Carnival Liberty Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Outstanding/Spectacular
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.5
from 42 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

42 User Reviews of Carnival Liberty Cruise Ship

Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: March 1, 2008

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Liberty by John GAwne Eastern Caribbean March 1, 2008

Carnival Liberty Eastern Caribbean March 1-9, 2008

We booked this cruise, our 12th on Carnival, for my wife's birthday. We couldn't find a flight getting into Fort Lauderdale early enough to be sure we could get checked in with the new earlier 90 minutes before sailing deadline, so we flew in the evening before the cruise. We stayed in the Candlewood Inn (owned by the same company as the Holiday Inn Express next door to it) on State Route 84 near the airport and not that far from Port Everglades. The room had a full kitchen, and they provided microwave popcorn and soap for dishes. They also had food available for purchase that you could microwave in the room. There is also a Winn Dixie supermarket across the street where we stopped in the morning to purchase 2 bottles of champagne to take aboard ship. The hotel provides a free shuttle from the airport, and a paid shuttle at 10:30, 11:30, and 12:30 to Port Everglades for $8 per person. We opted to call a taxi, knowing how close

we were, and it was $12 including tip.

Check-in through the VIP line for Platinum members was quick and we were aboard by noon. The cabins weren't opened until 1:30pm, however. We had an 8E balcony on deck 7 and really enjoyed it.

General observations about Carnival Liberty, at this time the 2nd newest Carnival ship (until fall 2008). We checked with the maitre de' as we found we were assigned a larger table and he had no trouble blocking a table for 4 for the 2 of us for the whole cruise. Interestingly, I noted plenty of empty tables for 2 at the 8pm seating. We were in the Silver Olympic Dining Room, the aft one. Service and variety on the menu was excellent. We had frequent visits by the assistant maitre de's. Choices include beef wellington, chateaubriand, filet mignon, prime rib, large and tender lobster, seafood newburg, pike perch, mahi mahi, tilapia, and many other, including lamb. Desserts included cherries jubilee, crème brulee, and baked Alaska. The Carnival melting chocolate cake was available every night.

The Lido area for breakfast has three buffet areas, 2 of which have eggs to order. Lunch options include grill, deli, fish & chips (with boullabaise, fried oysters, calamari, tuna tartar, and fish and chips), Mexican selections, a Mongolian station, taste of nations buffet, and the regular buffet -- all in addition to the dining room service, which we never use for lunch. Pizza and Caesar salad, of course are available 24 hours in the rear pool area.

There are many dancing options, including in Harry's Supper Club. You can dance there to the combo and use the bar even if you aren't dining in the supper club -- a little known secret. There is dancing in the evening to a combo in the lobby bar area, in the Victoria Lounge to a 4 person band, and in the disco in the evening.

Wednesday they did have a Mardi Gras night around the pool at 10:30 pm and a Mexican buffet at midnight. On Friday night they had a chocolate buffet at midnight.

They held wine tastings twice in the Harry's Supper Club at 11:30am, with a knowledgeable sommelier who had worked in the Normandy restaurant on Celebrity Summit. The formal nights were on the 2nd and 7th nights of this 8 day cruise. The first was on the 2nd night, my wife's birthday, and she was thrilled as a result. I was able to purchase, and preorder for the second formal, rose corsages for her at the Formalities Shop. The Captain's welcome reception in the Venetian Theatre was held on the first formal night. The past guest reception was held on the 5th evening in Victoria Lounge, followed by a 7 pm show by the theatre cast featuring 50's and 60's music.

The shows included a Rock Down Broadway and It's a Wonderful World, a tribute to Frank Sinatra and Sammy Davis Jr by a male vocalist we had seen on a previous cruise, but is still very good, a comedian, and a tribute to Motown Music Grammy winners. The Carnival singers and dancers were among the best we have seen on Carnival.

Itinerary The first day of the 8 day cruise was a sea day with wind and rain in the morning, but cleared in the afternoon. First formal night, Captain's Welcome and show.

Monday: Arrived in San Juan at 5 pm after, again, wind and rain in the morning, but clearing in the afternoon. We were there from 5 to midnight. We walked a bit in old town, but having been there many times, we wound up at Senor Frog's behind the Sheraton near the pier. Four ships in port, all arriving late in the day. Many people ate aboard early and went into town for the evening.

Tuesday: Arrived in St Thomas and docked at Crown Bay, the one outside of town. Ship was there from 7am to 6pm. We took a taxi to Red Hook, now up to $11 per person, and the ferry to St John's for $5 per person, and a taxi to Trunk Bay for $6 per person. Park admission is $4 per person. I enjoyed the snorkel trail at Trunk Bay park again and we stayed from 11:30 till 2pm. Then another taxi to Cruz Bay to enjoy local drinks near the ferry pier, and the 3pm ferry back to Red Hook, and the taxi back to Crown Bay. We paid $48 per person for 6 ½ hours, and the ship's excursion to St John is $71 and only 4 hours long. We enjoyed a late room service lunch. After dinner we enjoyed dancing to the lobby band in Harry's Supper Club instead of the comedy show.

Wednesday: Wednesday we were in Antigua from 7am to 6pm. I had arranged in advance for a day pass at Sandals Grande Antigua, and after a $12 taxi (for 2) we enjoyed the newest Sandals resort in the Caribbean, with its new 7 story addition. Food, beverages and service were great. It is right on Dickinson Beach, not 10 minutes from the pier. We returned, after too much sun, about 5pm.

Thursday: Thursday we were in Tortola BVI from 7am to 3:30pm. I booked an excursion to snorkel in the caves at Norman Island for $61 per person. After about a 25 minute boat ride we snorkeled in deep water and into the caves. Not much sea life in there, but there was in the deep water, including a resident large barracuda. After the boat ride back we shopped in Tortola and stopped for medication at Pusser's Bar for a Painkiller!

Friday: Friday was a sea day, great weather, wine tasting, 2nd formal night, and a broadway style show after dinner.

Saturday: Saturday we were in Nassau from 1-8pm. Having been to Nassau often, we chose to do an excursion on the party boat Yellowbird to Pirate Island. Open bar rum punch on the ride over, chairs and swimming under a cloudy sky, and then open bar rum punch and dancing on the way back. It was definitely a party boat, and was only $35 per person for the fun afternoon. Of course we stopped at Sr Frogs for a snack on the way back to the ship. Baggage was to be out in the halls by 10:30 pm, and we went to dance a little after that.

Sunday: On Sunday they allowed passengers to remain in cabins till 9am, if they chose. We chose to wait till the last people called as we had a late flight, and enjoyed the Lido area till 9:45 when we were called. After only a short wait for a taxi we were at the airport and into a long, long line for TSA checks, and a 2pm flight home.

My only real complaint was that 2 of the 4 aft elevators were out of commission the entire cruise, and these are the ones to the aft dining room and the aft pool and Lido. One of the midships elevators was also out often. But the service and food and general appearance of the ship were superb. Tommy, the singing bartender at the Paparazi Wine Bar is a gem. This was clearly the best of our 12 Carnival cruises, and a great 8 day cruise for my wife's birthday.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: December 2, 2007

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Liberty by Roger Hansen Western Caribbean December 2, 2007

Embarkation process at Ft. Lauderdale went by surprisingly fast considering the many passengers they had to accommodate.

Upon boarding, we were amazed how beautiful this ship is. Carnival Liberty should be commended for their staff. They were so helpful and always clean and respectful to the passengers. We especially were impressed with the staffing at our dinner table in the Silver Room, 1st seating. They were excellent, using their great sense of humor, while waiting our table. The food in the Silver Room was exceptional. Our favorites were the Lobster, Salmon and a special night of Steak. If you order dessert, don't overlook the Chocolate Cake. It's great! I don't need the calories, but went ahead and ordered it every evening. That cake alone is almost enough to sway me to book the Liberty again.

We were so grateful for their efforts, we gave each of our table staffing a generous tip for their efforts in spite of the "No tipping requirement".

