Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Year Started: 1972
Ships in Fleet: 24
Category: Mainstream

Summary: The most successful cruise line in history. Don't be misled, a high-quality cruise experience perfect for families and young couples, Fantastic value. the FUN ships, but not "party boats."


Carnival Cruise Ships

3 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western, Caribbean

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Singles.

86 Reviews


Good for: Value for Money. Overall Service. Children`s Programs.

23 Reviews


Good for: Families. Singles. Seniors.

35 Reviews


Good for: Families. Singles. Overall Service.

80 Reviews

Regions: Bahamas, Caribbean, Canada/New England, Cruise To Nowhere

Good for: Families. Teens. Children`s Programs.

80 Reviews

Regions:Western Caribbean

Good for: Teens. First-time Cruisers. Families.

39 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Teens. Singles. Families.

10 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Singles. Families. Group.

54 Reviews

Regions:Mexico, Caribbean Eastern, Hawaii

Good for: Families. Overall Service. Value for Money.

90 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

Good for: Singles. Group. First-time Cruisers.

76 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean Eastern

Good for: Overall Service. Seniors. Families.

12 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Bermuda, South America

Good for: Group. Families. Foodies.

3 Reviews

Regions:Europe, TransAtlantic, Caribbean

Good for: Seniors. First-time Cruisers. Families.

61 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Suthern

Good for: Families. Children`s Programs. Singles.

71 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western

Good for: Group. Families. Luxury Travelers.

51 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Group. Singles. First-time Cruisers.

56 Reviews


Good for: Singles. First-time Cruisers. Overall Service.

53 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Singles. Teens.

44 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean

Good for: Families. Value for Money. First-time Cruisers.

48 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Caribbean, Mexico, Panama Canal

Good for: Singles. Families. Value for Money.

65 Reviews


Good for: Families. Seniors. Children`s Programs.

60 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

Good for: First-time Cruisers. Families. Group.

56 Reviews


Good for: Families. Group. Singles.

96 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western

User Ratings

Overall Rating
from 1252 reviews


Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms


Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities


Shore Tours


Alternative Dining

User Reviews

1252 User Reviews of Carnival Ships
Just say no
Publication Date: November 8, 2015

We have been on several Carnival cruises and this ship is by fare the worst. The food was cold and the service was poor. We pre-ordered bottled water to be delivered the first day. We finally called guest services after midnight to find out where our water was. They said the saw where we ordered it and had to get approval from their manager to deliver it.

There were four in our party so we booked two connecting cabins. One for my son and I and the other for my wife & daughter. We requested the beds to be together for the room My son and I were booked in as my wife and I would actually be staying in there. When we arrived the beds were separate. When we told our steward that the beds were supposed to be together he told us that he didn't put them together because it was booked for a "Mr. & Mr.". I guess gay couples can't sleep in the same bed on this ship.

One cabin still had food crumbs on the table and the other still had dirty dishes sitting in

the window.

We went to breakfast Friday morning in the dining room. We arrived at 8:30. Upon being seated, I noticed something wasn't quite right with our waiter. My wife handed him the bread plate and told him it still had food stuff on it and he said "take a picture". He then took our order. He came back and took it 4 more times. By this time we (along with 4 other tables) had been waiting 1.5 hours for our food. We finally requested the Maitre D. We informed the Maitre D that the waiter was obviously drunk. The waiter even told another passenger that he "partied to much last night". The Maitre D dismissed the waiter and took our orders once again. He informed us the waiter was taken for an alcohol test.

After 2 hours we finally received our food (Eggs Benedict). The eggs were overcooked and the hollandaise sauce was hard. We noticed that the bartenders had no issue with over-serving alcohol to passengers. One in particular couldn't stand up and had no clue where he was. Others on the Lido deck were obnoxiously loud and cursing and no one did anything about it. My wife and I (and several other people) were so disgusted by their drunken behavior we had to leave.

The bathroom on the Lido deck smelled of urine and had no toilet paper in it. It seemed all that Carnival cared about was making money. There was not much to do without Carnival reaching in your wallet for it. This crew (and obviously their leaders) needs to be trained on customer service. A happy customer is a repeat customer.

