Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Year Started: 1972
Ships in Fleet: 24
Category: Mainstream

Summary: The most successful cruise line in history. Don't be misled, a high-quality cruise experience perfect for families and young couples, Fantastic value. the FUN ships, but not "party boats."

Go

Carnival Cruise Ships

3 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western, Caribbean

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Singles.

86 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Value for Money. Overall Service. Children`s Programs.

20 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Families. Seniors. Singles.

34 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Singles. Families. Teens.

80 Reviews

Regions: Bahamas, Caribbean, Canada/New England, Cruise To Nowhere

Good for: Families. Teens. Children`s Programs.

80 Reviews

Regions:Western Caribbean

Good for: Teens. First-time Cruisers. Families.

38 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Teens. Singles. Families.

8 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Singles. Group. Families.

54 Reviews

Regions:Mexico, Caribbean Eastern, Hawaii

Good for: Families. Overall Service. Value for Money.

89 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

Good for: Singles. Group. First-time Cruisers.

75 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

11 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Bermuda, South America

Good for: Group. Families. Foodies.

2 Reviews

Regions:Europe, TransAtlantic, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Value for Money. Seniors.

61 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Suthern

Good for: Families. Children`s Programs. Singles.

70 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Group. Families. Luxury Travelers.

51 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Group. Singles. First-time Cruisers.

56 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Singles. First-time Cruisers. Overall Service.

53 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Singles. Teens.

43 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Value for Money. First-time Cruisers.

47 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean, Mexico, Panama Canal

Good for: Families. Singles. Children`s Programs.

64 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Families. Seniors. Children`s Programs.

60 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Group.

56 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Families. Group. Singles.

96 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.12
from 1235 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

User Reviews

1235 User Reviews of Carnival Ships
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: November 4, 2012

This is the worst I have ever done. I've cruised Carnival twice before and decided to give it another chance to see if things had improved a bit, of course I was wrong by a long shot.

Embarcation was one of the most unorganized and to think that they have been doing this for so many decades over and over. Long lines and rude people were just unprofessional.

Ports of call were ok with the exception of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Not too many people were happy with this port, a complete ripoff.

Food was very, very poor. From selection of entries to just tasting right, It was all a dissapointment for me. There were food selections on the menu that were not the items that you would get.

The cabins seemed to be very acomodating and large enough, we had an ocean view on the second deck and was very comfortable with the exception of the bed mattres which should have been change on the previous overhaul.

And lastly was the layout of this ship was horrific. I know this is kind of late to remedy,so I belive Carnival need to go and

send spies to were they build Royal Caribbean ships to learn how its done.

All in all it was a bad cruise experience which I will never have to go thru again. Therefore I must say good-by to Carnival Cruise Lines and pay a little more for a better experience.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: November 3, 2012

Pros and Cons of the Freedom: Having been on over 35 cruises, this was without question the fastest and easiest embarkation process I've ever seen. We arrived earlier than our 1:30 scheduled time, yet walked through the terminal and never had to wait for anything. They had at least 20 agents open to process people and the whole thing took less than 15 minutes.

PRO: We had an Aft Extended Balcony Cabin (7445) and it was wonderful! There are 3 windows for great viewing, a HUGE balcony with 2 lounge chairs, 3 chairs and a table. Spent a lot of time out there!

PRO: Great food in the Posh Restaurant (Traditional seating). All beef was excellent, which isn't always the case on ships, seafood, fish, pasta and appetizers wonderful and the Chocolate Melting Cake a delight.

CON: The SunKing Steakhouse was disappointing. Having had the best meal ever on the Legend a few years ago, we were not as excited this time. We both ordered Surf and Turf and later talked to each other and found that our lobster was undercooked. We should have commented on it at the time. The service for

a specialty restaurant was not the best - things forgotten, served to the wrong person, etc. Not really worth the $35.00.

CON: The pools are all VERY small and are really "dunking" pools, not swimming pools. One cannot swim more than 4 or 5 strokes and are at a wall. They are also salt water, which is fine with me, but others seemed to mind that. I must say I haven't seen a saltwater pool since the Norway in the early 90's.

CON: The entire ship's decor seems to be 1970's orange, brown, gold, yellow, with no variations in color. It was a difficult ship to figure out as there are "blind spots" and no real visual changes to orient oneself. It seems to be "cut up" with walls,mirrors, turns, no "landmarks" in your head to orient yourself. That in itself might prevent me from sailing that class of ship again.

