Rhapsody of the Seas Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Excellent
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
3.9
from 40 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

40 User Reviews of Rhapsody of the Seas Cruise Ship

Disappointing after other RCI cruises
Publication Date: May 13, 2013

Having been on Legend and Radiance of the Seas I was expecting more. The service was generally outstanding. The decor was, shall we say subdued. The cabins were small compared to other lines.

It apparently had a refurbishment last year but the cabins mustn't have seen that refurb.

The cabin steward was rarely seen and didn't make himself known until day 3.

The dining room staff were outstanding but the food was variable from quite good to not very good.

Radiance the previous year was excellent by comparison. The portions varied hugely - e.g. starters were sometimes as large as main/entrees and vice versa. Some menu items were not able to be delivered towards the end of the cruise because, according to staff, some food items had run out. The Windjammer buffet food was very mediocre.

The cruise Director - Luke - was excellent and the entertainers were very good also.

The cabin TV programming was appalling. A few incorrect public announcements made custom clearance and disembarkation slow and frustrating. Overall it was far from the best cruise ever taken.

Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: August 31, 2012

Royal Caribbean did not disclose the previous cruise had Norovirus on the Rhapsody of the Seas.. I left on Friday, Aug. 31, 2012 and by Monday I was violently ill with Norovirus.

The crew continued to clean and disinfect, no one was allowed to carry their own buffet plates, the lines were very, very long as a crew member had to go with each passenger thru the buffet line.

My roommate and I nearly choked to death when we walked into our hallway trying to get to our stateroom and were overcome with a cloud of disinfectant. The cabin steward was wearing a mask! No mask for us!

We were told that we may carry our own plates if there were no more cases of Norovirus. Imagaine a cruise with that hanging over the atmosphere?

Read More
 
Vancouver to Honolulu
Publication Date: December 19, 2009

We had sailed Royal Caribbean's Rhapsody of the Seas from Vancouver to Alaska in the spring of 1997. However we were truly looking forward to heading south and choose a Vancouver to Honolulu itinerary. The Vision Class, Rhapsody, like her sister's and cousins, is a beautiful ship. We over-nighted in Vancouver at the Waterfront Center Hotel, directly across from the Canada Place pier where the Rhapsody docks. It's a wonderful feeling waking up and seeing the ship directly across the street from twelve stories above street level, and that certainly added to the excitement, if that is possible.

On embarkation morning the bellman took our luggage directly to the pier. We got together with the CruiseMates we had met the previous night and arrived at the pier about 11:45 a.m, when the embarkation process began. The RCI staff went through the line checking documents and responding to questions prior to your arrival at the embarkation desk. However, the entire process was delayed by a computer glitch due to new computer software. Regardless, we were aboard withing an hour.

One change from the previous RCI check-in is the processing of credit cards for the "Super

Charge Cards." This replaces the old system of standing in line again to activate the "Super Charge" once onboard.

In waiting for embarkation,we were surprised by the broad range of age groups on this sailing. The norm is "more days, more years." This axiom didn't hold true for this cruise. The average age aboard this eleven day cruise, was similar to what one would encounter in the Caribbean- in the 45 or 50 plus range. This may have been impacted by a large group of 500 passengers, all in the auto parts business.

Also of note on this particular sailing was a large number of first time cruisers. I was very surprised because of the length of the cruise, and the somewhat exotic itinerary.

THE SHIP The Rhapsody's Centrum is a great spot to walk onboard. Windows to the sea are everywhere, and the warm earth tones in the interior areas direct your eyes to the blue skies, blue seas and panoramic views. This makes for a memorable first impression.

Having sailed the ship two years before, we were struck byt how good she looked in "most" areas, with some cabins being the exception. It appeared that much of the furniture in the public areas had recently been recovered. In a conversation with Hotel Manager, Bob Tavadia we found that it was simply a matter of effective and ongoing maintenance.

