Carnival Legend Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Excellent
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.1
from 80 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

80 User Reviews of Carnival Legend Cruise Ship

Southern Caribbean
Publication Date: October 23, 2006

We just returned from an 8-day cruise on the Carnival Legend and it was FANTASTIC! The food in Truffles was world class. The food on the Lido deck was delicious and fresh. We had to use room service often and every time it was fast and fresh. As always, the ice cream was FREE! We had dinner at the Supper Club one night and it was absolutely unbelievable! As with the food in Truffles, we noticed the flavors rather than spices or sauces. The food was prepared expertly, even the salads.

The service was also spectacular. Our dinner team was John and Jose and we wanted to bring them home with us. They were genuinely nice guys and we felt fortunate to have met them. Our cabin attendants did a great job and their towel animal talents exceeded our expectations. We commented more than once that the crew on the Legend must be happy because they treated us well and addressed us cheerfully when we met in the passageways.

Our itinerary included St. Maarten, Barbados and Martinique. In St. Maarten we took the Island Tour that included both a bus and

a boat tour. Our guide, Stephanie, was knowledgeable and entertaining. She made the excursion fun and interesting. There was time for shopping in Marigot between the boat and bus trips. When we returned from the excursion, we had a very casual lunch on the beautiful beach and walked in the sand. What a wonderful experience!

Our second port of call was Barbados. This was more than a stop, it was an experience. We took the Coast to Coast tour and were not disappointed. Our tour guide and driver was Julian, a lifelong Barbadian. He was a lovely man who was eager to share his island and its beautiful history with us. He showed us Bathsheba beach and the Sleeping Giant and stopped twice to give us opportunities to take pictures of the spectacular scenery. By the end of the tour he even sang for us. If you have a choice, request Julian of Foster and Ince tours. You won't be sorry.

I think that we missed the point of Martinique. We were only there for a few hours and didn't even go into town. The island looked beautiful as we were sailing away but I can't say that we have any memories other than duty free port shopping there. As I said, I think we missed something wonderful here.

Back on the ship for two more days at sea we discovered that while some passengers have a limit on the number of days that they can be nice, the crew does not. The ship was still immaculate, the food was still remarkable and the cruise experience was still unmatched for us. We would recommend this cruise for anyone who is comfortable on a ship for 8 days. Our only complaint...avoid the casino if you are bothered by cigarette smoking.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: September 17, 2006

Although the ship left the Port of New York at 11:00pm instead of 4:00pm and was forced to change one port of call,Tortola due to a medical emergency from the previous sailing, Carnival made up for it by giving each guest a $20.00 ship credit,replacing Tortola with Grand Turk, which I must say was absolutely gorgeous!!

The cruise was wonderful..We had a cabin that was handicapped accessible,and very spacey with enough room to accomodate the scooter which I rented for the cruise.

Although I rented a scooter from an independant company,which I encounterd one problem with, Carnival fixed it for me at no charge which made the ports of call and the cruise in general,much more enjoyable to me.

From the moment I arrived at the pier,to the moment I got off the ship back in New York,their service,food,and overall care they showed us made us feel like celebrities!!

I have nothing but praises for Carnival,and look forward to our next cruise, and we will most definitely sail with Carnival again. Keep up the GOOD Work !! thanks for time we will never forget..

Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: June 29, 2006

Itinerary: New York, San Juan, St. Thomas, Tortola, New York

After changing our 2006 summer cruise plans several times for various reasons, we decided to cruise on our favorite Carnival ship, the Carnival Legend on an 8 day cruise from New York. This would be our third time aboard her, the second time on this itinerary. We were able to book a category 11 suite for the same price we had booked a junior suite on the Explorer of the Seas for a 5 day Bermuda cruise. Easy to see why we cancelled the Explorer. It was like getting 3 days free!!!! This was to be my 20th Carnival cruise, but the first one in which I was able to enjoy the platinum status perks. We have also cruised on Cunard, NCL, Premier, and Celebrity, but we seem to enjoy Carnival the best!!

For this cruise, we decided to make the 45 minute drive into New York and park at the pier. The Carnival Legend was the only ship in port this day, so traffic was not to bad at all. We arrived at 11:15 am, and after dropping off

our bags with the porters, we drove the car upstairs and paid the $180 fee for the 8 days. They now accept credit cards for payment. As we pulled into the pier 90 parking area, security asked us to stop and open all the doors so that a dog could sniff for explosives. We were told not to take any pictures or video from the parking deck, and warned not to loiter!! Pretty scary stuff!! We proceeded downstairs to the check in area, and since we were platinum members, we were directed to the chairs in the VIP check in area. After waiting only 5 minutes, check-in began, and we were among the first to board the ship. A completely painless embarkation!!