CON: The entire ship seems "dark" inside. We were in the sunny, bright Caribbean and the decor did not lend itself to that airy, light feeling.

PRO: The staff and crew were helpful, cheerful, accommodating in every area. Room service in the a.m. was prompt and every order correct. Room steward was efficient and gracious. Dining room staff was excellent.

THE PORTS: We called on St. Thomas, Tortola, Antigua and Nassau. Each port has it's own charm and flavor and we enjoyed them all. Bought some jewelry in St. Thomas, local things on the other islands, and each island is what one makes of it. If you go outside of the terminals and into the towns and beaches, your experience will be greater.

We did go to the hypnotist show which was as predictable as they all are, albeit entertaining. The passenger talent show was fun - always one woman who HAS to sing "Crazy". Cruise Director, Brad Calabrese, must have been a student of Johnny Carson as his timing and quick witted replies are refreshing.

PRO: Debarkation: Casual morning as you don't have to be out of your cabin until 8:30. You can also get room service on the last morning, which doesn't happen on all ships. Nice breakfast on the Lido Deck, waited for number to be called. No lines to speak of onboard, small area to look for luggage, a bit of a wait for customs and immigration, but all in all, quite efficient. We were at our hotel by 10:15 a.m.

Again, there's no such thing as a "bad cruise" and we had a ball. Just wanted to put those things out to you.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Southern Caribbean
Publication Date: October 14, 2012

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Victory by gregg Southern Caribbean October 14, 2012

This cruise started in San Juan, Puerto Rico. The ports for this one week cruise were excellent, St Thomas, Barbados, St Kitts, St Marrtin, St Lucia. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I thought the food in the dining room was good and similar to other Carnival cruises we have been on. One reason My wife and I go on cruises is to dance and one big disappointment was that there was really very limited dancing on the ship, unless you only danced the merenge or cumbia with a latin band. The music was so loud in the latin area that we never stayed. There was an excellent band called inpromptwo on the ship that had a great variety of dance music but they were relegated to only playing in the lobby(no dancing) or next to the casino right in the walkway area with no dance floor. For others that don't really care about dancing west coast, foxtrot, cha cha rumba.... you will probably have a great time. We went on several of the side trips at each

port. The island tours were very informative and maybe a better deal than getting a taxi to show you around. try to get the early tours and then when you get back go and explore on your own. Have fun!
Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: October 13, 2012

Beautiful new ship & ship design:Deck 5 has 4 'bay'whirlpools. Decks 5,11 & casino have designated smoking areas.Passengers allowed to smoke on private balconies; this should be banned. Food mostly very good; but,2 times in dinning room my hot food order was barely warm. Pizza is the best out of 45 ships I've been on (Princess,RC and Carnival). Staff polite and efficient.

I recommend this ship.

Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: September 30, 2012

Overall, cruise was ok.We have been on other cruiselines in the past and this was the first on Carnival.Pros and Cons,

Pros- Value,Cabin size(we had a balcony cabin),Room Steward( Dennis),Pool Drink Runner( Roderic),average ship activities, casino(actually won money)

Cons- Buffet(closed at 3:00pm),drink prices

Again, overall the cruise was ok.Splendor was very clean and to be honest any time away from work is good.Would we take it again.... I would say yes so go and enjoy !!!

Read More
 
Other (Specified in Review)
Publication Date: September 10, 2012

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Inspiration by R. Wals Other (Specified in Review) September 10, 2012

Cruise: Catalina, Ensenada Mexico

A very pleasant cruise and an overall excellent service, this is our 4th cruise with Carnival.

The one terrible flaw: the "live shows" the performers were not really singing but "screaming", I do not believe it is necessary to scream their heads off. Not everyone is deaf or semi-deaf you must realize that there are many people with very sensitive sense of hearing, perhaps you can offer at the entrance of the theater a set of ear plugs in order to attenuate the awful sound or maybe to lower the volume of the amplifiers. Needless to say, we had to leave the show after only 3 minutes.

Thank you very much indeed: Ramon Wals

Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: September 2, 2012

I really enjoyed my cruise. Everything was excellent except lines in the buffet line, and room service. We ordered a peanut butter and jelly for my daughter at four pm. We left to go to dinner at the early seating (one hour and forty five minutes later) and we still had not seen room service. We wanted to go to dinner without her but we had to take her because her sandwich never came. We did not leave her at camp carnival because she would not eat. Also one night we had to call room service to order ice and that was a forty five minute wait. Needless to say again not happy with room service. We went on carnival spirit ship to Mexico also with almost a thousand lest people with same size buffets lines to long

Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: August 28, 2012

After several Caribbean cruises, decided on Alaska. Best food we have had on a Carnival ship. Good service from friendly and attentive staff. Ship is very easy to navigate. So NO problems there.