One evening we dined at Harry's. This was a real treat and well worth the additional fee. Again, the

staffing was excellent and we also left tips for them. We had rib steak that was almost more than we could eat and cooked very well. "Great job, Chef!" While we dined, we were entertained by a small group playing dinner music that was very enjoyable. I recommend passengers to not overlook Harry's as a dining experience.

We booked stateroom 8269 which has a balcony. We were happy with the roomy accommodations and the balcony that was large enough for our daughter and son-in-law to join us there from time to time.

We couldn't have had better room service if we had tried. They were so good, we tipped each morning and night, the entire stay. If we brought something back to our stateroom and they were in the passageway, they would key our door for us. I know that is not the norm, but we really appreciated being pampered.

The pool on the Lido Deck is a little loud for us, but we reallyy liked the pool aft which was much quieter.

We really enjoyed all the ports of call we made in the Western Carribean and now intend to take another cruise to the Eastern Carribean.

Carnival Liberty -- Pat yourselves on the back!!!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: November 24, 2007

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Liberty by Deakon Western Caribbean November 24, 2007

Captain: Carlo Queirolo

Hotel Director: Pier Giorgio Micallef

Cruise Director: Karl with a K

Length: 8 day, 3 port 4 sea days

Ports of Call: Cozumel Mexico, Limon Costa Rica, Colon Panama

Embarkation DISASTER!

What's up Carnival?? Maybe you should LISTEN TO YOUR CUSTOMERS and do something about the train wreck, err or should I say SHIP WRECK that is the embarkation process!

The line went out and around to the BACK of the terminal building. I found out later they refused to even begin checking anyone in until 1:00 on the nose. Who do you think you are? THE BANK? Let people on the bloody ship! Send them up to the Lido if they can't get in to their cabin. And just when you wait 90 minutes in one line, you start walking and think you're in the clear. And then you come to another room with a HUGE mother line in it! Fast forward a total of 2 and a half hours. We get on the ship. Thanks for violating me in ways only prison inmates should be violated.

On to happier memories:

The

ship is almost identical to the Triumph and so for the first few hours it was very surreal. I also took my vacation during one of the busiest radio times of the year so I felt a wee bit guilty (not really). Having sailed Triumph in June it made for very easy navigation of the ship. I looked at my dining time which was supposed to be at 6:15 in the Golden Olympian. They changed it randomly to the last dining time which didn't work for us. So thanks to the good people at the CRUISE MATES message board, I knew to march on over to the Maitre 'D. He set us up with the early dining time at a table for two. FANTASTIC!

Next priority: NAP!

We had been up since 2am, so we took a nap.

Now, as many of you know, I'm friends with the piano man on the Liberty. I didn't tell him we were coming as I was going to surprise him that night at the piano bar. So we woke up from the nap and went to the drill. What are the chances Brad is at my muster station? The look from him was precious. Kind of like "that looks like -- HOLY @#$" -- so we had a quick catch up and then did the drill.

Next surprise: I had a couple of friends from college working on the ship as well. I won't name them because they took me in to some areas of the ship that would get them in trouble. So we'll call them Dylan and Rockwell. But more on that later.

We had dinner. Of course Carnival can't cook a steak to save its life outside of Harry's supper club.

The rest of the week pretty much went like this: Wake up at 10:30ish. Go to the Lido, eat, tan on lido (or go onto land if applicable), nap, get ready for dinner, eat dinner, see the show or hit the casino and then hit the piano bar to round out the day.

Here are some key reviews:

Food It was alright. The chef learned how to make a caesar salad on this ship but the meat (beef, chicken, etc) was mediocre at best. I wasn't that impressed with the food overall.

Harry's Supper Club: Wow! what a night! Dylan and Rockwell were working, but Brad had the night off. So the three of us went on up to Harry's. I don't understand why the whole dining experience on Carnival isn't run like this. Everything was fantastic. They comped our initial drinks and the wine was courtesy of Brad. They brought the meat out to us to select which we wanted. We were on our second bottle of wine at this point so I only remember I had the porterhouse -- 24 ounces of heaven. It was cooked to perfection. They made Caesar salad right at the table. We talked and drank the whole night. We actually closed down Harry's 4 and a half hours later! The average is about 2 and a half hours. We rolled out (literally cuz we were stuffed!) and stepped onto deck to find a party going on. We met up with the rest of the crew later and partied all night. Later, Rockwell took me to the bow of the ship which is actually a restricted area. He made me walk alone in case we were caught. I went past several chains and it was a fantastic view! It was pitch black except for the stars overhead. We sat and talked for a while until someone from the bridge put a spotlight on us. Then we ran Laughing.

I had to walk Rockwell back to his cabin because he was in NO shape whatsoever to do so by himself. So we walked along deck 2 (because some decks you cannot walk from forward to aft) and deck 2 has less security on it. I got him into his cabin and snuck out of the crew area.

Lido: Food was pretty good for buffet. Mongolian BBQ is gross -- don't waste your time unless you like crappy food. They overcook everything. I didn't even finish mine.

The sandwich shop is pretty darn good! I highly recommend it. The pizza is what it is. Not spectacular but not bad by any means. Room service is lame. Only simple stuff. Not even a burger.

Entertainment The entertainment was great. The two production singers are fantastic and very cool people. The first show put me to sleep, it was supposed to be music from all over the world. In actuality it was boring. I left early for the piano bar.

**BIASED ANNOUNCEMENT** I know Brad and I'm partial to piano bars.

The piano bar was fantastic. It was decorated much better than that on the Triumph. The LED's are great! Brad was on top of his game but the crowds were mediocre. Because of the time of year, the people on the cruise were much older. I kept saying we needed some college kids in there to get rowdy. However, there were some great characters in the bar -- Robert, Skip, Tiffany. And it once again became a meeting place of the same people every night. I love the familiarity of the place and how that didn't change from the last cruise. If you're cruising anytime between now and Feb, say hi to Brad, tip him well and buy him a stoli & soda. AND STAY FOR HIS LATE SHOW. But, if you're easily offended, go to bed. haha.

The Calypso Band SUCKS. It's HORRIBLE. They played the same 6 songs over and over day after day.

Ports Cozumel: This was the best port this cruise. Be wary of what you buy. Lots of fake tanzanite (yes I bought some, but it was for my bratty sister-in-law that insisted on me bringing her back some, so I don't feel bad about it -- haha). After we were finished shopping, we met the guys at the secret crew bar. They made me promise not to tell what it was called or where it was because they didn't want passengers coming in there lol.

The outside of the bar looked like a dive, but when we walked through into the back, it was AMAZING. It was a perfect private beach, with a pool and swim up bar. The crew from the various ships were all there and it was a little piece of paradise. We had chips n' salsa and Coronas. It was one of the most perfect afternoons of the cruise!

Costa Rica: This was interesting. Dylan & Rockwell had to legally be on the ship. (I forgot the term they used, but every 6 weeks the crew rotates staying on the ship in case of an emergency. It's maritime law). So Brad took us out for lunch. I was scared at first, but the place was very good. Right on the beach outside with a roof. It rained (cuz y'know, we were in the rainforest) but it was still a great day. The rain only lasted an hour or so. We then left in search of Noni juice -- apparently the NEW anti oxident! The shopping sucked in Costa Rica for the most part and I wouldn't wander too far without someone I knew. MATTER OF FACT: Carnival posted a warning that a number of passengers have been assaulted in Costa Rica in recent months.

Panama: Waste of time. We got off the boat so we can say we've been to Panama and then went back and onto the Lido deck to tan.

Overall The ship was a helluva lot of fun. The service isn't up to par in my opinion, but that's the trade off you make when you come to Carnival from another line. I keep coming back to Carnival because you really can't beat the fun. Plus when you're having fun, you don't eat as much! haha

Karl's last cruise was suppose to be the current one sailing right now, but some family emergency called him back to England early. He's a great CD and if you find yourself cruising with him, make sure you go up and say hi because he is HONESTLY a nice guy that cares about the passengers.

The captain is crazy. You wanna talk about a rock n'roll cruise.. He drives that ship like a ferrari. The barf bags came out more than once, lol. I heard more than one waiter talk about sailing with "the crazy captain" before.

As a side note, I won Name That Tune and our team (the Blue Team) won overall with 27,000 points.