Some of our CruiseMates were rookie cruisers; some very much veterancruise addicts, but new to RCI. Everyone new to the Vision Class ships was most impressed with their look and layout. We were in a Category D cabin with a private balcony. The cabin, while not overly spacious, had great storage space and is so well designed that it feels more larger than cabins on other ships that boast more square footage. As this was a long cruise, we had seriously over-packed, yet everything found a place, out of our way.

The cabin's sitting area is equipped with a full size sofa, and a coffee table. Having a place to sit and relax inside the cabin is a nice bonus compared to, Princess's equivalent cabins, which offer only a tub chair, or Celebrity with "sofas" that are much more like loveseats. Yet, these comparable cabins are actually larger. In the tradition of RCI, the showers are miniscule. However, I must be too accustomed to cruising, because they're starting to seem spacious. Our showe had a mind of its own. It shifted from hot to cold a number of times during a typical shower. What a shame there's no video of me jumping in and out!

The cabins are equipped with all the normal amenities with the exception of hair dryers, so if you use one, bring your own. The verandahs are pleasant but small, and not all that private, and have two arm chairs and a small side table. What impressed me most was the sliding glass door to the verandah, as opposed to a door that opens in or out. These don't take up valuable room inside the cabin, or on the verandah.

The Edelweiss Dining Room is, in my view, one of RCI's prettiest, with a particularly relaxing ambiance. Our CruiseMates group was seated at three tables towards the rear of the main floor. I would have preferred round tables to the rectangular ones we had, for easier conversation rather. We decided ond simply switching our seating arrangements each evening to allow everyone to converse with different folks nightly. Of course, this bunch was loud enoughto make ourselves heard!

ENTERTAINMENT With entertainment normally one of RCI's strengths I was looking forward to very good acts. The first night's "Welcome Aboard" was without a doubt one of the worst I've ever seen at sea. The cruise director specifically mentioned that they keep announcements to a minimum. As the cruise unfolded we noticed that this couldn't have been farther from the truth.I would have never given these announcements another though if he hadn't made such a point of mentioning them. They announced bingo, art auctions, horse races, and when anyone on the ship ate, or so it seemed.

My choice of shows on this cruise was definitely off. I attended the bad shows and then skipped the next night,hearing afterward how good they were.

Combining my opinions of the shows I saw with those I heard about from CruiseMates, I would have to say the showroom entertainment was generally below the quality we've come to expect from RCI.

FOOD The dining room cuisine overall was good to very good. The Windjammer buffet was pretty typical buffet-not very exciting, yet not bad. Mornings featured a made-to-order omelet station; lunche offered a carving station for roast beef, pork and similar items. The breakfast buffet menu wasrelatively basic and stagnant all week, alternating pancakes and French Toast from one day to the next. Except for variations in the potato preparation, the morning buffet menu did not change.

I had a mediocre NY steak twice during the cruise but everything else I in the dining room was very good-even other beef dishes. At our table, aside from everyone's individual entrees, the waiter brought plates of the daily pasta for all of us to share, and it was very tasty.

Don't be shy about sending back things you don't care for, or ordering another portion of the dishes you liked. The waiters want you to enjoy meals rather than leave the table complaining. If you do, in a way, it's as much your fault as the chef's.

Royal Caribbean can still lay claim to the worst pizza at sea. It seems a shame that no ones attention has been directed to improving this area. I'm sure some people couldn't care less about pizza on a ship. But, after so many elaborate meals, some good old junk food can be pretty appealing.

The Solarium Cafe also featured good hamburgers, decent hot dogs and wonderful curly French fries.

The room service menu is not exciting, but fairly substantial for snacks.During meal times you may order off of the full dining room menufor service to your cabin.

SERVICE & STAFF We encountered what I feel is quite standard for Royal Caribbean; a warm and friendly staff. Our cabin steward did a good job of keeping our Kuki little home clean, and decorating the roome using pillows to create different shapes and insignias. It wasn't quite up to the "towel animals" of Carnival, but nonetheless, cute.

