Navigator of the Seas Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Outstanding/Spectacular
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.3
from 45 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

45 User Reviews of Navigator of the Seas Cruise Ship

Eastern Mediterranean
Publication Date: December 9, 2011

Never got the chance to sail with them and never will. Here's what they deleted that I put on their facebook within 2 minutes of it being up there. Too bad you can't edit the entire internet, eh?

DO NOT PLAN YOUR HONEYMOON WITH THEM. IF THEY CANCEL IT AND YOU HAVE PAID FOR AIRFARE THAT IS NONREFUNDABLE THEY DO NOTHING TO HELP YOU.

"I cannot believe you people cancelled my honeymoon after it WAS ALREADY BOOKED! How do you not know you were going to be moving the ship to the caribbean in December, you know, 7 months from now? What did you guys just randomly decide that? What are we supposed to do about the $2,000 plane tickets WE ALREADY BOUGHT?! And you guys were completely unsympathetic and didn't care, just said if we book another cruise with you you'll give us some onboard credit?!

ONE, my would I want to book with a cruiseline that has cancelled my honeymoon. What's to say you won't cancel anything else I book?

TWO, you have NOTHING similar anytime close to my Dec 2nd wedding.

I am frantic right now. We are going to lose our

$2,000 plane tickets if we don't rebook with the same airline going to the same place but you guys don't have anything similar so how the heck can we?! I can't begin to describe how completely heartbroken and disappointed I am with your customer service and your policies regarding cancellations. I am not made of money, my fiance and I are paying for everything ourselves and we decided to splurge on this cruise because it was my dream and now we're going to be out 2,000 because you guys had no idea what you were doing?

I will never again book with RCI and I will be sure to tell everyone I know about this ordeal. About the lack of sympathy. About the complete disregard for the fact we're two students who saved for ages to be able to afford this but nevermind that. We're irrelevant to a big corporation like you guys. I truly cannot even express the depth of my sadness right now and thank you for ruining my dream trip, probably the only trip of this sort I will be able to afford in my lifetime and thank you for the complete disregard for the money already invested. Thanks"

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: February 4, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night cruise on The Navigater of the Seas. This was our 27th cruise (4th on Royal Caribbean). We were very pleasantly surprised. The ship was just wonderful from head to toe. The food, the entertainment, service etc. All great!! We were not impressed with Royal Caribbean in the past, but we were certainly wowed by this ship. The promenade deck is a great addition, especially the 24 hour cafe. The ice show was spectacular!! We cannot wait to go on this ship again, and I would highly recmmend this ship to anyone.

Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: February 2, 2010

See pictures here: CruiseMates Gallery

This is my second time on the Navigator of the Seas. I think my first visit was better than the second time.

Let me start with the good, because no cruise is completely bad.

The ship is very clean and well kept. The food in the main dining room is very good, and the staff is friendly for the most part.

This ship is starting to show some wear in areas.

Let me be specific. I noticed wear on the carpet going into my stateroom from the hall. I noticed the railing on the balcony was so in need of teak oil it felt like I would get a splinter.

Ok so that's not so bad let me continue..

Two days in a row I had towels with holes in them, and I don't mean small holes, really big holes.

Too top it off, I had no hot water on Saturday night. i had to take a cold shower.

The hot water issue really upset me because when I called I was told "This is a cruise ship" and in a matter of words they said this is to

be expected.

I'm not going into the details but let me say that it was handled badly and left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

The food in the windjammer was no better than ok.

It seems like lunch and dinner are much better than breakfast.

I tried to use room service but I waited and waited on hold for at least 20 minutes and no one ever answered, so I gave up and walked down the the cafe.

Bottom line is that this cruise did not go so smooth for me. Will it be the same for you? I won't say, but things are not looking up on the Navigator.

To end, even with all of this I did enjoy the day in Cozumel, we went on the "Jungle Buggy" on Sunshine tours, I highly suggest this tour.

I also really enjoyed the dinner in the main dining room.

Grade D

Expand Review
Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: November 26, 2009

As an experienced cruiser on several lines(and a Diamond member with RCCL's loyalty program)I've seen many changes in the overall cruising experience as the various companies merged and sometimes changed their philosophies on customer service, ship size, etc.

