Infinity Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Excellent
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.1
from 59 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

59 User Reviews of Infinity Cruise Ship

Hawaii
Publication Date: November 6, 2005

The ship was in fine form. Our stateroom was very clean, well appointed and graced with a charming steward who immediately knew our name and showed levels of attentiveness we have missed on some previous cruises.

The first two days of sailing west into the Pacific were a challenge for many, with large swells and rather fierce head winds. At one time the Captain reported combined winds of 100 knots across the bow. The ship handled this weather in fine style, and most of the passengers were experienced travellers and took the motion in stride.

Ships amenities worthy of note. The buffet breakfasts and lunches were staffed excellently. Help was available to move the loaded food trays from buffet to table, and juice and coffee service was prompt and frequent. This seemed much improved over recent experiences. Similarly the dining room staff for the morning and lunch meals were attentive and genuinely welcoming. Evening meals were a treat each night, and the waiters, assistants and maitre'de were on top of their game. Specifically the maitre'de, so often invisible on previous trips, worked the room most evenings, and added information and warmth to the dining

experience.

Entertainment had been a chronic disappointment to my wife and I on previous trips, almost leaving the impression that budget cuts had gone too far. NOT THIS TIME!  The Broadway styled shows, 4 in all were well rehearsed, familiar music was used, and voice and dance quality of talent was excellent. Costuming, lighting effects and the band all seemed up to highest expectations. We heard many other comments on this fact as well.

Activities on board were in line with the passenger base, which was to say the least, mature. Wheel chairs, walkers, scooters all were prevelant, and the staff were courteous and considerate to the passengers requiring this form of assistance.

On shore activities remain, in my opinion, over priced for what you receive. With the passengers who wish to maintain control of the adventure from the gangway on, however, the tours were perfect for them. We enjoyed car rentals and exploration and appreciated our shore days very much. Slightly longer in each port would be appreciated.

One service highlight to mention. On one occasion we left a digital camera in the trunk of a rental car. As it was our last port before aiming east, we were panic stricken. On board at the concierge desk, our case was taken up, and diligenty solved. The concierge personnel tracked down the rental office, persisted until they searched the vehicle, found the camera, arranged its shipment back to San Diego, so that upon arrival we met our camera as we continued our trip.

In all, highest marks for Celebrity, both for the noted improvements, and in general to providing the expected service and quality, which makes cruise holidays a notch above.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: September 15, 2005

Just returned to San Francisco aboard the Infinity and would absolutely rate this ship as the finest afloat! The food and service far exceeded other Lines. 100% of the cruise staff were friendly and my favorite, the trivia games were outstanding. Of course, the cruise to Alaska, especially the Icy Point with the glacier performing the ritual of "calving" for all to enjoy was great!

Have always looked for a "special" ship that would fill all the dreams of a passenger and I can happily say, I found it! Have already booked another Infinity sailing for 2006 and can hardly wait! Everyone on board remarked on how great everything was compared to other cruise line ships. Good for you, keep up the good work!

Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: September 15, 2005

We sailed the Infinity for 12 nights beginning September 15, 2005 round trip from San Francisco to Alaska. This is an upscale ship with upscale passengers who are, for the most part, retired and elderly. There were only a handful of children onboard, including our 15 yr. old daughter who was the only 15 yr old girl on board. Needless to say, she was pretty bored. However, we were NOT as there was so much to see and do.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and accommodating. Our waiter and his assistant were outstanding and they only serviced our table of 7 plus one other table so the service was more than we hoped for. However, the food fell a little short of our expectations at dinnertime. The presentation was excellent but the quality was rather disappointing.

We ate breakfast in the dining room every morning and it was very good. Lunch at the buffet was visually unappealing and we found ourselves eating pizza and hamburgers a lot. Not acceptable from this cruise line!

Our cabin with balcony was way too small for 2 people, much less 3. We couldn't fit all

our clothes in the tiny closets and so had to leave some in suitcases under the bed. We were climbing all over each other to get from the bathroom to the balcony. This is the smallest cabin we have ever had on any line. Nicely appointed, but 10 more sq. feet would have been nice.

