Old June 22nd, 2005, 02:25 AM
Kat Mills

Default I would love a job!!!

I am fairly new to these cruise ship applications but would like to start the process asap. I kinda of know where I would like to be placed (as in what area of the world) and have some great experience and know what I am good at in regards to positions. I dont know if I have to buy one of these books and which one? I was hoping to just be able to ring for an application form but it seems this isn't the case. Can anybody suggest a good way to start this process.

Kind Regards
Kat Mills
Old June 22nd, 2005, 08:12 AM
Admiral

Default Re: I would love a job!!!

Your best bet is to go to each cruise lines web site and check to see if they have a section regarding Employment. Or you could Google, "cruise ship employment" and see if there is anything there.

You would have no say in where or what ship you would be placed on - if you are granted an interview, and subsequently offereed a job, you would have to go where they send you.

You don't say what experience you have, or what you are good at. This could be helpful in steering you in the right direction.
Old June 25th, 2005, 01:48 PM
Passenger

On HAL's site under employment you can look at certain jobs and choose the certain region you want. I don't know about the ship though.
Old June 25th, 2005, 10:52 PM
Bruce Chafkin

Your passport may also have a lot to do with whether you are even considered for a cruise line job. With the exception of NCL America - who is legally forced to hire Americans - cruise lines generally do not hire us. We have a very loing history of being poor employees. The cruise lines have been burned so many times by American employees that they just won't consider us anymore. The one area where you still might have a chance is entertainment. It seems that American singers, dancers, and clowns are still preferred for the predominantly American audience.
Old June 27th, 2005, 09:55 PM
Cruise Maniac