Celebrity Cruises Reviews

Year Started: 1988
Ships in Fleet: 10
Category: Upscale

Summary: This premium cruise line features beautiful ships on itineraries world-wide. Excellent cuisine, great service, roomy staterooms. Modern Luxury at value prices.

Go

Celebrity Cruise Ships

51 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Western, Inland Waterways, Mediterranean Eastern

Good for: Overall Service. Foodies. Seniors.

8 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Southern, Inland Waterways, Mediterranean Western

Good for: Seniors. Foodies. Overall Service.

10 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Southern, Mediterranean Western, Transatlantic

Good for: Seniors. Foodies. Value for Money.

83 Reviews

Regions:Alaska, Australia, Hawaii, Inland Waterways

Good for: Seniors. Families. Foodies.

1 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Mediterranean Eastern, Transatlantic

Good for: Seniors. Group. Families.

2 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Western, Mediterranean Eastern

Good for: Foodies. Overall Service. Value for Money.

23 Reviews

Regions:Alaska, Australia, Hawaii

Good for: Foodies. Seniors. Group.

61 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean, Panama Canal, Europe

Good for: Seniors. Luxury Travelers. Singles.

73 Reviews

Regions:Bermuda, Caribbean Eastern, Caribbean Southern

Good for: Foodies. Seniors. Group.

2 Reviews

Good for: Group. Singles. First-time Cruisers.

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.35
from 313 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

User Reviews

313 User Reviews of Celebrity Ships
Transatlantic Crossing
Publication Date: October 27, 2012

Very nice ship, well layed-out balcony cabin (9178)and seemed clean. Cabin air was very dry so left balcony door open at night to get some moisture.

Over 1/2 the daily activities were fee only, many casino related. There are at least 4 fee only restaurants (some $40 per person), the usual art auction characters hawking dubious "collectibles" and the broadway type revue shows that are exceedingly bad with lip synching.

The comedians on board were excellant, 1 from the US, 1 from Wales and 1 from Ireland.

Food was passable, buffet on deck 14 was good altho every carved meat selection was extremely overcooked.

Breads and pastry were not good, french bread tasted stale and the morning croissants were harder than my head. Very poor pastry chef.

All in all, for a cheap cruise, not a bad deal, wouldn't rush back tho.

Read More
 
Millennium
Publication Date: September 7, 2012

Just got back today (Sept 14/12) from a Celebrity Cruise on Millenium and it was the worst cruise I have ever been on, and have been on several. The food was so so, the varity of the food was poor, our cabin with a deck was tiny, the room was dirty, and the ship was plain. The entertainment was ok, but not great, and the debarkation was a disaster, with 3 ships getting out at the same time in Vancouver in a small area it was crazy. Many people missed flight the line up to get a cab was 500 people long.

Talked to one gal who worked there for 20 years said she never saw it so crazy. The could not get the luggage off the boat, they were backed up for hours. Will never book with this cruise line again. Also spent $150 for a photo package that had 10 photos, they gave me the CD but only let me look at the photos they already printed of us, and if I wanted them also it would cost even more then the $150. They said they would

rather shred the photos then give them to me as part of a package, all I get is the CD.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: April 16, 2012

Celebrity Millennium - Construction Cruise not Modern Luxury! This is our first time and also our last time on Celebrity due to poor management handling of various guest experience. 1st day: our in-room safe was not working - once place our valuable in the safe, the battery went out and we were unable to access our safe. The ordeal lasted more than 3 hours - kept on sending different crew member to resolve the problem, but no one could fix it - we ended up not using the safe through the entire cruise and hid our valuable in our suitecase under the bed. Toilet seat loose, almost off its hinges. Veranda is filthy, debris and remnant from previous guest not once cleaned during our 5-day cruise. Requested private table for two for second seating [prearranged 3 months prior to cruise] - was told by Celebrity reservationist to upgrade [by paying more money] to Concierge Class to get better dinner seating request - we agreed to the upsell and paid additional up charge to Concierge Class. First night, we were seated in a large table w/a group of other family - spent

