Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Year Started: 1972
Ships in Fleet: 24
Category: Mainstream

Summary: The most successful cruise line in history. Don't be misled, a high-quality cruise experience perfect for families and young couples, Fantastic value. the FUN ships, but not "party boats."

Go

Carnival Cruise Ships

3 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western, Caribbean

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Singles.

23 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Families. Singles. Seniors.

80 Reviews

Regions:Western Caribbean

Good for: Teens. First-time Cruisers. Families.

41 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Singles. Teens. Families.

10 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Singles. Families. Group.

76 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

Good for: Overall Service. Seniors. Families.

12 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Bermuda, South America

Good for: Group. Families. Foodies.

61 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Suthern

Good for: Families. Children`s Programs. Singles.

56 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Singles. First-time Cruisers. Overall Service.

45 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Value for Money. Singles.

60 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Group.

57 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Families. Group. Singles.

96 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

86 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Value for Money. Overall Service. Children`s Programs.

35 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Families. Singles. Overall Service.

80 Reviews

Regions: Bahamas, Caribbean, Canada/New England, Cruise To Nowhere

Good for: Families. Teens. Children`s Programs.

54 Reviews

Regions:Mexico, Caribbean Eastern, Hawaii

Good for: Families. Overall Service. Value for Money.

90 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

Good for: Singles. Group. First-time Cruisers.

3 Reviews

Regions:Europe, TransAtlantic, Caribbean

Good for: Seniors. First-time Cruisers. Families.

72 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Families. Group. Luxury Travelers.

51 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Group. Singles. First-time Cruisers.

53 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Singles. Teens.

48 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean, Mexico, Panama Canal

Good for: Singles. Families. Value for Money.

65 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Families. Seniors. Children`s Programs.

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.11
from 1257 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

User Reviews

1257 User Reviews of Carnival Ships
Never Again Carnival
Publication Date: February 22, 2016

My experience travelling to the Bahamas on the Carnival Sensation was the worst I have ever had.

The staff was rude and unfriendly, the manager of the formal dining room called us cheap because we were surprised by a food upcharge on our dinner bill. The food was completely disgusting and inedible - except for the upcharged meals of course!

Because how could you be travelling on a Carnival cruise line without being nickel and dimed for every little thing right? They didn't let us cash out our winnings at the casino the day we returned, and now I have chips I will never use because ...

Never again Carnival will I EVER cruise with you - or recommend you to anyone I know. Enjoy robbing people blind, eventually everyone will know how inferior you are to your competitors, Norwegian and Royal will be getting all my business from now on.

Read More
 
Great get-a-way---but you won't feel spoiled
Publication Date: February 5, 2016

This ship is fine for your average get-a-way although I can see how some people thought the ship looked "old" - I noticed it mostly in the pool tiles and the walls of the deck corridors which just looked like you could wash them all day and they would still never look really clean again. This was especially true on the employee service doors that get used so much. Our room was great and had good water pressure. The service in the staterooms was very good. Our housekeeper, Anna did a delightful job.

On the down side, the service has dropped tremendously since my last Carnival cruise about 12 years ago when I went on the Fantasy for my very first cruise. There seemed to be so many more employees then! I think this might be a trend in several cruise lines that they just have less employees doing more work. But I remember coming up to the buffet at the back the ship and having waiters! At the buffet! And we had the same two great waiters at night! We got to know them so well. And the other

crew had time to talk to you about where they were from--it was wonderful --but certainly did not happen on this trip.

In the dinning room you could tell how hard the wait staff was trying to pay attention to everyone, but they were just too rushed by the number of people they had to service. (The wait staff did perform a little number for us each night which was fun, but did not need to be so long. ) Did the lack of special attentiont spoil our trip? No, we still had a nice time...but did we feel spoiled like on my first Carnival cruise - No.

I enjoy so many things about cruising but it seems to be becoming increasingly difficult on several cruise lines to just get a deck chair and there are lines for everything!!! The line at the Pizza bar was always long - but then again the pizza was always very good. A nice thing about the Victory is that very little cost extra. None of the activities except fitness classes had a charge, the Serenity area, while hard find a chair and too close to noise of the pool games, had no extra charge. Mini golf, which was great fun - no charge. The activities were great. I would have enjoyed more crafts, but it was just a 4 night cruise--I'm sure they would have had more on a 7 night cruise. The nice thing about Carnival is that I can get away at a price that fits my budget and have lots of entertainment and a good tiime -- but someday I hope to afford a cruise line where I can feel more pampered ;)

Expand Review
Read More
 
never sail from miami again
Publication Date: November 7, 2015

I can say i am the one that made the mistake . I noticed years ago the huge difference in sailing from Miami and from the port only 20 miles north in Ft Lauderdale , its like sailing with an entirely different company .