As I mentioned earlier, the cruise was an older crowd. I think that's a symptom of the time of year we cruised in. Things shut down a little earlier, but it was still a lot of fun. There were virtually no kids on the ship, which suited me just fine!

The cabin was fine. We missed the balcony, but the window was nice. I don't think I could do an interior cabin. Our steward was friendly and I told her on the first day that we wake up late. So she always came to our cabin last.

I learned some things that were a bit disturbing to me. I won't go into huge details about them, but I would like to say that your tips are the crew's life blood and I threw my favorite waitresses some extra cash and they really appreciated it.

Disembarkation DISASTER! Self-assist was cool on the Triumph because not a lot of people were doing it. But now everyone seems to do it! And it just turns into pandemonium! I won't self-assist out again unless I have a really early flight.

Any questions, please let me know.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: September 9, 2007

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Liberty by Teresa McFarlane Western Caribbean September 9, 2007

Embarkation Big line up to get on the ship but the (Helpers) were really friendly and the line went fairly quickly.

Cabin My husband and I stayed on the Riveria deck cabin 1235. Room was quite comfortable, plenty of storage. Room was always cleaned and had cute towel animals left in our room every night.

Shows & Entertainment The shows were awesome and the cruise director was great and entertaining. I have been on other cruise lines and the carnival shows are quit compariable to them. The only real complaint I have is I found this ship very smokey. We wanted to go into the disco and the other bars but the smoking was terrible, I have never experienced this to be a problem on any other cruise line. On other cruise lines smoking is either outside or designated to one or two bars, but on the Carnival line smoking is everywhere except for the eating areas and the Venican lounge.

Dining We had the 6:15 dining in the Golden Room. The dining room was lovely. The food was great and

plenty to choose from. The only complaint I have is I didn't find the wait staff very friendly. On other ships my waiters have been very friendly and they always remember your name and they remember what you like and don't like. They take the time to make you feel special. We also found that in the dining room there is a no shorts policy, but on the Carnival Liberty they didn't care what you wore. This I found disappointing since some of us were dressed correctly.

Ports of Call Grand Cayman: We went on a snorkling tour which was the worst snorkling tour I have ever been on they just snorkled around the ship.

Ochio Rios: The canapy tour was the best tour I have ever been on the Jamican's there where very friendly and didn't pester you for money. If you go to Jamiaca do this tour.

Key West: Pretty town great to walk around and do shopping.

Over all I found this ship alright, not the best, but alright. If the smoking wasn't so bad then I would have had a better time.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: July 1, 2007

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Liberty by C. Johnson Western Caribbean July 1, 2007

Embarkation

This was my first cruise on the Liberty but not my first cruise with Carnival. We arrived at 11:00 am and the lines were very short. Embarkation for us was a breeze and we were on LIDO for lunch at noon. The food is excellent whether you eat in one of the dining rooms or partake of the buffet.

Cabin

By 1:30 pm we were in our balcony cabin unpacking two of our four suitcases. The only glitch here was that one of my ship luggage tags came off and I had to go down to the pursers ofc to claim my final piece of luggage. I love Carnival cabins as they are the biggest I've seen so far. As a travel agent, I've toured at least one cruise ship of each cruise line. The new bedding was so comfortable and I woke up each time without any aches or pains. Very nice touch.

Dining

We ate in the Silver Dining Room and the decor and its history is wonderful. Our waiter Mugni from India, was the best. He was always

joking with us as he did his job. Loved his attitude and personality. I will add that the entire dining room staff appeared to be very friendly and dedicated to making everyone feel right at home. The food as usual was excellent. Never a problem to get something else if your first choice was not as tasty to you as you thought. Entertainment

There is so much to do on the ship that its impossible to do everything even if you tried. Activities overlap each other sometimes and as one cruiser said earlier, it makes for smaller groups in whatever you decide to do. Todd, our cruise director was one of the best. Funny, entertaining and always there on the speaker or in person to help you to have the best time ever. The crew shows and the passenger talent show was awesome.

Now, each night we would hear this male and female duet from the Atrium. Our cabin was on deck 8, and we would often come outside to hear the great sounds from this couple. We decided the last night of the cruise to go down to deck 3 to sit and listen upfront & personal. Well..Joel and Lorna are a couple of great singers that should be heard on a cruise ship and in the States. They have a sound that would pack any venue. Joel has a great voice with a large range and he is able to sound and look like a lot of famous singers. If you closed you eyes, you would have thought we had a 5 star cast of singers on board from Johnny Mathis, Barry White, Louis Armstrong, Barry Manilow, Elvis Presley, Larry Graham, Joe Cocker and many more. We purchased 2 of his 3 CD's so we would remember them through song. They need to get permits to work in the States. I hope Carnival puts them on the Valor on Oct 21, 2007 cruise.

Spa

WELL, I finally broke down and treated myself to the SPA. In fact, I had two massages. First of all, ANNA was my masseusse. She's only 4'10" of 4'11", but, she has strength and power in her small frame. I was very glad I selected medium pressure. Now, I had the lime and ginger body scrub. She must have scrubbed off 10 years of dry skin. Then I had a hot stone massage right after the scrub. I was so relaxed and my skin felt like a baby's bottom. Even after 3-4 days following the treatments, my skin is still sliky smooth. I will make sure I continue this treatment on the ships I cruise in the future and will attempt to find someone at home to fill in between.

Shore Excursions

I'm not one to do excursion(s) at every port. I don't scuba or snorkled and that seems to be the biggest thing these days. I actually come off the ship and shop or eat at the pier shops. This is becoming a big thing and its usually enough for me at most ports.

Photo Gallery

I'm not sure what happened on this cruise or if this is the norm for the Liberty. We went down on Friday morning to select what pictures we were going to buy,etc. Well, the walls were full with pictures but there were also boxes of photos on this table. These were the ones they couldn't display. You had to go through them one at a time to attempt to find your photo. They had them separated by location of the shot but you had no idea if yours was on the bottom, middle or top. There were hundreds of pictures. AFter one hour I gave up and left with only two photos. My cabin mate went down later and spent 2 hours and came back with four more. This was totally unacceptable and I will be writing Carnival about it. People were very upset about the process and this doesn't make for happy cruisers who look forward to the great pictures when found.

Debarkation

Very organized and we were informed of the process through a meeting the day before, re-broadcast on Carnival station, big screen on LIDO deck and a flyer in your stateroom. We were off the ship at 9:15 am.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: May 26, 2007

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Liberty by IBCruzin' Eastern Caribbean May 26, 2007

O.K. Excuse the length but I will comment on the things that I feel are relevant. Bear with me.

Embarkation

Port is 10 minutes from airport. $15 via Carnival transports or cab or $9 via shuttle van. I opted for shuttle van. There was a bit of a backlog getting into the port b/c of the I.D. check at the gate. Once in at the ship, there was plenty of porters on hand who took your luggage, looked up your stateroom if need be and had extra luggage tags on hand. Very quick and cheery bunch. Tip your porter $1 or $2 per bag.

Stood on line for approximately 30 minutes to get to check-in counter. My check-in had a minor snafu but I was happily walking on the ship less than 60 minutes after my arrival by plane to Ft. Lauderdale airport. Give it a Grade B+

The Ship

In a word, MASSIVE. This is a huge baby. My cabin was located at the back of the ship and when I looked down the hall to the front, I could barely

make out any of the details at the other end of the hall. The ship is beautiful in the colorful Carnival style of "more is better". It is in excellent shape and you would have to look hard and long for stains, tears or other signs of wear and tear. There are so many different meeting rooms, clubs, bars, and the like that by the 6th or 7th day of my 8 day cruise, I was still finding "previously undiscovered" (by me) meeting rooms and clubs. This ship can best be described as Classy but Fun and Funky, as is Carnival's style. It would be hard for any builder to improve on the layout and design of this ship. I give the ship an overall rating of A+.

