Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Year Started: 1972
Ships in Fleet: 24
Category: Mainstream

Summary: The most successful cruise line in history. Don't be misled, a high-quality cruise experience perfect for families and young couples, Fantastic value. the FUN ships, but not "party boats."

Go

Carnival Cruise Ships

3 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western, Caribbean

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Singles.

86 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Value for Money. Overall Service. Children`s Programs.

20 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Families. Seniors. Singles.

34 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Singles. Families. Teens.

80 Reviews

Regions: Bahamas, Caribbean, Canada/New England, Cruise To Nowhere

Good for: Families. Teens. Children`s Programs.

80 Reviews

Regions:Western Caribbean

Good for: Teens. First-time Cruisers. Families.

38 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Teens. Singles. Families.

8 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Singles. Group. Families.

54 Reviews

Regions:Mexico, Caribbean Eastern, Hawaii

Good for: Families. Overall Service. Value for Money.

89 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

Good for: Singles. Group. First-time Cruisers.

75 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

11 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Bermuda, South America

Good for: Group. Families. Foodies.

2 Reviews

Regions:Europe, TransAtlantic, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Value for Money. Seniors.

61 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Suthern

Good for: Families. Children`s Programs. Singles.

70 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Group. Families. Luxury Travelers.

51 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Group. Singles. First-time Cruisers.

56 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Singles. First-time Cruisers. Overall Service.

53 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Singles. Teens.

43 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Value for Money. First-time Cruisers.

47 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean, Mexico, Panama Canal

Good for: Families. Singles. Children`s Programs.

64 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Families. Seniors. Children`s Programs.

60 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Group.

56 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Families. Group. Singles.

96 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.12
from 1235 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

User Reviews

1235 User Reviews of Carnival Ships
Great ship only a few issues to mention
Publication Date: December 13, 2013

Only a few issues to mention.

I am not one to complain and have loved cruising on Carnival since 1977 on the Mardi Gras. 30 plus cruises on Carnival. Diamond cruiser for the last year on Carnival.

We were on the Empress deck on the Carnival Freedom, a Balcony cabintoo close to the back of the ship by the elevators. The room never got cool and the air conditioner just was not able to cool that area of the ship. Our friends across the hall on the inside also had the same issue. Normally my wife is complaining that i like it too cold when we go to bed. we were both sleeping on the bed with no covers and were hot.

Called maintenance and they said there was nothing they could do. Not a good area to book if your going on theFreedom and like it cool. I had to get some budget work done for work and the internet connection was so slow it was unbeliveable they could charge for this service. Carnival you might want to make the white cards with diamond shapes on the card. you might

also want to give your diamond passengers unlimited internet access. You can keep the chocolate covered strawberrys and little gifts and laundry service. Give the passengers what they could really use and need.

just my opinion from Chris Reynolds folio number 7887 freedom sailing 11/16/13. looking forward to the Glory 3/2/2014

Expand Review
Read More
 
Carnival Splendor Dec 2013
Publication Date: December 12, 2013

We sailed on the Carnival Splendor from Dec 3-11, 2013 (NYC to Port Canaveral, Nassau) - see our ship ratings below

Read More
 
Carnival Dream ~ November 30, 2013 ~ December 7, 2013
Publication Date: December 10, 2013

Carnival Dream ~ November 30, 2013 ~ December 7, 2013

Overall I thought the ship was beautiful with lots pleasant spaces. When I passed the Page Turner Library I actually wondered who Page Turner was.....until it dawned on me. I loved the chandeliers in the dining rooms but I thought all those single red light fixtures were a bit of overkill. I found myself singing "Red Solo Cup" all week. Even though they made it bigger I think they added too many people to the larger space. I think a capacity of about 500 less would have made it feel less crowded. Never in all of my cruises have I ever waited in line for meals for so long. I did like the idea that they added a barbeque on deck 5 for lunch time. I imagine it took some of the pressure off the dining rooms and the lido offerings.

Food

I tried the Mongolian Wok and loved it even though the wait time was about 20 minutes because they cook it right there for you. My only regret was that I did not take enough. They had 3 different sauces

and I asked which one was the least hot. I took that and I was sure I had third degree burns in my mouth. Very tasty even though it packed some heat.

Of course I got to the Deli for a Pastrami sandwich. I have not found pastrami here in Florida so I enjoyed that very much.

Pizza was good too as usual and I enjoyed 2 slices one day.

I went through the buffet line on Italian day and the Veal Parmesan was to die for. Every day the offerings on lido looked excellent. I checked them out every day even when I was eating in the dining room.

Desserts, What can I say but Oh MY God they were good. My blood sugar level has finally started to come back to normal.

