Navigator of the Seas Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Outstanding/Spectacular
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.3
from 46 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

46 User Reviews of Navigator of the Seas Cruise Ship

Western Caribbean Cruise
Publication Date: July 28, 2014

Our 11th cruise, 2nd on Royal Caribbean, was a great cruise. We were impressed with the ship which had a recent refurbishment, and the ease of getting around the ship. Our cabin was a balcony on Deck 8, Mid-Ship, # 8336 which was very smooth when sailing and very quite. We left out of Galveston as we are able to drive to the port in about 1 1/2 hours from our home in S/W Louisiana. We have booked this same ship for another cruise in November, 2014.

Read More
 
Eastern Mediterranean
Publication Date: December 9, 2011

Never got the chance to sail with them and never will. Here's what they deleted that I put on their facebook within 2 minutes of it being up there. Too bad you can't edit the entire internet, eh?

DO NOT PLAN YOUR HONEYMOON WITH THEM. IF THEY CANCEL IT AND YOU HAVE PAID FOR AIRFARE THAT IS NONREFUNDABLE THEY DO NOTHING TO HELP YOU.

"I cannot believe you people cancelled my honeymoon after it WAS ALREADY BOOKED! How do you not know you were going to be moving the ship to the caribbean in December, you know, 7 months from now? What did you guys just randomly decide that? What are we supposed to do about the $2,000 plane tickets WE ALREADY BOUGHT?! And you guys were completely unsympathetic and didn't care, just said if we book another cruise with you you'll give us some onboard credit?!

ONE, my would I want to book with a cruiseline that has cancelled my honeymoon. What's to say you won't cancel anything else I book?

TWO, you have NOTHING similar anytime close to my Dec 2nd wedding.

I am frantic right now. We are going to lose our

$2,000 plane tickets if we don't rebook with the same airline going to the same place but you guys don't have anything similar so how the heck can we?! I can't begin to describe how completely heartbroken and disappointed I am with your customer service and your policies regarding cancellations. I am not made of money, my fiance and I are paying for everything ourselves and we decided to splurge on this cruise because it was my dream and now we're going to be out 2,000 because you guys had no idea what you were doing?

I will never again book with RCI and I will be sure to tell everyone I know about this ordeal. About the lack of sympathy. About the complete disregard for the fact we're two students who saved for ages to be able to afford this but nevermind that. We're irrelevant to a big corporation like you guys. I truly cannot even express the depth of my sadness right now and thank you for ruining my dream trip, probably the only trip of this sort I will be able to afford in my lifetime and thank you for the complete disregard for the money already invested. Thanks"

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: February 4, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night cruise on The Navigater of the Seas. This was our 27th cruise (4th on Royal Caribbean). We were very pleasantly surprised. The ship was just wonderful from head to toe. The food, the entertainment, service etc. All great!! We were not impressed with Royal Caribbean in the past, but we were certainly wowed by this ship. The promenade deck is a great addition, especially the 24 hour cafe. The ice show was spectacular!! We cannot wait to go on this ship again, and I would highly recmmend this ship to anyone.

Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: February 2, 2010

See pictures here: CruiseMates Gallery

This is my second time on the Navigator of the Seas. I think my first visit was better than the second time.

Let me start with the good, because no cruise is completely bad.

The ship is very clean and well kept. The food in the main dining room is very good, and the staff is friendly for the most part.

This ship is starting to show some wear in areas.

Let me be specific. I noticed wear on the carpet going into my stateroom from the hall. I noticed the railing on the balcony was so in need of teak oil it felt like I would get a splinter.

Ok so that's not so bad let me continue..

Two days in a row I had towels with holes in them, and I don't mean small holes, really big holes.

Too top it off, I had no hot water on Saturday night. i had to take a cold shower.

The hot water issue really upset me because when I called I was told "This is a cruise ship" and in a matter of words they said this is to

be expected.