While there were over 3,000 passengers on this particular cruise, the ship never felt crowded. There were almost never any lines in the buffet, more than enough lounge chairs to go around, elevators were fast and plenty, loads of seats in the Venetian Palace and only a short wait for the most popular slots in the casino. In short, in spite of the large number of passengers, the only time you ever saw even a fraction of the total passenger load was in the Venetian Palace during a major production. The Lido Deck is so spread out that you never get that bunched up crowded feel that is evidence on some ships (both CCL and other lines). The halls along the Promenade Deck were rarely crowded and it took very little effort to find a quiet deserted spot to read or nap. In fact, on one of the last days, someone told me about the lounge chairs set up on the outside decks on the lobby deck (3rd floor). There is complete silence and isolation on that strength of ship. Everywhere you look on the various outside decks, there are at least a few lounge chairs set up during the day (removed at night). It is very possible to enjoy complete solitude on the Carnival Liberty.

The Activities

Most of the activities and entertainment was scheduled so as to avoid the feel of rush or crowdedness. Unlike many other cruise lines, Carnival does not try to schedule events so that everyone can do everything. This is what creates that feel of a cattle run. What the Liberty does is schedule two or three very popular activities, shows or events at around the same time. This helps to spread the passenger population around and ensures that no one event/function is overwhelmed and compromised because of the number of participating passengers. There are so many events scheduled through the course of a typical day that it is not only impossible to do everything but it is almost impossible to even realize that you have not done everything. If you know what I mean. I believe the way they schedule activities should earn Carnival Liberty an A++ in this area. I went up to the Lido Deck one evening at around 11:30 and was pleasantly surprised to see how many people were actually seating up there watching the movie that was showing on the giant screen. That particular night it was "Night at the Museum". It was a very nice, pleasant, calm atmosphere to sit under the stars and watch a movie. They have a popcorn machine up there to complete your movie theater experience.

The Lido Deck is the center of all outdoor activities. Noise level on the Lido Deck is quite high so it is not recommended for reading or sleeping, even though I saw people doing both. The giant TV screen is a nice feature whether it is showing concerts, late night movies or just daytime background scenery to pumped-in music. It is an active moving deck where many of the more zany contests and activities are held. Chair Hogs are alive and well on this ship but, because of the perfect layout of the various sundecks on the Liberty, a person would be hard pressed to claim they could not find a lounge chair to enjoy. The two or so rows of lounge chairs that circle the Tivoli Pool on the Lido Deck are "reserved" by flip-flops very early in the day but that is the noisiest, most trafficked part of the ship. Go just on deck up or a few steps away and there are plenty of empty chairs with a better view of the action, less foot traffic and much less noise. I am sure they lay out at least 3,000 lounge chairs every morning. There was times when I had 20, 30 or 40 lounge chairs to choice from. The best pick of the litter too. The Lido Deck gets a B- because of noise but an A because of design and the availability of plenty of lounge chairs.

The Venetian Palace is the large showroom for the big Vegas-styled productions. It is gorgeous with a layout similar to all of Carnival's showrooms. It takes up three floors of the very front of the ship with the 2nd and 3rd floor covering the bottom and top of the balcony. Enough comfy seating with excellent views for most everyone on the ship. There were four major productions presented on my cruise. The first was a short welcome aboard number but different than the ones I have seen on previous cruises. This one was quite snappy and cute. The next production was an "around the world in song" type offering. It was great. The costumes were gorgeous and there were many, many costume changes. Loved it Loved it Loved it. I often found myself wondering, "How do they change clothes so fast?" Next came a smaller less elaborate production which was shown in the Victoria Lounge. The smaller theater at the very back of the promenade deck. Very nicely done. The last offering was a salute to Broadway. The best part was when the 5 gorgeous, very fit male dancers did a take-off of "The Full Monty". Quite enjoyable. ‘Nuff said. That alone got an A+; the rest of the productions got at least an A. It is quite obvious that Carnival did not scrimp on the budget in any manner for any of these productions. They were all excellently produced, costumed and choreographed. They could stand toe to toe with any big ticket production held in or around Las Vegas. In short, a lot of money and talent goes into creating these shows. The entire music/comedic entertainment department for this ship was excellent. Definitely an A.

Aside from the Liberty Dancer's productions, there were three different comedians and two solo singers which rounded out the 8 nights of entertainment in the Venetian Palace The individual singers were not just pretty good but excellent. There were also several different bands, solos, duets, quartets in the smaller gathering places on the ship that were absolutely astonishing. If you were not looking at them, many times you would be hard pressed to be able to tell it was not the original singers performing. They were that good.

The Promenade Deck is the center of all that is going on inside. The casino is usually lively until wee hours in the morning. There are lots of slots and more than enough table games to suit most passengers. I personally contributed healthily to the "Build A New Ship" fund that Carnival has going on at the slot machines. I didn't spend much time in the shops but this is the one place that I found lacking. In spite of this being a much larger and newer ship, I found that the merchandise in the various shops was quite a bit less than usually found on a Carnival ship. However, since I didn't plan to shop on the ship, this was a non-issue for me.

There is the Specialty Coffee Bar, the Teen Disco (jumping until around 1 or so), the Video Arcade, the Hot & Cool Dance Club (for adults), the Piano Bar, the Karaoke Bar, and finally in the back is the Victoria Lounge which housed several nights of big band/easy listening music that was quite popular.

The Hot & Cool Dance Club played 80', 90's, hip hop and rap music and was quite fun and popular every single evening. The closing time was supposed to be 3 a.m. but on more than one occasion, the party continued until as late as 5 a.m. Very well populated at night.

I generally patronized the Venetian Palace, the Casino, the Piano Bar and finish the evening at the Hot & Cool Dance Club. That was my standard evening on the Liberty. I spent a little time in the piano bar (it was fun with a good sized crowd every night), the Karaoke Bar (always heard laughter coming from there, along with some really bad singing). I only went into the Victoria Lounge to see the Liberty Dancers on one evening. However, it seemed to be moderately popular.

Nightlife on Liberty gets an A-. I felt the Piano Bar and Karaoke could have stood to stay open just a little later. Perhaps until at least 2:00 a.m.

My Cabin

I was assigned to cabin no. 1426 on the Riviera Deck. It is a Cat 1A which is an inside cabin. It had only 1 twin bed with a bunk hidden in the ceiling. I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this cabin. In addition to the twin bed, there was a mini frig, an upholstered arm chair, a small eating table, three closets and the dresser-safe-TV-desk & chair unit. Because there was only the one single bed, there were loads and loads of floor space. This cabin would be great for a single parent traveling with a child, two teens or even two adult friends as long as one didn't mind using the upper bunk (hidden in ceiling during the day). There was more than enough floor space for two people to get dressed without bumping into each other. My cabin steward was wonderful and very friendly. He remembered my name from the first day. He allowed me to collect my towel animals so that by the end of the cruise I had a complete towel zoo in my cabin. I had a dog, swan, turtle, bear, seal, and an elephant. The bathroom was very nice, quite a nice improvement from the bathrooms on the older ships. The usual amenities were found in the bathroom. A/C in the cabin was good and adjustable. The TV had the capabilities to show your folio account charges, book excursions, check out the dinner menus and order PPV movies ($8.99). Remember this cabin number (there is its twin on the odd numbered hall). 1426 is a great, cheap way to cruise the Liberty. Both my cabin and my Steward get an A+.

The Food

Carnival Liberty had the largest variety of food selection of any cruise I have been on, to date. There are at least 12 different stations in which to get food in the Emeril Dining Room (Buffet). There is a "stir fry to order", Chinese food, sandwich, pizza, burgers & hot dogs, "region of the day", fish & chips, as well as carving boards and regular buffet staples. There are at least 4 ice cream stations positioned in the corners of the buffet area. There is also a good sized dessert station. The eating areas are broken up into two separate dining areas, plus there is a second floor dining space. This is where you find the fish and chips spot. All in all, no matter what time of the day, whether at sea or port, the buffet never felt crowded nor did the food look "picked over". To be honest, I think I preferred the buffet food to the dining rooms offerings. Just my personal taste.

The formal dining rooms were beautiful. I had an 8:30 dining time in the Golden Dining Room. Service was a bit slow at first but it picked up nicely later on in the week. The food was pretty good. Not great but not bad either. I split my meals pretty evenly between the buffet and the various dining rooms.