1 hour just to get private table for two as we originally requested - they sat us in a make shift table below stairwell, over looking the bus station, service doors straight into the kitchen. Also, noticed that half of the dining room has brand new carpeting w/rich beautiful red colour, while our section has a drabby brown fading old carpeting. Service staff in general was not very happy or friendly - often expressed that they'll be in dry dock and they won't have any income, but still have to work. They were replying our our tips to support their family [back home]. Buffet cooks were very unfriendly, intimidating and some quite rude and uncaring toward guests, but very nice toward officers and fellow crew members. Construction workers were working through out our entire 5-day cruise - pounding, drilling, scraping, shouting and arguing in public areas through out the ship. The Promenade and Sunrise Deck resembled construction warehouse and lumber yards. Equipments and supplies were placed in public area - lounge chairs were roped off and piled up to accommodate lumber supplies and equipments. Please check out you tube link below to experience what we had to endure through out our cruise:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_rHGgwLCpPg

Wrote to Celebrity CEO - letter was intercepted by Sr. Exec. Rep. - not once apologize nor acknowledge the construction concern ... offered $150 CAD toward future cruise on Celebrity. Celebrity expected to compensate our "botched" Western Caribbean Cruise by this offer [we spent this amount just on tips to the crew whenever we cruise on Holland America Lines].

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: March 5, 2012

Best cruise ever!!!

Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: February 18, 2012

CELEBRITY ECLIPSE REVIEW 2-18-12 SAILING EASTERN CARIBBEAN

We just returned from the Eclipse-our 9th cruise with Celebrity- and 37th overall. We had been away from Celebrity for the past 8 years and were anxious to try the Solstice class ships.

Let me give you a little background on us– we are retired seniors living in South Florida just a bit north of W Palm in Martin county – we started cruising in 1986 while still living in the Chicago area. We moved to Florida in 1994 and cruising became more accessible and we take advantage of that. We have cruise the most with Princess and Celebrity, but have experienced NCL, RCCL, Premier, Commodore, HAL, Carnival, and MSC. We love Princess and Celebrity for different reasons and keep HAL as an alternative. We booked this cruise last minute-about 2 weeks out. We cruise for relaxation and the enjoyment of being at sea – We hate to fly so mostly cruise the Caribbean – all areas.

We take the Cruise Connection bus to all our cruises – the boarding point is very close to our home and it is a relaxing way for us to

get to and from the ports. No wear and tear on our car and no hassle with traffic and congestion.

This cruise sailed from the Port of Miami. We hadn't been out of that port in many years. The bus dropped off passengers at Port Everglades and then continued on to Miami – dropping us off last around 2:30pm. A great time to board – we just walked in, presented our documents and were on the ship with a welcoming Mimosa. This would be a new experience for us as we were totally unfamiliar with the ship, although I had been reading up on it, as to where things were. We found our cabin (9260-inside on Deck 9) were pleasantly surprised at its spaciousness – dropped our hand luggage and headed to Bistro on 5 for a quick lunch before the Muster Drill. The crepes we ordered were great as well as the soup – we just finished when they called for the Muster Drill – thankfully we were on the correct deck and we gathered at our station and were shown a film and listened to announcements pertaining to safety. Life jackets are not to be taken to this drill.

The Ship

The Eclipse is the third of the Solstice class ships, launched in 2010 and is beautiful. Very contemporary in design and well laid out. There are a total of 16 decks (no deck 13). Public decks are 3, 4, 5, 12, 14, 15, & 16. The Grand Foyer is 3 decks high and very impressive. Everything was spotless. Some areas are more traditional in design – some more contemporary – mostly it flowed well. There were areas that appeared dark because of the dark wood used – the Library has been made an architectural focal point and is beautiful – lots of glass and big window areas in some parts of the ship – a welcoming ship. There are two pools mid ships for all and the solarium pool forward that is adults only with lounges all around. It is enclosed however and can become noisy. There are hot tubs there as well. Lots of outdoor places to sit – including deck chairs outside on deck 5. Very enjoyable. Great people watching!