The entertainment was wonderful and the theater was great because there were no pillars blocking our view.

Easy on, easy off in the ports!! Kudos to Celebrity for that!!

We have another Celebrity cruise booked to Hawaii in January which we MAY cancel and perhaps book with Holland or Carnival. We expected better food, and at least some younger people on board. And, Celebrity doesn't have a coin operated laundry like most of the other lines. $60.00 for one load of wash which we had to send out. 12 days on a cruise and we had no choice. Still, the service was fantastic and we did have fun in the ports.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: May 28, 2005

As a cruise agent based in Napa,Ca, and booking clients aboard the "Infinity" which will sail from San Francisco roundtrip to Alaska in September, I had the opportunity to board this lovely ship for an agents' tour on May 28th before she left for her stinit in Alaska. The ships was very beautiful and I especially enjoyed the extra touches, for example, the all glass elevators, on four sides, where we could look out and see the different areas such as cocktail lounges, pursers desk and this was a very nice touch. We viewed different types of rooms including Interior, Ocean View and the spectacular suites that are available to book.

The spa and workout areas were great. Everyone greeted us with a smile, and we were happy to be able to enjoy a luncheon which was also excellently done for us. The decor on board this ship was utter class and we could see it was a step up from the other ships and why it was rated the number one ship in its class above all others. This should be incentive enough for our clients to want to sail

on her. We are looking forward to sailing aboard the "Infinity" in September and really get a keen inside experience during the whole cruise.

Eileen Foster

Expand Review
Read More
 
Panama Canal
Publication Date: April 17, 2005

We are a couple from New Jersey aged 55 and 62 and have sailed well over a dozen times on Celebrity, Princess, NCL, RCCL & Disney, and this was our second cruise on the Infinity and our third on an M-Class ship. We have sailed on 3, 4, 7, 10 & 12 night cruises, but this was our first 14 night cruise. We were sailing with a group of 24 family & friends. We booked this sailing over a year and a half in advance to get a certain cabin and for the Itinerary which had sea days in between most of the port stops. Unhappily several months after booking they changed our departure port from San Diego to Ensenada, Mexico and dropped our Aruba stop substituting Jamaica and Grand Cayman, but we stayed with it. However, we were not happy about Celebrity charging us for the bus transfer to Ensenada!

We met our bus to Ensenada at San Diego airport at around 11AM where they loaded our luggage on a truck and after a 15-20 minute wait loaded us onto a nice bus. It was comforting to actually see your

luggage placed into the truck. The 2 hour bus trip was not as bad as I had imagined, but a San Diego departure would have been much nicer. The buses all stopped at a Hotel in Mexico around 5 minutes from the ship where they did your check-in inside the hotel's large banquet room. It was efficient with laptops and passport scanners and we had our boarding/stateroom cards and were back on the bus in about 15 minutes. Upon arrival at the pier your bus load of guests passed through the scanners and was on the ship in minutes. Our sailing was delayed from 7PM until about 8:30PM due to some late arriving buses. (This delay did not affect our first port arrival time)

As we boarded we were greeted with champagne and escorted to our cabin by a white gloved attendant. We dropped off our carryon luggage and immediately walked around to reacquaint ourselves with the ship. The ship was clean and well maintained and very easy to navigate. We then went to the buffet area and had some lunch. Many folks disembarked and went exploring in Ensenada. The ship had the usual run of shops on board, but unless I forgot to bring something from home or looking for a postcard or small souvenir, I am really not interested in "shopping" in the onboard stores. I feel the same way about the art auctions, nice to stroll by and see the artwork on display, but I'm not on vacation to sit through an art auction (free champagne or not).