The Punchliner Brunch fell short of my expectations. I would rather have had the normal breakfast and lunch offerings.

At breakfast I was disappointed in my former favorite, Eggs Benedict. The Hollandaise sauce was not hot and as a result was congealed when it was served. I think some changes in the breakfast menu overall are overdue.

Lobster night was a disappointment to me. First it was the only night the wait staff seemed to be out of step and wait time was longer than usual. When I finally got my long awaited lobster it was rubbery for a girl from New England this was disappointing.

Food over all was mostly very good to excellent.

I was assigned the forward Crimson dining for "Your time Dining" I was dismayed at this because my room was nearly all the way aft. My legs are not as good as they once were. I asked to be changed to the Scarlett Dining Room but it was for fixed seating which I did not want and all that was left was late dining. I like "YTD" because it affords me the chance to meet more people. Imaging my surprise when some people at my table said they were from Bristol NH. A town where I spent a good portion of my life from 1953. How nice to meet someone from home. Jack if you are reading this they owned Mocha Cottages, up near the old Pasquaney inn, Now known as "The Inn On Newfound Lake"

Service was mostly excellent and I liked that they always knew our names and addressed us by name.

My cabin was a bit larger than I remembered and had 2 bathrooms. One with a small vanity and a tub with a shower. The other was a standard vanity, toilet and shower. I had 4 closets and not enough clothes to fill them I also had 5 drawers. The safe was operated with a pin number rather than the old credit card system. I liked the pin system much better.

My cabin steward was outstanding. He came and introduced himself the first day and he addressed me by name all the time. My room was always nice and neat. Hard for anyone to keep up with messy Laura but he managed very well.

I slept so well on this cruise I hated to come home to the terrorists upstairs.

I did not see much of the entertainment. The show lounge was so far from my cabin. I did manage to see the Marriage Game which is always amusing. I always find it a bit sad too as I keep remembering the times I watched Ray and Helen in the game.

I only got off the ship at St Thomas and went walking in Havensight. I saw many things I wanted to buy but I restrained myself. It was showery off and on all day so I started my walk back earlier than I planned. I was glad I did as later the heavens opened up and poured. I got on an elevator full of soaked people that had just come in. St Thomas had grown quite a bit in the last 20 years. I am not so sure progress is always good.

One thing that took me by surprise was seeing the Kon Tiki tour. I took that tour on my first cruise in 1983. I was surprised it was still operating. I managed to be on deck when it returned and docked on the main pier right near our ship. As I listened to the people coming off that boat I realized they still served the infamous rum punch. Everyone seemed happy :roll:

Except for the size of the ship being more than I can handle physically I really enjoyed this cruise and can't wait to go again. I did not even mind that my efforts in the casino did not make me "rich" I spent the money to have fun and that is exactly what I did.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Unsatisfied disable traveler
Publication Date: December 7, 2013

The Carnival Cruise Ship "Elation" was not what we expected for luxury travel. The beds were awful, could feel the springs while trying to sleep. One of the assistance persons on the 7th floor deportation area was very arrogant and lack in ability to communicate with restless passenger, me, she was not willing to call the director for information I had requested and told me to "cool it." That did not go over very well as I had been sitting in my wheel chair for over an hour and in excruciating pain... The ship DID NOT give any assistance during disembarking to handicapped people, we were pushed aside, ran into with luggage by other passengers....(No dignity on this ship for handicapped people by the ship's personal, other than the room cleaning assistances.) It was the port folks and customs officers who so kind and gave us help.

Read More
 
Carnival has declined.
Publication Date: December 3, 2013

First let me lead off by explaining that we took our first cruise in 1991. I'm not sure how many cruises we've been on but it exceeds twenty. We have had 5 cruises with Carnival. I am always amazed by people who find so many negative issues on a cruise and then write a negative review. I usually conclude they are just negative people as I have always enjoyed my cruises, but some are better than others. I could never imagine writing a negative review, until I took a cruise on the Carnival Magic into the Western Caribbean.

When we departed Galveston It was only 45 degrees, windy and very cold. The heater in the room didn't work but the AC had the room at about 50 bone chilling degrees. I called customer services and waited 25 minutes with no answer (I attempted to call them on four other occasions just out of curiosity and never got an answer. Finally I concluded the phone didn't work.). I found our room steward who got a maintenance person to come. He couldn't fix it so he turned off the AC and just left

on the ventilation. I still had to stuff a towel in the vent so we didn't freeze. It was allegedly fixed but we felt the thermostat was only cosmetic and never worked. I continued to use a towel to control air flow out of the vent. On the way home we used the hair dryer to heat the room. In talking with other passengers we found several with HVAC problems. Repeated attempts to call customer service went unanswered. Attempts to dial "O" for the operator yielded no ring and therefore no answer )Out-of order phone).

