Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Year Started: 1972
Ships in Fleet: 24
Category: Mainstream

Summary: The most successful cruise line in history. Don't be misled, a high-quality cruise experience perfect for families and young couples, Fantastic value. the FUN ships, but not "party boats."

Go

Carnival Cruise Ships

3 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western, Caribbean

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Singles.

86 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Value for Money. Overall Service. Children`s Programs.

20 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Families. Seniors. Singles.

33 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Singles. Families. Children`s Programs.

80 Reviews

Regions: Bahamas, Caribbean, Canada/New England, Cruise To Nowhere

Good for: Families. Teens. Children`s Programs.

80 Reviews

Regions:Western Caribbean

Good for: Teens. First-time Cruisers. Families.

38 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Teens. Singles. Families.

8 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Singles. Group. Families.

54 Reviews

Regions:Mexico, Caribbean Eastern, Hawaii

Good for: Families. Overall Service. Value for Money.

89 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

Good for: Singles. Group. First-time Cruisers.

75 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

11 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Bermuda, South America

Good for: Group. Families. Foodies.

2 Reviews

Regions:Europe, TransAtlantic, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Value for Money. Seniors.

61 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Suthern

Good for: Families. Children`s Programs. Singles.

68 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Group. Families. Luxury Travelers.

51 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Group. Singles. First-time Cruisers.

54 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Singles. Teens. Seniors.

52 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Group. Singles.

43 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Value for Money. First-time Cruisers.

47 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean, Mexico, Panama Canal

Good for: Families. Singles. Children`s Programs.

63 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Seniors. Families. Children`s Programs.

60 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Group.

55 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Group. Families. Singles.

96 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.12
from 1229 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

User Reviews

1229 User Reviews of Carnival Ships
Credit Card numbers were sold to a friend of theirs in Canada by Guest Services
Publication Date: September 25, 2013

The Cruise itself was o.k. we had a pretty good time. The food was really not all that good or fresh for that. Our room attendant was PERFECT and our formal dinning team with Arsana was Fabulous. What happened on the cruise and during will blow your socks off. This type of SCAM should be put on AMERICAN GREED!

On the second day of our cruise, mind you we had just been on one full day with the first day having to give Carnival in Galveston our Credit Card numbers to allocate them with your Sail and Sign card. On the second FULL day of our cruise we went to the Spotlight lounge for a little Comedy and we ordered a drink. Well the lady comes back and says that our card is NOT working that I will have to go to Guest Services (CON ARTIST services) and fix the mess up.

So after the Comedy I go and I happen to get the only person that is working at Guest Services and I let her know that my Sail and Sign card the card that you swipe for EVERYTHING,

is not working and it was just working 24 hours ago, when I boarded this ship. She writes my Credit Card number down and swipes it in their little machine and states all is well, that she was not sure what happened with my card.

Well, we are at Sea for two days so on the Fourth day of the cruise we are in Jamaica and when we get their we turn our phones on, because our children are going one way and we are going another. So we had set up with ATT to have Texting service only in Jamaica. When I turn my phone on, I noticed there were 7 missed calls. I could not call them back because of the expense, so they would have to wait. So we did our excursions and got back on the Ship.

Day five in Caymen Islands we purchased some items, paying cash and used another credit card that we had called letting them know we would be in Caymen Islands, Jamaica, and Mexico. We get back on ship and sail away. Day 6 we are in Mexico, and we tried to use our Credit Card the same one we had put on our sail and sign card on the ship and they told us it was declined. We knew it could not be because we have a 25,000 limit and we knew we were NO WHERE NEAR THAT!!! So we had to use cash.