Navigator was the largest ship I've been on to date, and I was concerned that the increased number of passengers would result in additional demands on the staff - ultimately resulting in poorer service. I firmly believe this to be the case. Examples include longer lines at bars, less waiters on the pool deck, poorer training and English comprehension by dining room wait staff, far more clutter in common areas - particularly Windjammer buffet "cafe", and overall a far diluted experience from cruises on smaller ships and certainly a step down from Celebrity. Granted some of my prior cruises took place several years ago when RCCL's philosophy seemed to be "the customer always comes first" and all I ever heard from staff was "No problem, sir." I'm not sure what their philosophy is now, but it seemed to be more like,"Explain to the customer how it's really their fault" and "It's not my problem". And

at times worse.

Here's an example of every cruiser's customer service desk nightmare: Partner N. and I went to the Purser's desk to get the tips for her children (in a separate cabin) pre-paid on the 2nd to last day. Ours (2 occupants of "my" cabin) were paid in cash. We were very clear. With the direct supervision of the clerk "Put a #2 right there...", we filled out the appropriate form with a very clear #2 at the end of the bolded print saying, "Total number of guests charging customary gratuities to my seapass account".

When 3 gratuities were charged to her account (a $40 error in their favor) I was furious and was told they'd look into it but couldn't change it because the accountants weren't there! At my insistance I spoke with the desk manager (O. from Turkey I believe), who assured me that if the original form had a #2 on it, we'd get the refund. I wanted to believe him and hoped the issue would be resolved as I had already generously (over)paid the cash tips.

The next morning I received a photocopy of the original form which had CLEARLY been altered from a 2 to a (practically illegible) #3 - changed with a different pen! THE ALTERATION WAS OBVIOUS AND THEY STILL DENIED THAT SUCH A THING COULD HAPPEN! Not only did they make an incompetent error in their favor, they TRIED TO COVER IT UP RATHER THAN FIX IT!

Where I come from they call such rascals thieves and I went back and very loudly said so in front of a long line of dissatisfied cruisers. After a lot of "no way" head nodding from the individuals visible in the back "accounting" room, and at the last minute (precluding breakfast on disembarkation day...) another clerk found a way around the "can't undo the tip" problem and credited her account an equal amount under a different code, but only after my very loud and public continued expression of my displeasure. This is not the kind of training, leadership, and customer service I expect from ANY cruise line, let alone one I once owned stock in. Fortunately I no longer do, as I am disgusted by the "capture the herd" mentality.

Partner N. was on her first cruise and while she and the kids generally had a good time, she has told me that the crowded, noisy experience was unpleasant enough that it will likely be her last. I've never heard that before after an RCCL cruise - only after cruises on the "other" big line. Seems like both major companies employ clowns now. Maybe they should just merge and get it over with because the experience on RCCL has been degraded to what I once associated with the big "C."

Hmm, they could change the name of the big club on top of the RCCL ships to the Viking "Clown" lounge...

Dining room selections have been greatly reduced, and Chops grill selections now grace the inside menu for only "14.95" additional. I met several cruisers who ONLY do the specialty restaurants every night. Geez... Just choose a better line with better food already!

Cozumel was just fine by the way, we hired a cab to drive us around the island, toured some ruins (bring bug spray!), and stopped at San Franciso beach - highly recommended. Best day I've had in Mexico on many trips. Stick with the Ceviche and avoid the larger and more expensive seafood platters and you'll be ok. Good cigars from the hawkers on the beach too. N. and kids loved the water rock climing wall and other features ($10 each wristband to use) at the beach nextdoor. Otherwise Mexico still is what it is.

I can say I've had a worse time on a cruise but not with RCCL. Very disappointing to see that bigger clearly does NOT mean better if you're concerned with service and quality. Personally I'm switching back to Celebrity or smaller "sailing" ships. But after this experience, I'm concerned about what corporate changes I might encounter there as well. I guess I'll have to keep reading other's cruisemates reviews before booking, eh? One more cruise like this and I'll just fly down and charter instead.

ProfGoneWild

Expand Review
Read More
 
TransAtlantic Crossing
Publication Date: April 14, 2009

We left Columbus Ohio on April 14, 2009 for Ft. Lauderdale for our 30th anniversary cruise. This was a 14 day transatlantic cruise to Spain. We spent 2 nights in Ft. Lauderdale at an Encolodge on Taft Street. It was very reasonable and newly remodeled. We rented a car from Gold Coast and drove to Hobe Sound where we used to live. We ate at an Italian restaurant called Napoli's, and it was so good we ate there both nights that we were in the area. The pizza was the best.