We requested late seating dinner (8:30PM) at a table for 6 with family & friends and were dining during sail away. Our waiter Madison and assistant Silver were both very personable and efficient. We asked Madison in advance for a nightly shrimp cocktail each and he seemed happy to accommodate our request. During our 2 week cruise we had occasion to request various items and he came through for us every time. A few of us enjoy Celebrity's crème Brule for desert and had requested it in advance several times and it was always delivered with a smile. On a few occasions Madison needed to check with the assistant maitre'd Viktor for approval and our requests were never denied. One person at our table felt like having spaghetti and meat balls and presto the next night there it was! All the beef entrees we ordered were cooked perfectly, even mine which I like extremely rare.

One night 7 of our group dined together at the U.S. specialty restaurant. ($30 per person) I had failed to order the goat cheese soufflé on a previous sailing, but made sure to order it this visit. I must say that it was as good as I had read about on the various cruise review websites. My friend described it as being better than the best cheese ravioli filling she ever tasted. The service there was impeccable, the harpist was wonderful and the meals were good, but not what I would describe as exceptional. I had the rack of lamb and several at the table had the lobster & scallop entrée and others the steak Diane. The only item that was not very good and was sent back was the lobster bisque. We were surprised to see how empty the restaurant was, as that night we were one of only three occupied tables.

Our first stop after a sea day was Cabo San Lucas and I loved it there. We strolled along the walkway at the water's edge and decided on a boat trip to see the famous Arch and Lover's beach. There are many people along the shore offering boat trips of all types, we looked over several boats and finally decided on one that met our liking. The boat had nice bench seats a glass bottom viewing area and a canopy for shade. It was $10 per person and lasted about an hour. Then we took a cab to Hotel Melia San Lucas where for a $10 per person deposit you were given a towel and free use of their lovely pool and beach area including chairs, pool floats, etc. When we turned the towels back in they returned the entire deposit, so it was basically a free day at a lovely resort. Upon a recommendation of a resort guest we walked down the beach and ate at "The Office" a restaurant on the beach completely shaded by dozens of giant beach umbrellas. The food was good and the margaritas were 2 for 1 and delicious. The beach vendors were quite overbearing, and the little children selling Chiclets were everywhere. One cab driver told us not to buy anything from the children as then they will not go to school.

After another relaxing day at sea our next stop was Acapulco. It was very hot and walking anywhere was out of the question. We went a crossed the street to visit Fort San Diego and then returned to the ship for relaxing day in the pool. A few in our group took a private taxi van and had a nice several hour tour for a reasonable price. In the evening we went to LaPerla, the three tiered restaurant with a view overlooking the cliff divers. We had made 7PM reservations online and ate dinner while watching both the 7:30 and 8:30PM dive shows. After the show the divers came up to the restaurant for tips and posed for photos with anyone interested. Dinner was $36 per person and included appetizer, meal and desert, drinks were additional. The restaurant also offered a drink package, where you could occupy a table to see the dive show and receive 2 drinks for $18 per person.

The next day we were in Huatulco and we took the ship's excursion called Sail & Swim. It was a nice tour of the various bays/coves and as we sailed along a group of dolphins swam with the boat. We also got to see two sea turtles swimming along the surface of the water and one had a sea gull riding on it's back!

On one of our sea days a group of us that "met" on a cruise chat website like this one all got together and toured each other's cabins. It was well organized by a few of the group and very nice to see all the various options on board and especially nice to view the Penthouse which one of our group was fortunate enough to occupy. We were able to see a few cabins whose verandahs are a tad larger than others in their category, etc. We took away some great information for our next booking on an M-Class ship.

Our next stop was Puntarenas, Costa Rica where we took the Corobici River rafting excursion offered by the ship. There were 6 or 8 to a raft and each had their own guide. Very enjoyable.

After another day at sea we started our passage through the Panama Canal. We were fortunate to have one of the corner aft cabins and had a great view of the locks and sights along the way. That evening around 6PM we docked at Cristobal Pier in Panama. The pier housed souvenir vendors a few shops and some local entertainment. The ship staff indicated it was not safe/advisable to leave the pier area.