We enjoy the shows and entertainment on cruise ships and were in shock on the third night (A sea night) when there was no show. Instead of a show, the dancers taught passengers three dances and then held a dance off. We watched because there was nothing else to do. Actually we were chuckling that somebody from Carnival thought this was what passed for entertainment. On the fourth night there was only one show which was held at 10:00 pm. On the night of their "big show" they opened the doors twenty minutes before show-time. People began lining up at 40 minutes before. There was no organization for the lines and it could have been a disaster given the crowding and line cutting that took place. It was obvious that Carnival had no idea how to manage a crowd. It was totally disorganized and tense. People were getting irritated at each other and one wrong word could have resulted in a real mess.

On our first port stop we had horrible weather with high winds an torrential winds. Many tours were cancelled and there was little to do in Mahogany Bay forcing many people back on the ship. We tried to eat at 1:00 pm and there was no place to sit. Once we found a table I observed several tables that were not cleaned-up for 20 minutes. The buffet was under-staffed, it appeared they never adjusted the staffing to compensate for the over-whelming extra demand. It appeared that under-staffing was a theme for this ship. Returning to the ship after being in Cozumel we decided to get a piece of pizza to tide us over until dinner. The was only one person making and serving pizza. I was the sixth person in line and it took over 15 minutes. It appeared he was trying to custom make pizza's rather than mass produce. There needed to be 2-3 people to meet the crunch.

Even the entertainment staff was short. On Celebrity or RCL they would have had two male and two female singers but Carnival had only two vocalists. Even the show band had only six instrumentalists. Overall Carnival seems to be short staffing to try and milk as much profit as possible. This was also illustrated by the actions of Carnival during our torrential rains. Carnival was right there with poncho's to serve the passengers but of course they made them available for a modest fee. How many people bring poncho's on a Caribbean cruise? Everything on a cruise is to make a profit, but this bordered on ridiculous.

The buffet was horribly organized. No matter when we went we had to hunt for a table and wait in long lines. Nothing is worse than standing in long slow lines while you are trying to relax on vacation. Carnival really needs to study how RCL sets up their buffet to minimize lines and crowding. Given the size of the Carnival Magic the food stations were poorly organized. In several cases we gave up on the long waits and slow lines and just ate what we could get to.

Our dining room service was excellent. Tatianna was our head waitperson and was a good as any we have ever experienced. Unfortunately the food offered by Carnival has taken a dramatic downward spiral. Carnival was once the best at sea. We always looked forward to "Lobster Night." We remember having the waiters bring extra lobsters around to keep everyone happy. This year it was "lobster and shrimp." It was hard to tell what was smaller. The lobster could not have been more than three ounces and it was tough. The selections for dinner were uninspired and lacked the creativity from previous years. We have seen a decrease in overall food quality on cruise ships over the past 10 years, but nothing like the slide we've seen on Carnival.

Carnival seems to have engaged in a race to the bottom of the cruise industry. Formal night is now "cruise elegant" which is less formal than most casual Fridays at work. Many men wore golf shirts to the "cruise elegant" dinner. Norwegian Cruise Lines has given up on Formal Night, Carnival should just give up too. I have many fond memories of past Carnival cruises, but this cruise will be my last with them. I will definitely seek cruises with RCL, Holland American, and Celebrity who seem to be better managed. I hope in future years Carnival can get it back together.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Mexican Riviera in Aft Extended Balcony
Publication Date: November 26, 2013

We had a relaxing cruise aboard the Miracle in an aft extended view balcony and wanted to share the good, the great, and the minor bummers. I am 40, my husband 50 and our son is 4. This was a 40th birthday cruise for me. Probably our 14th cruise or so, but who is counting?! We'd repeat this trip because it was an overall excellent value and great experience.

Faster to the Fun:

I'll start with major props on the Faster to the Fun concept. For $50 we are so glad we made the investment. We were some of the first on the ship (by 12:30pm due to a slower than usual disembarkation process from the prior Hawaii cruise) and praise the staff for always recognizing us as FTTF and whisking us to priority tenders, priority self assist debarkation, etc. We will always cruise this way as long as Carnival makes this option available at such a good price. And YES, FTTF is listed on the priority check in sign, right next to Platinum, etc. This was really nice for us traveling with a 4 year old and arriving to the

port at 10:30am. A front desk agent surveyed us on our FTTF experience mid way through the cruise by phoning our cabin. The only less than perfect feedback I had for her (when asked) was that our luggage wasn' in our room when we arrived on embarkation day, but we didn’t care one bit about that since it arrived shortly thereafter.