I also enjoyed Harry's Supper Club one evening. The food in that venue is delicious and beautifully prepared and presented. It is well worth the $30.

Carnival Liberty's food offering get an overall A- with the Buffet getting an A and the Dining Room a B.

Camp Carnival

Sorry but I have no small children so I have no take on this program but the parents I spoke to onboard all seemed happy with it and the kids seemed eager to get to camp each day.

Debarkation

As was everything else about this cruise, it was smooth and organized without the cattle car feel that is normally associated with debarkation. I sat around the Lido Deck until my color was called and took my time getting to the Lobby Deck. I was off the ship and in a van in under 30 minutes. If you wait until it is your turn, it went smooth.

My Personal Take on the Carnival Liberty

People can say what they want about Carnival Cruise line and their ships, passengers and zany games. However, cruise once on the Liberty and you will truly come to understand that Carnival "gets it" and "gets it right." They have worked it out to a science. They know how to keep it fun without slipping into trashiness. They know how to make 3,000 plus people feel like they are having the time of their lives without feeling crowded or overwhelmed. I picked the big show in the Venetian so I missed the trio near the Lobby Bar. Oh well. If I opted for a late night movie, I would miss the Piano Man. Well, . . Maybe tomorrow I will get to see the Piano Man. That is how the thinking goes on the Liberty. You are never upset that you missed anything. You are too busy in awe of what you did participate in.

Since I have been back I have been telling people that I just spent 8 days with over 4,100 of the nicest, friendliest, most congenial people ever. This is in great part to the hard work of the 1,100+ staff members who have got this cruise vacation thing down to a science so all of the passengers are happy, smiling, friendly and just having a good time with little or no worries. They are well pampered, cared for, happy campers.

Add me in that number. Can't wait to cruise again.

Any questions, ask away. On a scale of 1 to ten, with ten being the highest, I would give this cruise a 9.75. I don't know if it gets any better.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: June 28, 2008

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Liberty by Michele Eastern Caribbean June 28, 2008

We just got back one week ago from our fabulous cruise. This was our third cruise; we previously sailed on RCCL's Mariner of the Seas and the Carnival Miracle. I sailed with my husband and our 9 year old son. We did not bring our one year old daughter with us this time; she spent a fun filled week with grandma.

We left out of NYC-JFK on June 28th. We flew into Ft. Lauderdale and took Carnival's shuttle to the port of Miami. The cost is about $48.00 each roundtrip. We had a good flight, although I hate flying now post 9/11. However, once we arrived and proceeded down to baggage claim, we immediately saw several Carnival representatives, one of whom accompanied us to retrieve our luggage and then directed us to the next person who led us to the buses to take us to the port. Our driver was great and hilarious; however he cordially announced "please don't forget the driver." We were told the ride would be about 45 minutes; however we arrived within 30 minutes -- smooth.

When we arrived at the port, with trying to retrieve all of our luggage and giving them to the porters, and seeing the horde of people, I thought Oh boy!! However, the line was long but moved very quickly. I do not think we were in that first line 15 minutes. Afterwards, we immediately went through the metal detectors, then on to the room where you line up to receive your sign and sail cards, etc. There were only 3 or 4 people ahead of us and then it was our turn. We showed our passports and credit cards, registered and then off we went to board. We were given a boarding number, and I thing we were in "group 14", and at this point they had just called group 12, so in less than 10 minutes we were going up the escalator to the where our embarkation photos were taken. Next was a small line up to actually get onto the ship, during which we had our cards dipped into the machine with our photos taken to validate. All in all, embarkation took about an hour, give or take. Definitely not bad, especially considering what I previously heard about leaving from Miami. I was expecting it to take much longer. Upon entering the Liberty on deck 3 we were so excited to see the main atrium and happy that we were finally onboard.

The Liberty is absolutely beautiful. Just a little side bar of information about me. I have a preference for the bigger, newer ships. Yes, it's true -- the first couple of days we had to get used to not being able to go all the way through from front to back on decks 3 and 4. However, the Liberty is not a hard ship to learn your way around after the second day.

I will now break thr rest of this review up into sections of interest.

Ship Decor and Public Areas Again beautiful and big. Deck 5 goes all the way through from front to back and also has the casino which can be quite smoky. However, what I liked is that to walk through you did not have to go through the casino as there is the walkway on the side with windows and big comfortable seats for people watching or whatever you fancy. We had the Main (early) 2nd seating in the Golden Olympic Dining room (see Food section). The dining room is beautiful and our wait staff was Marcin (pronounced Mar-cini)?? and his assistant Yohanes. We were at table (booth) 137. If anyone has them on an upcoming cruise please tell them that "Miss Michele" and Sly said hello and we miss them. They were absolutely the best!! They were the best wait staff we've had on any cruise. They were very efficient and had great personalities. Plus, it may not mean much to most, but I was really happy that they were personable and remembered our names. Fernando was the Maitre 'D, and I have to say of all the cruises we've been on, he was the most personable and vocal. Normally, when it comes to the gratuities I do tip the Maitre 'D just because of the protocol, but afterwards I would kinda scratch my head and think we just tipped someone who we only saw from a distance maybe once. However, this time on several occasions Fernando made his rounds and stopped at each table to introduce himself and asked how things were going and telling us to let him know if there was anything that he could do. He was also in the dining room making announcements each evening. This time I absolutely had no regrets with tipping him and we actually went to find him on the last night to extend our well wishes and gratuities. However, he wasn't too hard to find as he was right near the entrance/exit. (hahaha).

Cabins We were in cabin 1362 which is on the Riviera deck (deck 1) and it was perfect. The beds and the bedding were to die for, absolutely plush and very comfortable. There were plenty of drawers and closets for storage. Our suitcases fit with no problem under the beds. There were actually 3 closets. The bathroom was small (of course) but nice with body wash and shampoo dispensers in the shower. There were also trial size samples of toothpaste, his and her razors, Pepcid, and some other stuff. Our cabin steward was great. I am so sorry that I never did catch his name though. However, he did a great job with cleaning the rooms twice a day and filling the ice buckets twice a day. My son loved coming back to the cabin at night and seeing the different towel animals along with chocolates on the pillow. I love the turn down service. The television worked fine, however I was curious as to why all "local" stations and news were for Denver, Colorado? Oh well, we definitely were not on a cruise to stay in our cabins to watch tv.

Food Everyone's favorite subject (it is mine). Well how do I begin? Overall it was good with plenty of room for improvement. If you want a sit-down breakfast it was in the Silver dining room, which is even more gorgeous than the Golden. The service was hit or miss. Most mornings the service was great. Just the last 2 days did I notice a decline, starting with the host who does the seating arrangements. The two areas Carnival must improve upon for breakfast is the orange juice (way too watered down) and the coffee. I hate to say it, but except the day we were in San Juan, when we ate breakfast off the ship, I did not have a good cup of coffee the entire time. I should say I did not have a good cup of coffee that was included and free. On deck 5 there is a stand that sells better coffee and lattes, cappuccinos and things like that, along with some other cakes and cookies. I tried those the last time I was on the Miracle and didn't really care for them, so this time I did not buy anything. However, I should have at least bought a real cup of coffee from there, but good coffee should be served throughout the ship and be a part of the "all inclusive" cost.

Only one morning did we have breakfast on the Lido deck. Needless to say after that experience I did not have breakfast up there again. The food was good; however there is a long wait for the omelet station, then when things ran out, there was a wait for them to be replenished. Also, it was too chaotic with the other guests, some of whom were rude line jumpers. For lunch we only ate up at the Lido deck. One of the best kept secrets is the fish and chips station. Oh my goodness, those fried fish filets with fries were the absolute best, but due to my shellfish allergy that was all I could eat. However, my husband on the other hand, had a field day. He loved the bouibaisse (sp?), the fried oysters, octopus salad, etc.

There are 2 grill sections with the best cheeseburgers, along with hot crispy french fries, and hot dogs, onion rings, chicken tenders (were good) and nachos with melted cheese sauce. Each day I was great with the items at the grill for lunch, along with the fish and ice cream that's available 24 hours a day.

