Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Year Started: 1972
Ships in Fleet: 24
Category: Mainstream

Summary: The most successful cruise line in history. Don't be misled, a high-quality cruise experience perfect for families and young couples, Fantastic value. the FUN ships, but not "party boats."

Go

Carnival Cruise Ships

3 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western, Caribbean

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Singles.

86 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Value for Money. Overall Service. Children`s Programs.

21 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Families. Singles. Seniors.

34 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Singles. Families. Teens.

80 Reviews

Regions: Bahamas, Caribbean, Canada/New England, Cruise To Nowhere

Good for: Families. Teens. Children`s Programs.

80 Reviews

Regions:Western Caribbean

Good for: Teens. First-time Cruisers. Families.

38 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Teens. Singles. Families.

9 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Singles. Group. Families.

54 Reviews

Regions:Mexico, Caribbean Eastern, Hawaii

Good for: Families. Overall Service. Value for Money.

90 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

Good for: Singles. Group. First-time Cruisers.

76 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

Good for: Overall Service. Seniors. Families.

11 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Bermuda, South America

Good for: Group. Families. Foodies.

2 Reviews

Regions:Europe, TransAtlantic, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Value for Money. Seniors.

61 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Suthern

Good for: Families. Children`s Programs. Singles.

70 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Group. Families. Luxury Travelers.

51 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Group. Singles. First-time Cruisers.

56 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Singles. First-time Cruisers. Overall Service.

53 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Singles. Teens.

43 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Value for Money. First-time Cruisers.

47 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean, Mexico, Panama Canal

Good for: Families. Singles. Children`s Programs.

64 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Families. Seniors. Children`s Programs.

60 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Group.

56 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Families. Group. Singles.

96 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.11
from 1241 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

User Reviews

1241 User Reviews of Carnival Ships
Carnival Valor Review - Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: July 2, 2013

We were in a group of six, all of which has cruised several times on Carnival. We sailed on the Carnival Valor Feb. 3-10, 2013.

We flew in a day early to Fort Lauderdale and stayed at the Ramada Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruiseport.

We purchased transfers from John's Service and arrived at the Miami Cruiseport by 10:50AM and were on board by 11:20AM. Everyone was very helpful and the line moved very quickly.

Lunch was served on the Lido deck, with grilled hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken, etc. available. By 1PM we were allowed in our cabins. Our luggage was delivered in a timely manner.

The ship is decorated in the red, white, and blue theme, hence the name Valor. The ship was clean and attractive. It has the usual shops onboard with specials running throughout the week.

Food- The food in the dining was overall pretty good, though it seemed there could have been a wider selection to choose from. You can order from the "comfort food" list everyday and steak is available daily, also. Just a quick note- if you are eating in the dining room for breakfast you have the option of

asking for real, not powdered, scrambled eggs, whereas on the buffet all that is available is powdered scrambled eggs.

The ham and cheese omelet in the dining room was very good

Lobster was available once, and there were several shrimp dishes available throughout the week. I ate the flat iron grilled steak one night and it was very good. .

One thing we thought was odd- when we were in port, after arriving back on the ship after an excursion, the only available place to eat was either Italian fare at the buffet, or the deli for a sandwich.

Entertainment- we like to dance to 70's- 80's music and the only band playing that type of music was playing in the casino, which has virtually no dance floor. So that was a disappointment to all of us. We felt like it had been planned intentionally in order to draw people to gamble.

The dancers were very good and entertaining, the juggler was great, as were the other entertainers as well. We did hear complaints about the "family friendly" comedian not actually being very "kid friendly" which caused several people to walk out of the show

The crew- everybody was very friendly- you would not pass a crew member without them smiling, telling you good morning, etc. Our cabin steward TokTok was fabulous!

Other services- after 13 cruises, for the first time ever, we had to use the infirmary. On a windy day my husband was hit with a lounge chair and needed glued/stitched. They were all very helpful. They had him come back after our first port stop so they could clean it and put a new bandage on it.

I have read many stories about how people are treated in the infirmaries and I have nothing but praise for the medical staff on the Carnival Valor. We were not even charged for this service.