Another day at sea was followed by a stop in Montego Bay, Jamaica. We took a short cab ride to the Sunset Beach Resort where for $20 per person you were afforded all the food, drink & amenities of that all inclusive resort. The beach and pool areas were nice. We swam & sunned and enjoyed some jerk chicken and many of the frozen drinks before heading back to the ship.

The next day we arrived in Grand Cayman and took a cab to the beach opposite the Courtyard Marriott where $10 rented you a beach chair and included the non alcoholic beverage of your choice. The water was warm, clear and beautiful. It was sad to see the damage that still remains from last September's hurricane, but we noticed improvements since our last visit in early January. We love Grand Cayman!

One more relaxing day at sea and our wonderful vacation was over as we docked in Ft Lauderdale. We had an 11:40AM flight and had no trouble or delay in disembarkation or in grabbing a cab for the quick trip to the airport.

Captain Club: As Elite level members we had a constant flow of invitations for events to attend. While we attended quite a few, we were not able to attend them all. The back stage & behind the scenes tours were the best. The Captain's Club Representative Elisabeth Lundberg was a delight and was hostess for a few tours/events; she's a definite asset to the Celebrity staff.

On this trip we had the honor of being invited to dine at the Captain's Table, which was a first for us. It was wonderful and we were all able to ask many questions and exchange information on various issues all while we enjoyed fine wine and a delicious meal. They supplied us with a complimentary photo of the entire table along with the seating chart, nice touch.

We always found the Celebrity staff very friendly; no matter what they were involved in doing they would always have a smile and a friendly greeting every time you passed. Our Cabin attendant Faruk and assistant Danny were wonderful. When Danny would see us coming down the hall he would run and open our door for us. It was amazing that when we ran upstairs for a quick breakfast our room would be all made up when we returned!

The entertainment was typical cruise ship fare and for the most part good, with the exception of one evening's Magician act. The young dancers and singers were a delight to meet and really gave each performance their all.

The food was what we have become to expect from Celebrity. The evening selections were good and as previously mentioned they are very accommodating with special requests. It is nice to have linen napkins and placemats at the Oceanview Cafe buffet where the staff is waiting to carry your tray to the table. The midnight buffet was magnificent as always, and while others were helping themselves to various exotic items my interest was focused on the big salted pretzels from the bread display. They were delicious, almost as good as being at Yankee Stadium!

We have come to enjoy Celebrity's food and service, we love the quiet "no public address announcement" policy and usually look to Celebrity first when we are ready to book a cruise. While we obviously favor Celebrity this would not be an honest review if I failed to include the few negatives we encountered on this sailing.

The pools were not kept very clean. The outdoor pool constantly had sand & debris in the bottom. They did empty and refill the pool during our sailing and they should have taken the time to clean the bottom before refilling it. The Thalassotherapy Pool had a greenish/brown slime ring around it the first day which got progressively worse during the course of the cruise.

Several in our group were disappointed to find out that the ship ran out of Coors Light beer a little more than half way through the trip. I guess it seems trivial unless that's your favorite drink...but it was nice that several days they offered 2 for 1 priced frozen drinks at the pool.

Last but certainly not least was a situation that personally put a damper on my vacation, but it is something that the cruise line had no control over. This section of my review might be removed by those that approve the posting of cruise reviews, but I will include it anyway. There was a group of over 300 French vacationers on this sailing and while I feel meeting and socializing with people from all over the world is one of the great things about the cruise experience, this time was the exception. I have never encountered such a rude, nasty and confrontational group in my life. Good manners are something that many people are lacking and we know we will encounter that everywhere in life, but this went way beyond the absence of good manners. Many of these folks would go out of their way to be nasty and confrontational to the point of some in their group saying "Americans" and then spitting on the floor in front of various American passengers. It was totally unprovoked and made for some very tense situations and was frightening at times, definitely something we never wish to encounter again. We appreciated that the cruise line stationed extra security people around the pool area where many of the incidents occurred, but the tension felt by many passengers was something they could do little about.