Expand Review
Read More
never sail from miami again
Publication Date: November 7, 2015

I can say i am the one that made the mistake . I noticed years ago the huge difference in sailing from Miami and from the port only 20 miles north in Ft Lauderdale , its like sailing with an entirely different company .

i booked a cruise in feb. 2015 to set sail oct.31 2015 . i originally booked a balcony room on the 10th floor but the CSR on the phone mentioned the spa deck and the amenities that would be included in all upgrades to the spa deck . they included discounted treatments , the use of the gym , the in room amenities which would be the same as the soaps and lotions that are included in suites and the "cloud nine experience" . when we mentioned it to the employees in the spa they were bewildered to say it best . i advised the pursers desk and they too were astounded . they noted it and promised me there would be a follow up .... not true .

i admit i second guessed what i understood as being included so i went to the carnival

website i went through the motions of booking another cruse for the same spa level and still have the ability to purchase this package even though the cannot provide these services . because the thalassotherapy pool they describe on their website does not exist on the Victory .

we made it to our state room where we found it very dated , chipped counter edges , a 12" tube TV that was so dark the curtains had to be closed and lights had to be off to view the 4 or 5 channels it displayed poorly . the bathroom was probably nice years ago but very poor in appearance . pink floor walls and countertops, with chrome and polished brass faucets , towel bars and hooks .

the dinning rooms were very well used and the lighting was in bad shape . large sections of the accent lighting were broken and not lit where other lighting and decor were not far behind . the food was always cold unless it was intended to be .

the menu has changed for the worst , you must now pay for lobster and there removal of thee beef wellington has cheapened the whole experience . their excuse was , people would order too many . well put a cap on the orders and charge for additional ... don't take it away from the ones that are not gluttons .

the ship is in very bad shape . no part of the steel or aluminum is without corrosion except of course the 2' X 6' section fr 1/4" plate steel they cut out of the deck directly over the pool that caused the pool to be shut down for two days while repairs were made with scaffolding and electric metal cutting grinders . not to mention an arc welder that at no point was any protective screen placed between the hazardous work being done and patrons . OSHA would have had a field day !

a few months ago i watched the CEO stating that they will be charging more for their services in 2016 . with what we experienced i honestly don't see how they will benefit .

in the casino i watch others play a noticed for hrs that nobody was winning anything . so i figured there would be a better chance in playing something that mechanically without any other variables to change the outcome the coin dozer was the best odds . as my girlfriend was playing i was sitting next to her since there were no others playing . i periodically would here a faint coin drop into an area that was hidden from sight . on our way back from the dinning room on morning we passes the casino and noticed two men sliding a long metal tray slap full of quarters . so many hey couldn't pour them in a plastic box they had on a flat cart , all of the quarters were brimming the edges of the machines two levels in every section (multi player) this is a very simple design with no reason for coins to be diverted into another hidden area as if anyone who has played this game knows . you drop a coin in and it piles up until one forces a coin on the edge to drop to a level lower than the first . the process is repeated until the coins on the lower level eventually drops into the coin return where the player collects it . i asked the attendant how or why the tray of money existed and he literally covered his name tag and walked away rapidly ...

Expand Review
Read More
Disappointing trip to Ensenada
Publication Date: August 25, 2015

I honestly try and find the best in everything but there was just too many things that were not good on this short cruise. We went with friends to help celebrate their anniversary and took this short cruise as it was very convenient for us( we live outside of LA).

The Good stuff- Embarkation and disembarkation were great. We used the self assist disembarkation. Our room was on the Empress deck so we were first off at 7:15 am, in the car and home by 8:30! The food was better than average in the dining room and in the Horizon grill. One night some of the appetizers were cold but made up for it with the entrees. He waiters were very good. We had some concern about the smaller size of the ship as we usually ar eon much larger ships to the caribbean, mexican riviera but it worked out ok,. Actually it was ok and was easy to get around the ship.

The bad stuff- we boarded the ship at 1:00 for a 5L30 departure which is what we normally do and spend the time by the pool. But when we

got to the pool the water was green. We asked if that was normal and were told there was nothing to be concerned about. It was definitely not inviting and we were not comfortable going in the water. As there was ionly 1 pool the hot tubs were full as no one else wanted to go in the pool as well. The next day in port we quickly walked around the shopping district and went back to the ship to enjoy the sun and the pool- it was closed! THe water was very green and when we asked no details weere given but we were told it was closed until further notice. Not something you want to hear when it is 90 degrees and humid and no way to cool off. Later one of the staff said they picked up bad water in Long beach and as soon as we got back out to sea they would dump it and get fresh water so there was no pool for the day in port. THe next day at sea the water looked clear for a while but then we saw it turn green again. There was no pool time for the whole cruise- not what we planned.