Last day at sea and the day before we get home and we signed up for the Carnival Card to earn points. Thank the Lord we did, because we would have been denied with our other card, because unannounced to us it had been closed due to unauthorized usage in Canada. (I wonder who the guest service person knows in Canada?) So we get off when we dock in Galveston and we get to our car and I immediately call our Credit Card Company and research our usage and History. We were told that on September 3, the day after the card would NOT work for us on the ship there were purchases made for Gas in Canada and others in Canada and then they looked up where we had called stating we would be in Cayman, Jamaica, Mexico so the Credit Card Company knew it was fraud and they closed it and it would be up to two weeks before we would receive another one.

AHHHH! we do everything with that card. So we attempt to write a letter and an email and let Carnival know what has occurred and all they could say was, call the authorities where we live and they will cooperate with everything. Well if any of you know when you get your card stolen the people who are using it, are sure not going to be going to the same gas station and getting gas and smokes, drinks etc on an everyday basis. They are long gone using our card or at least trying to.

So I write CArnival back saying the fraud Dept with our Credit Card has closed the account to stop the hemorrhaging and we will have to once the statement comes in, just let them know which ones are ours and which ones are the thieves who got our card numbers along with all codes from the only person that had it in their hands while it was out of ours in 15 seconds. The Con Artist Guest Service Person. Needs more money so she is Selling Credit CArd numbers to her friends back home. AHHHHHHHHHHH and Carnival I Care Dept. can only write a letter saying Call the police and we will talk to anyone we need to.

Well the new CEO is names Arnold Donald who took over Micky Arison's position after being the CEO for over 30 years after his father BUILT this Company, however there was the Triumph that went up in flames, then the other ship that had to have Coast Guard go help them home with all the clients, I say he went out with a BANG!!!!

So do you trust Carnival's employees well, if you want. Oh, the lady St. Ahmad that wrote me the letter said they have extensive guidelines to make sure their guest sensitive information is not stolen. I had to remind her that I am sure that Enron had guidelines for people NOT to steal from their employees and look what happen? Someone got greedy as in this case! I also had to let her know that you can go online and see all the people who buy these machines to make their own Credit cards that match what you and I are carrying right now in our wallets and purses. All the thieves need is some particular numbers and secure numbers on the back. and WHOLA!!!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: September 23, 2013

We have cruised on this ship about 4 times and always have a good time. This time was a little different. The room attendants did not introduce themselfs until we cornered them in our room on afternoon while they were "cleaning?"

The glasses for the ice bucket were not changed out daily, the beds were worn out. They took our robes we left sinde they were wet from the spa, but refused to give up replacement ones ! What the heck??

The dining was good, the food great, and service terrific! The same old shows, need new material.

The captain did take 3 hours to dock at Costa Maya, due to high winds and sea. He could have just not stopped but kept trying and they stayed in port an extra hour to make up for the delay for excursions could be taken as planned.

This ship could use an update, as the interiors are very dated.

Read More
 
First cruise
Publication Date: September 7, 2013

This was our first cruise. We were on the Carnival Triumph. We had a lot of fun on both aboard the ship and the excursions. We went with several other couples, and one of the couples were Platinum members so we had access to a lot of information first time cruisers would not have had without a lot of research!

The food was wonderful. Due to the issues the ship had, it has been refit with the "2.0 upgrades". The dining room and staff were wonderful. The food was awesome. The chocolate melting cake was delicious (it was hard to try other deserts)! The ice cream cafe was wonderful. The Casino was a lot of fun. They had table games (poker, blackjack, etc...) as well as a wide variety of slot machines from penny on up. The Lido deck was one big buffet. The diet when to heck in a handbag on this ship.

The staff members on the ship are from all over the world. English is not their first language and you might not be able to get a lot of help from those not directly in customer

service.

We attended several shows and all were very well produced. The adult comedy was hilarious. The main auditorium, which can seat several hundred people, was well laid out.

The only real complaint I can say about the ship is it is not handicap friendly (I suspect this is true of all cruise lines). My girlfriend hurt herself and had to use a wheel chair towards the end of the trip and there were a lot of places we could no longer access. Unless you have the trip insurance, you will have to pay to rent a chair.