In summary, we had a great time and would go again in a minute. No vacation is ever perfect, nor do we expect it to be. We have always found that you take away information from each cruise that helps you to better enjoy and prepare for the next one, and hopefully you will share that information with other cruise lovers on sites like this one!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Hawaii
Publication Date: April 6, 2005

After 6 days in Honolulu we embarked on the afternoon of 6 April for Hawaii cruise 11 Days, eastbound to Ensenada, Mexico. By 2 pm we were on the ship and in our stateroom, 8th deck, room 8176. Embarkation was effortless, and our luggage was at our stateroom by 2:30 pm. We met our room steward, Raymond from India.

Dinning: Our table was located near the Captain's table and we had very good service from our waiter and ass't waiter. Food however was a disappointment. We don't know what the problem was, but food was just not prepared well. Not even the soups were eatable. Everyone at our table felt the same way, and on several occasions our after making an entrée choice our waiter said, "Don't even think about it".

Room Service: We ordered continental breakfast every morning and found that the service was very good; timely and correct. Several times however, when ordering from the menu, the soup was cold and tasteless and the pizza had not even been cooked! We reported this to the dinning room headwaiter; correction promised, but none forthcoming.

Entertainment: not special, but the comedian one night

was good.

Ship: Décor was very conservation and with a European flare. Artwork on the ship left lots to be desired. Many featured art works were of some modernistic school and tasteless. The ship was well maintained and clean.

Outside pool areas: Weather didn't permit much activity, but the areas were attractive and nicely kept.

Disembarkation: We waited about 1 hour after a regular breakfast for our tag color and number to be called. A 2 hr. bus ride from Ensenada Mexico and the entry into the United States was quick and without difficulty.

Summary: Food was a disappointment and unusual for Celebrity. Earlier cruise on Celebrity Century several years ago was true to Celebrity standard. All the crewmembers and staff went out of their way to greet us on every contact and were very cordial. Our purpose for sailing back to the US was to rest and avoid the long air flight. That was achieved, however, we would reconsider sailing with Celebrity again. This was our 36th cruise over the past 12 years.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Panama Canal
Publication Date: March 13, 2005

My wife and I took our 3rd cruise on a Celebrity ship, the 91,000 ton Infinity, which sailed from Ft. Lauderdale to Aruba, through the Panama Canal, up the Mexican Riviera with stops in Costa Rica, Huatulco, Acapulco and Cabo San Lucas, with disembarkation in San Diego. The itinerary was excellent, very nice ports combined with a day long cruise through the Panama Canal and several sea days for relaxation. Following are some highlights and hints that may help you in planning your Panama Canal cruise.

The Ship Celebrity's Infinity is one of the largest ships, at 91,000 tons, that will fit in the locks of the Panama Canal. It is modern with all the amenities cruisers may expect. It features lots of balcony cabins, the SS United States specialty restaurant, a very large spa and exercise area, a modern casino, showroom, movie theater, night clubs, restaurants, pool areas, an elegant reception area, internet café, lounges and so much more. The Infinity is another example of Celebrity's "extra touches" making the ship deserving of its high ranking in surveys of large cruise ships. HINT: Book early if you want choices for cabins

and dining. These ships seem to fill up quickly and discounts disappear. We booked about one year in advance. HINT: Get your on-line Infinity address and give it to your friends and family before sailing. The ship staff gives you a notice when an email arrives at the on board address.

Service Infinity service in all venues was excellent. The restaurant staff, cabin stewards, bar wait staff, reception and port personnel were a notch above in excellence, something we have come to expect from Celebrity. A noticeable difference is the amount of quality checking done by supervisory staff and ships officers. The head chef, for example, was seen several times inspecting and seeking feedback. Room service was always on time. HINT: If you have a special need or request tell them as they seem eager to satisfy.and were successful in meeting needs.