Next we will talk about the bar service at the pool. There was a lack of people walking around filling drink orders and the ones that were didn't have a good attitude- almost as if they didn't want to be there. I spent most of my time waiting in lines at the bar to order drinks. Not my idea of good service.

Lastly for the day in port we had to detour to get to our stateroom. Our room was located just off the main lobby but there were doing construction and the door to our hallway was closed requiring us to walk halfway back on the ship to find a way to get back to the lobby. I know that seems trivial but when you have to do 4-5 times a day it isn't fun.

This cruise had potential but too many inconveniences occurred to make it pleasant.

Expand Review
Read More
Can't wait for the next one
Publication Date: August 19, 2015

This was only my second cruise and was amazed at the size of the ship. Previously I was on the Fantasy, and boy what a difference.

We boarded in Port Canaveral FL, and compared to Charleston SC, it was a fast moving event. I do not think my wife and I stopped longer than 3 minutes at any point until we were on the ship. Leaving the ship after the cruise went even faster, we were on Deck 1 and carrier our bags, so we were the first group to debark. We were off the ship to the rental car office, had the car and going to breakfast before 0830 in the morning. We always stay an extra day after the cruise to enjoy the Florida Beaches, so the quicker we can get to that beach the happier we are.

The Fantasy staff I feel were a lot more attentive than what the staff on the Sunshine was, but that might of been because of the amount of guest. This was about the only complaint that I had for the whole cruise, so you know it must of been good.


Serenity Deck was the largest that I have seen on a ship. The Steak House was well worth the extra cost, we did find out that if you buy a bottle of wine they will keep it chilled for you until your next meal if you don't finish it. Burger Place was good, but really crowded at times.

All and All for my second Cruise I really enjoyed the time I spent on this ship.

Expand Review
Read More
carribean cruise
Publication Date: May 21, 2015

overall good cruise. some ports disappointing as well as excursion

Read More
Magic happens on the Magic!!!!
Publication Date: April 21, 2015

October 2015 will be my 4th time on this ship. I love it!!

I got engaged on this ship! Married 7 months later and I could be more pleased with this ship and it's staff!!!

Read More
A good ship
Publication Date: April 18, 2015

I have sailed on the Splendor 4 times with my 5th coming up on June 1, 2015. I like to book cabins in the forward area because we do your time dining and the dining room is in the front as well as the theater, guest services, atrium, the shops, casino, and lido pool.

Read More
Best vacation ever! ~ Latasha
Publication Date: March 26, 2015

This was my first cruise and i enjoyed it! Will plan my next trip soon!

Read More
Publication Date: March 3, 2015

To whom it may concern,

I do not even know where to start with how disappointed i am with the experience that i had over the weekend for my friends Bachelorette celebration on this cruise line. I have been on a couple cruises before with Royal Caribbean and i am always shared a positive experience with them. However, i did not have a positive experience at all with this cruise line and i am shocked.

Let me get started in telling you how rude the staff was to me and my guest. A few of the staff members were nice and helpful and i not sure if i just ran into these particular staff members when they were in a bad mood or what, but i cannot believe how unhelpful these people were.

The first issue started when we first checked into our rooms. There was a total of 5 girls. 3 in my room and 3 in the room right next to us. As soon as we walked into my room, the stater attendant introduced himself to us and was very nice at first. We asked him for a bucket

of ice and then went to check out our friends room right next door. I saw that their beds were separated and thought that our bed in our room should be separated as well for the extra space.

Our Stater Attendant came back with the bucket and my friend asked him if it would be ok that we separated the bed in our room as well. He said yes. So, i go into our room and start separating the beds. I have been in customer service a long time and i know that these room attendants have a lot of people to help and rooms to take care of, so i had NO problem in doing it myself and it was super simple and easy to do. Thought i was doing this guy a favor. He walks into our room and asked me why i moved the beds, and i told him that i was just helping him out. He rolled his eyes at me and shut the door..... i was so confused and embarrassed. He comes back with sheets for the beds and i flat out asked him if i made him upset and he ignored me. I apologized to him and told him AGAIN that i was just trying to help and he still proceeded to ignore me. SO UNPROFESSIONAL! AND RUDE!

I had also asked him to pull down one of the bunk beds prior to all of this and he told me no. they do that later. I don't care when they have plans to do it... it was there now, and my friend wanted to get settled in.

After that, we went up to and purchase our alcohol packages. One of the girls in our room is a recovering alcoholic and since we have not seen her in years due to that fact that she lives in Seattle and works as a flight attendant so we never get to see her. She told us in the limo ride that she will not be drinking and we were totally respectful and fine with that and assumed that it would not be an issue.