Even though Carnival says that your cabin won't be ready until 1:30, we went to ours to drop off our carry on bags, and ran into our room steward who said ours was all ready. Our category 11 suite was cabin # 6195 on Empress deck, mid ship, a good central location. This cabin was about 1 ½ times the size of a standard cabin, with loads of storage space, a good size balcony, whirlpool tub, separate dressing area, & VCR. We absolutely loved the Carnival Comfort bedding on our king size bed, and we will be ordering a set for home very soon!! Kevin slept on the sofa bed, and Ryan had the upper berth. Upon entering the cabin, we noticed some goodies on the bed from our favorite cruise TA. Stuffed animals for the boys, a beach towel for Patti, and bar credits for me!!! Thanks so much!!!! We also enjoyed some of the platinum perks this week. These included canapés one evening, petit fours another evening, a free entry into the slot or blackjack tournament, a concierge club beach bag, personalized stationary, and priority debarkation. There were other perks which we didn't utilize, such as spa treatments upgrades, or priority tender boarding (not needed). But Patti's favorite perk was the free wash & fold laundry service which she used several times during the cruise. Just a warning, don't use this service for your extremely delicate items, or those items that may shrink easily!!

We then went up to the Unicorn Café for our embarkation lunch. We ate all of our lunches here, since we love the variety of food available. There is the Taste of the Nations, where a different cuisine is presented every day, a great deli for sandwiches, a rotisserie, the Asian corner, 24 hour pizzeria, and salad bar. Hot dogs, burgers, and steak sandwiches were available at the Avalon Pool lines. There is something here for everyone. Ryan's favorite is the free ice cream, available 24 hours a day at four different locations. We also ate all our breakfasts at the Unicorn Café. It's the usual standard buffet style stuff, and nothing special, so we always ordered the made to order omelets.

We spent the afternoon relaxing on deck, enjoying a few frozen thingees, and the boys were off exploring. We were very happy to be back on board the Legend. Then things became a little somber. We had returned to our cabin a little after 3pm to get ready for the muster drill at 3:30, when over the intercom came a frantic plea calling for "operation starlight, lido deck aft" (or something similar). Apparently, an older gentleman collapsed by the Avalon pool bar, and was unable to be revived. This kind of put a huge damper on the sail-away festivities. The muster drill was delayed an hour, and the ship sailed over 3 hours late, as the man and his family were removed from the ship. It was good to see all the other passengers so understanding of the situation. We made sure to say a prayer for him as we pulled away from the pier.

After unpacking and freshening up, it was time to go to the Camp Carnival orientation meeting. Camp Carnival is broken up into 4 age groups: 3-5 years, 6-8 years, 9-11 years, and 12-15 years. Ryan and Kevin were both in the 9-11 or Intermediates group. Children ages 8 and under must be signed in and out of the program, while children ages 9 and above can sign themselves in and out of the program if you allow them. For those children that need to be signed in and out by a parent, be warned that the same parent that signs the child in must sign the child out. On sea days Camp Carnival is open from 9am – Noon, 2pm – 5pm, and 6pm – 10pm. On port days Camp Carnival is open from 7am – 5pm, and 6pm – 10pm. These hours may vary slightly depending on the port of call. Carnival suggests that a child's attendance on port days be limited to six-hour intervals, and if you are onboard during lunch, you should pick up your child. After 10pm, there is a slumber party for the younger children, (up to age 8), and an after hours party for the older children, (ages 9-11). These are available for $6 /hr. for the first child, and $4/hr for each additional child. They charge to the nearest ¼ hour. These parties last until 3am, though you may pick up your child at any time. All children signed into the after hours parties, must be picked up regardless of age!! On one night, (the night after leaving Tortola), the 9-11's have a late night party, which runs from 10pm to 3:30am. They do many activities all over the ship, and at 3:30 they are delivered back to their cabins by the counselors. The boys really loved this, and so did we, since we didn't have to pick them up!!!

We had asked for, and received, late sitting (8:15pm) dinner. Our table for 4, (#320), was located on the port side of the upper level of Truffles. Our waiter was Larry from Costa Rica, and his assistant was Mario from Peru. They both were very friendly, and always smiling, but…Dinner the first night was a disaster. Service was slow and disjointed. Kevin got his appetizer 20 minutes after we got ours, he never got his salad, and Ryan never got his chocolate milk. In addition, our meals arrived lukewarm. I was ready to make a beeline over to the maitre 'D, when our waiter came over and apologized profusely for all of the problems. I decided to give them a second chance the next night (formal night), and they came thru with flying colors!! However, the rest of the week they were just adequate, and I can truthfully say that this pair was the worst that I have experienced on Carnival. Mario was obviously fairly new, and he tried very hard, but even after 7 days he still didn't get the fact that I liked coffee with my dessert. Larry was on his last cruise of his current contract, and his mind was obviously on going home for the next two months. Hopefully, when he comes back in September, he'll have his act together. As always, with the exception of the first night, the waiters did the usual singing and dancing routines. Some people don't like this practice, but even after 20 Carnival cruises, I still enjoy it. To me it's what Carnival is all about…Fun!!