In the past I would highlight the daily activities I was interested in doing and this time I did that the first day and then didn't do it again. It seemed there weren't as many activities going on, for free, as there used to be. I realize cruise ships need to make money and the money that is pulled in with gambling, bingo, drinks, etc. contributes a lot to this purpose so I'm not saying this practice is wrong but that maybe it should not be the only activities that are offered.

I can't really say much about the ships shore excursions as we booked our excursions independently.

We visited Grand Turk, St. Maarten, St. Thomas, and St. Kitts. At Grand Turk we purchased an excursion on our own. We arranged for rental of 2 golf carts to ride around the island. We used Nathan's for the rentals and I would not recommend them. When we arrived to pick up our carts there was a family of 4 that had also arranged to get a golf cart. There were only 2 carts available. We were told 1 cart had broken down a few weeks before and had not been fixed yet. My group took the 2 golf carts and one of them was not running properly. It broke down on us and we ended up pushing it to get it started again. We were so concerned about getting back to the port that we cut our day very short and returned the golf carts to the original starting point.

At St. Kitts we arranged for a tour with Javin's Island Tours. It was a great day and a wonderful way to see the island. I would highly recommend using Javin at St. Kitts.Javin is very knowledgeable and friendly and makes sure everybody

is having a good time.

At St. Maarten and St. Thomas we didn't do any excursion, mainly walked around.

Overall the cruise was okay. We weren't really disappointed about anything but just didn't come away with that feeling of excitement that we usually do after a cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Memorable cruise but not in a good way
Publication Date: June 28, 2013

With living in Jacksonville we have taken many cruises on the Fascination, 4 last year alone. Us and our friends were excited on this cruise as I said we were celebration a 67th birthday and 39th wedding anniversary.

Embarkation

We arrived at the terminal, the 6 of us traveled together, and ll of the luggage was taken and marked as priority (we are all platinum members) and we proceeded to priory check-in, We waited a short time and were assigned our cabins and told we could go directly to them as soon as we boarded the ship and that our luggage would be waiting. After about a 20 minute wait we boarded and was shown to our cabins. Two couples did indeed have their luggage but unfortunately we didn't. Not concerned we went to the Lido deck for lunch. We returned to the cabin approximately an hour and half later still no luggage. We went to CS and was told our luggage wasn't on the ship. We left and came back an our later and was told to look in 'lost and found' again no luggage. Told again our luggage was not

on the ship. At 3PM 2 pieces showed up at the cabin. Went back to CS about the 3rd piece and was told again it wasn't on the ship but they had until 6:30 to deliver it to the room! Finally at 6PM it was delivered. Needless to say this didn't set our "special" cruise off to a good start.

Dining

After getting on the ship we went to the Lido Deck for lunch. Since there were long lines at the grill and buffet we decided to have salads and sandwiches, both were wonderful. the salad ingredients were fresh and crisp. Among the 6 of us, we tried the corn beef, ruben, pastrami, and turkey, they all were delis!

We didn't utilize the buffet, due to long lines, but was able to eat from the grill and it was ok but would have been better if the food had been hot. We did have lunch in the dining room on the last sea day and it was wonderful. It is sad that it is only open for lunch on sea days!

We utilized room service for breakfast each day and enjoyed it on the cabin balcony. We would recommend it

We had late dining and unfortunately our table was in the middle of 4 tables of 10. These cruisers must have been sailing together because they spent most of the meal going back in forth to each others tables. With this being said we were jostled quite a bit. (we did request another table but were told there were none available) Our service was spotty, it could have been because of the number of diners the wait staff was trying to serve, At times we would have 2 courses set down at one time, items ordered mixed up or forgotten all together, or long waits (up to 20 minutes) between items.

Service

Service is spotty all over the ship. We went to the casino bar and the bartender was so interested in setting up her bar that she ignored new customers. She finally decided that they weren't going to leave and waited on them with attitude!

In the buffet on the Lido deck the gentleman cleaning the tables offered to get more drinks for a table with small children!

Ship Activities

There are many planned activities to do on board besides enjoying the pools, hot tubs and deck chairs. There are many places to quietly read or play a game. Also the casino, we did take advantage of it and saw someone win $1600. unfortunately it wasn't any of our group!