Our dining room waiter was a true professional, and shared his pleasant personality with us, while doing a yeoman's job of delivering the goods.A few days into the cruise he realized that we would welcome his participation in the fun at the table, and joined right in. In Maui we found a shop that had tee shirts dyed in chocolate. One had a moose characture with the title Chocolate Moose on it. This seemd like an appropriate gift for our waiter Andre, so we gave it to him at dinner. He was thrilled. I believe that by the end of the cruise he was sorry to see us go.

The assistant waiter/bus boy was perhaps the worst we've ever had. He wasn't happy with his job and it showed. He should not have been there. I notedon my comment card that he should seek a career change.

Regardless of this we maintained a Kuki tradition. Every cruise, I bring tee shirts from Calgary for our dining room staff and present these on the last night. Both were very appreciative until I explained that it was in place of the customer gratuities. Both were very relieved when I reassured them that I was kidding.

The headwaiter in charge of our section was very personable. He stopped by for a chat nightly. However, when he was informed of the bus boy's shortcomings hedid nothing to remedy the situation. We were told they would reduce the number of the busboy's tables on the next cruise, but that did nothing to address our problems. I felt that if the headwaiter was aware that the job was not well done, it was his responsibility, even if he had to pitch in himself.

Tim Seaver was the Cruise Director on this sailing, a nice enough guy, but everyone seemed to agree that he didn't come across as very genuine. He admitted that people seemed to either love him or hate him.

While he was very pleasant when we encountered him, we didn't notice him about the ship much. To my view this limited his involvement with passengers.

I've had the pleasure of sailing with two of the best CDs in the business; RCI's Jamie Logan, who Tim tells me ihas left the business, and Carnival's John Heald, so it may be hard for other Cruise Director's to measure up in my eyes.

RANTS AND RAVES RCI's has given it's onboard daily activities report, Cruise Compass, a new and innovative twist. Along with the normal 4 page, 8 by 11, pamphlet, is an abbreviated carry around size. These are easy to carry, and serve as great bookmarks at the same time. It doesn't sound like much, but was very handy to keep up with events. Unfortunately someone continuously placed mis-infomation in the Compass. The other oddity with regard to these were the numerous and daily, typos and errors in grammar. Doesn't their word processor have spell check? It was daily entertainment to find the errors. We laughed out loud at the look on the head waiter's face when it was pointed out that on debarkation day the Compass stated the dining room would be open for breakfast from 6 AM to 8 PM. We told him we'd see him at 7PM for breakfast.

The Cruise Compass is a part of the Cruise Director's responsibilities, so that may have impacted my earlier evaluation of him.

Another area we found very confusing is the way they worded some of the "suggested dress." RCI has "Formal," "Smart Casual" and "Casual." I think most understand "Formal" and "Casual" but the "Smart Casual" seems to throw everyone off. I inquired as to the meaing of this classification. For men, they intended sports jackets, with no ties necessary.

On the first "Smart Casual" night, I bet my fellow CruiseMates that most people would be confused by this description and I was right. At least 75% of the passengers just took it to be another casual night. I really don't care what people are wearing, but the poor description of the attire they're trying to promote is to blame. A more apt term to describe the dress they're suggesting would seem to be semi formal (tie optional). I discussed this with Hotel Manager, Bob Tavadia, and while he understood our viewpoint of view, company research and opinion polls came up with this terminology.

Along this line; it's been my observation on my last three cruises, that attire on board all ships lately is heading more and more casual. On this particular cruise I cited quite a few people wearing blue jeans, jogging suits, and even shorts in the dining room.

I personally don't mind getting "gussied up" a couple of times on a cruise, and dressing reasonably well on the remaining nights. But, if the cruise lines are not going to enforce their suggested dress codes,they should stick with the two formal nights, with the balance remaining casual. It seems to be what the passengers are after.

Summary We found our RCI cruise experience to be very comfortable. Overall it was a terrific cruise. Theinteraction we had with fellow CruiseMates truly made it memorable. The group fun seemed to diminish any shortcomings we noticed on the part of the RCI.