We got on the ship on April 16 for our 14 day cruise. This was our first cruise with Royal Caribbean and we were not sure what to expect. Getting on the ship went very smooth and fast. The ship was beautiful. We had not been on a ship this big, and so very well laid out. We had no trouble finding our way around and the 5th floor Promanade Hall was great.

The ship was very clean and the workers were very friendly. We had a leak in our bathroom somewhere and it came out onto the carpet. They

were there really fast to fix the leak, though it took a couple of days for the carpet to dry which was no big deal.

We found lots of things to do on the ship. We did the climbing wall, ice skating, and laid out on the deck to read.

Some of the shows were really good, and some were just ok. The music in some of the lounges was great. We liked the ice skating show the best.

We did play the Quest game and that was a lot of fun.

Our dining room was very nice. It was very bright, which was good because we do not like dark dining rooms. Our waiter and our assiatant waiter were great. They were very friendly and funny, and they took time to talk with you. My wife ordered off of the kids menu and the waiter thought this to be funny, but he got her what she wanted. Our water glassses we could not empty. The waiters were there to refill them instantly.

Overall we had a great cruise and we are looking to book another transatlantic cruise. The next time we won't take too many clothes, because we did not wear all that we took on this cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: April 6, 2009

We just completed our third cruise with Royal Caribbean. This was our least favorite of the three.

The cruise director was obnoxious and annoying. The entertainment in the evening shows lacked the quality of the previous cruises. Two nights we actually got up and left during the show.

The cleanliness of the tables in the Windjammer was very poor. They were always streaked, looking like they had been wiped with a dirty cloth.

We were in a group of 16. Some of us experienced soiled linens and stained towels.

The food in the dining room was average, at best. The portions seemed much smaller than previous cruises.

The prices for alcohol were also more expensive.

All in all, it was disappointing, and we will definitely consider another cruise line for our next vacation.

Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: February 14, 2009

This was our third cruise with Royal Caribbean and the one we liked the least. Upon arrival at the port the porters were not very helpful at all (even with tip in hand). I was very glad that I made my own baggage tickets ahead of time so that I did not have to wait for them to give me a baggage tag. My parents, who were traveling with my husband and I, had to wait until someone finally came around to give them a tag, but then had to borrow a pen from me to fill it out.

We made it to our rooms and unloaded our carry-on bag and went to the Windjammer for lunch. As usual, it was a mob scene and one of my least favorite places on the ship. Some people can be so rude and this is a good place to see it first hand.

After a quick bite to eat, we met up with my brother, his wife, and three children. This was their first cruise and they were so excited and happy. We walked around and explored the ship and it was

a lot of fun.

My husband and I noticed that this ship, compared to the others we had been on in 2006 and 2007, was in need of repair and upgrades. The carpeting, and towels and bedding in our room was rather worn and needed to be replaced. The room was clean however.

The food in the main dining room was rather poor compared to the other two cruises we were on. It usually came cold or room temp and there was nothing really special about it. We also noticed that the portions seemed much smaller. We left hungry most nights. The service was horrible. The main server was very moody and seemed unhappy. His assistant was about the same but did try and show the kids some interesting little tricks.

Overall the crew seemed tired and not very helpful. Even the cruise director, Paul, just seemed plain tired and rather boring!!

We took an excursion in Grand Cayman called the Reef and Wreck Snorkel. We were supposed to be met at the pier at 12 noon, but they were about 30 minutes late. We finally loaded a bus that took us about a block away. We boarded a boat and went to the wreck part of the excursion (you can actually see from the pier). We stayed there for about 30 minutes and traveled just a short distance to the reef part and stayed about another 30 minutes (the crew of the boat threw bread in the water to attract the fish). The boat took us back to where the bus dropped us off, but we had to walk back to the pier. The excursion was suppose to be 2-1/2 hours, but we lost 1/2 hour because they were late and we did not get much snorkel time at all.

In Jamaica we walked off the ship just to shop in a little "village," but no sooner than we walked off the ship, we were accosted by people who wanted to bring us to "see Jamaica." Every couple of feet someone came up to us offering to take us somewhere. We just kept saying no thanks. In the shop the clerks did not seem happy to see us, but rather the opposite. We felt very unwelcomed and almost a little hated. My brother even had to come to the rescue of a young lady who was walking by herself and was being followed by several men who were really bothering her. She was almost in tears and could not thank us enough for helping her. Jamaica was very unpleasant, to say the least.