Main reason for review is BEWARE of excursions. Train ride in Skagway is expensive. Scenery if beautiful but train speed makes it difficult to take good pictures if that's "your thing." Trip is basically up the mountain, flip your seats at the top of the mountain, and back down again. In Juneau, the "Dog sled/Musher Camp" has to be the worst!! A five minute ride on a cart which has NO resemblance to a dog sled is the highlight. People know about the dogs and mushing but.... well over $ 100 per person!! YUK!

Did the Rainforest in Ketchikan. Interesting, but... we did see bald eagles in the wild, evidence of bears but no sightings; had hoped for that. Expensive but probably worth the $$ if you enjoy nature. -- In Victoria, people "hawking" the bicycle tours are "pushy." It's also expensive, $120 for two for two hours. Long walk into Victoria but shuttle is available. Since you are

in Victoria at night, limits what you can actually see.

Enjoyed the cruise but won't go there again

Expand Review
Read More
 
Bahamas
Publication Date: August 17, 2012

hello. We are recently back from a 5 day cruise to Nassau and Half Moon Cay on the Fascination. We had a wonderful time. This was our third cruise (me-mid 50s; my husband-same; my son-19). We have always sailed this class (Paradise & Inspiration). Because the ships are similar, we are comfortable as soon as our foot hits the ship.

We had an ocean view cabin on the Riviera Deck (R20?). I was worried because we were so far back, but it was wonderful. We think we might have heard the anchor one morning, but it wasn't terribly loud; if I hadn't been up already, I might not have heard it. The room was clean and well maintained by Harvey. He slipped in and out and each time we returned the room was picture perfect. It seems like there is more space for storage than our last cruise in 08. My only complaint with the room is that my son's bed had to be "folded" up each day and, being a teenager he kind of likes his own space to lay around. Of course, we really weren't in the cabin

all that much so it was not a major problem.

We really enjoyed the entertainment on the ship. There was a song and dance team that did a fantastic job. I wish they had been on more!! We also enjoyed the comedians (Cowboy, the Comedian and John ..... Foyt? Ford?). I thought that on past cruises the entertainment had been more varied...maybe a hypnotist or magician, but it was either the song/dance troupe or the comedians. In any case, we ended up enjoying them very much. We did not attend the talent show, but when I saw some of it on the room tv I was sorry I hadn't gone. They used one of the professional singers to "back up" the talent and they really gave it some pizzazz. We also enjoyed the many trivia contests and the game show type specials.

Now, for the food. It wasn't awful, but it wasn't awfully good, either. There was always a variety, and I never went to bed hungry, but it just wasn't all that great. We ate in the main dining room 4 of the 5 nights and the food there was slightly better. My son had been looking forward to enjoying a steak but on the first night the head waiter told us that steak would not be a good idea this trip. The lobster was good and so was the salmon and the shrimp. The rolls were always good and the chocolate melting cake was quite good. I liked that they offered the didja ever? items as well as a traditional menu each night (always the same) as well as entrees du jour. The lido deck wasn't bad, either. They had lots of fresh fruit and salad and some interesting things to try like baked fish or stuffed baked tomatoes and there were always hot dogs and hamburgers by the pool! The Mexican Fiesta food was very tasty and we enjoyed the whole thing! The pizza was blah, not enough sauce or cheese and no matter how many times my son asked for calzone and the pizza guy said okay, my son never actually received the calzone! That being said, we don't cruise to eat and it all worked out fine. We'd sail Fascination again.

Ports: I had never been to Half Moon Cay and that was a big factor in choosing this particular cruise. It was all it was reported to be!! It was a perfect beach day. There were plenty of chairs with soft soft sand and the water was absolutely perfect. I had a delicious drink and the jerk chicken and variety of salads at the luncheon barbque were very tasty. You could just sit and sun yourself, or play in the water or take an excursion. We enjoyed the beach and relaxed so we could get busy back on the ship! I was pleased that they had clean bathrooms and plenty of pic nic tables at lunch. Carnival did a great job adding to the enjoyment of the day.