Expand Review
Read More
 
New Zealand
Publication Date: February 10, 2009

We were on The Rhapsody of The Seas on the 14 night trip from Sydney around the 2 islands of New Zealand and back to Sydney. For us the trip was just too long. We have sailed several times before, but this was our longest trip. There are 2 days at sea in the beginning of the trip and 2 days at the end, but there are also two other days at sea, one when cruising the Sounds and the other cruising White Volcano Island. There were a lot of people complaining of catching a cold and coughing in the passages and lifts. It is just too unnatural to live in an air-conditioned environment for so long. The fact that the weather was quite chilly resulted in most people staying inside the ship.

The ship, although an old ship, was very well maintained. The entertainment in the theatre was outstanding, the best we had ever seen on a Royal Caribbean ship. The waiters in the dining room were very good and friendly -- actually the whole staff on the ship was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was fine, but

one could see there were cut downs on very luxury foods like crayfish, etc., but on the whole it was good.

Please try to avoid the medical facility on the ship, because it is day light robbery! My husband went to the doctor with a nasal drip and sore throat. He drew blood before making a decision what to prescribe! He also wanted to take X-rays, but my husband refused. The drawing of blood and the results thereof amounted to $180; the total of the visit was $298! He gave him a few antibiotic tablets costing $10. Imagine what the bill would have been if he took the X-rays?

After leaving Sydney on the evening of the 10th of February we were in a storm at sea. It was really scary. The ship creaked, things slammed and our TV was rolling in and out on its rails the whole night. The ship rocked and rolled for two days. People fell in the passages and for the first time on a cruise I noticed that vomiting bags were placed on all staircases and other strategic places. The swells were about 8 meters high and the wind about 40 knots. On the 5th deck water came through the sliding doors and soaked the carpets in the lobby. A window was apparently also broken in the Windjammer. It was a blessing when we woke-up the third morning and were cruising in the calm waters of the Sounds.

We arrived at Milford Sound about 6.30 am and it was absolutely awesome! The sun was slowly rising behind the majestic snow capped mountains. A nice place to be is on deck 5 as you can walk through to the other side and see the Sound from both sides. We had a perfectly clear day cruising the Sounds and it was really breathtaking.

When taking excursions try to avoid the Panoramic tours. They are a total waste of time, because they just drive through all the places with only a few photo stops. There is no time to just browse around the city or do some shopping. If you want to stay behind you will have to make your own way back to the ship. Most of the docking harbours are about 7 to 15 kilometers from the actual city. There are shuttle busses, but at a cost.

New Zealand is a beautiful country with lots of water, hills and coves. I particularly liked Christchurch with the Avon river flowing through the city. At Auckland we unfortunately did not even bother to leave the ship as it was pouring rain, with a strong wind and a thick fog hanging over the city.

After the last two boring days at sea we could not wait to be back on terra firma.

Back in Sydney we stayed at the Marriott Harbour Hotel at Circular Quay for another two days. We had a deluxe room with views of the Opera House on the 26th floor. The hotel is really recommended, with a very friendly staff and it is very centrally situated.

When taking a tour of the Opera House, just make sure that the Opera House itself is open for viewing. After we bought our tickets and climbed several stairs to get to the foyer, the guide told us that we will not be able to view the Opera House as they were busy with a rehearsal. The funny part is that we were allowed to enter the concert hall while a rehearsal was going on, but not in the opera house which was the actual reason for taking this tour.

My opinion of this cruise is that it was too long and apart from Sydney, nothing was really outstanding except for the Sounds.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Australia
Publication Date: December 13, 2008

This was our fifth cruise and our 2nd on RCI. Last one was East Carib on RCI's Radiance of the Seas.

The Rhapsody is a lovely ship. Our 10th cruise from Sydney took in two stops in New Caledonia and two stops in Vanuatu. The Isle of Pines in NC was a beautiful south pacific paradise -- but little there and souvenirs $$$$. Luganville and Port Vila in Vanuatu are third world dirty, hot and crowded. Don't bother getting off at Luganville.

The ship's dining room meals were excellent. The buffet breakfasts and lunches got a bit tiring after awhile.

