Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Norwegian Cruise Lines
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August 28th, 2014, 09:57 PM
Familiar Face

Default suite life

I will be leaving soon for a bermuda cruise in a suite. this is my first time cruising in this type of room. what should I expect and how much should I tip the butler.
Old August 29th, 2014, 12:34 PM
Admiral

Which ship? Will it be a Haven suite?

I believe the butlers get a cut of the $12 daily service charge the cruise line adds to your onboard account, but I think an additional gratuity of $5 per person per day for the butler is typical. And with that, don't consider things like having dinner served in the cabin as a special service. I look at that as a normal duty for the butler.
Old August 29th, 2014, 05:37 PM
First Mate

Default Suite Life

Dave, on NCL, do the Butlers share part of the tip money with the rest of the crew?

Next Up NCL Jade
Old August 29th, 2014, 07:30 PM
Admiral

I have no idea but imagine they have some arrangement about pooling, perhaps just among the butlers since I'm sure the amounts vary widely each week since there is no guideline for tipping butlers.
Old August 31st, 2014, 04:29 PM
First Mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Beers View Post
Which ship? Will it be a Haven suite?

I believe the butlers get a cut of the $12 daily service charge the cruise line adds to your onboard account, but I think an additional gratuity of $5 per person per day for the butler is typical. And with that, don't consider things like having dinner served in the cabin as a special service. I look at that as a normal duty for the butler.
If you are talking about NCL, the butlers are NOT part of the Daily Service Charge pool which goes toward compensation for all cabin stewards, servers and behind the scenes personnel we never see.