Entertainment

Since we have cruised a lot on the Fascination we didn't attend any of the shows but did try to go to the comedy show but with late dining were unable to get in.

Ports

Freeport isn't one of our favorite ports but there are excursions that can be booked and a straw market you can go to right off the ship for things to take home

Nassau is one of our favorite ports. We buy purses and visit Atlantis. Great place just to wander in, just be watchful as you would in any port.

Cabin

We had a balcony cabin,E237. Since this is a smaller ship the cabins tend to be smaller. There is no refrigerator, so it is difficult to keep anything cold. There is an ice bucket that is filled twice a day and you can as your cabin steward for more. Our steward was very attending but didn't speak english very well so my husband was always asking after he left 'what did he say'

Disembarkation

As platinum members we do have priority disembarkation. This went very smoothly and the luggage was very easy to find. We were off the ship and on our way home by 9:15

I hope this helps all cruisers. Just remember you are on vacation, not at work, so have fun!

Expand Review
Read More
 
No major complaints, but still just HO-HUM
Publication Date: June 19, 2013

Carnival Valor February 3-10, 2013

We were in a group of six, all of which has cruised several times on Carnival. We sailed on the Carnival Valor Feb. 3-10, 2013.

We flew in a day early to Fort Lauderdale and stayed at the Ramada Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruiseport.

We purchased transfers from John's Service and arrived at the Miami Cruiseport by 10:50AM and were on board by 11:20AM. Everyone was very helpful and the line moved very quickly.

Lunch was served on the Lido deck, with grilled hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken, etc. available. By 1PM we were allowed in our cabins. Our luggage was delivered in a timely manner.

The ship is decorated in the red, white, and blue theme, hence the name Valor. The ship was clean and attractive. It has the usual shops onboard with specials running throughout the week.

Food- The food in the dining was overall pretty good, though it seemed there could have been a wider selection to choose from. You can order from the "comfort food" list everyday and steak is available daily, also. Just a quick note- if you are eating in the dining room for breakfast you

have the option of asking for real, not powdered, scrambled eggs, whereas on the buffet all that is available is powdered scrambled eggs.

The ham and cheese omelet in the dining room was very good

Lobster was available once, and there were several shrimp dishes available throughout the week. I ate the flat iron grilled steak one night and it was very good. .

One thing we thought was odd- when we were in port, after arriving back on the ship after an excursion, the only available place to eat was either Italian fare at the buffet, or the deli for a sandwich.

Entertainment- we like to dance to 70's- 80's music and the only band playing that type of music was playing in the casino, which has virtually no dance floor. So that was a disappointment to all of us. We felt like it had been planned intentionally in order to draw people to gamble.

The dancers were very good and entertaining, the juggler was great, as were the other entertainers as well. We did hear complaints about the "family friendly" comedian not actually being very "kid friendly" which caused several people to walk out of the show

The crew- everybody was very friendly- you would not pass a crew member without them smiling, telling you good morning, etc. Our cabin steward TokTok was fabulous!

Other services- after 13 cruises, for the first time ever, we had to use the infirmary. On a windy day my husband was hit with a lounge chair and needed glued/stitched. They were all very helpful. They had him come back after our first port stop so they could clean it and but a new bandage on it.

I have read many stories about how people are treated in the infirmaries and I have nothing but praise for the medical staff on the Carnival Valor. We were not even charged for this service.

In the past I would highlight the daily activities I was interested in doing and this time I did that the first day and then didn't do it again. It seemed there weren't as many activities going on, for free, as there used to be. I realize cruise ships need to make money and the money that is pulled in with gambling, bingo, drinks, etc. contributes a lot to this purpose so I'm not saying this practice is wrong but that maybe it should not be the only activities that are offered.

I can't really say much about the ships shore excursions as we booked our excursions independently.

We visited Grand Turk, St. Maarten, St. Thomas, and St. Kitts. At Grand Turk we purchased an excursion on our own. We arranged for rental of 2 golf carts to ride around the island. We used Nathan's for the rentals and I would not recommend them. When we arrived to pick up our carts there was a family of 4 that had also arranged to get a golf cart. There were only 2 carts available. We were told 1 cart had broken down a few weeks before and had not been fixed yet. My group took the 2 golf carts and one of them was not running properly. It broke down on us and we ended up pushing it to get it started again. We were so concerned about getting back to the port that we cut our day very short and returned the golf carts to the original starting point.