For dinner, we ate every night in the main dining room. We originally had reservations for Harry's (the supper club at an additional $30 charge) for my birthday. However, we made great friends at the booth next to us (Hi Annmarie and Mike and Mike Jr.) and we enjoyed talking to them each night, as well as enjoying our wait staff. The 2nd formal night was the night of my birthday also, and therefore we just didn't see a reason to go to Harry's after all. I will tell you some of the dishes that I liked, as well as the ones I did not. I loved the warm-chocolate melting cake with vanilla ice cream on the side. YUMMMYYY!!! I also liked the prime rib, the BBQ ribs, jerk pork, filet mignon, the grilled pork chops and some of the cold desserts. I did not like the salmon the one time I ordered it. I was disappointed with the desserts. Thank God for the warm-chocolate melting cake. For the most part the food was good, but it could definitely be improved upon. We only did a few late night buffets, such as on the night of the Mardi Gras deck party when we went to the Mexican buffet set up on the Lido deck afterwards. It was okay. We attempted to go to the Grand Gala Midnight buffet, however the line was just too long and I was so tired from the "colors hop" party, and the deck party. One thing that was delicious was the chocolate buffet on the last sea day. I think I gained 20 pounds from that one -- (hahaha). There were about 7 different kinds of chocolate cake, and a chocolate fondue machine for dipping fruits, and other things -- even freshly made donuts. That was the best. They had different flavored ice creams and milkshakes, chocolate cheesecake, different truffles, homemade fudge, candies, and some chocolate raisin pudding that I did not try. There were so many things that I cannot remember them all at the moment. However, I do remember enjoying myself and trying lots of things.

Ports of Call We went to the Eastern Caribbean, so our ports were San Juan, Puerto Rico; Turks and Caicos (Grand Turk); Half Moon Cay; and St. Thomas.

In Puerto Rico I wanted to eat breakfast at a local joint called "La Bombonera" that I had heard a lot about. After getting off of the ship we walked to the next corner and caught a free trolley that went to El Morro and the shopping area. We saw the fort and it was an amazing view. We then got off near Calle San Francisco (a street) and went to La Bombonera. We had the famous mallorca pastries and they were GOOD!!! I wish I could get them fresh here in New York. Next we walked to Calle Cristo, which is a main block for shopping. I went to the Coach outlet and purchased several birthday gifts for me (smile). Later we tried some pina coladas at the famous Barrachina's and they were very good. We bought a few souvenirs, took some pictures and then went back to the ship.

Half Moon Cay was actually our first stop which was a beach day. We took the tender over, not too bad. The beach is beautiful with pretty sea-blue/green water that was the perfect temperature. However, because I do not know how to swim, I did not go too far in. Calf-length high water is about my limit. Here is where Carnival sets up the beach BBQ at the dining pavilions. The food consisted of chicken, burgers, hot dogs, salads, fruit, brownies, etc. The menu was limited, but the amount was plenty. However, what I ate did not agree with my stomach, and that -- along with the heat -- and I was ready to head back to the ship.

In St. Thomas (our second port) we took a shuttle into downtown Charlotte Amalie for $4.00 each. After that we walked around and looked in the shops, bought a few souvenirs and then went on a tour with one of the cab drivers. His name was Henry and he was great. I have his contact info if anyone needs it. He took us through different parts of the island and there were many sights to be seen. We stopped at the famous "Mountain Top" and had one of their famous banana daiquiris. It definitely lives up to its hype. It was great being so far up and the views were magnificent. The drive up to the top was a bit scary for me, but Mr. Henry was very efficient and very nice. We stopped to buy souvenirs and we went to Drake's Seat/Castle (??). All in all, it was a good day and it was nice. However, in the beginning it is a bit overwhelming in the shopping areas -- just way too many stores and way too many people, along with a lot of sun.

Our final stop was Grand Turk. We were docked so close to the new cruise terminal that after disembarking it was just a walk along the pier. We did not do any tours here. We just had lunch at Margaretville's. We went to the beach that's right there. I must add that the beach here looks beautiful, but once you're on the beach, you quickly realize that it is too rocky and there is too much seaweed. Also there were not many seats, if any, left and nothing in the shade. Therefore, hubby wanted to get sun and stay on the beach and I was hot and tired. So I left hubby to relax on the beach while I went souvenir shopping at the different stores at the terminal. Besides it was Thursday (my birthday) and I wanted to get back and get ready and dressed up for formal night. There are much prettier beaches in Turks and Caicos.

About my birthday, I will keep it short. My dear husband and son had our cabin decorated for me by Carnival (it was really nice) and he ordered a dozen long stemmed red roses. Also at dinner he surprised me and had the waiters bring out a delicious birthday cake and everyone sang happy birthday. It was so nice, and I did get a little teary-eyed. Cool points for hubby!

Cruise Director and Activities On Cruise Critic it said that Steve K was the cruise director. However, it was Karl with a K. And we were very pleased. Karl is the absolute best. I hope he is the CD on our next cruise. Carnival is definitely the fun ship. We love the different activities, especially on the sea days. We really loved most of the night shows: the tribute to Motown, the juggling act -- yes, it was very good and hilarious, and the comedians, especially Percy Crews. His family show act was funny, but the midnight adult show was on a whole other level. We laughed so hard the whole night.

With the teams, we were the blue team. I believe one day it was mentioned that we were in the lead, but I don't know what was to be the end result and what was at stake. I don't even believe they ever announced who "won"?

Camp Carnival What can I say? If it gives any indication of how much fun our son had, he only had dinner with us two out of the seven nights. The first night he ate with us because it was orientation night, and he ate with us on Thursday since it was my birthday. The counselors do a great job, and keep the kids very entertained and very busy. They did everything from swimming, to scavenger hunts, ice sundae making, candy making, pizza making, cake decorating, Nintendo WII and other video games, tee shirt coloring, and some chocolate game. Thursday night was the "Ultimate Pajama Party" with at least 15 different things lined up for the night. It lasted until 3:00 AM!!! And on that night the counselors walk each child back to their cabins. Normally the parents pick them up unless you sign a form permitting a child from age 9+ to sign themselves out. Every night they have dinner for the kids to eat with the counselors and their new friends and to go to a show and then back to the many other scheduled activities. Also, each child receives little gifts like a Carnival CD holder, tee shirts, and other little things. It was great, and provided my husband and I with a lot of alone time to enjoy the adult activities.

Disembarkation We had initially booked a 12:00 noon flight, but a month before the cruise the airline changed the departing time to 11:30. Therefore, the purser's desk gave us #2 luggage tags. We were called to disembark around 8:00 am, found our transfer bus and were back to Ft Lauderdale's airport by 9:40 with almost 2 hours before our flight. We had lunch at Chili's and just killed time. We also reflected on the great time we had and are planning our return cruise to the Western Caribbean next summer on the new Carnival Freedom.

This is all I can remember for now. I know this review is long, but I hope it was helpful. Please excuse any typos because I was typing a lot of info in a rush. Please feel free to contact me with any further questions. BON VOYAGE!!!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: June 21, 2008

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Liberty by Carrie Western Caribbean June 21, 2008

Loved the Liberty.

We have been on 6 cruises -- 3 with Carnival (Fantasy, Glory, Liberty), 2 with RCCL, 1 with Celebrity.

We were on the Glory last May (2007). Glory and Liberty are practically identical, except for decor. I thought the food and entertainment was just fine on the Glory, but EXCELLENT on the Liberty. We went to all the shows and I thought the costumes and set designs were fantastic. We ate in the dining room 3 times, it was very good. We went to Harrys once, just hubby and me. It was delicious. Don't eat the whole day before you go to dinner, it's A LOT of food.

I was not crazy about the Cruise Director, Steve, but this was his last sailing on the Liberty. He was just annoying with his announcements, and he repeated himself constantly. But he seemed very nice.

A lot of people were complaining about the layout of the ship -- it is kind of strange, but we were used to it from being on the Glory last year. Just remember deck 5 goes

all the way thru -- once you figure out what end your dining room is on, it's not that hard. You just go down from 5 one or two levels.

The casino was the tightest I have ever seen. I did not see anyone win or hear of anyone winning.