Our cabin:

Here is our video tour of aft extended balcony cabin #7351.

http://youtu.be/2pHH-PCarA0

We loved this cabin. It was quiet (staterooms above and below), clean, and located quite conveniently to the Horatio’s restaurant (LOVE that I only had to take two quick flights of stairs for our morning coffee run!). The bed was among the top three most comfortable on any ship we'e ever experienced. We pack our own pillows, but still, the mattress was just soft enough, the sheets were soft and we slept like babies. My 4 year old son slept on the couch converted to a bed, and he loved the gentle rumble of the engines lulling him to sleep each night. There was less engine vibration and noise on the aft of the Miracle than we've experienced on other ships. Just enough to be soothing and rock you to sleep. The balcony was showing a bit of wear and wasn't super clean, and I didn't care for the food smell that wafts toward the aft when you are on the back of the ship, but the lack of wind makes that part bearable. There was never a time when we couldn't be out on the balcony. Even late at night on the coolest of evenings it was calm and lovely to watch the wake. Storage was ample, closet space rocked, and the shower seemed bigger to me than most. We'd choose this cabin again and again.

Our dining experience:

We dined at the Steakhouse, Nick and Nora's, twice on this voyage. The first experience was on the night of our cruise - after learning that we weren't happy with our main dining room table assignment. Shortly after boarding, we visited the main dining room and were told we were to be seated at a big table with others (we'd chosen assigned /6pm, table of 4 for the three of us). So, until this was resolved, we decided to pay the premium and hit Nick and Nora's. We dined there a second time on the second formal night. It was wonderful!

Both times, I had the lobster bisque, Caesar salad, surf and turf (Lobster

Expand Review
Read More
 
Object in the food A nightmare of a cruise
Publication Date: October 18, 2013

I have never written a review and I use my own judgment when reading them but this is totally over the top.

On the second day of our cruise my wife bit into a piece of glass and cut the inside of her mouth while eating breakfast from the Lido Deck buffet. She was treated at the medical center and a security report was taken (both are jokes). She cried for two days and wanted to leave the cruise and come home so she could be close to her doctor in case anything happened, not knowing if she had swallowed any glass fragments and what might happen if she had.

The only thing we received from Carnival was a letter slipped under our door saying if we need anything call guest services. We decided to ride it out and take our chances. The only information we received we had to ask for and Carnival does not give up information easily.

On the last day of our cruise we talked to the food service manager and was told that after his investigation it was a piece of plastic from the cups used

on Lido deck and that it did not come from the food prep area. So has anyone ever broken one of these glasses? I have seen them cracked and if dropped they bounce but never broken.

That tells me that someone done this to hurt someone, either an upset employee or a passenger. I want to think that is not the case but it is 2013 and crazier things have happened. If so putting objects in food is a criminal act in my mind. I think Carnival knows more than they are telling. I called Carnival and asked for some compensation and was told I would not receive any because my wife was treated at the medical center for free, WHAT.

I think at the least Carnival owes us a FULL REFUND and another free cruise. You can go to any restaurant in America and if you find something in your food they will compensate you. Even dog food companies will recall dog food if they find foreign objects in it. Carnival has all of these Vacation Guarantees but when something happens they are not worth the paper they are written on.

We are Platinum cruisers and have been loyal to Carnival throughout their problems, but this may have been our last cruise with them. I have not ruled out suing and contacting other authorities to further investigate. I am contacting any TV, newspaper, radio, Facebook and Tweeter, anyone that will listen. I am PISSED and I want some satisfaction. This could have turned out badly. By the way our cabin steward Jessie was THE BEST EVER.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: October 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time on our cruise, enjoyed the room we had with a balcony (cabin 8230). It was near the stairs/elevator and just one flight up to the buffet. The "Serenity deck" was awesome (no one under 21). There is also an inside pool which was great as long as you could get into it before the kids did! The gym was very nice too, as well as the steam room and sauna. The only thing that keeps this from being 5 star is that Carnival allows smoking on the balcony decks, which affects other balconies.

Read More
 
Credit Card numbers were sold to a friend of theirs in Canada by Guest Services
Publication Date: September 25, 2013

The Cruise itself was o.k. we had a pretty good time. The food was really not all that good or fresh for that. Our room attendant was PERFECT and our formal dinning team with Arsana was Fabulous. What happened on the cruise and during will blow your socks off. This type of SCAM should be put on AMERICAN GREED!