At St. Kitts we arranged for a tour with Javin's Island Tours. It was a great day and a wonderful way to see the island. I would highly recommend using Javin at St. Kitts.Javin is very knowledgeable and friendly and makes sure everybody

is having a good time.

At St. Maarten and St. Thomas we didn't do any excursion, mainly walked around.

Overall the cruise was okay. We weren't really disappointed about anything but just didn't come away with that feeling of excitement that we usually do after a cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Thanks for the Fun
Publication Date: May 27, 2013

Just want to say that I had a great time. Want to thank the crew and my stateroom attendent Frank. Went on the RC Freedom of the Seas the day after returning from the Breeze. The Breeze made me feel more like a close friend or family. The RC was nice but too uptight. LOL The crew was not as happy. More tense.

Also I wore my Carnival lanyard the entire trip. Also the RC Cpt. was downgrading the Carnival Line. But hey that's his problem right? Again thank you guys. Starr.

Read More
 
Great short cruise
Publication Date: May 15, 2013

I don't particularly care for short cruises myself. I prefer a 7 day minimum myself. We did this cruise with my niece her husband and 10 yr old son.

For the age of the ship, it is kept up pretty good. Overall it's impressive and the water park is fantastic. We had a great time, although the stop in Key West was much too short, and we barely got a chance to see anything. Cozumel was fun and we had a good time snorkeling at Money Bar.

If I had to do a short cruise again, I wouldn't hesitate to take this ship again.

Read More
 
Spring Cruise
Publication Date: May 8, 2013

My husband and I along with an entourage from Natchez, McComb, Caseyville, and Brookhaven, Miss. as well as Vidalia, La. recently cruised to Belize.

The staff was wonderful!! Their patience was phenomenal no matter what our requests were. The cruise was full of excitement, enthusiasm and zest from beginning to end.

We look forward to this annual cruise which has become another blessed opportunity to fellowship with family/friends.

As we share memories and pray for continued blessings from our Creator we eagerly await next year's cruise to the Bahamas.

Great job Carnival Conquest Staff.

Happy Cruising from the Franklin Family in Natchez, MS.

Read More
 
Be sure to use the safe in the room
Publication Date: May 8, 2013

-----PLEASE CAREFULLY READ THE ENTIRE CRUISE CONTRACT BEFORE TAKING THIS CRUISE----

 

Sail Date:  April 29, 2013

Cruise Region: Caribbean - Western

Cruise Length: Five days

Horrible, Awful, Cheats, Scams, and Liars.

 

Once you have read this contract you realize you have signed your life, first born, and bank account over to Carnival Cruise lines.

Once you board this "ship" or floating bathroom as i would like to refer to it they will offer you drinks. Complimentary? OH NO, they will make sure to get your (sails and signs account card) and then let you know they have a daily drink special of $10 if they are feeling generous that day.

After you get a look around the ship they will let you know where your cabin is located and where your baggage will be. (Please ignore all baggage location as you will have to fight your way to it at the end of the hallway where you can grab all you want.)

Now we get to the fun parts, want your room cleaned??? Oh, they will surely help you out by removing your valuables from your room in my case an iPhone 5 and some

cash. So, now that they have robbed you, you will try to make a report when you make your report please be ready to be searched by security and treated as a criminal, because not only will they search your entire room bag by bag, article or clothing by article of clothing, but they will also go through your safe.

Now that you have proven that the items are NOT in your possession they will ask you how much cash you have on your person, (why i haven't quite figured out yet) and tell you they will return within an hour or so. That being said after 5 hours of sitting in my cabin i decide that i am going to go up to customer service where i ask for the manager it seems that all staff are "the manager" after asking how everyone is the manager i got pulled aside by two security guards behind a curtain to meet a lovely (sarcasm) lady named Barbara.