My daughter absolutely loved the Sushi, and the guy knew her by name after the 2nd day. I thought the Japanese station in Emiles (the buffet on the Lido) was awesome. There is a long wait because it's made fresh in front of you. You pick the ingredients. Watch out for the Thai BBQ sauce, my mouth was on FIRE. Then I tried the Black Bean Sauce, delicious and not too spicy. If you go right at lunch time it's about a 1/2 hour wait, I did that once. Then I waited till about 4:00, when everyone was getting ready to go get cleaned up for dinner. No line!

The ship was CROWDED, lines everywhere. This was the first time we have cruised when school is out, and probably the last. It was a bit too crowded for me. We always found chairs on the Lido Deck, but the pools and hot tubs were way too crowded to enjoy. I wish people would not let their little kids jump and splash in the hot tubs. But, the adults-only hot tubs on the back of deck 9, by the pizza, are much more enjoyable. So that's where I went a lot of the time. But you miss all the action by the main pool. For us September is the perfect time to cruise.

Drinks are EXPENSIVE. $6.95 for the special, from 10-noon you can get a bloody mary or mimosa for $3.50. I brought 2 bottles of Malibu Rum and 2 liters of Coke and a large thermal mug. We asked our room steward to give us ice everyday and he did. So that's what I will do from now on. Banana Flavored Malibu Rum and Coke is delicious! I saved a lot of money doing this.

Every single employee we came into contact with was friendly and smiled. Always a good morning. A very nice crew!

We loved Jamaica. We have never been there and so many people told us how "bad" it is. I thought the town itself was not nice, but the people we met were so laid back and friendly, no problem mon! We went river tubing (Carnival Excursion), and once you get out of town into the rain forest, it's gorgeous. If you are a nervous passenger, don't go. The drive was scary to say the least. But we laughed about it. The guides on the river are funny and friendly and very knowledgeable. We had our 3 kids with us -- 15, 12 & 9. They loved this excursion. We only do one excursion per cruise because they are so expensive. I was glad we picked that one. Then we went to Margaritaville. What a fun place! The kids loved the slide, and the food and drinks were great.

In Cozumel we went to Paradise Beach. I was not impressed. Very small, and the water is "murky", not the pretty water you expect in Mexico. The kids got the wrist bands and used the water toys. The Ice Burg climbing thing is dangerous. People can very easily jump on someone else and hurt them or themselves. The trampolines are ok. I will not go there again. The website makes it look much nicer than it is.

In Cayman we took a cab to the Ritz Carlton and spent a couple of hours on the beach. It was absolutely gorgeous. $11.00 for a beer, though! I drank ice water.

We did not use the spa, so I can't comment on that. I did get a mani/pedicure last year on the Glory and thought it was a bit expensive, so this time I did that at home before we left!

Embarkation was a breeze. We got to the port about 12:30, and were on the lido having a drink by 1:00. Debarkation, though, was not as good. We had a 1:30 flight out of MIA. We should have been in one of the earlier groups, but we were #26. By the time we got our bags, got thru customs, and waited on the bus, we just made our check in time with only 5 minutes to spare. The guy at curbside check in told us if it was five minutes later he would not have let us in. Watch your bags! The bus driver took all the bags off the bus before he let us off. Someone took one of ours and we still do not have it. It's been 3 days, so I think someone would have called by now if they intended to return it. This makes me want to cry because all our film was in that bag. We have no pictures from the entire trip. We have made a claim with Carnival and Greyhound.

E:mail me if you have any questions on the Liberty. My email is carrieerman@juno.com and I will be happy to answer your questions if I can.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: July 7, 2007

We just returned from the 8-day Western Caribbean cruise on the Carnival Liberty. There were 11 of us and three of our family members were cruising for the first time. This was my husband's and my 5th trip on Carnival in the last 3 years and 10th cruise in total. The ship is beautiful and the staff was very friendly. There were approximately 3500 guests on the ship (according to our cruise director) and based on some of the issues we experienced during the trip, the staff did not seem to be prepared to deal with this many travelers.

The embarkation process was not bad, but the lines were long. Upon boarding there was total chaos at the dining rooms with passengers complaining about their requested dinner times. We stood in line for over an hour, only to have one of the dining room staff come through the line to tell us they would not be able to make any adjustments until the next day and for us to eat at the assigned dinner time for that evening.

I am not sure if anyone was accommodated, but we ended up having to

eat dinner at 6:15 for the entire cruise. We got a note delivered to our cabin indicating that our requested dinner time could not be accommodated. Everyone in my group was upset and the staff just kept saying there was nothing they could do. We all enjoy staying up and getting up late and we either had to skip breakfast or lunch. Also, we had to rush on days we were on the islands to make it to the dinning room.

My nephews and daughter traveled with us (my nephews are 11 and my daughter is 12). The rules at Camp Carnival were too restrictive. The staff refused to allow my daughter to participate in activities with her cousins and insisted that she join her age group (which she did not want to do). I had to be firm in order for the staff to allow her to stay at the Camp to play video games with her cousins and we were paying per hour.

The buffet lines at the Lido Deck were very long and the food was just OK. It seemed to me that the quality of the food has declined since I last traveled with Carnival about a year ago. It was helpful to have the burgers and pizza. The food at dinner time was average and also not as good as I had before.

The Venetian Theater was always full and it was difficult to get good seats. This was made worse by the fact that they had bingo games in the theater almost every night before the shows and the players stayed.

The cabins were very nice and roomy. My husband and I had a balcony and the rest of the group had inside cabins. They were all spacious and with plenty of storage and closet space.

Overall we had an average time. The kids did not seem to have as much to do as on other cruise lines we have traveled before. The food was just average and during lunch it was sometimes of bad quality. I think I will take a break from Carnival for a while.

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: March 31, 2007

Carnival Cruise Lines Carnival Liberty by Elaine515 Eastern Caribbean March 31, 2007

Background...Cruised with 8 family members (myself, husband, both sets of Grandparents, 2 daughters, ages 16 & 13 plus Friend, her daughters 16, 14 and another 14 year old.) All are past Carnival guests, with 6 of the family members being Platinum. For me this was cruise # 14 with Carnival. Never had a bad cruise. This is my review of the Liberty March 31st sailing.

We had a limo pick us up at 10:00 with a stop at my parents house on the way and arrived at the Port by 11:30. Thank goodness for Platinum VIP Priority boarding as the line was in the building around the ropes and outside. VIP for those interested is the first line you come upon or the first one on the right. We got in line behind around 200 Travel Agents who were touring the ship that day. They must have started boarding just as we got there because the TAs were the first to board and we were right behind them. Port Everglades Platinum was ok but Miami is much nicer. Here

they just have a separate line for you to stand on. Yes, we did get on much faster than the regular line (some people said they were on the boarding line for 90 minutes) but it wasn't as nice as the private room with chairs/sofas like Miami has.

The Liberty is by far the prettiest of all the Carnival ships we've been on. Crew was cleaning all the time. Ship is beautiful. The entire crew is the best we've ever had. Almost everyone of them had a smile, a hello, how are you etc. Todd is the Cruise Director and was terrific and funny. Saw him all over the ship and didn't hog the intercom system. James is the Social Host, with spiked blonde hair, cute and definitely had the younger kids in the palm of his hands. My 16 year old personally liked Alex, he was the young guy on deck 5 who made her what she described as the best chocolate milk shakes she's ever had!!!

We are gamblers and the Casino Staff was also very friendly. Always joking around and smiling. Scott Reynolds is the current Casino Host and not only is he nice to look at, but also a doll. Walked around, made sure everyone was ok, everyone was happy and smiling. The complaints I did hear in the Casino was that the Texas Hold Em players absolutely HATE the electronic table that they now have fleetwide. The other complaint was that they had automatic shuffle machines at the blackjack table. I don't play either one so it didn't bother me either way. They had machines from .01 (which you had to play a minimum of .09) up to $5. The tables on the first night only was a minimum of $3 but from the 2nd night on went up to $5. There was a minimum of two tables for each table game but only one Crap Table in this casino. I play 3 Card Poker and the tables were usually full but I didn't have to wait for a seat.