To me, the best part of this itinerary is the amount of sea days. Two plus days, on the way down to San Juan, and two plus days, on the way back to New York from Tortola. Plenty of time to do nothing at all, or partake of the many activities that are going on at any given time. There is something for everyone. Though I've seen or participated in some of the activities before, I never get tired of them, since the people doing them are different. Patti entered the slots tournament, and qualified for the finals. Lady luck didn't smile on her though, but she got a free t-shirt and some trinkets for her efforts. I entered the blackjack tournament, and also qualified for the finals with the highest total. But, as luck would have it, I lost on the last hand of the finals. Boooo!!! More t-shirts and trinkets!! Kevin got into the act also!! First, he won the infamous 24K imitation gold ship on a stick, for moving the winning horse at the horse races. Then he won $100 playing bingo. At least he was lucky. Patti and I didn't fare to well in the casino this trip!! We spent a good amount of time on our balcony, soaking up the sun, and a few buckets of beer. Very relaxing!!

Even though we left New York three hours late, because the weather was good, and the seas were calm, the captain was able to make up the time. In fact, we arrived in San Juan at 1:30pm, a full 1 ½ hours ahead of schedule. The Carnival Destiny and Adventure of the Seas were in port today, (Sunday), embarking their passengers for their weeklong cruises. Kevin decided that he didn't want to get off the ship, so Patti, Ryan, and I took a cab up to El Morro, ($10 for the 3 of us). After exploring the fort for an hour or so, we took a nice leisurely downhill walk back to the ship, stopping along the way to browse in the shops. There are plenty of places to grab a bite to eat if you wanted to, but we decided to go back to the ship for dinner. At 11pm the deck party began, with a Mexican buffet, for the midnight sail-away from San Juan. Quite a party!!!!

When we awoke the next morning, we were already docked In St. Thomas. The Carnival Destiny had followed us over, and the Explorer of the Seas arrived later, after her 2 day journey from Cape Liberty. We decided that today would be a beach day, so we went to Sapphire Beach for the day on our own ($10./pp each way by cab or safari bus). There is a beach shop for chair and water sport rentals, along with shower and changing facilities. There is also a beach bar, but it wasn't open the day we were there. Bummer!!!! We all had a great time swimming, snorkeling, and hanging out on the beach. There were plenty of fish to be seen. Soon it was time to head back to the ship, as we had to make sure Patti got her shopping fix in!!

The next morning at 7am, we arrived at our final port of call, Tortola. Because the ship is only here 7 hours, and sails at 2pm, we booked our only ship excursion here. Don't want to worry about missing the ship!! We decided to go to Virgin Gorda and visit the Baths. We boarded a high speed ferry in Road Town, for the 30 minute ride over to Virgin Gorda, and once there we had to board safari busses for the15 minute ride over to the Baths. The rock formations and the beaches were awesome. We had great time here, but you really only get about 2 hours at the Baths, as so much time is eaten up getting there and back. Word of caution here, anyone who has difficulty walking or is a bit unsteady shouldn't do this excursion, as the path down to beach is very uneven. For me, this excursion falls into the category of been there, done that, and I wouldn't repeat it. We got back to the ship just in time for sail-away, which we enjoyed from the comfort of our balcony.

The night after we left Tortola, Patti and I booked a quiet dinner for two at the Golden Fleece, which is the Carnival Legends supper club. The boys ate dinner with their new found friends, and they were both going to participate in the late night party, so we wouldn't see them until 3:30 am!! The Golden Fleece is well worth the $30/pp surcharge!! Patti and I both had the GIANT tiger shrimp for our appetizer. For our entree's Patti had the Lobster tails and I had the 24oz Porterhouse steak, which could be cut with a butter knife!! Both were to die for!!! For dessert we both ordered the Apple Tart Tarte, which came in a shallow dish the size of a wash basin!!! OMG, there was no way we could have finished that!!!! The Golden Fleece is a must do!!!

After two more wonderful sea days, with mostly good weather, and fairly calm seas, we arrived back in New York. Our debarkation was the best we've ever experienced in New York. The people who could carry off all of their own luggage unassisted, were let off first at about 9:15am. I was surprised by the amount of people who took advantage of this. This would not be an option for us!! After our last breakfast at the Unicorn Café, we went back to our cabin to relax. At 9:45 we made our way down to the Dream Team bar, where all the platinum members would meet to debark. Promptly at 10, before any other colors were called, we were led off the ship and to the VIP area where our luggage was. Since we were the first group off the ship claiming their luggage inside, there were plenty of porters available to grab our luggage, and take it upstairs to the parking level. From Dream Team bar to car, in about 10 minutes. Unbelievable!!! Then it happened. The first glitch!! I went to start the car and……nothing!! The battery was dead. My darling son Kevin had turned on the reading light when we went through the Lincoln tunnel on the way in, and had forgotten to turn it off!!! But very soon all was forgiven. Remember those scary security guys on the way in? One of them saw my problem, jumped on his little golf cart which had a battery jumper, and proceeded to jump start my car…for free!!! You can be sure I slipped him a nice tip!! Less than an hour later we were home!!!