 

Cabin

We always book an inside guarantee cabin. We are Select members of the Captains Club and when we were assigned a category 10 cabin, I called and asked for the one category upgrade which they gave us. We were in 9260 which is midships on the starboard side of the vessel. It was excellently located to both the elevators and stairs. We take the stairs down and elevators up these days and the elevators were very efficient and ran quickly. Once acclimated to the ship, it was easy to get around. The cabin was very spacious – one of the largest inside cabins we have ever had and the bathroom was spacious as well – doors on the shower are a real plus as is a foot bar for shaving legs in the shower. The television was interactive and also had free movies on demand – they could be paused until one returned if you wanted to do so. You can also check your bill, reserve dinner, shore excursions etc on it. A nice feature. Furnishings were very contemporary – Bed was very comfortable and large. Choice of pillows was nice also.

The only thing of note was the lack of shelving to lay things - and hooks to hang things. There is a bureau with 4 drawers and drawers (tiny) in the bathroom. Closets have sliding doors which stuck a bit – but had plenty of space for hanging clothes for a 7-10 day cruise. Our cabin steward -Efram- was excellent-seeing to our every need.

Food

We signed up for late seating fixed dining at 8:30 in the Moonlight Sonata dining room. We requested a table for two and got just that – table 431 on the upper level of the dining room and our waiter was Tamiji – his assistant was Leonard – and they were excellent in seeing to whatever we wanted at dinner. The food in the dining room was very good – but lacked seasoning in some dishes – more bland than we would have liked. There are items at dinner that are available every day – some Celebrity favorites like Lobster Bisque and Crème Brule and Cesar salad as well as Escargot – and there was always plenty to choose from on the daily menu – the rolls and bread sticks were excellent . After the first night, our drink preferences were always remembered and we were always greeted by name.

We ate in the dining room for breakfast as much as possible as well as lunch. On port days the hours for breakfast are shorter and we missed it the first port day and had to eat in the Oceanview Cafe – chaos – more about that area later. Both breakfast and lunch in the dining room were great – my husband especially loved the Belgian Waffles – I love the way they poach eggs – service was great and we enjoyed it very much – Lunch as well – good choices and well served.

On Thursday there was no breakfast or lunch in the dining room – instead it was billed as a Grand Brunch in the main dining room –from 10am to 1:00pm- well it wasn't grand– utter chaos – people everywhere – no idea of what stations had what food – we were NOT impressed – dining room cleanup was very lax – a lot of work for not a good result in our opinion. Yes, the food was good – but just try to maneuver the room-it certainly wasn't up to Celebrity standards of old.

The Oceanview Cafe is on Deck 14 – a very utilitarian looking place – very contemporary and loud and noisy – hard surfaces all around and the way the stations were positioned, people just walked everywhere at once. At peak hours it was difficult to maneuver. There were good choices there for every meal – we just prefer a more formal setting for our meals. The sushi that was served starting at 4:30pm was well liked by many – ourselves included – and the pizza was good and the pasta bar good. There is an ice cream bar too – also a grill forward by the pool and the Aqua Spa Cafe in the Solarium (adult pool). We ate breakfast at the Aqua Spa and it serves healthy choices – is a nice atmosphere and we enjoyed that. My husband found the pastry too bland and no real taste for him. He has a sweet tooth and loves that kind of thing – feels that Princess is much better in that area.

All in all we enjoyed the food - we are not fans of alternative restaurants – they seem to say that if you want superior food, you have to eat in these restaurants – the main dining room food isn't really good enough. There are four specialty restaurants on this ship with a surcharge – Bistro on 5 ($5pp), Murano, Tuscan Grill, and Qsine ($30 or $40pp) – for us they are not worth the cost – we have tried one or two in past sailings – always too much food for us too – and frankly the food wasn't so great that we felt it a good value.