Embarkation/Disembarkation Embarkation in Ft. Lauderdale was advertised as a potential delay ( they notified us days ahead) due to a semi-annual Coast Guard inspection. We still arrived early and were able to board by 12:15 p.m. Celebrity had two seating areas and escorted passengers, efficiently, through the process which took only a few minutes. Disembarkation was equally efficient. Celebrity makes no announcement of color groups on the public address system. Meeting times and places are provided for each color tag group and groups are escorted off the ship close to the designated time. We left the ship 25 minutes after our specified meeting time. Disembarkation took a total of just a few minutes. HINT: Be at the meeting place on time. It goes fast.

Entertainment: Entertainment was excellent. We have read other reports on Celebrity entertainment that seemed to indicate room for improvement which has mystified us because the Celebrity entertainment has always been high quality. The showroom singers ( 5 lead singers) and dancers on the Infinity were definitely above average and were complemented with elegant scenery and choreography for 4 different shows. In addition the showroom agenda was filled with pianist Brooks Aehron, singer Lindsay Hamilton, dulcimer player Ping Xin, a Mexican folklore show and others. All were excellent. The lounges also had very talented singers and musicians. The Rondez-Vous lounge was our favorite spot for a pre-dinner cocktail.

HINT: Best seats go early in the showroom for every show. Entertainment also included typical daily activities around the ship. Poolside contests, simulated golf playing and lectures. The Infinity had an excellent lectures series called the "Discovery Enrichment series" which featured naturalist's presentations ( with pictures), lectures on Mexico, and National Geographic photographer's shows. HINT: Lectures are worth attending. Many of the photos were excellent.

Food: The food in the restaurants was also excellent. Lots of choices were available in the main Trellis restaurant with meat, fish and pasta on every menu. They still have lobster night! I thought their beef was above average and they make their own ice cream. The top deck buffet was very nice, always clean and a nice selection that included "free" ice cream. The SS United States, Infinity's specialty restaurant, was an elegant experience. HINT: Don't miss the SS United States ( $30 per person) and book on a port night ( much less crowded and get extra special attention).

Panama Canal: The center piece of the cruise was the day spent traversing the canal, three locks up 85 feet from the Eastern side and three locks back down to the Pacific Ocean. The story of the canal building is interesting. 25,000 people gave their lives to the project! A nice touch is a certificate, presented by Celebrity, noting we sailed through the Panama Canal. A special deal for us was the comparison of the Panama Canal locks and those of China's Three Gorges Dam locks which we traversed last year. ( see reader review under "Other Cruise lines.and Viking River Cruise: Viking Century Star") HINT: Get up early so you don't miss any of the locks and stay tuned to announcements as the day progresses. There are three sets of locks with a big lake in the middle and traversing takes the whole day. Have your camera ready.

Ports: We stopped in Aruba, Fuerte Amador, Costa Rica, Huatulco, Acapulco, Cabo San Lucas, and San Diego as well as going through the canal. Highlights were the natural life in Costa Rica (we took the aerial tram), the cliff divers in Acapulco, and a coastal cruise in Cabo San Lucas. The Mexican Riviera ports are a pleasant surprise: prosperous, colorful, active, and clean with good shopping. We usually book city/countryside tours to get an idea of the areas.if they are big. HINT: Popular tours fill quickly. Book tours like the Costa Rican aerial tram and the Acapulco cliff divers on line to be sure of a spot. We missed out on the Fuerte Amador night tours because we didn't book early. HINT: Don't forget San Diego. A lot to see and do including the zoo and museums in Balboa Park. We toured the zoo.

Summary: The ship, its amenities, and the itinerary are definitely a great value. We had a wonderful two week cruise experience.

Expand Review
Read More
 
South America
Publication Date: January 31, 2005

Let me start by answering the question , Would I do it again .. The simple answer is Maybe .But I do need to say that my previous experinces on the Century and Mercury ships maqy have spoiled me

Embarkation was a disaster : There were winds in the port of Bueones aires , that caused a need to move the ship . The Celeberity staff were not helpful at all in explaining the issue or the time frame to board . We all understood the saftey issue and the need to move the ship But ... The staff could have done many parts of the boarding process while we waited in line for 3-4 hours Instead we all waited while the ship was moved .. I.E. Have a staff member pre check passports for Visa's .. Insure all passengers had their paperwork ready and explain the process of what we need to do once the line could start moving .. Instead most associates sat in their booths waiting for someone to give them direction.