This is one cruise I could do every year. Great itinerary, great ship, and (for the most part), great crew!!!! Eta, (Avalon pool bar), and Mariya (Casino waitress), you guys are the greatest!!!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: June 21, 2006

We just got home yesterday from 8 days on the Legend. It was our 4th cruise this year....and our first on Carnival. I was rather nervous about the whole Carnival "fun ship" thing but we got such a great price that we decided we had to try Carnival (my husband is retired military so we got a great deal!)

The drive from VT to the NYC port was easy and traffic wasn't too bad. Being the country bumpkins we are we were nervous about big city driving. Embarkation seemed rather disorganized but we were still on the ship by 12:30.

We had a great time....the 1st whole sea day was rain and then the weather was great after that. I'd planned to leave my balcony door open every night but it was quite warm and humid so we weren't able to do that after the 1st night out.

I was expecting the ship to be too over-run with kids since school is out for the year. We found that there were always plenty of quieter areas to get away from the kids. Also the Legend has an aft pool & hot

tub that are adults only so that was great!

I thought the ship was really pretty....a little over the top in some areas but we don't go on cruises for the decor.

Our room was 175 sq ft plus 40 sq ft balcony. Nice room with usual amenities, stocked fridge that we just kept locked. The cabin stewards were very good! It was fun coming back to the room in the evening to see what new towel "animal" they'd made for us. The balcony had resin furniture....a chair, a reclining chair and a small table. There was a basket of amenities in the bathroom...razors, floss, mouthwash, aspirin, paperback, etc.

I really like the food in the Truffles dining room and the waiters were great. We usually left either just before or just after dessert so we never saw the singing and dancing waiters.

We ate breakfast and lunch on the Lido deck at the buffets and always were able to find something we liked. The desserts weren't exceptional so I didn't gain as much weight as I normally do on a cruise but that's a good thing. Pizza (really good) and frozen yogurt & ice cream were available 24 hours a day. Room service was good but we learned not to call around midnight as the line was always busy or we were put on hold forever.

We stayed on the ship in San Juan, took a taxi ($9 pp each way) to Saphire Beach and that was gorgeous and not very crowded. We walked from the port in Tortola to the flea market area (tent covered tables with good buys on t-shirts, etc).

I can't comment on the shows as we missed all of them. We did go to the Captain's welcome aboard party on the 1st formal night and it was nice seeing the officers around the ship from time to time after that.

There was a great band in Satchmo's Lounge and we went there most evenings to dance....and then to the casino to make our donations....LOL

We carried our own luggage off the ship and that worked really well as we were off by 9:30.

We had a wonderful cruise and have even booked another cruise on the Legend in Sept.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: May 12, 2006

Our cruise on the Carnival Legend was a complete nightmare. Our lives were put in jeopardy during the debarkation process which I will go into detail later in this review. During our embarkation, they had a few hundred travel agents boarding prior to any passenger that stood in line, and treated those who waited like little children in a elementary school. We have cruised with Carnival numerous times, and are familiar with what to expect from a cruise, but this cruise was a complete shock.

Carnival has found every method to cut costs to save them money, and found clever ways to make more from their passengers. First cost cutting method's concerned the food, and its quality. The first evening dining in the Truffles Restaurant, the chair I sat at cut my arm because the chair's arm rest had completely separated having sharp edges., and you used to get freshly baked bread prior to ordering, now it's stale, and hard as a rock. Used to have a choice in salads, forget that, now it's the same every night, tossed green salad. Bottom line, the menu selections have diminished to either chicken or

fish on every menu. Now not everyone can eat what's listed on the menu, but if you order something different, they will give you every excuse as to why you can't order other then what's listed on the menu.

The overall service received from the crew on this cruise could have cared less, maybe that's because they figure on getting their tips before a service is rendered. We learned long ago, that upon boarding we head straight for the purser desk and have the automatic tips removed, do you tip your waiter or waitress before they serve you, we certainly don't. As for the quality of the food, we found the food to be undercooked, cold, bland, and tasteless. We were sick for days from day one, with stomach pains, cramps, and nausea. It's way beyond our comprehension as to why so many people enjoyed that same old breakfast day after day on the Lido deck. It made us sick to even watch people gorge themselves on scrambled eggs, undercooked bacon, greasy sausages, over ripened or under ripened fruit, just plain old gross food. Seriously, the majority of people we observed on this cruise were so grossly obese, even that it made us sick to even watch these eating frenzy's. A cruise meant you were pampered, and the food was fabulous, now is just plain sickening and unhealthy garbage. It's all to save a buck for the Cruise Line.