I'm not going into the details but let me say that it was handled badly and left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

The food in the windjammer was no better than ok.

It seems like lunch and dinner are much better than breakfast.

I tried to use room service but I waited and waited on hold for at least 20 minutes and no one ever answered, so I gave up and walked down the the cafe.

Bottom line is that this cruise did not go so smooth for me. Will it be the same for you? I won't say, but things are not looking up on the Navigator.

To end, even with all of this I did enjoy the day in Cozumel, we went on the "Jungle Buggy" on Sunshine tours, I highly suggest this tour.

I also really enjoyed the dinner in the main dining room.

Grade D

Expand Review
Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: November 26, 2009

As an experienced cruiser on several lines(and a Diamond member with RCCL's loyalty program)I've seen many changes in the overall cruising experience as the various companies merged and sometimes changed their philosophies on customer service, ship size, etc.

Navigator was the largest ship I've been on to date, and I was concerned that the increased number of passengers would result in additional demands on the staff - ultimately resulting in poorer service. I firmly believe this to be the case. Examples include longer lines at bars, less waiters on the pool deck, poorer training and English comprehension by dining room wait staff, far more clutter in common areas - particularly Windjammer buffet "cafe", and overall a far diluted experience from cruises on smaller ships and certainly a step down from Celebrity. Granted some of my prior cruises took place several years ago when RCCL's philosophy seemed to be "the customer always comes first" and all I ever heard from staff was "No problem, sir." I'm not sure what their philosophy is now, but it seemed to be more like,"Explain to the customer how it's really their fault" and "It's not my problem". And

at times worse.

Here's an example of every cruiser's customer service desk nightmare: Partner N. and I went to the Purser's desk to get the tips for her children (in a separate cabin) pre-paid on the 2nd to last day. Ours (2 occupants of "my" cabin) were paid in cash. We were very clear. With the direct supervision of the clerk "Put a #2 right there...", we filled out the appropriate form with a very clear #2 at the end of the bolded print saying, "Total number of guests charging customary gratuities to my seapass account".

When 3 gratuities were charged to her account (a $40 error in their favor) I was furious and was told they'd look into it but couldn't change it because the accountants weren't there! At my insistance I spoke with the desk manager (O. from Turkey I believe), who assured me that if the original form had a #2 on it, we'd get the refund. I wanted to believe him and hoped the issue would be resolved as I had already generously (over)paid the cash tips.

The next morning I received a photocopy of the original form which had CLEARLY been altered from a 2 to a (practically illegible) #3 - changed with a different pen! THE ALTERATION WAS OBVIOUS AND THEY STILL DENIED THAT SUCH A THING COULD HAPPEN! Not only did they make an incompetent error in their favor, they TRIED TO COVER IT UP RATHER THAN FIX IT!

Where I come from they call such rascals thieves and I went back and very loudly said so in front of a long line of dissatisfied cruisers. After a lot of "no way" head nodding from the individuals visible in the back "accounting" room, and at the last minute (precluding breakfast on disembarkation day...) another clerk found a way around the "can't undo the tip" problem and credited her account an equal amount under a different code, but only after my very loud and public continued expression of my displeasure. This is not the kind of training, leadership, and customer service I expect from ANY cruise line, let alone one I once owned stock in. Fortunately I no longer do, as I am disgusted by the "capture the herd" mentality.

Partner N. was on her first cruise and while she and the kids generally had a good time, she has told me that the crowded, noisy experience was unpleasant enough that it will likely be her last. I've never heard that before after an RCCL cruise - only after cruises on the "other" big line. Seems like both major companies employ clowns now. Maybe they should just merge and get it over with because the experience on RCCL has been degraded to what I once associated with the big "C."

Hmm, they could change the name of the big club on top of the RCCL ships to the Viking "Clown" lounge...

Dining room selections have been greatly reduced, and Chops grill selections now grace the inside menu for only "14.95" additional. I met several cruisers who ONLY do the specialty restaurants every night. Geez... Just choose a better line with better food already!