There was not a sign or announcement that we could hear as we waited outside in

the LONG ::: LONG line ( we were supposed to get priority boarding .. when we asked how that would be handled , we were told "that went out the window hours ago !!! We had booked a concierge level room ( big waste of $$)

I mentioned how we were spoiled on the Century class were the equivelent rooms had Great sunny balcony's to enjoy when the crowds at the pool became too much .. or to enjoy on a starlit nite ...Well on the Infinity you concierge class room has a balcony that is well under a "roof" ( the deck above) .. that not only does not allow the sun shine or stalight to shine in .. But actually has Girders sticking out causing an obstructed view !!! I wuld never have booked this room If I knew the limitations .

Concierge class also boasts Fresh flowers and fresh fruit in your room each day .. By the middle of the cruise the fruit was Literally Moldy and rotten ( the cabin stewart said he would stop bringing it because it was Poor quality ) .. and the flowers were only replaced when they were Brown and decayed .. The ports of call were good and the Shore excursions were well organized and worthwile..

Our ship was the only one in port for Carnival in Rio we found that to be an "intresting" experince but do not need to EVER see again .. We felt were were ripped of a bit as we were in A reserved section .. well the people in from of us ( not cruising with us - on their own from the US ) paid 180 pp less that us to attend and were in our reserved section !!.

The captain of the ship was no where to be found .. He made only a cameo apperance at the "welcome " party in the theater and an even shorter visit to the captains club party .. ) hmmm lets see he's the captain and lasts 5 mins at the party ) .. We are now planning two future cruises and are waiting for a response to our Issues from Celebrity .. We will see if we can continue our relationship , or move on to another cruise line ... Its up to Celebrity to restore our confidence .. as of today we have heard nothing .. Oh well ...

Expand Review
Read More
 
South America
Publication Date: January 16, 2005

This 14 day cruise started in Valparaiso and ended in Buenos Aires. We stayed in cabin 8139 which had a veranda, which was well worth the extra money. Views from both sides of the ship were great, I assumed the port side would be best sailing in this direction, but there was no preference. Great scenery. The food was great, you can even eat healthy if you want, we didn't gain any weight, but we did use the stairs all the time and worked out every day in their great health club.

The shore excursions that featured penguins were amazing. Bring warm clothes and a good rain coat and even a little plastic poncho for unexpected rains, forget umbrellas, its too windy. I rented a tux, which worked great, less stuff to pack. Service was wonderful, we tipped higher than the standard amounts. The shows were very good. Days at seas had plenty of activities to keep you busy. We'll take Infinity again.

Read More
 
 
South America
Publication Date: January 16, 2005

I would take exception to another passengers review for this trip as I found the Infinity less than perfect as a cruise boat on our trip from Valpariso to Buenos Aires. First, when arriving on the boat our room had been poorly cleaned with fingernail clippings on the carpet, shower dirty, no drinking water or ice, and our luggage arrived to our room well after dinner time. One of the shiip's officers indicated, when asked, that 700 persons had gastric upset and diarrhea during the two week voyage. Even our server was ill, as were half of our eight person table. The food was good looking but not tastey. After hours food was marginal at best. The menus, were which were apparently used many times, had food spots on them.

The enterainment was excellent with very high energy dancing shows. The venue around Cape Horn was terrific-- with the ship going completely around the Cape from the Beagel Channel and then back to the Atlantic. It made the ttrip worth it. We had purchased our transfers from Celebrity which should have taken into account that our plane didn't leave for 12 hours

after we were deposited at the airport. You could, of course, purchase an additional shore excursion for $100 per person to take up part of the time. I think that the ship should rate a 3, not a 5 1/2 . This was the seventh cruise I have taken, on three different cruise lines, and only the most attractive of venues would cause me to take Celebrity again. I was disappointed.
Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 21 - 30 of 59 123456