I should add that they were very careful about sanitation. Crew members with Purell dispensers were at the doors to the Oceanview Cafe and the Dining Room and dispensers were everywhere on the ship. The public restroom doors were opened and closed with push buttons and the restrooms were immaculate that I used. Cloth hand towels were available as well as paper and with the push buttons you didn't have to touch door handles and the water in the sinks was automatic.

Entertainment

The Cruise Directors staff got the ship rocking the first night with a Motown Theme Party in the Grand Foyer – it was outstanding and people were dancing on all three floors and enjoying the music – great way to start off a cruise – there were shows in the Eclipse theater (we didn't see any of them) and on Wednesday there was a Masque Theme Party which also had the ship jumping!!! Both of these theme parties we truly enjoyed. We also enjoyed the bands and other music all over the ship – there was an acapella group, a great band Southside, the Impreze Trio, Front Page was a Caribbean theme duo – great music everywhere. The shows were at 7pm and 9pm in the theater and that wasn't good for us so we just didn't see any of them – but I can say that the Cruise Director Mike Gibbons was very good and his staff worked very hard all over the ship.

Celebrity did a Cruise Critic get together for us with refreshments and some senior officers there – it was very nice and we got to put names and faces together – We also attended the Select and Elite Captains party in the Sky Lounge where we could visit with Captain Skylogiannis and all his staff – very nice party.

Staff

The staff EVERYWHERE on this ship was so friendly and accommodating. Smiles, hellos, time to talk, just great – we were very impressed. Officers were mingling with passengers – always glad to answer questions – We took the Galley tour – and that was very interesting – they do that well and there is no charge. Celebrity sure rates an A+++ on their people on the Eclipse.

Ports

This was an Eastern Caribbean cruise – stopping in San Juan Puerto Rico, St. Thomas USVI, and St. Maarten. We have been to all these ports countless times and enjoy them all. We arrived early in San Juan – had plenty of time to reacquaint ourselves with the Old City – sailed away at 10:30 pm – beautiful out on deck as we left. In St. Thomas we got off early afternoon and walked around Havensight – there is also a new area close to the ship called Ships Haven – upper end shopping there – we no longer go into Charlotte Amalie. A great option in St. Thomas is going to St. John on the ferry. We sailed away at 4:30pm – a beautiful sight. St. Maarten is our favorite on the eastern route – Phillipsburg is fun to walk around and the dock area has been improved tremendously from the days when all ships had to tender into the island. The beach on the Boardwalk is lovely. We just like staying in Phillipsburg. We have been to the French side a number of times – no need to go back for us.

We haven't taken excursions from the ships in a long time – so I can't speak to that aspect of the trip - Debarkation

Since this was the first time we had been out of the Port of Miami, we were unsure just how this process would work. We filled out the debarkation questionnaire and an envelope appeared in our cabin with luggage tags stating that we would be in a group off the ship at 7:00am – I knew that the Cruise Connection bus groups were usually last off the ship, so I went to the Passenger Services Desk and sure enough, we had been given the wrong tags-so they corrected that. We were now in the group debarking at 9:40am. The dining room was open for breakfast until 8am on the last day – so we just made it – took our time – then went back to the cabin, gathered our hand luggage and went to the library to wait-right about 9:30 our group was called. When we got to the terminal we found that, unlike Port Everglades with their big room of luggage grouped by color, there were luggage carousels like at the airport – be sure that you ask the Celebrity Reps there WHICH carousel your luggage is on since we waited at the wrong one for a while – only to find that our luggage was on the other – once we got that and went through Customs, we found the bus representative, waited about 15 minutes and our bus was there. An easy way to end the cruise.

Our Impressions of the Cruise

We had a wonderful time. A cruise is made up of many parts and Celebrity hits a high on most of them – however – there certainly are areas in which they can improve the experience. The Solstice class ships are beautiful and enjoyable. The staff and officers and Captain of the Eclipse made it a great cruise for us. We will book Celebrity again very soon.