Cozumel was just fine by the way, we hired a cab to drive us around the island, toured some ruins (bring bug spray!), and stopped at San Franciso beach - highly recommended. Best day I've had in Mexico on many trips. Stick with the Ceviche and avoid the larger and more expensive seafood platters and you'll be ok. Good cigars from the hawkers on the beach too. N. and kids loved the water rock climing wall and other features ($10 each wristband to use) at the beach nextdoor. Otherwise Mexico still is what it is.

I can say I've had a worse time on a cruise but not with RCCL. Very disappointing to see that bigger clearly does NOT mean better if you're concerned with service and quality. Personally I'm switching back to Celebrity or smaller "sailing" ships. But after this experience, I'm concerned about what corporate changes I might encounter there as well. I guess I'll have to keep reading other's cruisemates reviews before booking, eh? One more cruise like this and I'll just fly down and charter instead.

ProfGoneWild

Expand Review
Read More
 
TransAtlantic Crossing
Publication Date: April 14, 2009

We left Columbus Ohio on April 14, 2009 for Ft. Lauderdale for our 30th anniversary cruise. This was a 14 day transatlantic cruise to Spain. We spent 2 nights in Ft. Lauderdale at an Encolodge on Taft Street. It was very reasonable and newly remodeled. We rented a car from Gold Coast and drove to Hobe Sound where we used to live. We ate at an Italian restaurant called Napoli's, and it was so good we ate there both nights that we were in the area. The pizza was the best.

We got on the ship on April 16 for our 14 day cruise. This was our first cruise with Royal Caribbean and we were not sure what to expect. Getting on the ship went very smooth and fast. The ship was beautiful. We had not been on a ship this big, and so very well laid out. We had no trouble finding our way around and the 5th floor Promanade Hall was great.

The ship was very clean and the workers were very friendly. We had a leak in our bathroom somewhere and it came out onto the carpet. They

were there really fast to fix the leak, though it took a couple of days for the carpet to dry which was no big deal.

We found lots of things to do on the ship. We did the climbing wall, ice skating, and laid out on the deck to read.

Some of the shows were really good, and some were just ok. The music in some of the lounges was great. We liked the ice skating show the best.

We did play the Quest game and that was a lot of fun.

Our dining room was very nice. It was very bright, which was good because we do not like dark dining rooms. Our waiter and our assiatant waiter were great. They were very friendly and funny, and they took time to talk with you. My wife ordered off of the kids menu and the waiter thought this to be funny, but he got her what she wanted. Our water glassses we could not empty. The waiters were there to refill them instantly.

Overall we had a great cruise and we are looking to book another transatlantic cruise. The next time we won't take too many clothes, because we did not wear all that we took on this cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: April 6, 2009

We just completed our third cruise with Royal Caribbean. This was our least favorite of the three.

The cruise director was obnoxious and annoying. The entertainment in the evening shows lacked the quality of the previous cruises. Two nights we actually got up and left during the show.

The cleanliness of the tables in the Windjammer was very poor. They were always streaked, looking like they had been wiped with a dirty cloth.

We were in a group of 16. Some of us experienced soiled linens and stained towels.

The food in the dining room was average, at best. The portions seemed much smaller than previous cruises.

The prices for alcohol were also more expensive.

All in all, it was disappointing, and we will definitely consider another cruise line for our next vacation.

Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: February 14, 2009

This was our third cruise with Royal Caribbean and the one we liked the least. Upon arrival at the port the porters were not very helpful at all (even with tip in hand). I was very glad that I made my own baggage tickets ahead of time so that I did not have to wait for them to give me a baggage tag. My parents, who were traveling with my husband and I, had to wait until someone finally came around to give them a tag, but then had to borrow a pen from me to fill it out.

