin closing down the bar at 12:30am while the DJ plays until 1am. So order before midnight if you want a drink during the last hour of music.

4. Personal choice dining: the wait staff and management are totally overwhelmed by this concept. Arriving at a time other than main or late seating times, totally screws up the wait staff. Everynight we made reservations for dinner at whatever time they said they had availability and each night we still waited sometimes 30 minutes for a table. Several nights we waited 20 minutes at the table for water and menus. Twice the waiter took our orders and skipped one of our orders...we would chase him down and get his attention!

5. Pre-ordering champagne for a newly engaged couple...mistake there...they handed the couple the bill for the champange, instead of the passenger that ordered the champagne.

6. Caribe Cafe Bar - closes at 10pm; however, because maintenance begins at 9pm and they hose down the entire area (Aft Deck 15-17) with a garden hose in the wind - most people run away to avoid the inevitable shower!

7. Movies Under the Stars: great concept if you could hear the dialogue. Either the sound guys an idiot of the winds carry dialogue away - but all we heard clearly was background sounds. Oh yeah, and call early to reserve your seat - because it sells out quickly.

8. Late night dancing: if you intend on dancing after 11:30pm to something other than hip/hop, remix, or techno, pick another ship.

9. Maintenance: our balcony walls had lots of paint splatters on them.

10. Working ice dispensers in the Horizon and Caribe Cafes would be nice. The plastic bins with the spoon weren't very attractive.

11. Mattresses: $20 mattress on a $10 box springs

12. Dining room food: Both the Palm and Coral dining room food was mediocre. Certainly didn't meet my expectations.

13. Your "Coke" card won't work on Princess Cay. Very limited bar service too. Beware, drink service closes at 1:30 on Princess Cay, while the last tender runs at 3:00?

14. Horrible Caribbean one man band on Princess Cay. He sets up at the bar near the Volleyball Court, avoid this area!

15. Sewer Gas: This is a constant problem for this ship. From embarkation to debarkation the aroma is nauseating. Most notably during Movies Under the Stars, on pool deck and on balconies. GROSS!

16. The fitness center was state of the art, just not enough equipment for the number of passengers. Since the "Promenade" deck requires you use stairs to access a different deck if you want to walk or jog, most people move to the fitness center to use the treadmills.

17. No midnight buffets.

18. One deck party on Thursday night, which was at the Caribe Bar area deck 15. Too small to handle passengers.

I will not travel this ship again. I am booked on the Grand in December and pray I have a better experience than this.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: June 26, 2004

The ship was absolutely beautiful. The atrium is breathtaking and the art is worth taking the cruise to see. A note of warning, make sure to keep your map of the ship with you, because it is extremely difficult to find your way around the ship, even at the end of the cruise it's still confusing. There are many places you simply can't get to from other areas. Some rooms are elevator specific.

The entertainment was spectacular, especially the husband and wife team of Tamika, and also Scott Wyler the comedian, don't miss his act. Most people who saw his first show went to his other two shows. Each was original and hysterical. The Island Night Party was the highlight of the cruise. The bands were great, and nearly every person on the ship was there. The Cruise Director kept things moving and put on a great show. The production shows were good, not spectacular, but well worth seeing.

The food was very good. Some days the selection in the dining rooms was a little limited, but then there was always the buffet. We chose the anytime dining and had no trouble

getting seated at one of the two dining rooms available to us. The selection and quality of the dinner buffet exceeded any Las Vegas buffet I've been to. The food was never inferior to the dining rooms, but an additional choice for cruisers who prefer a more relaxed atmosphere.

Our Room Steward, Florin, was wonderful. I just can't say enough about him. Anyone who gets him will be lucky.

Our cabin was roomy and very comfotable. There was plenty of room to hang all our clothes, and lots of shelves for storage. All our luggage fit easily in the closet, which doubled as a changing area between the bathroom and the bedroom. We had a balcony room on the Caribe Deck - FYI - the balconies are larger on the Caribe Deck. We had two lawn chairs and two cushioned reclining chairs in addition to two small tables and still had plenty of room to walk around.

One of the only complaints we had was with Club Fusion. This was set up with huge columns all throughout the room which effectively block the view of the stage from just about everywhere. It is a "what were they thinking?" room. They have large screens around each column, but you need to see most of the action on the screens, and not in person. What the logic is, I don't know.