i booked a cruise in feb. 2015 to set sail oct.31 2015 . i originally booked a balcony room on the 10th floor but the CSR on the phone mentioned the spa deck and the amenities that would be included in all upgrades to the spa deck . they included discounted treatments , the use of the gym , the in room amenities which would be the same as the soaps and lotions that are included in suites and the "cloud nine experience" . when we mentioned it to the employees in the spa they were bewildered to say it best . i advised the pursers desk and they too were astounded . they noted it and promised me there would be a follow up .... not true .

i admit i second guessed what i understood as being included so i went to the carnival

website i went through the motions of booking another cruse for the same spa level and still have the ability to purchase this package even though the cannot provide these services . because the thalassotherapy pool they describe on their website does not exist on the Victory .

we made it to our state room where we found it very dated , chipped counter edges , a 12" tube TV that was so dark the curtains had to be closed and lights had to be off to view the 4 or 5 channels it displayed poorly . the bathroom was probably nice years ago but very poor in appearance . pink floor walls and countertops, with chrome and polished brass faucets , towel bars and hooks .

the dinning rooms were very well used and the lighting was in bad shape . large sections of the accent lighting were broken and not lit where other lighting and decor were not far behind . the food was always cold unless it was intended to be .

the menu has changed for the worst , you must now pay for lobster and there removal of thee beef wellington has cheapened the whole experience . their excuse was , people would order too many . well put a cap on the orders and charge for additional ... don't take it away from the ones that are not gluttons .

the ship is in very bad shape . no part of the steel or aluminum is without corrosion except of course the 2' X 6' section fr 1/4" plate steel they cut out of the deck directly over the pool that caused the pool to be shut down for two days while repairs were made with scaffolding and electric metal cutting grinders . not to mention an arc welder that at no point was any protective screen placed between the hazardous work being done and patrons . OSHA would have had a field day !

a few months ago i watched the CEO stating that they will be charging more for their services in 2016 . with what we experienced i honestly don't see how they will benefit .

in the casino i watch others play a noticed for hrs that nobody was winning anything . so i figured there would be a better chance in playing something that mechanically without any other variables to change the outcome the coin dozer was the best odds . as my girlfriend was playing i was sitting next to her since there were no others playing . i periodically would here a faint coin drop into an area that was hidden from sight . on our way back from the dinning room on morning we passes the casino and noticed two men sliding a long metal tray slap full of quarters . so many hey couldn't pour them in a plastic box they had on a flat cart , all of the quarters were brimming the edges of the machines two levels in every section (multi player) this is a very simple design with no reason for coins to be diverted into another hidden area as if anyone who has played this game knows . you drop a coin in and it piles up until one forces a coin on the edge to drop to a level lower than the first . the process is repeated until the coins on the lower level eventually drops into the coin return where the player collects it . i asked the attendant how or why the tray of money existed and he literally covered his name tag and walked away rapidly ...

Expand Review
Read More
 
Disappointing trip to Ensenada
Publication Date: August 25, 2015

I honestly try and find the best in everything but there was just too many things that were not good on this short cruise. We went with friends to help celebrate their anniversary and took this short cruise as it was very convenient for us( we live outside of LA).

The Good stuff- Embarkation and disembarkation were great. We used the self assist disembarkation. Our room was on the Empress deck so we were first off at 7:15 am, in the car and home by 8:30! The food was better than average in the dining room and in the Horizon grill. One night some of the appetizers were cold but made up for it with the entrees. He waiters were very good. We had some concern about the smaller size of the ship as we usually ar eon much larger ships to the caribbean, mexican riviera but it worked out ok,. Actually it was ok and was easy to get around the ship.

The bad stuff- we boarded the ship at 1:00 for a 5L30 departure which is what we normally do and spend the time by the pool. But when we

got to the pool the water was green. We asked if that was normal and were told there was nothing to be concerned about. It was definitely not inviting and we were not comfortable going in the water. As there was ionly 1 pool the hot tubs were full as no one else wanted to go in the pool as well. The next day in port we quickly walked around the shopping district and went back to the ship to enjoy the sun and the pool- it was closed! THe water was very green and when we asked no details weere given but we were told it was closed until further notice. Not something you want to hear when it is 90 degrees and humid and no way to cool off. Later one of the staff said they picked up bad water in Long beach and as soon as we got back out to sea they would dump it and get fresh water so there was no pool for the day in port. THe next day at sea the water looked clear for a while but then we saw it turn green again. There was no pool time for the whole cruise- not what we planned.

Next we will talk about the bar service at the pool. There was a lack of people walking around filling drink orders and the ones that were didn't have a good attitude- almost as if they didn't want to be there. I spent most of my time waiting in lines at the bar to order drinks. Not my idea of good service.

Lastly for the day in port we had to detour to get to our stateroom. Our room was located just off the main lobby but there were doing construction and the door to our hallway was closed requiring us to walk halfway back on the ship to find a way to get back to the lobby. I know that seems trivial but when you have to do 4-5 times a day it isn't fun.