If you want your picture taken, then this is the ship for you! They were everywhere (This also got to be annoying after a while).

Drinks are a bit pricey so be careful (but they are good!) If you drink a lot of soft drinks, get the soda card. I will be taking more cruises with Carnival!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Disappointment
Publication Date: August 13, 2013

We travelled on the Carnival Magic July 7-14,2013. We were not impressed at all because of the mediocre service from the cabin to the dining room. When we first arrived at our cabin it had trash from the previous guest. If questions were brought to guest services, there was an I don't care attitude.

The head waiter at out table for dinner was not pleasant. He rushed us to order and we felt as if we were annoying him if we needed service. The assistant waiters were great.The food was food until Wednesday night. That is when is went downhill. Nothing tasted delicious.

Our children did enjoy the water park.it was great.

The two shows that we were able to see we're just okay. Other shows on the ship were in the club areas that could not accommodate all those that wanted to attend. So we were told to come back at the next showing, but the other thousands of people that were turned away would also try to return, so we gave up.

I was waiting for an announcement for the chocolate buffet, but it never came. My daughter over heard

other passengers talking about it and that was the only way we knew about it.

Another thing that was not advertised was lunch in the Italian restaurant on Lido deck. We thought we had to pay extra for that, but again we heard other guest discussing how they ate free for lunch each day there.

I will say that the excursions to Jamaica, Grand Cayman, and Cozumel were fantastic. Overall the service, food and accommodations was not worth what we paid for this cruise.

Our family will not be traveling on the Carnival Magic ever again. When the Carnival Conquest sailed from Galveston, service and food was excellent.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Cruising the Breeze was a breeze!
Publication Date: August 12, 2013

Just returned from an 8 day cruise on the Breeze and it was spectacular!

The embarkation was the quickest that we have had. Miami definitely has their act together. I must say we are Platinum members and do get priority boarding but this was the best we have ever had. We where directed through security to a private lounge where we where given our sail and sign cards and where escorted to the ship within 15 minutes where our cabins where ready.

We had cabin 7316 and it was very nice and our cain steward, Linda, was fantastic. The cabin it self was 2 decks above one of the hot tubs which made sitting on the balcony noisy at times but still enjoyable.

The ship it self is beautiful and done in soft caribbean colors.

There are numerous place to eat so we didn't find a problem with lines. One of the hidden areas for breakfast is in deck 5 by the coffee bar. Nice continental food along with eggs, hot cereals, sliced meats, etc. Most passengers gravitate to the Lido deck which can be very crowded for breakfast.

Make sure you try Guy's

Burgers at least once and if you like sushi go to the sushi place on deck 5. You do pay but it is well worth it and you can get it to go if there isn't any seating. We always dine one night in the Steak House and as usual it did not disappoint.

We had late dining in the Sapphire Dining Room and had Lloyd and his staff serve us. Very good food and excellent service.

We visited 4 ports and enjoyed all.

Grand Turk- There is a free beach as you get off the ship if you do not want to book an excursion. It is great and since we where the only ship there it was that crowed.

La Romana- We chose not to get off the ship but if you do you will need to take either an excursion or find a way into the city.

Curacao - The city is a short walk from the ship and is beautiful, Don't miss the swinging bridge.

Aruba - We decided to take a bus tour of the island and did enjoy it. As a matter of fact we plan to go back and spend a week. Our friends went to a private island to swim, snorkel and there was a water park there also.

In all we had 3 sea days. One at the beginning of the cruise and two at the end and it was so enjoyable.

Debarkation was again easy. Love the luggage carousels, made finding ours soooo easy.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Horrible Cruise - Never take Carnival again
Publication Date: July 20, 2013

My Carnival experience turned out to be the worst vacation of my life and I have had some horrible ones. I should have known when my father was going through the security check and they asked him for his card. My father has Parkinson's and it takes him while sometimes to be able to get an object in his hands. Instead of asking "Can I help you with it?" the gentleman (and I use the term most sarcastically) pushed my dad's wheelchair out of the way and said “Just get out of the way. - I should have taken that as a sign.