Cruise Director Matt (from UK) was a pro and is very good at his job. Most shows were very good. Staff friendly. Good value. Just wish it had been a Med Cruise as ports out of Australia are limited.

Not a cruise to go on for shopping as the islands offer little or, in the case of NC, are $$$$.

Weather was good. Rate: 8.5/10.

Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: June 20, 2008

My husband and I were first-time cruisers and since we never heard anything negative about an Alaskan cruise we were really geared up to go. We were disappointed in the entire cruise experience.

Our biggest complaint is that it's a giant money pit. You pay for everything. Soda, alcohol, all with gratuity added in, even some of the activities onboard included a fee. How ridiculous is it to charge $31 for bingo?

Also, not one review ever mentions the commercialization of the Alaskan ports. The day before the Juneau stop we attended the port & shopping show where they push diamond stores on you.

Walking through the streets of Juneau I was really taken aback to find I was surrounded by jewelry stores that are of course owned by the cruise line. I didn't go to Alaska to buy diamonds and it really takes away from the experience. It wasn't Juneau, just a commercialized version the cruise ship wants you to see.

It was the same thing in Skagway. The whole town was filled with jewelry stores.

I would definitely not recommend this cruise but instead would rather try flying farther north and going

on the land tours as it would show more of the real Alaskan experience.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: June 13, 2008

While my review may seem overly critical, we still had a great time on our trip. I think it is important to report the good with the bad so that is what I have tried to do in this review. The cruise was good, but it wasn't the "wow" that I've come to expect from Royal Caribbean. Overall, I don't think I can recommend this cruise.

Embarkation Embarkation was smooth. We arrived at the pier around 10:30 am and we were able to check in quickly. After a brief wait in the terminal, boarding was opened up around 11:00.

Crew/Service Every crew member I encountered was smiling, friendly and displayed a genuine eagerness to help! Service in the dining room during dinner was a bit slow and spotty at times (forgotten desserts, missing soup spoons, very sluggish service) but overall it was good. I also found it difficult to communicate with some of the crew members and more often than not, they struggled with English and had trouble understanding what the guests were saying. I saw miscommunication between staff and guests happening everywhere I went.

Staterooms Our 7th floor balcony cabin was spacious,

well laid out and very clean. We had plenty of storage space and there were lots of little cubby holes hidden all over the room. Beds had nice, crisp and fresh new bedding and were comfortable. A hair dryer was provided as was a pre-stocked mini refrigerator. The balcony was a bit on the small side and there was a lot of rust and peeling paint.

Dining Royal Caribbean overall has some of the worst food of any major cruise line. The food in the dining room is much better than the food offered in the Windjammer Cafe, room service, or at the Solarium snack bar. The Solarium Cafe was absolutely horrible. Truly awful pepperoni or cheese pizza was served up by the slice, as was hot dogs (with cold buns and wieners swimming in an oily water pan) and ice cold hamburgers (don't ask for cheese, you'll get a huge pat of Velveeta-like orange "loaf" that doesn't even melt on your burger)! There were limited late night dining options on the ship and it is not a cruise for foodies or night owls.

Entertainment Awful! We couldn't sit through one of the shows! Even the karaoke was boring and terrible! Most of the entertainers were Asian guys with electric guitars -- maybe because the previous itinerary was in Asia. One night I said "oh, listen to that awful guy singing karaoke" but it wasn't karaoke -- it was a paid entertainer! The evening shows in the showroom ranged the gamut from a very unfunny "dirty" comedian (oh dear, he said one bad word!) to a trio of flamenco guitarists and puppeteers (I am not kidding). While the showroom was really nice, the entertainment was the worst I have ever seen. There was no variety and most nights I just felt so bad for the entertainers. They were giving it their all, but it just wasn't very good. I guess when a ship is full of non-lively passengers, you'd expect the entertainment to be very, very low-key.