On the second day of our cruise, mind you we had just been on one full day with the first day having to give Carnival in Galveston our Credit Card numbers to allocate them with your Sail and Sign card. On the second FULL day of our cruise we went to the Spotlight lounge for a little Comedy and we ordered a drink. Well the lady comes back and says that our card is NOT working that I will have to go to Guest Services (CON ARTIST services) and fix the mess up.

So after the Comedy I go and I happen to get the only person that is working at Guest Services and I let her know that my Sail and Sign card the card that you swipe for EVERYTHING,

is not working and it was just working 24 hours ago, when I boarded this ship. She writes my Credit Card number down and swipes it in their little machine and states all is well, that she was not sure what happened with my card.

Well, we are at Sea for two days so on the Fourth day of the cruise we are in Jamaica and when we get their we turn our phones on, because our children are going one way and we are going another. So we had set up with ATT to have Texting service only in Jamaica. When I turn my phone on, I noticed there were 7 missed calls. I could not call them back because of the expense, so they would have to wait. So we did our excursions and got back on the Ship.

Day five in Caymen Islands we purchased some items, paying cash and used another credit card that we had called letting them know we would be in Caymen Islands, Jamaica, and Mexico. We get back on ship and sail away. Day 6 we are in Mexico, and we tried to use our Credit Card the same one we had put on our sail and sign card on the ship and they told us it was declined. We knew it could not be because we have a 25,000 limit and we knew we were NO WHERE NEAR THAT!!! So we had to use cash.

Last day at sea and the day before we get home and we signed up for the Carnival Card to earn points. Thank the Lord we did, because we would have been denied with our other card, because unannounced to us it had been closed due to unauthorized usage in Canada. (I wonder who the guest service person knows in Canada?) So we get off when we dock in Galveston and we get to our car and I immediately call our Credit Card Company and research our usage and History. We were told that on September 3, the day after the card would NOT work for us on the ship there were purchases made for Gas in Canada and others in Canada and then they looked up where we had called stating we would be in Cayman, Jamaica, Mexico so the Credit Card Company knew it was fraud and they closed it and it would be up to two weeks before we would receive another one.

AHHHH! we do everything with that card. So we attempt to write a letter and an email and let Carnival know what has occurred and all they could say was, call the authorities where we live and they will cooperate with everything. Well if any of you know when you get your card stolen the people who are using it, are sure not going to be going to the same gas station and getting gas and smokes, drinks etc on an everyday basis. They are long gone using our card or at least trying to.

So I write CArnival back saying the fraud Dept with our Credit Card has closed the account to stop the hemorrhaging and we will have to once the statement comes in, just let them know which ones are ours and which ones are the thieves who got our card numbers along with all codes from the only person that had it in their hands while it was out of ours in 15 seconds. The Con Artist Guest Service Person. Needs more money so she is Selling Credit CArd numbers to her friends back home. AHHHHHHHHHHH and Carnival I Care Dept. can only write a letter saying Call the police and we will talk to anyone we need to.

Well the new CEO is names Arnold Donald who took over Micky Arison's position after being the CEO for over 30 years after his father BUILT this Company, however there was the Triumph that went up in flames, then the other ship that had to have Coast Guard go help them home with all the clients, I say he went out with a BANG!!!!

So do you trust Carnival's employees well, if you want. Oh, the lady St. Ahmad that wrote me the letter said they have extensive guidelines to make sure their guest sensitive information is not stolen. I had to remind her that I am sure that Enron had guidelines for people NOT to steal from their employees and look what happen? Someone got greedy as in this case! I also had to let her know that you can go online and see all the people who buy these machines to make their own Credit cards that match what you and I are carrying right now in our wallets and purses. All the thieves need is some particular numbers and secure numbers on the back. and WHOLA!!!

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: September 23, 2013

We have cruised on this ship about 4 times and always have a good time. This time was a little different. The room attendants did not introduce themselfs until we cornered them in our room on afternoon while they were "cleaning?"

The glasses for the ice bucket were not changed out daily, the beds were worn out. They took our robes we left sinde they were wet from the spa, but refused to give up replacement ones ! What the heck??

The dining was good, the food great, and service terrific! The same old shows, need new material.

The captain did take 3 hours to dock at Costa Maya, due to high winds and sea. He could have just not stopped but kept trying and they stayed in port an extra hour to make up for the delay for excursions could be taken as planned.

This ship could use an update, as the interiors are very dated.

Read More
Write a Review
Results 21 - 30 of 1235 1234567

Similar Cruise Lines

Royal Caribbean
Royal Caribbean
From 730 Reviews
Disney Cruise Line
Disney Cruise Line
From 44 Reviews