The trip only gets worse from there. The conditions of the boat were horrible and the floors were often wet or coated in spilled food in the dining rooms on the Lido deck. I complained that I have slipped several times on the floor and the staff just shrugged at me and continued their conversation. It wasn't until I fell and a bunch of cruise goers had to help me up that the staff even took notice to clean up what appears to be dressing I slipped

in spilled all over the floor. My nephew suffered cuts and bruises on his knees because of the same indifference to safety.

We were part of a wedding party and supposed to be seated together in the dinning room. This trip was planned for 9 months ahead of time. Carnival inevitably screwed it up again and kept bumping people off of our wedding party in the dining room causing us to have to be split up for all but one night of the cruise.

One of the humiliating highlights of our dining experience was when one of the members of my family ordered veal for dinner. It came out so tough it was unable to be cut with a steak knife. She asked the server if he could bring her another one because it was too tough to eat. He started to make fun of her saying she needed to put some muscle into it and did she know how to use a knife? She was getting offended by his comments but the worst was yet to come. He leaned over her and began to cut her food for her and even he couldn't do it. She was about to leave the table she was so embarrassed by the way she was spoken to and treated.

Finally, the disembarkation process was the worst. A porter was supposed to arrive at our room to help us the morning of disembarkation. This was part of the wedding party package that was paid for. The night before we confirmed this with both Guest Services and a supervisor because so much about this cruise was screwed up. At 8:15, no porter. 8:30, no porter. We called and he was on his way. 8.45, no porter. 9 am we called again and they sent someone. We sat in the lobby for over an hour waiting to disembark with our party. Guest Services lied and told us our party has already left the ship and we needed to do the same when in fact we were speaking to them on the phone and they said they were still waiting to be taken to meet us. By that time, I called Carnival customer service and loudly explained my situation to the customer service manager. Amazingly, the staff (all 5 that were standing around doing nothing but chatting with each other) were able to help us. It still took another 45 minutes to get the rest of our party (that was supposedly already off the boat) off the boat to meet us.

Finally, once we were off the boat, we moved our bags and my father in his wheelchair to a designated handicap pick up area and I left to get the car. I returned to someone yelling, yes YELLING, at my father to move out of the way that he wasn't supposed to be there and he had to get all the bags and move NOW. Are you for real?

With all of this drama going on, we had to contend with surly crew members, a less than helpful Guest Services staff, rooms that were either so cold my nephew had to sleep in two pairs of sweats and a hoodie and socks or rooms so hot they were uninhabitable most of the trip. The food was mediocre to poor at best and requests for no cheese on burgers and small special requests were greeted with a very poor attitude. We found the crew to be less than helpful and acted as if it was an imposition to help or do their job. Many of the crew were happier to stand around and converse than actually do their jobs. Finally, there seemed to be a sewage issue in many of the cabins for the entire trip. The smell permeated the hallways and was very unpleasant. When I asked about this, the staff shrugged at me and walked away.

There were some amazing staff members aside from the horrible ones. The standout staff members were Ketut (our room attendant who tried to fix the temperature issue desperately), the kids club staff were excellent and always amazing to my nephew, and the dining room staff of the Elation were pretty good. They had no hand in the wedding seating disaster and made every accommodation to try and seat the party together. The rest of the staff needs to be replaced.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Alaska was Great, Carnival Miracle, So-So
Publication Date: July 19, 2013
Getting to the Port:
 
We stayed in a suburb of Seattle for a few days before the cruise, so we rented a car from the Dollar Rent a Car downtown office (1900 Boren Ave, Seattle, 98101, 206-682-1316). When we returned the car, they drove us to the cruise pier free of charge. It took about 15 minutes to get to the pier from the car rental office on Boren Ave. Plan lots of extra time to get to the pier as the shuttle does not run on a regular schedule - only upon "availability", which means when an extra employee has time in between other stuff they are doing. (we ended up not having to wait at all). Don't forget to fill your rental car with gas right before returning.
 