Activities/Fellow Passengers I would say the average age of passengers on this cruise was easily in the 55+ range. On-board activities were geared to the over 60 crowd. All of the activities were very low-key (making a rose out of ribbon, bingo, art auctions, digital camera seminars, towel folding, very short trivia games, etc.) and were scheduled to start early in the morning and most were over by 9 p.m. There is nothing wrong with that, but I think before you book this cruise you need to know what to expect. Most people on this cruise wanted to sit and watch the beautiful scenery go by (including us), but we would have appreciated some fun activities in the evening. Most passengers were on the "Grandma and Grandpa" schedule -- go to bed early, get up with the sunrise. If you are looking for a very active ship with lots of different things to do, this cruise ship is not for you! If you have cruised on a luxury line or a mega-ship, this cruise ship is not for you.

During the evenings, the library was turned into a "cigar lounge" and the Viking Crown lounge was a "disco." The same awful band played in the atrium night after night. There was just no variety anywhere! We felt really bad for the teenagers and children on board -- all of the ones we saw seemed to be bored out of their minds. They had a very small arcade but more than half of the video games were out of service, and they were 95 cents each to play. The indoor pool and hot tubs were open late, though the pool and hot tubs outdoors had spotty schedules and were hardly ever opened. The ship did have a rock climbing wall but that's about it as far as the activities go! I'm not sure the kid's program was that great on this ship either. We don't have children so I can't speak directly about the programs on the Rhapsody, but on previous cruises we haven't been bothered by kids at all. On this cruise, kids were literally running amuck everywhere.

We didn't book this cruise for ourselves; we were on a family reunion and it was selected by someone else. There were lots and lots of multi-generational families traveling on this cruise -- a bunch of family reunions. I think cruises to Alaska have a reputation as the perfect vacation to take Grandma and Grandpa as well as the great-grandkids along because there is something for everyone to see. The onboard vibe is very different than a cruise to the Caribbean, Bahamas or Mexico. On one night at sea, something pretty much summed up the entire cruise: we watched as a group of four 60 to 70 year olds "cut a rug" on the dance floor doing the Electric Slide. This was the "late night party crowd" at 10 p.m. That was as good as it got the whole week.

Dress Code I know this is a hot topic of discussion on message boards, so I thought I'd give my observations about our sailing last week. While I always try to respect the dress code, I don't judge others if they choose not to. About half of the passengers adhered to the recommended dress code. I actually did see shorts and t-shirts in the dining room at dinner time (I did think that was a bit disrespectful). On formal night, I would say less than 10% of the male passengers wore tuxedos; a bit more wore suits and ties, and most wore khakis and long sleeve shirts (what I would consider business casual). Obviously the crew doesn't care about enforcing the dress code so if you don't want to dress up, you shouldn't have any problems. We were in tuxedos and evening/cocktail dresses each formal night and dresses/jackets on smart casual nights, but you would not feel out of place if you either chose to dress up or you didn't. I'd say 99% of the folks dressed up for dinner would go back and change into casual clothes before going back out to the shows or lounges at night.

Ship The ship is really showing her age. We had a balcony cabin and the entire balcony had huge rust spots and chipped paint. The railing was worn and needed to be re-varnished. To their credit, Royal Caribbean did have painters and maintenance workers at work while we were in port, but there is a lot of work that needs to be done. The rooms and common areas just felt so dated. The casino was nice and spacious, and the showroom was well laid out with seats that felt more like comfy couches. It seems like kids and teens would be really bored on this ship. There is a "champagne bar" but it's more about the name than actual champagne as on some of the other RCL ships. The small game room was always packed, as was the library. The Viking Crown Lounge was a very nice and quiet spot but it got really hot (since heat rises, of course). The other bars and lounges were fairly empty all day and night. If you've sailed on any of their Voyager or higher class ships, this one will be a rude awakening. It wasn't a terrible ship, but it was probably the worst I've ever been on. I do not recommend choosing this ship for your trip to Alaska.