Nassau: We had been to Nassau about 30 years ago and were disappointed by it this time (no fault of Carnival's, though). It was run down with lots of empty buildings. And boy, was it HOT!! It was so HOT that we actually went into Senior Frogs about 10:45 or 11 o'clock and had a refreshing drink. It was a blast. The place was loud and fun and my 19 year old really enjoyed it. He had an opportunity to order a LEGAL drink there and soak up the atmosphere. Afterwards, we returned to the pier for our excursion to tour the Dig & the Aquarium at Atlantis. The tour was very interesting and Atlantis is just beautiful. We had a nice afternoon, finishing our tour in time to grab a slice of pizza at the marina before catching the bus to return to the ship. I appreciated that while we waited for our chartered through Carnival bus to fill up the air conditioner was on!! The bus itself was very clean and comfortable.

We just loved our cruise. We enjoyed sitting outside (in the shade) and being able to people watch. We enjoyed the entertainment. Either the beds were super comfortable or we were so busy during the day that we slept quite soundly and peacefully at night!! One morning we woke up to find some water on the bathroom floor. We told our steward and after he apologized for the inconvenience, he got someone in to take care of it right away. When we returned to the cabin 3 hours later you'd never know there had been any problem at all.

We were pleased with how friendly everyone was. While walking through the hallways to get to our cabin each and every steward made sure they said hello AND SMILED!! what a way to start my day! The head waiter of our section came by every night to make recommendations and after dinner to see how everything was. The server remembered us by name (and by drink!). They were all terribly polite and did a great job.

All in all we thought the cruise was a great value for our $$$. We particularly like that if we want to busy, there is a lot to do and if we want to relax there's plenty of opportunity for that too. The cruise was lots of fun and.......we wish we were still there!! Best to all!

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: August 8, 2012

Overall experience with my 2nd carnival cruise, which we have done more with other cruise lines, was OK! The kids (8 & 6) loved it, but my wife and I had our issues.

embarkation: The only way to get on the boat is through VIP check-in, we were on the boat less that 10 minutes from being dropped off by the shuttle. Our room #9205 was set-up for 4, was a jr. suite and had plenty of storage and space for kids. with balcony, bed was comfortable,and in a section at the end of the hall where you heard nothing most of the time.

Leaving out of galveston, you had all sorts of people, and we noticed that a lot of couples were onboard. This makes me laugh, cause you know the KIDS rule the ship and swimming pools. Mostly all the kids were in the pools and hot tubs... if you think that the carnival ship is a place to romantic hot-tub relaxing... your wrong! all kids were jumping in and out (including mine) in the hot tubs and got many patrons upset.SORRY! Food: I have better, it the same

"Ryans, Furrs, or Golden Corral quality. We had breakfast in the main dining room to avoid the crowds, but that was super bad, and getting worse through the days. Every ham/chesse omelette, arrrive burned, burned enough to peel it open.

Drinks were ok but weak, had to have double shots,or drink beer. Formal dining is ok, but seemed rushed most nights. Food ok, nothing special, was disappointed with desserts like cherrys jubillee, and baked alaska. Ordered mostly on repeat food item menu.

Music on deck was too loud, and such old songs played, and I'm 55. would have like more upbeat tropical or dance music. Shows were bad. New Orleans finale show was stupid... didn't even celebrate Mardi Gras other that beads and streamers. Shore excursion: cozumel Great place for beach... Passion Island is great but to crowded... carnival dream was at port too. Progresso was horrid... vendors unbearable and transfer to ship/town ridicules. My kids dreaded kids camp, did not send them after seeing several kids crying for their "mommies". Staff was nice, not overly friendly, seemed to me that they were overworked or irritated. Some were just forced to say Good morning as we walked the halls.

The whole amostsphere of the Triumph was good, It's a GREAT ship for KIDS to enjoy. The water slide, pizza, and ice cream were my kids favs... wished they would show better movies on deck instead of oldies like :sweet home alabama. That was wierd. Photots on board are good. We brought so many, just because you pay just as much with a sitting in a studio with possible 2 backgrounds, whereas we had multiple scene backdrops that we paid close to %250.00/ same price. Overall good cruise, just as I expected, My kids love shopping at Walmart, and make any opportunity to go there, Carnival Triumph is the same quality and standards as such.

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 51 - 60 of 1235 3456789

Similar Cruise Lines

Royal Caribbean
Royal Caribbean
From 730 Reviews
Disney Cruise Line
Disney Cruise Line
From 44 Reviews