The Staff....We had the best room steward to date, Ahpit from India. Not only was the room made up every day and the towel animals/people made each night, but he knew us by name, was very friendly and always smiling. Lauren, our 13 year old got sick the first two days out and Ahpit told us that he would be in the cabins for the next couple of hours and that if she needed anything, to find him. Our waitor Jose was very good, didn't make any mistakes on the orders but definitely needs to take a course in personality, zero, zilch, none. Thank goodness for Beatrix, his help, she was wonderful, friendly, great personality. We told her to give Jose lessons!! Dad had his rye bread every night waiting for him, the girls and myself had the glasses filled with ice waiting for us, etc.

Dinner... We ate in the Golden Dining Room 6:15 and loved the location (right in the middle of the ship). The only thing that we didn't like is that we were on the 2nd floor and if you enjoy watching/joining in with the Staff when they sing and dance, you can't see them because it's all performed on the 1st floor... So, next time, I request 1st floor seating. Also, the largest tables on the Liberty are for 10 passengers and since we were 12 they gave us one long table for 8 plus another table for 4 right across from us.

The food was good, with some of it being delicious. What I never knew and learned this week is that every Carnival ship has the same menu as far as the 1st day, 2nd day etc. Doesn't matter what day of the week your ship leaves. And YES, I had the chocolate melting cake every single night (it was sooooooo delicious). The 3rd night they served the filet mignon and veal parmigiana. Well the 3rd night for us was San Juan and we didn't eat in the dining room. When I asked the Maitre'd why they did that, it was then that he explained it was the meal of the day. But, the next night guess what we had for dinner... YUP, the Maitre'd delivered 6 veal parmigiana dinners to us and they were delicious.... And it was a good night too because we didn't like what was being served that night.

The big screen on the Lido deck.... amazing. We got to watch the Basketball finals, and of course, being from Florida, how could it not be great to watch your team win 10xs larger???? Lots of Florida/Ohio fans out that night and it was really loads of fun. Watching movies/concerts on the sea on a big screen is great. They also sold bags of popcorn for $1. Was told they had the charge so that the kids wouldn't take the popcorn and throw it all over the place.

We had great weather the entire week, and yes, the chair hogs were out...But, when the girls were out looking for lounge chairs, a Carnival employee just took towels off of 4 lounge chairs, told them to sit down and that if anyone came to claim the towels, tell them to see him... So they are trying to work with passengers and weed out the chair hogs.

The ship had 3400 passengers this week, with 1800 of them being past Carnival cruisers and only 30 Platinum members. There were over 900 kids on board, but being that we were in the Casino after midnight every night we personally never had or saw any problem with the kids. Even during the day, although we saw the kids, I never saw them doing anything wrong.

San Juan ( 5pm - 12midnight). Got off the ship as soon as we were allowed and went over to the Dooney & Bourke & Coach outlet stores. D & B closes at 6 so we shopped there first, then went directly across the street and continued shopping at the Coach store, which now stays open until 7pm. Between myself and the girls, the employees were thanking us by the time we left. Spent a lot of $$$$$s in both, but saved lots too. After that the girls decided to get back on the ship and my husband & I played in the casino right across the street from the Port.

St Thomas (8am - 6pm). Got off the ship around 10 and went shopping to the stores right at the Port. Some of the others took the tram up to Paradise Point ($18. per person). The pictures they got were beautiful and they loved it up there. Around 1:00 we hoped into a taxi ($5. per person for 10 of us) and went over to Bolongo Bay Beach. The cab driver left us off at the end of the beach by Iggys Restaurant/Bar and we didn't have to pay for the lounge chairs. Very relaxing, not crowded at all. The same driver who took us there picked us up at 5:00 and took us back to the ship

.

Antigua..... Oh my goodness.... We "rented" the Tiami Cataraman prior to cruising for 16 of us and I wanted to take the Catarman and the Crew back home with me.... It was amazing and I would recommend this one to everyone. It is the same company that owns the Excellence Catarman that Carnival charges $99 per person for and squeezes everyone in. We were charged $75 per person and had 16 people with 3 Crew!!! The food and crew were excellent, and of course, the open bar didn't hurt either... Definitely a great tour and very relaxing day.

Tortola... We were at the Baths last time we were there so this year we decided to just "wing it". At around 1:00 we got off the ship, found a guy from "Captain Friendly" taxi service who offered us a 2 hour tour for $15 per person.... WOW..... didn't even try to bargain him down.... that's a great price. He was a history major so we got a great tour, great information and great price.....

Days at sea.... The usual chair hogs, the trivia contests, the bingo, Newlywed Game, blackjack tournaments, slot tournaments, art auction, etc.

We all agreed that this was one of the best cruises we have had, the Staff on the Liberty was fantastic, the food was overall very good, the weather was terrific and the Liberty is beautiful.

Some trivia/interesting things to know...

For those cruisers wondering what was happening with soda smugglers, we are one of them... We had a large duffle bag filled with 3 six packs of diet coke bottles, 1 six pack of Sprite and a case of water all packed into a large plastic garbage bag (just in case one of the bottles opened). Made it to our cabin with no problem at all. The room steward emptied the refrigerator for us and we put the soda and water in there all week.

Platinum.... a couple of weeks ago this was asked..... We got four (4) Carnival Tote Bags in our cabin. So either they changed the one (1) per cabin policy, our room steward didn't read the new "rules" or he liked us but we each got a tote bag. My parents also got two (2) in their cabin. Of course, we also got the other "perks" i.e., personalized stationary, key chains, pens, a basket of fruit, canapys etc. We did use the free laundry service (wash and fold) three times. For those that are not platinum, it is $15 per bag.

Another think I learned this week.... Platinum/VIP Members were signed in with their credit card/sign n sail info right at the check in line. Other passengers were checked in here but then had to proceed to the Lounge to set up their Sign n Sail cards there. The Carnival Representative told us that it helped speed up the boarding line and they did have until the 2nd day to set up their Sign n Sail account so it wasn't like it had to be done immediately.

And for those curious about the Topless Deck, not Topless anymore ... Just a bunch of lounge chairs up there now but no sign and the only time I went up there it was empty.

I emailed the Casino Host prior to boarding and the room was made up in the Bon Voyage decorations courtesy of the Casino. Don't know if they do that for all but it was definitely worth the email. To be honest, we are big gamblers and spent every night after the show in the casino. That is something that we enjoy doing.

Definitely pack a light sweater or jacket. The Casino was always cold as was the Dining Room and Show Rooms.

We also tipped our Room Steward and Asst Waitress and both of them told me after I asked them is that they have to split any extra tips with help, i.e, Ahpit has one helper he has to split any extra tip with and unfortunately Beatrix has to split with Jose

If I've left anything out, I will add it and if anyone has any questions, please ask. Even after so many cruises, you guys still help me out and I would love to do the same for you.

Elaine 03/31/2007 Carnival Liberty Eastern Caribbean 07/10/2006 Carnival Fascination Key West & Cozumel 03/19/2006 Costa Magica (biggest mistake ever) 09/02/2005 Carnival Fascination Bahamas 03/18/2005 NCL Spirit Southern 3/20/2004 Carnival Triumph Western 3/16/2003 Carnival Spirit Exotic W. Caribbean 08/02 NCL Sun 12/21/2001 Carnival Spirit Southern Caribbean 10/15/2000 Carnival Destiny Southern Caribbean 1/31/2000 Carnival Ecstasy Western Caribbean 10/17/1999 Carnival Destiny Western Caribbean 10/98 RCL Grandeur of the Seas 10/18/1997 Carnival Fascination Southern Caribbean 10/6/1996 Carnival Sensation Western Caribbean 10/7/1995 Carnival Imagination Western Caribbean 10/94 Dolphin IV 11/6/1993 Carnival Celebration 11/1/1986 Carnival Carnivale
Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 11 - 20 of 42 12345

Similar Cruise Ships

Carnival Spirit
Carnival Spirit
From 76 Reviews
Ecstasy
Ecstasy
From 51 Reviews
Carnival Pride
Carnival Pride
From 90 Reviews