Embarkation and Debarkation went smoothly even though one of the loading ramps was not in operation for embarkation.

The pizza on the pool deck is definatly not to be missed! It was surprisingly good.

Movies under the Stars was such a great idea. We went to see Starsky and Hutch, which was a terrible movie, but we still enjoyed it. They supply popcorn and blankets. A really nice and relaxing night at sea.

I would recommend this ship to anyone. Even though the crew is only together for 2 months, they did an excellent job.

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: June 26, 2004

EMBARKATION: Arrived at the pier around 11:30AM, checked our luggage with the porter, took our carry-on and got in a line where about 500 people were already standing, and thought #*#*! The line however was well managed by Princess personnel and it moved right along. Within about 10 minutes we were inside and within a couple more minutes we were registering. Registration was fast and simple. We proceeded to security, had our bags checked and our pictures added to our ID cards. We then went up the escalator, had our welcome aboard pictures taken and proceeded onto the ship. Since we had already been on the Golden Princess and the layout is the same we knew exactly where to find our room. We unpacked our carry-on, went up to the Horizon Court and had some lunch. We then proceeded to Sabatini's to make a reservation there. You must go directly to the restaurant on that first day if you want to make a reservation there. They start taking reservations at 1 PM so we got there just before then and there were only 3 people ahead of us. We then toured

the ship and ended up at the aft pool area, had a couple of drinks and watched the ship leave Port Everglades.

SHIP AND CABIN: The Caribbean Princess like the Grand and the Golden is a very large and very beautiful ship, the only differences being the extra deck of cabins which led to alot of overcrowding during the cruise, the Caribe Cafe which is a very nice touch, and helped relieve some of the main dining room overcrowding. Club Fusion is now replacing the Vista Lounge. It is debatable whether this was a workable alternative as there are many areas in the Club where you do not have a clear view of, or your back to the stage. It also attracts many teenagers who have nowhere else to go. It would be to Princess's advantage to turn Skywalkers Lounge over to the teen crowd during the summer months, as with all the activities in Club Confusion (name used by people while on the ship), it doesn't get much adult business in the evening. That would relieve some of the confusion and overcrowding in Club Fusion.

We had been upgraded from an inside cabin to a Caribe deck balcony. The room was a little bit larger than an inside. The bathroom was the same size as on the Golden; however, nowhere near as large or laid out as well as the Carnival Glory where we had the biggest and the best bathroom we'd ever had. It could be our imagination but the shower seemed larger than on the Golden. There was plenty of closet and drawer space to store everything.

DINING: The maitre d' at the Palm Dining Room was very cordial and accommodating but I would not want his job for 3x the salary. At the end of his shift this poor guy must have to guzzle down a couple of double bourbons. How he keeps from losing it with some of the real pushy people is a real accomplishment. However, the Caribbean Princess needs to revamp their personal choice dining rules. We were told they will only give reservations at 5:30, 7 and 8:30PM. That being the case, they might as well go back to all traditional dining and add another seating. We did not get standing reservations as the only ones available were at 5:30PM. During the week we took our chances and went to eat at various times. The first Formal night we arrived at 8PM and found 35-40 people standing or sitting on the stairs waiting to be seated. In talking we found some of them had been waiting 15-40 minutes, depending on the size table they wanted. We asked for a table for two and immediately were challenged about a reservation. We told them we didn't have one and we were told it would be a few minutes. Fortunately, we only had to wait about 5 minutes and they seated us. After we got to our table and ordered, we looked around and saw a dozen or more tables that were all set up, but empty. There were probably many more but we could not see throughout the entire dining room and wondered why all these people were sitting outside when there were empty tables throughout the dining room. After we ate and were leaving the dining room we still noticed many empty tables and as we exited the restaurant there were still many people waiting and hoping to get in. Several nights later we arrived at the dining room about 6 PM and found the same situation with many people standing or sitting, waiting to be seated. When we requested a table for two and didn't have a reservation the maitre d' was cordial but seemed frazzled and just replied that he would see what he could do. He then asked if we would mind sitting at a table for eight, where there were four people who had just been seated. We said fine. Again as we were eating we noticed at least a dozen empty tables and again as we left people were still waiting outside. It appears that on embarkation day many people made standing reservations. However, it appeared that they only intended to show up 3-4 nights out of 7 (kind of like the chaise lounge hogs). This left the dining room full of empty tables and the lobby full of unfortunate people that had to wait to get a seat.