You can e-mail me at melkaz1758@gmail.com with any questions you may have. Happy Cruising!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Southern Caribbean
Publication Date: December 31, 2011

An escape to the warm tropical seas of the southern Caribbean and New Year's Eve at sea; that was our Christmas present to each other this year and we were very excited about it. We had only one other cruise and that was about six months earlier on Holland in the Med, so were still pretty new to the whole cruising thing, but if Celebrity was anything like Holland, we knew we were going to have fun. Well, we did have fun, but if our experience was at all representative of Celebrity, we won't be going back.

Now let me begin by telling you that the ship, Summit, was on her last voyage before heading into dry-dock for a renovation. That having been said, I will refrain from comments that pertain to the ship specifically, though in all honesty, it was clean and well kept. We had no issue with that at all. In addition, the service was, for the most part, fantastic. Our major concerns centered on two areas; food and operations.

The food was, well, acceptable. Now for anyone who has never been on a cruise before, you may

be thinking "Acceptable sounds…acceptable." But that's not true. Cruise ships all about the food. But even that statement is somewhat subjective, so let me give you a few specifics.

For openers, the variety of food was limited. Or there were sever food stations and each had something different, but they were the same each day. Breakfast is kinda tough to fill with an ever changing variety. You got you pastries, pancake-like items, eggs, fruit, cereal, etc. But lunch and dinner can (and in our opinion should) be unique. If only one station had a dish that represented the food from the area, that would be very interesting. For example, while on our Med cruise with Holland, both lunch and dinner included dishes from Greece, Turkey, Croatia, and Italy as we pulled into each respectively. Surly on a Caribbean cruise the ship could have had at least one dish that was representative of the islands; jerk pork, sea bass with mango chutney, even Roti (an Indian-like dish that is actually a local standard). When I mentioned this to a senior restaurant staffer (I'll not mention his title so as to protect him, but he's since left the ship and is now on another Celebrity vessel), he asked if I thought people would actually each local dishes. My wife and I and the other couple dinning with us that evening all looked at each other then back at him as if he were mad. "Of course!" we assured him.

Ok, so enough about variety. The food quality was hit of miss. On the same evening that we chatted with the aforementioned staffer, four of the six of us dinning together that evening ordered the lobster. Two of us sent it back and the other two simply stopped eating. It was awful. It was not edible. But that's not the half of the experience that night. Though what I'm about to tell you was not the norm, it does bear telling. Service that evening was exceptionally slow. We waited a very long time (at least 15 minutes) to get our entrée, not fed, just the entrée. There were courses before the entrée that came just fine, but then we waited. When asked, we were told it was due to the popularity of the lobster, I can only imagine that it was the pre-sampling popularity not the post, which was driving everyone to order it. Never-the-less, lobster is always a popular item and they should be prepared for that. Given that the food is "free" and lobster is so expensive, naturally everyone is going to order it. So, we wait for lobster that's inedible and two of us send it back. Bad enough, but it gets a little worse. Our waiter never returned to see how we liked our meals. Ya know how the waiter always returns to your table to see if you need anything (usually within seconds of your plate arriving and prior to you having a chance to taste anything)? Our waiter disappeared. I'm certain he was busy with other guests, that's completely understandable. But when his assistant (each table has a waiter and an assistant) took back the two lobster dishes, even he could have asked if we wanted something else. Nodda! Now in fairness, a couple of nights prior to this, we had an opposite experience. Basically the same restaurant, different server, he was wrath-like in his attention. So chalk it up to a bad night.

Another food area that really lacked excellence was up on the cafeteria. Each ship usually has a large cafeteria-style restaurant where there are several food stations and it's pretty much self serve. Now, I come from a food service back ground so I understand the challenges associate with buffets. It's difficult to keep hot foods hot and cold foods cold and keep everything from drying out, yadda, yadda, yadda. Difficult, but not impossible. On Summit, it just wasn't done right. The only way to ensure hot eggs was to have them make an omelet; the only way to ensure fresh pizza was to wait for it to come out of the oven, and the only way to get hot pancakes was to get them somewhere else. Ironically, when we had this very discussion with the aforementioned senior staff member, he agreed with our lamentation. Incredibly, he too had had a bad experience with each of the items I mentioned. His response? "There was nothing I could do." This was a senior restaurant staff member. He was a boss. If he couldn't do anything to correct an issue he himself experienced, what does he expect the passengers to do? I gotta tell ya, we were pretty flabbergasted when we heard him tell us that one.