Embarkation:
 
Arrived at the pier (Port of Seattle, Smith Cove Cruise Terminal, Pier 91) at about 10:45am. The porters were not out yet so we hauled our own luggage to baggage check in on the ground level of the terminal and then took the escalator up to the check in floor. We ran our carry-ons through the security scanner (just like at an
airport except you don't have to take your shoes, belts and jackets off and there is no limit on carry-on liquids). Check in was a breeze as we had done the on-line registration (for the kid's clubs as well) a few weeks previous. There was complimentary water and lemonade available and a waiting area similar to an airport terminal. After you check in, your given a card with a zone number for boarding. We were in zone 3 and were onboard by 11:30am. The buffet was open for lunch and it was fun to sit by the window and look at the view of Seattle while eating. Our rooms were ready by 1:30. The mandatory safety muster was at 3:30. You do not have to take your life vests with you (thank you!). There was no sail away party like they have in the Caribbean so that was somewhat anti-climactic. If you need to change a dining seating time you can do so at the entrance to the dining room. Go and do this as early as possible as there will be a long line later on. You can tour the spa/gym and kidâ€TMs club areas.
 
Stateroom:
 
We had an outside stateroom #1148 on deck 1 with a big window. Our steward was very friendly but we rarely saw him and areas of our room were very dusty when we first arrived. I had to ask him twice to dust the phone, and TV area, and to give us clean glass goblets (all three of these things had several weeks worth of dust caked on (it was pretty disgusting). Finally, the next morning, I taped a note to our bathroom mirror requesting this again and he finally obliged). Other than that, our room was perfectly made up every morning while we were at breakfast and every evening while we were at dinner.
 
There were four of us in this cabin (my husband and I and our two sons ages 10 and 13). My husband and I had a queen bed, one son was in an upper bunk and one son was in the bed/couch under the bunk. The beds for our sons were left out during the day which worked well for us as they liked to lounge there whenever we stopped by our room. There was one beach towel in our room (which we never used as it was an Alaska cruise) and there were shampoo and body wash dispensers in the shower and small soap bars for the sink. There was ample storage space for our clothes (we kept our suitcases under the queen size bed and used them as clothes hampers). There is only one outlet for your use (at the desk).
 
We always bring an extension cord so we can charge up multiple electronics each night. We also bring our own lighted digital clock as the cabin does not provide one. The extension cord comes in handy so that the clock can be closer to our bed). There is a hair dryer provided in the top drawer and it is permanently plugged in right there in the drawer. A couple months before we leave on a cruise, my husband always saves his dry cleaning wire hangers and we bring them with us (and just leave them there when we disembark) as there are never enough hangers in the closets. I also bring the following to make our stay more comfortable and easier - a small spray bottle of fabric Febreze (for jackets, jeans that you might wear a couple times, ect., pads of paper and tape (to tape notes to the mirror for family), extra pens, highlighter for daily schedule (on Carnival it's called "Fun Times", door decorations (makes it easier to spot our cabin
Expand Review
Read More
 
Carnival Conquest Honeymoon Cruise
Publication Date: July 4, 2013

My husband and I recently cruised on the Conquest for our honeymoon. We had a great time and the staff were beyond accommodating; however, we were shocked by the number of unsupervised children there were on the ship. It would be beneficial, in my opinion, for Carnival to put forth more of an effort to separate families from couples. It was not pleasant to have children screaming and throwing temper tantrums in the halls while trying to sleep.

Another complaint is that there is not a swimming area that is designated for adults and there is no adult only entertainment until 10 p.m. I realize that cruising may be more pleasant if done during the school year; however, that is not an option for those of us who are school teachers.