Barbara proceeded to call me a liar, i then asked to see a video or recording of who had entered my room, this was not possible because "they don't have any". So, now i am told to "PROVE" that my items were there in the first place. I attempted to explain that i cannot prove the location of something that is no longer there the reply i received was that the investigation was complete. I go on to realize that now i have to cancel my cell phone and bank info because of data stored on my iPhone, they were very nice at offering free calls to do so, BUT then you get a bill of 100$ for international calling.

Now they will try to show you a log of when people come in and out of your room pay attention to the times they burst in on you with "towel service" or "activity sheets", because they tell you that only the "steward" has access to your room.

So we have covered the basics of this cruises personnel lets get to the ports. One of the two stops was delayed by poor planning due to another ships arrival leaving non priority guests stuck on the boat for part of the day. All in all i felt more safe and comfortable having a random bar keep in mexico look after my items then i did in my room.

I would never get back on this boat, even if it was free.

Expand Review
Read More
 
First Time Cruiser
Publication Date: May 4, 2013

This was my very first cruise. It certainly will not be my last. I was swept off my feet with pampering.

I got off to a rocky start when I started to Jacksonville, Florida, got 5 hours away and realized that I had left my birth certificate in a red folder in my car at my friends house. We called Carnival and they helped us make arrangements to satisfy this catastrophe. I had planned to catch a plane back home but fortunately they enabled me to go.

Love the water especially hot tubs.

The shows could have been targeted to a more general audience.

The food was good and available all the time. I enjoyed our waiter very much Santiago. He made our dining experience one to always be remembered. He knew all our cruisers by name. He always went out of his way to make sure we got our food and all that we needed timely.

I enjoyed going to the Stir Up Cay Island. Nasau was OK my daughter enjoyed Senyor Frogs. Overall it was a great affordable vacation. The 8-10 hour car ride to get to Jacksonville Florida was long and

tiring. Next time I think I will sail out of Charleston, SC on 6 hours away.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: March 3, 2013

We did the 8 night cruise of the eastern Caribbean on the Carnival Breeze and absolutely loved the ship. We staying in a cove balcony cabin and will definitely book this type of cabin again, it was so much fun being close to the water, especially when in port when you could watch the yacht's and sailboats pass by.

The service was wonderful and our cabin steward was friendly and did a wonderful job of keeping our cabin in order, no complaints from any of our group. The food was great, we had early dining in the Blush Dining Room, our head waiter was terrific and explained the menu each night along with making recommendations. We went to the Steakhouse one evening and it was amazing,the food the service again no complaints from anyone in our group.

If we had to complain it would be about the entertainment, the shows have really taken a cut, they are definitely not the caliber that we have seem in the past on other Carnival cruises. My husband did the "Behind the fun tour" $95.00 for about 4 hours and felt it was well worth

it. ( You cannot book it in advance and have to book at the shore excursions desk as soon as you get on the boat as it fills up fast).

We had Ken Bynes as our maitre'd boy that man can sing!!

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Bahamas
Publication Date: December 31, 2012

A crew member named "Daniel from Indonesia" Humiliated me and left me with a very bad memory. I made the horrible mistake of snapping a photo of the photos posted for sale. (Photos taken freely by the cruise's staff the night before) (I just wanted to take a picture to relay to my wife to ask if she wanted to purchase it)

As I knelt to snap the photo from my Iphone, I was met by Daniel's finger in my face with a demand to "DELETE IMMEDIATLEY" I felt embarrassed and as I tried to stand to explain my apology and that I was only trying to confirm with my wife if she wished to purchase the photo on display, Daniel's response was to reach for his Walkie-talkie" and call for "SECURITY"...People looked on like I was a criminal. I may have made a mistake by using my cell phone to snap a photo, but I certainly didn't deserve to be treated like this.

Daniel was over bearing and insisted on witnessing me delete the photo.  I shakenly complied with the thought of "Security" arriving.   I will never make the same mistake.  Please tell Daniel

that he needs to relax and not be a police officer hot dog.  Otherwise, I loved the cruise.     

However - Carnival is a value.  The housekeeping staff is amazing.  Please only report this one in cident.  I felt guilty, the rest of the staff was awesome. 

 

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 41 - 50 of 1241 2345678

Similar Cruise Lines

Royal Caribbean
Royal Caribbean
From 732 Reviews
Disney Cruise Line
Disney Cruise Line
From 44 Reviews