We talked to the bar tender and he told my and my other friend Tyler that the only way we could get the alcohol package is if Asten purchased one as well.... we told him politely that she is a recovering alcoholic so she had already purchased the non-alcoholic package and would not be drinking alcohol. He told us that there was nothing he could do for us and that is the only way that we could purchase our packages is if she purchased one as well. We asked to speak with a manager and we spoke with a guy named Anthony who was supposedly the manager of the ship. This guy was so unhelpful and rude and told us the same thing. He would not help us. My friend Asten started crying and was so embarrassed and explained to him that she can and will sue Carnival for this and he just walked away.

Keep in mind, we did not know about her alcohol addiction and we did not know that we needed some form of doctors note in order for us to purchase our package prior or else this would have been taken care of. My friend Tyler is the agent that booked this trip for us and he would have made sure that this was taken care if he knew, but he didn't.

After my friend Asten calmed down from crying, my friend Tyler called the Carnival help line and spoke with no joke, FIVE different people including a manager by the name of Brittany and Tiffany telling him that there was nothing that they could do for us. He spent over an hour on the phone while we all sat there and waited for him which was absolutely ridiculous.

After he tried getting help over the phone and was unsuccessful, i tried calling to get help. I spoke with THREE different people and the last person i spoke with by the name of Amanda was the most helpful, but still did not ensure that our vacation would not leave a bad taste in our mouth. An hour later, she tells me that the only thing that they could do, if anything, is move one of the girls from the other room who also doesn't drink into our room and she made it clear that even this might not happen and that if it didn't that i would have to call the help line again. A WASTE OF TIME!

We decided to just forget it now that it was 7PM and we had been on the boat since 11:00AM trying to resolve this embarrassing matter to just go ahead and worry about the alcohol package the next day so we bought all of our drinks with the cash we had.

We went up to our rooms and changed and tried to start the day over. The first thing we did was go up to the bar to finally get a drink in and have some fun and the bar tender was the SLOWEST bar tender that i have ever met and i was standing there for 30 minutes trying to get her attention to order a freakin drink and the entire time she was just washing dishes and helping everyone else around me. She finally took my drink order and i waited another 20 minutes to get my FIRST drink. I was so irritated at this point and still tipped her and walked away. The rest of the night was just irritating from that point on and i did not want to talk to or deal with anyone that worked on that ship.

The next day we had ordered for our breakfast to be delivered at a certain time and it was over an hour late and we were missing half of our order... not to mention, they kep bringing us only two glasses and only two silverwear set even though there were THREE of us in the room. So we kept having to wait and have the guy come back so we could begin enjoying our food. This happened every morning from that point on.

The food at the buffet was horrible. We went to the Captains dinner where i had Lobster and spaghetti. The lobster tasted like salted rubber. It was uneatable. I noticed that the spaghetti was from the buffet from the previous day! It was disgusting. It took forever to get our drinks. yet again. Needles to say, i barely ate the entire trip.

This same night, my best friend, the bachelorette had lost her ring. She lost in between us being the jacuzzi and then walking back to our room. We suggested that she talks to the customer service at the front desk to help her. These people were rude and not helpful at all what so ever. So told them exactly where she was and if someone could help her look in the spa for the ring and they told her that no one could help until they drained the spa at 11PM. She was crying her eyes out and everyone around her including guest noticed and no one but the actual guest tried helping her. The customer service employee just WALKED AWAY FROM HER! we were shocked. Luckily, we found her ring back in the room, but we are shocked with how unhelpful these employee's were. Not to mention, one of the carnival papers in our room specifically state that " Our friendly staff members are here to assist and help our valued guest with any lost or stolen items". Bunch of bull.

So after that lovely event happened, we went and purchased our alcohol packages. We then found out that we are only allowed to have 15 drinks per day and then we are cut off... now, i do not need 15 drinks as 4 are more than enough for me, but this is just stupid.

This cruise line is all about taking money from people and being as unhelpful as you can possibly be.

I cannot tell you how many time i was approached by an employee trying to sell me one of those souvenir drinks and then giving me a bad look for not getting one and then not being quick to get me the drinks that i wanted to order because i did not purchase the souvenir cups.

Like i said, the food was terrible. The staff was unhelpful and rude. The rooms were dirty. The bathrooms wreaked of sewage the ENTIRE time.

We also had room attendants come into our room at random time thinking that no one was in there, yet they did not clean or remove any dirty towels. WHY WERE THEY IN THERE THEN!?