Overall Our experience overall was fair to poor. I am glad this was not our first cruise because I don't know if I would go on another one after experiencing some of the negative things with this one. Our other two cruises were top notch! On a scale of one to 10 (10 being the best) I would give this cruise a 4.5!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: February 14, 2009

I am extremely disappointed with the experience we had on this cruise. It started out at the port when we had to chase down a porter to get our luggage tags, who didn't even have a pen for us to use in order to fill out the tag information.

The ship in general was in need of some major overhaul (soiled and worn carpets, linen, etc.)

The staff -- from the room attendent to the wait staff in the dining area -- were not very friendly or helpful. The tables in the Windjammer were never cleaned very well to the point that my placemat actually stuck to the table.

The entertainment left a lot to be desired. The two headliners were good, but the rest of the entertainment was not what we have come to expect from a previous cruise.

The diving excursion was a half hour late, so we were rushed through that whole experience.

I would not recommend taking a cabin on the 10th deck aft, as I was awakened every morning by the sound of carts being wheeled on the deck above us to service the Windjammer dining area.

This

trip has caused me to have serious doubts about sailing with Royal Caribbean again.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: December 24, 2008

The ship was nice, the staff very helpful, the food good enough, and the ports were interesting but, a ship of this size carries way too many passengers accustomed to the ways of pushing and shoving in the buffet lines, dropping food on the floors and in general they're a group of folks more suited to the Carnival Cruise line.

What happens in this new day and age is the cruise line fears offending any paying passenger , and in doing so doesn't even enforce their own rules, letting the passengers run rampant.

Whether we elect to re-engage with RCCL for a 5th cruise is in question. Princess and Holland America cater to more refined cruisers and most likely we will cruise with them in the future.

Read More
 
 
TransAtlantic Crossing
Publication Date: November 10, 2008

There were 5 of us on this cruise, myself, my wife and 18 year old daughter, plus my in-laws. This was our 5 cruise and third Trans-Atlantic cruise.

We had an outside stateroom on deck 2 mid ship and my in-laws had a balcony stateroom on deck 6.

Traveling and Embarkation We travelled from Edinburgh to Barcelona via London City airport. It was a very early start with a 6:30 flight out of Edinburgh, but we all seemed to get up with spring in out step as it was holiday time.

We arrived in Barcelona at 12:30 and were met just outside baggage collection by the RCI rep, who pointed us in the right direction of porters; this was the last we saw our luggage until we were on the ship.

There was a short 20 min bus ride to the port where we were sped through the check in process. Having now attained Platinum status we were very lucky to join a very short queue and within 30-40 mins we were on the ship. After getting slightly lost, we found our stateroom which was still in the process of getting ready.

Sammy our stateroom attendant met us, what a nice guy.

Nothing was a problem for him, and he always seemed to be smiling as we met him coming and going.

The Ship and Crew Having been on both the Mariner and Explorer; we all had a basic idea of the layout so it didn't take us long to figure out where everything was.

We knew that the Windjammer was going to be busy so we headed for the Promenade Café on deck 5 for a few snacks.

The ship itself is still looking like it just came out of the dock.

Everywhere we looked someone was polishing or cleaning something.

We can't praise the staff and crew highly enough, everyone we passed in the corridors had a smile or a nod to acknowledge we were there.

I'll give a special mention to our Waiter, Judith and her assistant (who for the life of me I can't remember his name), plus Ray our Head Waiter, honestly the best Head Waiter we've ever had. Normally in the past we've found they only show face, smile and move on, but this guy took the time to speak to all of us. We would regularly meet him in the Windjammer always taking the time to chat.

I'll also mention the bartenders we got friendly with. Richard in the Theatre, who only after the second night knew what we were all drinking. One more was in Vintages (and I'm truly sorry I never got his name). Again he knew what I was drinking and before my bum was on the seat he was over handing me my drink, now that's service.

At this point I'll mention our Cruise Director and his staff, Kieron Buffrey was for me just about right. Not in your face and subtle, which I don't think went down well with our American friends.

Once again thanks to the CD staff who after my wife wrote to Kieron arranged for my daughter to do a backstage tour as she is studying stage management and lighting in the theatre at collage.