All and all, we enjoyed our experience and made the most of it. The excursions were well worth the money, our stateroom was immaculately cleaned daily, and anything that we needed was at our disposal. We will cruise Carnival again.

Read More
 
Carnival Valor Review - Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: July 2, 2013

We were in a group of six, all of which has cruised several times on Carnival. We sailed on the Carnival Valor Feb. 3-10, 2013.

We flew in a day early to Fort Lauderdale and stayed at the Ramada Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruiseport.

We purchased transfers from John's Service and arrived at the Miami Cruiseport by 10:50AM and were on board by 11:20AM. Everyone was very helpful and the line moved very quickly.

Lunch was served on the Lido deck, with grilled hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken, etc. available. By 1PM we were allowed in our cabins. Our luggage was delivered in a timely manner.

The ship is decorated in the red, white, and blue theme, hence the name Valor. The ship was clean and attractive. It has the usual shops onboard with specials running throughout the week.

Food- The food in the dining was overall pretty good, though it seemed there could have been a wider selection to choose from. You can order from the "comfort food" list everyday and steak is available daily, also. Just a quick note- if you are eating in the dining room for breakfast you have the option of

asking for real, not powdered, scrambled eggs, whereas on the buffet all that is available is powdered scrambled eggs.

The ham and cheese omelet in the dining room was very good

Lobster was available once, and there were several shrimp dishes available throughout the week. I ate the flat iron grilled steak one night and it was very good. .

One thing we thought was odd- when we were in port, after arriving back on the ship after an excursion, the only available place to eat was either Italian fare at the buffet, or the deli for a sandwich.

Entertainment- we like to dance to 70's- 80's music and the only band playing that type of music was playing in the casino, which has virtually no dance floor. So that was a disappointment to all of us. We felt like it had been planned intentionally in order to draw people to gamble.

The dancers were very good and entertaining, the juggler was great, as were the other entertainers as well. We did hear complaints about the "family friendly" comedian not actually being very "kid friendly" which caused several people to walk out of the show

The crew- everybody was very friendly- you would not pass a crew member without them smiling, telling you good morning, etc. Our cabin steward TokTok was fabulous!

Other services- after 13 cruises, for the first time ever, we had to use the infirmary. On a windy day my husband was hit with a lounge chair and needed glued/stitched. They were all very helpful. They had him come back after our first port stop so they could clean it and put a new bandage on it.

I have read many stories about how people are treated in the infirmaries and I have nothing but praise for the medical staff on the Carnival Valor. We were not even charged for this service.

In the past I would highlight the daily activities I was interested in doing and this time I did that the first day and then didn't do it again. It seemed there weren't as many activities going on, for free, as there used to be. I realize cruise ships need to make money and the money that is pulled in with gambling, bingo, drinks, etc. contributes a lot to this purpose so I'm not saying this practice is wrong but that maybe it should not be the only activities that are offered.

I can't really say much about the ships shore excursions as we booked our excursions independently.

We visited Grand Turk, St. Maarten, St. Thomas, and St. Kitts. At Grand Turk we purchased an excursion on our own. We arranged for rental of 2 golf carts to ride around the island. We used Nathan's for the rentals and I would not recommend them. When we arrived to pick up our carts there was a family of 4 that had also arranged to get a golf cart. There were only 2 carts available. We were told 1 cart had broken down a few weeks before and had not been fixed yet. My group took the 2 golf carts and one of them was not running properly. It broke down on us and we ended up pushing it to get it started again. We were so concerned about getting back to the port that we cut our day very short and returned the golf carts to the original starting point.

At St. Kitts we arranged for a tour with Javin's Island Tours. It was a great day and a wonderful way to see the island. I would highly recommend using Javin at St. Kitts.Javin is very knowledgeable and friendly and makes sure everybody

is having a good time.

At St. Maarten and St. Thomas we didn't do any excursion, mainly walked around.