The second day of our trip, the beds were made, but the sheets were not changed. We asked one of the employees passing by and he told us that they make the beds early in the day and then they actually change the sheets later on in the day. Okay fine. When we came back later that night, i had dirty sheets on my bed. They were not the same sheets that i had slept on. They were dirty sheets with brown stains all over it. We called and asked the room attendant to change the sheets again... and guess what.... he never came. I just took the sheets off and set them in the hallway. The next day when they paid their little " cleaning" visit, they decided to put new sheets on.

By the way, that same night our room attendant came to drop off a bucket of ice that we had asked for and spent 20 minutes over the phone calling the Stater room attendant line and the front desk which rang FOREVER and when he saw that we had decided to push our beds together because we all wanted to watch a movie together he says " ummm... i thought you wanted your beds separated......" with attitude. I told him " yes, we did. Now we are watching a movie and we all cannot see the screen unless they are pushed together..." he rolled his eyes at me and walked away. Surprise Surprise.

AGAIN, i am so SHOCKED with how unprofessional the staff is.

Now, getting off the boat was the dumbest process i have ever been involved in.

We had to get into a line which started at the actual exit and then form a line that went through several different hallways. This has to be the worst idea if there were to ever be a fire on board while being stuck in these stuffy hallways with a bunch of people and their luggage while the room attendants are running around, squeezing by trying to clean the rooms next to us. My friend Julie is VERY Claustrophobic. She started hyperventilating and went in tears once we started in the 4th hallway and she could see that we were only making our way to yet another hallway. The guest around us were trying comfort her and we went and grabbed her which took forever since there were people everywhere. We suggested that she waited near the exit to get some air and Julie told us that an employee came over to comfort her, kissed her hand and told her that everything was going to be ok. Yet he did not help in anyway to try and get her off the boat any quicker or to the outside air so that her panic attack would subside. He just kisses her and then tells her to sit down and walks away.

Royal Caribbean is the only cruise line that i will travel on from this point on and i will continue to tell everyone i know what a horrible experience i had with Carnival and how rude and unhelpful the staff is. Prior to this trip, which i am glad i was able to take first to experience this, i was going to purchase a cruise for my parents to take in May. Screw that. Not happening.

Not that anyone at the corporate office cares, and i am sure none of the management team will see this, so i will also be posting this on every review site possible to spread the word and i will continue to do it.

Thank you for nothing,

A VERY unhappy guest.

Expand Review
Read More
Publication Date: February 8, 2015

Wife and I stayed at the Hilton garden inn cruise port/airport hotel in dania ,beach fl. the day before our cruise. We had breakfastthe day of the cruise at burger king next door. For 10 dollars a person we used the hotel shuttle to port everglades to cruise on the carnival freedom. Nice hotel, we will stay here for our next cruise out of ft. Lauderdale. The cruise was our 7 th cruise with Carnival since 1999.

Freedom was a great name for this cruise because that is the way we felt during this vacation.

Starting with our cabin 1051 on the panorama deck, the balcony view was great for taking pics when coming into a port, Plenty of storage space in the closet and under the bed for 3 full suitcases. The room attendant cleaned out the mini-fridge so we could store our soda and liquor supplies. The room along with the bathroom was big enough for DW and I to share on this cruise. We cruised on the Conquest last year and having the Serenity adult only retreat available on this cruise was a added plus, as we are

early risers we were able to use a lot of the ships facilities without felling rushed or crowded.

The DW and I really enjoyed the food on this cruise.

Took a taxi tour of st. maarten around the island which made for a fun day. The next day DW and I took the st. kitts scenic railroad tour around the island, this was a very fun and informative way to spend a day on st kitt. The next day was at san juan ,we just walked around downtown in and out of several stores before stopping in the Sheraton for a little casino time. Last but not least grand turk was probably DW favorite stop. Took a taxi tour of this small island, then went to the beach bar were DW and I shared a plate full of jerk pork prepared outside of the bar, GREAT DISH!!.

As on past cruises DW and I met and hung out with several of our fellow cruisers. Bruno and Brenda we really had a great time with you guys. DW and I had so much FUN on this cruise, Thanks CARNIVAL for another great vacation. Another carnival cruise in 2017 lord willing.

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 1 - 10 of 1252 1234567

Similar Cruise Lines

Disney Cruise Line
Disney Cruise Line
From 44 Reviews
Royal Caribbean
Royal Caribbean
From 748 Reviews