He had a great partner in Cuddy who managed to bounce off Kieron just nicely. I hope he makes a CD in the future.

For me the only cloud on the silver lining was Captain Bang, for us he was as dully as dish water. His daily announcements were tedious, all we seemed to hear was his name then it became garbled with long periods of silence. I'm sure in person he's a very interesting person but on the stage of pubic speaking a small improvement is needed.

Ports We didn't have many ports of call on this cruise, which is one of the reasons we chose it.

The first up was Cartagena in Spain. The ship had never been docked here before so it was a bit of an adventure for guests and crew alike.

We did manage to get on an open top bus trip for €13 each, taking about an hour for the tour. Very nice and condensed city full of naval history. After the tour we took a stroll up to the shops.

After 2 days at sea we arrived at the port of Ponta Delgada in the Azores, where we had 16 hours to kill. We've never organised a tour via the ship as we can normally find something to do. With this port we really struggled.

The tourist information desk should be done under the trade descriptions as they weren't helpful at all, telling us most of the buses were off or broken. So we had to fend for ourselves. The town itself is very compact and we managed to wander through the small streets taking in all the sites and sounds.

After returning to the ship for some lunch and a change we went back off the ship and struck lucky. It seemed we were there on the day all the Christmas lights were being switched on. It was truly a magical place, full of marching bands, Santa and kids playing.

Our last stop came after 6 days at sea and we arrived in the port of Nassau in the Bahamas.

After a small delay waiting for another ship to dock we got off and headed for the hotel Atlantis. Having been to Nassau in the past we knew where to go and how to get there so no time was wasted.

We wandered around the hotel checking out the aquarium and casino, then headed back to the main town for a drink at the local Hard Rock Café. It was then back to the ship and to prepare for the big offload at Fort Lauderdale the next morning.

Sea Days As I've said before we chose this cruise because of the amount to days at sea, which for us is the must relaxing time you can have. In total out of the 12 days 8 of them were spent at sea. The only down side to this was the weather wasn't the most favourable, it was warm but for the most part overcast. To say the sea was lumpy would be a small understatement, for at least 2 days it was pretty rough, so much so when we looked out our stateroom window it wasn't unusual to see the sea hitting it. We did spend this time doing all the stuff around the ship -- playing golf and roller blading and ice skating etc. The rough waters didn't stop us from having a great time; sometimes you have to take the rough with the smooth. We were just lucky on all the port days the sun was shinning.

Entertainment This was a real mixed bag for us. We thought the RCI dancers do a good job working under the conditions they do. However some of the star turns were a bit poor. Darren Day was really bad and never seemed to connect with the audience. Brenda Cochran tried very hard and has some real talent but I don't think the theatre was big enough for her voice. The real star turn was Mr Nobody (Yacov Noy). His three legged man was just classic.

We did manage to see 3 showings of the Ice Dancing and we all still watch with open mouths how these people do the things they do. With leaps, jumps and back flips it's all very cool. We just managed to stand up on the ice when the ship was moving all over the place, so how they do it is beyond me.

Food I can't really do a review without mentioning the food. Overall it was really good. The choice within the Windjammer is amazing, if you can't find something you like you must be a very picky eater. Some things could have been hotter. I do feel like people behave extremely badly and can be very rude within the Windjammer. Pushing in when queues have been formed, loading plates up like all the food is going to run out. I've always subscribed to the theory that you can go up as many times as you'd like, don't waste good food.

We ate every night in the main restaurant, and there wasn't a night gone by that I couldn't find something to eat. The steak was always done the way I like it. I never walked away thinking hmmmm I need more to eat. In fact most nights I thought that was a lovely meal, and I don't have to do the dishes.

Disembarkation We were very lucky that we managed to be one of the last ones off the ship, and also being Platinum members we had access to our own waiting area, which was in the restaurant on deck 4. This made for a more pleasant experience than sitting in the theatre. By the time we got off the ship there were only a few cases left in the hall so we could spot our luggage without any problem. Clearing immigration was only a problem as some people seemed to think it was a good idea to fill in their green cards when they arrived at the immigration officer. On the whole we were on our way to the airport within an hour after getting off the ship.

Overall In conclusion this was a very enjoyable cruise, well worth the money we spent. Will we be doing another cruise? You'd better believe it. Will we choose Royal Caribbean? Most definately yes, they tick all the right boxes for me.

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 1 - 10 of 45 12345