Other food related issues a more centered around poor planning. There were a lot of kids on board and as such, things like ice and ice cream were very popular. Naturally they're popular with adults as well, but the sheer volume of people quickly overwhelmed the resources. The ice machines ran out, the ice cream was soft, or gone, or was behind long lines with only a few servers. A question of logistics.

So, enough about the food. The other area of frustration was in the ships operation, Holland just had this part down to a science. At check-in, we all stood in line waiting, waiting, waiting for the staff to check us in. While there were many people doing the job, they just didn't seem to have an efficient flow about the process and as a result, it was a long wait. But even when we did finally get through, the staff dropped the ball. They gave us out key-cards and sent us off toward the ship. When e got to the ship, we realized they'd not told us our room number of how to navigate the ship, nor were there any crew members stationed to direct us! Now, my wife and I are seasoned travelers, so we quickly found our room number and a map, but that's not the point. On Holland, a crew member escorted us to our room, giving us a quick navigational lesson in route.

A final note on operations. It seemed that things were just "tougher" on Summit. When you go to a five star hotel (and nearly all cruise lines make just such a claim), you expect a simple response to all your requests (whether literal of figurative) and that is, "No problem." I'd like a bottle open and wine glasses brought to my room. No problem. I'd like coffee and pastries to breakfast. No problem. I'd like to have dinner with some new friends we met on board. Problem? Most cruise lines have two dining options; timed or open. The timed option means you have a set dinning time and table each night; 8:30 at table 12 with the Smiths and the Jones'. Open means you can dine whenever you wish, though you may have to wait for a table. We opted for open and while on the cruise we made friends with a couple that had chosen timed. In order to have them join us, we had to call guest services who then called the restaurant to facilitate our request. Come on people! It's just dinner! That was pretty frustrating.

So I've written a lot that may lead you to believe that our experience was bad, but that's not the case at all. We had a wonderful time, it just wasn't the quality that we'd come to expect. Perhaps if we'd traveled first with Celebrity before Holland, we wouldn't have the same high expectations. Then again, this was our first cruise on Celebrity and perhaps we should give them a second chance. Perhaps the next time we cruise on Holland we'll have a less wonderful experience (hope not). It is not my intent to dissuade any one from a Celebrity cruise. There are many, many people who love Celebrity and wouldn't consider sailing with anyone else. I hope that like any caring business, Celebrity considers our experience and takes the appropriate actions to ensure the quality of their line is not tarnished. As for my wife and I; as I said earlier, perhaps we'll give Celebrity a second chance, perhaps not.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: August 17, 2012

My wife and I took our first cruise on a Celebrity ship (Infinity) because it was part of a church group. We have been on several Royal Caribbean cruises. This last frontier trip to Alaska was a hit and miss for our group.

We had great weather at all ports. August 17. A few couples had morning excursions cancelled because of fog. They were unable to fly out. Ketchikan is a quaint town to walk through. Creek Street is fun with it's shops and river filled with salmon. Juneau provided my best memory. I took a float plane to a remote river and fly fished for pink salmon and dolly varden. I caught close to 40. the salmon on streamers, the dolly's on plastic eggs. Be prepared to wait for an hour or two to get off the ship. The tender process is horrible.

The Tracy Arm passage was beautiful and the glacier view pretty good. In Skagway, another cute town, we took the bus instead of the train up white pass. This way we were able to make many stops to take photos and also travel far beyond where the

train turns around. Into the Yukon we went. it is a visual delight. The next stop in Victoria is a big miss. You don't port until 6pm. They need to make a change here. Overall the excursions are expensive.