We made it to our rooms and unloaded our carry-on bag and went to the Windjammer for lunch. As usual, it was a mob scene and one of my least favorite places on the ship. Some people can be so rude and this is a good place to see it first hand.

After a quick bite to eat, we met up with my brother, his wife, and three children. This was their first cruise and they were so excited and happy. We walked around and explored the ship and it was

a lot of fun.

My husband and I noticed that this ship, compared to the others we had been on in 2006 and 2007, was in need of repair and upgrades. The carpeting, and towels and bedding in our room was rather worn and needed to be replaced. The room was clean however.

The food in the main dining room was rather poor compared to the other two cruises we were on. It usually came cold or room temp and there was nothing really special about it. We also noticed that the portions seemed much smaller. We left hungry most nights. The service was horrible. The main server was very moody and seemed unhappy. His assistant was about the same but did try and show the kids some interesting little tricks.

Overall the crew seemed tired and not very helpful. Even the cruise director, Paul, just seemed plain tired and rather boring!!

We took an excursion in Grand Cayman called the Reef and Wreck Snorkel. We were supposed to be met at the pier at 12 noon, but they were about 30 minutes late. We finally loaded a bus that took us about a block away. We boarded a boat and went to the wreck part of the excursion (you can actually see from the pier). We stayed there for about 30 minutes and traveled just a short distance to the reef part and stayed about another 30 minutes (the crew of the boat threw bread in the water to attract the fish). The boat took us back to where the bus dropped us off, but we had to walk back to the pier. The excursion was suppose to be 2-1/2 hours, but we lost 1/2 hour because they were late and we did not get much snorkel time at all.

In Jamaica we walked off the ship just to shop in a little "village," but no sooner than we walked off the ship, we were accosted by people who wanted to bring us to "see Jamaica." Every couple of feet someone came up to us offering to take us somewhere. We just kept saying no thanks. In the shop the clerks did not seem happy to see us, but rather the opposite. We felt very unwelcomed and almost a little hated. My brother even had to come to the rescue of a young lady who was walking by herself and was being followed by several men who were really bothering her. She was almost in tears and could not thank us enough for helping her. Jamaica was very unpleasant, to say the least.

Overall Our experience overall was fair to poor. I am glad this was not our first cruise because I don't know if I would go on another one after experiencing some of the negative things with this one. Our other two cruises were top notch! On a scale of one to 10 (10 being the best) I would give this cruise a 4.5!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: February 14, 2009

I am extremely disappointed with the experience we had on this cruise. It started out at the port when we had to chase down a porter to get our luggage tags, who didn't even have a pen for us to use in order to fill out the tag information.

The ship in general was in need of some major overhaul (soiled and worn carpets, linen, etc.)

The staff -- from the room attendent to the wait staff in the dining area -- were not very friendly or helpful. The tables in the Windjammer were never cleaned very well to the point that my placemat actually stuck to the table.

The entertainment left a lot to be desired. The two headliners were good, but the rest of the entertainment was not what we have come to expect from a previous cruise.

The diving excursion was a half hour late, so we were rushed through that whole experience.

I would not recommend taking a cabin on the 10th deck aft, as I was awakened every morning by the sound of carts being wheeled on the deck above us to service the Windjammer dining area.

This

trip has caused me to have serious doubts about sailing with Royal Caribbean again.
Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: December 24, 2008

The ship was nice, the staff very helpful, the food good enough, and the ports were interesting but, a ship of this size carries way too many passengers accustomed to the ways of pushing and shoving in the buffet lines, dropping food on the floors and in general they're a group of folks more suited to the Carnival Cruise line.

What happens in this new day and age is the cruise line fears offending any paying passenger , and in doing so doesn't even enforce their own rules, letting the passengers run rampant.

Whether we elect to re-engage with RCCL for a 5th cruise is in question. Princess and Holland America cater to more refined cruisers and most likely we will cruise with them in the future.

Read More
Write a Review
Results 1 - 10 of 46 12345