Next, our stateroom. We booked a Cat 9A, deluxe stateroom with oversize balcony. As for the size of the room it was sufficient, but as for the carpet stains, broken doors, poorly decorated fixtures, non working lights, creaky ceiling, and backup sewage smell in the bathroom it wasn't worth the money spent. Also, when you take a shower, better place all the towels on the floor to soak up the water. Speaking of towels, your provided two beach towels for swimming, lose them, and they will charge you $22.00 for each lost towel. When was the last time you spent that much for a used cheap towel, Id say that is price gouging. They did provide two bath robes, but lose them and it will cost you big time too. The theme of this cruise, well I'd say it's nickel and dime you to death for everything. The ship rocked so badly, that you need to be a acrobat to stay upright. Keep in mind, we have sailed this ship before, so it's not the rough seas. We also noticed a large dent on the front right of the ship, which was simply just painted over. The overall décor of this ship is tacky, and the color scheme is one to be desired. We did think Satchmos lounge to be very nice.

First port of call was San Juan PR, and if you never been there before you won't want to return. Soon as we were off the ship, two bums and a drug addict haggled us for money, and we ended up ducking into a store till they disappeared, and then we rushed back to the ship ASAP. We did arrive early in San Juan, that was because a man fell down the stairs and needed emergency care in Port, god rest his soul. Suggestion, go in a group, otherwise carry a stun gun. It took over two and half sea days to get there, and for entertainment, it was exactly the same we saw on this ship two years ago. Nothing changed, if your new to this ship great, but do they tell you it's a repeat performance? Same stupid games, but what really bugs us is they get these passengers to participate in the games and video tape it so they can make a profit from it too, but won't offer you any royalties on it. Why not paint dollar signs on the side of the ship. You need a fly swatter to rid the photographers out of your face for those special moments, and $20.00 snapshots, and lets not forget the 15 percent gratuity tacked on those watered down cheap drinks.

Next Port of call St. Thomas, and frankly we been there before. Went to Magen's Bay for a nice swim and beautiful beach. Here Carnival has every type of excursion possible, and of course way over priced. Hope you people know you can get the same excursion for half the price off the ship.

Last Port, Tortola, and that was even worse then San Juan PR. We got into port at 7AM and departing 2PM, just as well there isn't much time for anything, and then its 2 ½ Days at sea back to NY.

Okay, now comes the scary part of this cruise, arriving back in the port of New York as scheduled 9 AM. We attend the debarkation briefing the day before, and the cruise director (Trevor Block) makes the announcement that we are a hour or more ahead of schedule. That's great !!! Wrong, on the morning of arrival we wake up early, finish packing our bags, go to eat the crappy food up on Lido deck, and head back to the room. Here I turn on the TV and tune it to the GPS mapping to show how close we are to port which was within 2 miles. All of a sudden we notice the ship is diverting in a 180 degree circle away from the port, and I wonder what is going on. I look out the balcony forward of the ship and notice another cruise ship ahead of us, but no reason for alarm as we are ahead of schedule. Wrong, the ship now another 180 degree turn heading back towards port.

I tell my wife lets go place our luggage in the self assist line so we will be the first ones off. We do, and we are second in line. Time passes, and suddenly around the time we are to be in port the cruise director makes a announcement that we are going to be delayed going into port because of "Rough seas the night before". I said to my wife they are not telling the truth, I now become alarmed, goto pursers desk and inform them we need to be off the ship asap when it docks. They now say we are sorry, there's nothing we can do, its because of rough seas. I ask them why the are lying to the passengers and demand to speak to someone of authority. They again say they are sorry, there isn't anyone, and you'll have to make your complaint to guest relations when you get home. That is IF we get home. What do they care about you know for, the cruise is almost over and they got your cashola. Next while waiting in line, numerous passengers are becoming unruly, jumping in front of the self assist line, arguing with other passengers, and on the brink of a riot. Many passengers begin to jump in front of the line, and I inform one passenger where the end of the line is. This passenger now threatens us with bodily harm. I promptly look for security to report the situation at hand, but none to be found. Found a crewmember, told him he better get security down here immediately as 100's of passengers are angry and making threats. He said, sorry, there's nothing I can do. I again demand some security or call the captain of the ship and get this under control. Its now past 10 AM, the crowd ready to kill, and our limo driver calls 6 times asking when we will be off the ship, and I cannot give a definite answer.

Another half hours passes, and people are totally out of control, and many passengers asking for help from the crewmembers, which they continue to answer, sorry, nothing we can do. Next, we dock at 10:30 AM, and within 10 minutes they let the crew members off first, and now the passengers are extremely irrate. Our limo driver calls again and says he is leaving he cant wait any longer. Now how are we going to get to the airport on time? I am now having chest pains and anxiety attacks, and other passengers are helping to see if I am okay. I plead and beg to a crewmember for help, and no help arrives. I am now on the floor, and at 10:45 AM immigration and customers clears the ship. The people first in line are kind enough to let us go first, off we go pulling 75 lbs bags as quickly as possible, and next they get my sail and sign card jammed in the machine. Out of breathe, and heart pounding, we make it outside, but no limo driver. I look over and notice the cruise ship that was ahead of us, and it's the Norwegian Dawn.