The food was only fair. We had to return steak many times, not cooked how we ordered. The wine selection was very good. There should have been more salmon and fish options. The burgers by the pool were good.

The onboard entertainment was good, the naturalist, Brent Nixon was funny and informative.

We saw 1 bear, a few whales, and 1 eagle, all from such a long distance away that we were unable to photograph them. I suggest you research well before you book this alaska trip.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Repositioning Cruise
Publication Date: April 21, 2012

Celebrity did a wonderful job of lining up speakers of interest for this long transatlantic cruise. There was plenty of activity to keep everyone busy for the many at sea days. Dining was a bit of a disappointment as we felt the quality was not quite up to Celebrity standards based on our past 15+ Celebrity cruises. None of our shore excursions were booked through Celebrity, but the excurisions we took (booked at the ports) were excellent. In the Azores, we went with Ricardo on a tour of the green and blue lagoons...very nice. At LaHavre, we simply took a bus across the river to Honfluer and had a wonderful day just visiting the village. The PROBLEM we encountered was with Butler Tours of Cobh,(Cork) Ireland. Due to weather conditions the ship did not port at Cobh as scheduled. We, along with my sister and husband had pre-booked a tour with BUTLER TOURS. BUTLER TOURS states in their policy that a refund will be issued for the tour if the ship cannot port as scheduled. Butler did provide us (my wife and I) a refund, but denied a refund to

my sister, and here is the reasoning. Just a few weeks prior to sailing, my sisters husband was killed in a tragic accident. A week after the funeral, she wrote to BUTLER TOURS asking about their refund policy in an instance such as this, stating that "we (meaning her along with her now dead husband) will not be taking the cruise". She was considering other options, such as bringing a son on the cruise with her, or transferring the tour tickets to me and my wife to provide to another couple on the cruise. When BUTLER TOURS replied to her that no refund could be given, she wrote again stating that she had determined that she would take the cruise and bring her son along with her, so that the tour tickets could still be used by her. BUTlER TOURS then replied stating that they had cancelled her booking and "given the tickets to another couple who had earlier faced a similar situation". NEVER had my sister indicated she had any intention of cancelling the tour - this was something BUTLER TOURS did on their own based on the commet my sister made when she indicated that "we" (meaning her and her now dead husband) could not make the cruise together. BUTLER TOURS failed to allow her to make other provisions or to transfer the tickets. Now, with the cruiseship not porting at Cobh (Cork), BUTLER TOURS did set about to provide refunds to those that had bookings as per their policy, but refused a refund to my sister. I am sure that all of us find this to be totally unacceptable....if anyone deserves a refund it is a widow faced with difficult decisions and unexpected issues. BUTLER TOURS is being brutal in their stand on this claiming an intent to cancel, which is not true.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: April 16, 2012

My husband and I vacationed on the Summit for one week. This would be our 6th time cruising, but our 1st for Celebrity. For us, this ship would score a 4 star but for food we rank it a 5 star. Keep in mind we are both foodies and love to cook and eat. It was fantastic, both gained 8 pounds in one week :). Luckly it quickly came off when we returned home ;)

Read More
 
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: January 28, 2012

BEWARE, Great ship, excellent service, fabulous food, entertainment ok, This ship allowed a "DOG" to be on board, said customer had letter from doctor it was a service dog. I have no problem if someone needs a service dog. But this was a poodle which the owner carried around the ship even brought it to dinner. I have never heard of a service dog being carried around by the owner. We were not advised of a dog on board when we booked otherwise we would not have booked a member of our party has allergies to dogs and one is terrified of them. Celebrity blew it on this trip, If you are going to book with them be sure to ask will there be a "DOG" on board. Eating food with a dog in the room is unhealthy and disgusting

Read More
Write a Review
Results 21 - 30 of 313 1234567

Similar Cruise Lines

Carnival
Carnival
From 1264 Reviews
Norwegian
Norwegian
From 543 Reviews
Holland America
Holland America
From 423 Reviews