Overall the cruise was okay. We weren't really disappointed about anything but just didn't come away with that feeling of excitement that we usually do after a cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Memorable cruise but not in a good way
Publication Date: June 28, 2013

With living in Jacksonville we have taken many cruises on the Fascination, 4 last year alone. Us and our friends were excited on this cruise as I said we were celebration a 67th birthday and 39th wedding anniversary.

Embarkation

We arrived at the terminal, the 6 of us traveled together, and ll of the luggage was taken and marked as priority (we are all platinum members) and we proceeded to priory check-in, We waited a short time and were assigned our cabins and told we could go directly to them as soon as we boarded the ship and that our luggage would be waiting. After about a 20 minute wait we boarded and was shown to our cabins. Two couples did indeed have their luggage but unfortunately we didn't. Not concerned we went to the Lido deck for lunch. We returned to the cabin approximately an hour and half later still no luggage. We went to CS and was told our luggage wasn't on the ship. We left and came back an our later and was told to look in 'lost and found' again no luggage. Told again our luggage was not

on the ship. At 3PM 2 pieces showed up at the cabin. Went back to CS about the 3rd piece and was told again it wasn't on the ship but they had until 6:30 to deliver it to the room! Finally at 6PM it was delivered. Needless to say this didn't set our "special" cruise off to a good start.

Dining

After getting on the ship we went to the Lido Deck for lunch. Since there were long lines at the grill and buffet we decided to have salads and sandwiches, both were wonderful. the salad ingredients were fresh and crisp. Among the 6 of us, we tried the corn beef, ruben, pastrami, and turkey, they all were delis!

We didn't utilize the buffet, due to long lines, but was able to eat from the grill and it was ok but would have been better if the food had been hot. We did have lunch in the dining room on the last sea day and it was wonderful. It is sad that it is only open for lunch on sea days!

We utilized room service for breakfast each day and enjoyed it on the cabin balcony. We would recommend it

We had late dining and unfortunately our table was in the middle of 4 tables of 10. These cruisers must have been sailing together because they spent most of the meal going back in forth to each others tables. With this being said we were jostled quite a bit. (we did request another table but were told there were none available) Our service was spotty, it could have been because of the number of diners the wait staff was trying to serve, At times we would have 2 courses set down at one time, items ordered mixed up or forgotten all together, or long waits (up to 20 minutes) between items.

Service

Service is spotty all over the ship. We went to the casino bar and the bartender was so interested in setting up her bar that she ignored new customers. She finally decided that they weren't going to leave and waited on them with attitude!

In the buffet on the Lido deck the gentleman cleaning the tables offered to get more drinks for a table with small children!

Ship Activities

There are many planned activities to do on board besides enjoying the pools, hot tubs and deck chairs. There are many places to quietly read or play a game. Also the casino, we did take advantage of it and saw someone win $1600. unfortunately it wasn't any of our group!

Entertainment

Since we have cruised a lot on the Fascination we didn't attend any of the shows but did try to go to the comedy show but with late dining were unable to get in.

Ports

Freeport isn't one of our favorite ports but there are excursions that can be booked and a straw market you can go to right off the ship for things to take home

Nassau is one of our favorite ports. We buy purses and visit Atlantis. Great place just to wander in, just be watchful as you would in any port.

Cabin

We had a balcony cabin,E237. Since this is a smaller ship the cabins tend to be smaller. There is no refrigerator, so it is difficult to keep anything cold. There is an ice bucket that is filled twice a day and you can as your cabin steward for more. Our steward was very attending but didn't speak english very well so my husband was always asking after he left 'what did he say'

Disembarkation

As platinum members we do have priority disembarkation. This went very smoothly and the luggage was very easy to find. We were off the ship and on our way home by 9:15

I hope this helps all cruisers. Just remember you are on vacation, not at work, so have fun!

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 21 - 30 of 1229 1234567

Similar Cruise Lines

Royal Caribbean
Royal Caribbean
From 725 Reviews
Disney Cruise Line
Disney Cruise Line
From 43 Reviews