I call limo driver on his cell phone, and plead him to return, in which he does. Its now 11:00 AM and we are heading 22 miles to JFK, except next the driver informs us we have to pay for his wait time. The driver now speeds in excess of 70 miles per hour, and we make it to JFK in 30 minutes. Long story short, we just make boarding our flight by the skin of our teeth, worn out and exhausted ready to collapse. Upon our arrival home, I look up the info on the Norwegian Dawn, and discover it was due into port at 10 AM, one hour after we were scheduled in. Something smells fishy here, and I make a official complaint to CCL, and the USCG. We will never cruise again, nor will we ever allow any cruise line to place our health, and safety in jeopardy like that ever again.

As helpless as they left us, we are seeking legal advice, primarily to prevent this ever happening again to any passenger, especially going into the port of New York. When it comes to feeling secure, think twice about taking a cruise, have you heard the news media lately. Scary !!! And the US allows this to happen in their waters and ports. Cruise ships are not regulated, they fly the flags of foreign countries, and it's there laws you are under. The Security workers could care less too, they are over worked and under paid, and you put your life in their hands, not us ever gain…NEVER !!!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: April 26, 2006

My friend and I just enjoyed the best 8 days together on the Legend, Were do I start this is our 4th cruise just 2 mom's away from husbands and kids We sailed out of New York on April 26th and boy was it cool, but we stood on the deck just to see Old Lady Liberty beautiful, The first sea day was very rough due to a low weather storm the boat was very rocky that day again due to storm, nothing you can do about that. The next day things were beautiful didn't even know you on the boat. We went to the following locations and I will tell you about each

San Juan very warm and very busy we were there during one of their biggest Arts & Crafts events, got to see the Fortress in Old San Juan and then onto new San Juan with those beautiful million dollar Apartments!!!

St.Thomas very beautiful Island would go back in a heart beat beautiful beaches and lots of shopping don't go for your first bargain in jewlery keep walking bet you get it cheaper two doors down, Look for

Oprah the donkey cute she even comes with sunglasses and lipstick give a tip and you can have a picture with her. GREAT BARGAINS!!!

Tortola oh my no words to describe this Island it is beautiful it has no McDonalds, no shopping malls just the local folks we went on the Lambert Beach Excursions this resort is absolutely beautiful the Photo opportunitities on the way to this resort is out of this world, The beach was just so serene, we couldnt swim in ocean due to storm but the waves and lunch were out of this world exspecially the curry chicken and ribs.

We read many negatives about this boat before we left but let me tell you this boat is gorgous, the staff and people aboard were very friendly and no matter where you were someone always talked to you made alot of friends.

Mark in Billies Piano bar is the nicest person in the world can play anything from ABC's to Led Zepplin on the piano stop by and tell him Hi from the cruise critic gang and ask about Honytonkbidonikdonk from Tracy Atkins will make you laugh...See Mark some of us can leave positives about our cruise.

Oh the last thing The Golden Fleece Supper Club out of this world worth every bit of the 30.00 you pay per person extra, they spoil you they show you the cuts of meat, make the salads right at your table and the desserts oh my try the citrus cheesecake or the chocalate something or other it was awesome.

I know this is a long review but I wanted everyone to know yes the boat can be rocky nothing more than anyother boat except for the day of the storm, the staff and people FRIENDLY and the boat clean very clean....

Mark keep up the good work look forward to seeing you again in the futre had a great time singing American Pie you know the two girls who requested it the last night before you had ran off to Pee (LOL)

I hope everyone can find something good out of this because I sure did... Cheryl myway100766@aol.com email me if you have any questions we stayed in room 7176 forward veranda

Expand Review
Read More
 
Southern Caribbean
Publication Date: March 17, 2006

Just returned from and 8 day Carnival Legend cruise to Southern Caribbean. Ports of call were St. Maarten, Barbados, Martinique. Ship was departed and returned to Ft. Lauderdale. Sailing dates were Mar. 17 through Mar. 25 2006.

For a little background, I am 54 and my wife is 53. Usually we cruise with 4 to 6 other close friends. This cruise was just the two of us for the first time since 2001. It was our 10th cruise, 3rd on Carnival. Previous cruises were Carnival Glory in Oct. 2003 and Carnival Pride in Feb. 2005. We like to have fun so the "party" environment is fun for us.

First let me say this. I am a bigger fan of Royal Caribbean (5 cruises) but really enjoy Carnival. I think the Spirit class ship is a wonderful design. It is, in my opinion, the best class ship that Carnival has. I like the more "sophisticated" decor of RCCL, but I think Carnival is on par with service and better for consistent quality of dining room food. Now for the review.

Embarkation: Very simple. We arrived in FLL the day before, and since I

work for the airlines, we had to fly standby early in the day. We used Marriott Reward points and booked a room in Miramar, FL. in a Courtyard that was only 2 weeks old. It was a great choice. Since we were going to rent a car due to our early arrival, it was no big deal to drive. The Courtyard, being brand new, was very nice and we had a nice relaxing evening.