This cruise had potential but too many inconveniences occurred to make it pleasant.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Can't wait for the next one
Publication Date: August 19, 2015

This was only my second cruise and was amazed at the size of the ship. Previously I was on the Fantasy, and boy what a difference.

We boarded in Port Canaveral FL, and compared to Charleston SC, it was a fast moving event. I do not think my wife and I stopped longer than 3 minutes at any point until we were on the ship. Leaving the ship after the cruise went even faster, we were on Deck 1 and carrier our bags, so we were the first group to debark. We were off the ship to the rental car office, had the car and going to breakfast before 0830 in the morning. We always stay an extra day after the cruise to enjoy the Florida Beaches, so the quicker we can get to that beach the happier we are.

The Fantasy staff I feel were a lot more attentive than what the staff on the Sunshine was, but that might of been because of the amount of guest. This was about the only complaint that I had for the whole cruise, so you know it must of been good.

Positives:

Serenity Deck was the largest that I have seen on a ship. The Steak House was well worth the extra cost, we did find out that if you buy a bottle of wine they will keep it chilled for you until your next meal if you don't finish it. Burger Place was good, but really crowded at times.

All and All for my second Cruise I really enjoyed the time I spent on this ship.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Dining was a wonderful experience!!
Publication Date: March 23, 2016

My husband and I traveled recently on the Liberty from Puerto Rico for 7 days through the Caribbean. Our Silver Dining room waite staff were fabulous!! Please give kudos to June from the Philipines, I Wayan from Indonesia, and Monica from Croatia!!

Read More
 
January 2016 Cruise
Publication Date: January 31, 2016

We cruise every January on this ship out of Jacksonville. I can't believe people giving bad reviews. These guys work so hard to please. Everything always go perfect. They make sure we have everything we need and constantly let us know to they will help us with anything; Room are wonderful, clean, food is great. Shows so good. Something always going on. Can't wait until next year.

Read More
 
Great except for Breakfeast
Publication Date: December 9, 2015

Embarkation was fast however, they now have a security screening which had a line.

Cabin mate came earlier than me (I arrived after 4pm) and told me it was a hour to get through.

Once aboard, staff very friendly. Housekeeping were very friendly and corrected an error without any trouble.

Shows were good, though Rock show is a little stale and stays on the 50's too much.

There were only four comedy club days yet they were fantastic.

Dining room selection was great. Don't recommend Steakhouse.

Staff were aloof and I was ignored since I was by myself. However, the worse was the fake eggs they used for breakfeast. They were hideous and loads of people were complaining about them. You can get real eggs in the dining room or at the omelet station. Overall, my experience aboard the ship was very good.

Read More
 
Just say no
Publication Date: November 8, 2015

We have been on several Carnival cruises and this ship is by fare the worst. The food was cold and the service was poor. We pre-ordered bottled water to be delivered the first day. We finally called guest services after midnight to find out where our water was. They said the saw where we ordered it and had to get approval from their manager to deliver it.

There were four in our party so we booked two connecting cabins. One for my son and I and the other for my wife & daughter. We requested the beds to be together for the room My son and I were booked in as my wife and I would actually be staying in there. When we arrived the beds were separate. When we told our steward that the beds were supposed to be together he told us that he didn't put them together because it was booked for a "Mr. & Mr.". I guess gay couples can't sleep in the same bed on this ship.

One cabin still had food crumbs on the table and the other still had dirty dishes sitting in

the window.

We went to breakfast Friday morning in the dining room. We arrived at 8:30. Upon being seated, I noticed something wasn't quite right with our waiter. My wife handed him the bread plate and told him it still had food stuff on it and he said "take a picture". He then took our order. He came back and took it 4 more times. By this time we (along with 4 other tables) had been waiting 1.5 hours for our food. We finally requested the Maitre D. We informed the Maitre D that the waiter was obviously drunk. The waiter even told another passenger that he "partied to much last night". The Maitre D dismissed the waiter and took our orders once again. He informed us the waiter was taken for an alcohol test.

After 2 hours we finally received our food (Eggs Benedict). The eggs were overcooked and the hollandaise sauce was hard. We noticed that the bartenders had no issue with over-serving alcohol to passengers. One in particular couldn't stand up and had no clue where he was. Others on the Lido deck were obnoxiously loud and cursing and no one did anything about it. My wife and I (and several other people) were so disgusted by their drunken behavior we had to leave.

The bathroom on the Lido deck smelled of urine and had no toilet paper in it. It seemed all that Carnival cared about was making money. There was not much to do without Carnival reaching in your wallet for it. This crew (and obviously their leaders) needs to be trained on customer service. A happy customer is a repeat customer.

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
carribean cruise
Publication Date: May 21, 2015

overall good cruise. some ports disappointing as well as excursion

Read More
Write a Review
Results 1 - 10 of 1257 1234567

Similar Cruise Lines

Disney Cruise Line
Disney Cruise Line
From 44 Reviews
Royal Caribbean
Royal Caribbean
From 754 Reviews