Princess needs to do away with reserved seating in PC dining rooms and go to the first come first served method. That is the way most of us are accustomed to eating at local restaurants where we live, either you get there early, or wait your turn. But to have 12 to 18 empty tables waiting for people who don't intend to show up and having 30 to 40 people standing in the lobby waiting to get in is completely unacceptable to everyone.

Now on the good side, the service in the dining room was excellent. The waiters and wait staff were excellent and did an outstanding job serving us and taking care of every detail. The food on Princess as always was of absolute perfection.

We ate breakfast and most lunches in the Horizon Court. They had a great selection of food and as always on Princess it was absolutely terrific. We ate dinner three nights in the Caribe Cafe because of the crowds in the dining room lobbies, and found the service and food there absolutely excellent. Although we prefer eating in the dining room for dinner, we found the Caribe to be less crowded and a lot less hassle. The food there is absolutely awesome.

ENTERTAINMENT: The entertainment was fabulous as usual. Previous reviews that we read stated that many people were unhappy with Let's Rock and Caribe Caliente performed by the Princess singers and dancers. However, we saw both of them and left scratching our heads wonde4ring why people were not impressed with them. They did a fantastic job and we strongly advise that you not to miss their shows. Although all of the performers were excellent the ones that stood out in our minds were Scott Wyler, James Michael and Kimika, as must see shows. The various bands and performers in the different lounges were all excellent and as good as we've ever seen on any ship.

LIDO DECK: The chaise hogs were up early and out in numbers, but we noticed that many people were getting just plain fed up with someone's sandals getting a nice tan for a few hours and were moving them and taking over their seats. On sea days the Lido Deck is just packed out around the two pools. The pools had so many people in them you were lucky if you could dangle your legs in the water. But with an extra 500+ cruisers on board you just have to put up with the overcrowding. One major thing that we saw that needs to be addressed and corrected immediately were people being allowed to sit on the edges of the pool drinking beer out of glass bottles. We saw this at least seven to eight times a day and this is an extremely dangerous situation to be allowed to continue. One thing that we looked forward to every day was the band Deep Blue, who played a wide variety of music out at the pool. What a great band! There was also a solo singer who sang to audio tapes. I don't remember his name, but he was very good and received alot of applause.

ST THOMAS: We had not been there in two years and things have really changed. Very few souvenir shops remain, as they've been replaced by many, many jewelry stores with people outside trying to strong arm you in (it's just like Cozumel now). But if gold and jewelry is your reason for going, then you will be in heaven except in our opinion we found better deals in St Martin. Taxi rates have gone up tremendously. We were going to go snorkeling at Coki Beach, which is about 1.5 miles further than the taxi ride into town, but it would have cost us $28 there and back. The ride into town is $6 round trip. Oh, well...it started raining just after we decided not to go, so that solved that dilemma. If you want a deal on sight-seeing tours I strongly recommend Godfrey's tours. He's excelent and is only half the price of the same tours booked onboard. You can find him at Godfrey@Godfreytoursvi.com or www.Godfreytoursvi.com.

ST MARTIN: This has changed in the last two years for the better. A new boardwalk (actually sidewalk) has been added along the beach which is now alot cleaner and nicer than we remembered. There are also new restaurants, bars and shops along the beach. The food is very good and reasonably priced. To my husband's delight, beer is only $1. We think that there are alot better deals than in St Thomas including liquor and jewelry. We did not have any problem with being hassled to purchase things like I have read on other reviews.

One thing I will add as far as shopping. I had never attended the "port and shopping talk" until this cruise. I was so glad I did. Cindy, the Princess Shopping Guru gave us all alot of great information about both ports and some inside information on certain shops. If you have never gone, thinking it a waste of time I would definitely try it if you are going to be purchasing any high dollar items such as camera, jewelry, etc.

In closing, it was a very nice cruise even with the excessive amount of cruisers which made for mass over-crowding. A cruise is what you decide to make of it, and we were not going to let a few irritations ruin ours. It was easier to work around them than to let them get under your skin. We hope that somehow they work out the problems in the dining room so it is not so stressful on the passengers. As for us we will not cruise the Caribbean Princess again due to the overcrowding, but do intend to cruise Princess again in the future as they are a great cruise line, a good value and one of our favorties.

 

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 41 - 50 of 61 234567