We arrived at the Budget office near the port at about 10:30 am. Needed to have the car back by 11:00. We waited about a half hour for the shuttle and got to the port about 11:15. Guess a lot of people are figuring out the "early" boarding thing. We were on board about 12:00 and dropped our stuff in the room. Went to lunch. No fuss, no muss, smooth as can be. Definitely an easy boarding process.

Dining: What can you say? Carnival has about the best meals (particularly beef dishes) out there. I stick to the "good stuff." I was never disappointed. The New York steak on the first night was my least favorite. Still good though. I had salmon one night, very good. Beef Wellington, well… all I can say is don’t pass it up. It was absolutely wonderful. Same for the Duck. Prime Rib and Filet were also excellent. Forget the Pasta dishes. Word around our table was simply ok. Stick with the "good stuff."

Buffet: Well, I like it. Good omelet bar. Lunches were very good. Had some good Mexican one day. Sandwiches were always good and a great salad bar. Got to do the Burgers at leas one day. And don’t miss the pizza.

Shore tours: Did the "Coast to Coast" tour in Barbados. Good way to see the island. Didn’t go downtown since it closes down about 5:00. Ship is there until 10pm. Most everyone was on board by about 7:00pm. Heard that the beach break was really nice. If you are going to hang out on your own it seemed that St. James (I think) was where the upper scale resorts and shops were.

Did the St. Pierre island tour in Martinique. Very narrow roads and big busses. Our A/C died and it was hot in the bus, but that’s life. The Rum Distillery is interesting as is the tour of the island. If you have never been there, that is a good overview. No time for anything else. That worked well for us. St. Maarten is my favorite. This was our 3rd visit. Usually we rent a car and tour on our own. That is the best way to see the island. We simply took the water taxi to Phillipsburg and shopped. Was a fun day.

Cabins: Typically nice and fairly large cabins. We booked cabin 4120, obscured outside with French doors. Nice cabin and same price as inside so it worked out well. Always look at deck above and below. We were right over Billies Bar, the piano bar. Could hear it in the cabin. Fortunately my wife and I both enjoyed this bar so we spent a lot of evenings in it singing along. The pianist, Greg Alcock, is lots of fun. Not a great voice, but great pianist. It really is a fun place and had sort of a "groupie" following.

Anyway, to sum up it was a great cruise. As I said this class ship is my favorite Carnival ship. The service and food was terrific. The décor was nice and ship well maintained. All in all a great time.

Any questions, please email me at:

jesmjs@comcast.net

Expand Review
Read More
 
Southern Caribbean
Publication Date: March 17, 2006

Just returned from and 8 day Carnival Legend cruise to Southern Caribbean. Ports of call were St. Maarten, Barbados, Martinique. Ship was departed and returned to Ft. Lauderdale. Sailing dates were Mar. 17 through Mar. 25 2006.

For a little background, I am 54 and my wife is 53. Usually we cruise with 4 to 6 other close friends. This cruise was just the two of us for the first time since 2001. It was our 10th cruise, 3rd on Carnival. Previous cruises were Carnival Glory in Oct. 2003 and Carnival Pride in Feb. 2005. We like to have fun so the "party" environment is fun for us.

First let me say this. I am a bigger fan of Royal Caribbean (5 cruises) but really enjoy Carnival. I think the Spirit class ship is a wonderful design. It is, in my opinion, the best class ship that Carnival has. I like the more "sophisticated" decor of RCCL, but I think Carnival is on par with service and better for consistent quality of dining room food. Now for the review.

Embarkation: Very simple. We arrived in FLL the day before, and since I

work for the airlines, we had to fly standby early in the day. We used Marriott Reward points and booked a room in Miramar, FL. in a Courtyard that was only 2 weeks old. It was a great choice. Since we were going to rent a car due to our early arrival, it was no big deal to drive. The Courtyard, being brand new, was very nice and we had a nice relaxing evening.

We arrived at the Budget office near the port at about 10:30 am. Needed to have the car back by 11:00. We waited about a half hour for the shuttle and got to the port about 11:15. Guess a lot of people are figuring out the "early" boarding thing. We were on board about 12:00 and dropped our stuff in the room. Went to lunch. No fuss, no muss, smooth as can be. Definitely an easy boarding process.

Dining: What can you say? Carnival has about the best meals (particularly beef dishes) out there. I stick to the "good stuff." I was never disappointed. The New York steak on the first night was my least favorite. Still good though. I had salmon one night, very good. Beef Wellington, well… all I can say is don't pass it up. It was absolutely wonderful. Same for the Duck. Prime Rib and Filet were also excellent. Forget the Pasta dishes. Word around our table was simply ok. Stick with the "good stuff."

Buffet: Well, I like it. Good omelet bar. Lunches were very good. Had some good Mexican one day. Sandwiches were always good and a great salad bar. Got to do the Burgers at leas one day. And don't miss the pizza.

Shore tours: Did the "Coast to Coast" tour in Barbados. Good way to see the island. Didn't go downtown since it closes down about 5:00. Ship is there until 10pm. Most everyone was on board by about 7:00pm. Heard that the beach break was really nice. If you are going to hang out on your own it seemed that St. James (I think) was where the upper scale resorts and shops were. Did the St. Pierre island tour in Martinique. Very narrow roads and big busses. Our A/C died and it was hot in the bus, but that's life. The Rum Distillery is interesting as is the tour of the island. If you have never been there, that is a good overview. No time for anything else. That worked well for us. St. Maarten is my favorite. This was our 3rd visit. Usually we rent a car and tour on our own. That is the best way to see the island. We simply took the water taxi to Phillipsburg and shopped. Was a fun day.

Cabins: Typically nice and fairly large cabins. We booked cabin 4120, obscured outside with French doors. Nice cabin and same price as inside so it worked out well. Always look at deck above and below. We were right over Billies Bar, the piano bar. Could hear it in the cabin. Fortunately my wife and I both enjoyed this bar so we spent a lot of evenings in it singing along. The pianist, Greg Alcock, is lots of fun. Not a great voice, but great pianist. It really is a fun place and had sort of a "groupie" following.

Anyway, to sum up it was a great cruise. As I said this class ship is my favorite Carnival ship. The service and food was terrific. The décor was nice and ship well maintained. All in all a great time.

Any questions, please email me at:

jesmjs@comcast.net

Enjoy your cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: February 21, 2006

After sailing aboard the Carnival Legend to Central America Feb. 2006, I must say I'm impressed with the direction that the line is going. Perhaps I detect a trend towards a more refined cruising experience aboard more elegant ships, compared to the past. She seems to have more in common with her half sister HAL ships than she does with the older "neon" Carnival. The legend for one thing is simply beautiful offering so many things to love. As a lover of anything to do with classical mythology, the Legend's theme appealed to me. The extensive use of granite tiles and mosaics throughout the ship evokes the supposed ambience of ancient Greece and Rome. The mythological iconography throughout the ship such the Colossus of Rhodes and the Sirens, was worth a role of film. The glass sculptures in the stairways and in the dining room lighting seemed to be priceless. My favorite spot in the whole ship was the glass stairs going to the Golden Fleece Supper Club. Wow!

Some say that the service and food aboard Carnival is substandard. Not on this trip! The service staffs were not servants, but seemed

more like friends. I got a little chocked up when we had to say goodbye. I took a nasty fall and then received both a letter and a phone call from the courteous purser's desk In the Truffles dining room, the deserts stood out as my favorite among the wonderfully prepared foods.

The entertainment was simply outstanding! This one show called "Take 2" was perhaps the best show Iâ?Tve ever seen on a ship. Something new for me was the backstage tour in which we met the lighting, sound, and special effects crew which help pull off these truly magical shows. Music for just about ever taste could be found somewhere. The classical music for one was very much up to standards. Afternoon tea was a highlight of mine.

The only things that could stand improving are the comedy acts should be less risque, the pools are too small, and there seems to be a lull time in the evenings for late dinner guest. It would be nice if they would place some chairs on the teakwood promenade deck for nostalgia's sake. The demographic makeup was heavy on families and older couples with very few rowdy guests. . She didn't appear to be a single's ship since it would seem I was the only one to show up for the single/solo meeting. All things considered, the trip was among a great group of people on a classy ship.

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Panama Canal
Publication Date: February 21, 2006

My wife and I have just returned from the 21 February sailing of the Legend out of Ft. Lauderdale to the Panama Canal.

Boarding was very well organized and within 25 minutes we were at lunch on the Lido Deck. We drove into Pt. Everglades and the systems in place worked great.

The ship was emaculate to say the least, Food was great no matter where we ate and Room Service was on time even the morning we were going on tour to the Canal.

Tour office staff was teriffic never a problem very well organized and knowledgeable.

Ports of call Colon Panama you are told not to go anywhere unless you are on a tour the city is very poor as are the people this is very evident the city and streets are strewn with garbage. lots of dead rats also.

Limon Costa Rica was very lush and nice we took a tour to the Dole Banana Plantation a great choice very enjoyable and educational also. Only problem and they admitted this is that the streets of the country are in desperate need of repair pot hole paradise I thought we lost

the front end of the tour bus several times.

Belize Our beach day was cancelled due to weather so we just went ashore to go through the shops at the pier We were anchored our 5 miles from the port. Also told not to roam around on our own outside the fenced in and guarded pier area.

The purpose of the cruise was to see the Panama Canal and that we did and experienced it also it is awesome I see why it is called one of the 8 wonders of the world.

Disembarkation was fine off the ship and in our car by 9:30 a.m. and out of Pt. Everglades on the way home by 9:45 a.m. In all a very pleasant cruise and nothing to complain about.

We were in a Cat. 8a Balcony which we enjoyed and utilized quite a bit. Thanks Carnival .Hope to see you again.

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 21 - 30 of 80 1234567

Similar Cruise Ships

Carnival Breeze
Carnival Breeze
From 3 Reviews
Ecstasy
Ecstasy
From 51 Reviews
Elation
Elation
From 55 Reviews
Fascination
Fascination
From 43 Reviews