Disembarkation Very organized and swift! We were off the ship by 8:45 a.m. The color coded tag system worked great.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Asia
Publication Date: December 12, 2007

Ship Facts Maiden Voyage: May 19, 1997 Passenger Capacity: 2,435 Godmother: Bodil Wilhelmsen Gross Tonnage: 78,491 Length: 915' Beam: 105.6' Draft: 25' Cruising Speed: 22 knots

My wife and I are regular cruisers on Star Cruise ships in the Far East. When we heard that the Rhapsody of the Seas was coming to Singapore we were naturally excited as we have never been on a Royal Caribbean ship before and thought that this could be a great opportunity to experience one of their ships without having to fly the grueling long distance over to the Caribbean or the Mediterranean. So we decided to take the plunge by booking a balcony stateroom on the 7th deck.

The Rhapsody sailed to Port Klang, Penang and Phuket for this cruise. We were informed that there were about 2000 passengers on board.

This is the first time I am writing a cruise ship review which I will try to make as comprehensive as I possibly can.

Boarding Three weeks before sailing we were invited to a pre-cruise briefing by their local agent City State, from whom we booked our cruise. We were informed of the procedures on board: no drinks are to be brought aboard, all dinners at the restaurant are formal, and hence suit and tie or tuxedos for gentlemen and gown for ladies are imperative, otherwise the alternative dining venue would be the Windjammer. We were also encouraged to check in via internet which we did.

We usually board the Superstar Virgo at the Singapore Cruise Centre, but as the Rhapsody is taller and could not berth at the Cruise Centre because of the overhead cable car joining the mainland to Sentosa, she was docked at the Pasir Panjang wharf. However arrangements were made for us to check in our luggage at the Cruise Centre and then transported by coach to the ship. Nevertheless check-in was a breeze as we had submitted the details via the net.

Although we were informed that boarding time is to be from 2 to 6pm, we were already tucking into lunch at the Windjammer café at 1.30pm.

We were back at our cabin at about 3pm when our luggage arrived. I open the door and a big burly black man heaved and huffed when he lifted the bags from the luggage trolley. We reckoned he must be tired and he was not in a mood to say a word of welcome.

We then visited the Pursers Desk on the 5th deck to activate our Sea Pass which we have linked to our credit card.

Dining The facilities on board were numerous as promised. For dining we had two restaurants to choose from: The Windjammer Café and the Edelweiss.

The former is a less formal place with a breathtaking view of the ocean and an equally breathtaking buffet spread. At every lunch or dinner one can bread to dosai, and mushroom soup to Asian congee and sweet desserts for those wishing to put on some extra kilos. Free flow of lemonade (yikes, super sweet), tea and coffee are always available at the self serve dispensers. The large dining oval shaped melamine plates ensure one's appetite is fully satisfied.

We then went to check out the other restaurant and were surprised that our agent had booked us for the 5.30pm dinner sitting without even consulting us. As we usually take our dinner at around 8pm we managed to ask the Edelweiss restaurant to swap it to a more decent time at 8pm.

The Edelweiss restaurant is a more formal venue with a menu to choose from. During the pre-cruise briefing we were informed that jackets are a must to enter for dinner. But were we surprised when we were told on board that guests can dine in tee shirts too. So we decided to go with the flow and I donned a Hawaiian shirt and flip flop lazy shoes instead.

Each table is served by a waiter who takes your order and an assistant waiter who brings you water and bread.

Again we were surprised when we ordered drinks and had to sign two separate order receipts, one for the Shirley Temple from the bar and the other for the Cabernet Sauvignon from the restaurant itself. We would have thought that one bill would suffice, but were told that these had to be separately billed as this is the procedure on board.

We were attended to by two very polite and friendly people, Alifton from India and Lauro from Lima, Peru.

Dining at the Edelweiss was like dining at a renowned French restaurant. Only difference was you don't see the food bill as it was prepaid.

The cuisine was wonderful. We had lobsters, escargot, rib eye steak that melts in your mouth and even Atlantic cod fish. There is no limit to the food you may have as long as you are not on a diet or watching your waistline.

Afternoon snacks (tea?) were served from 3 to 5pm at the Windjammer Café.

Do not let the word snacks fool you as it is much more than a snack. It is really a complete spread from tacos to sausages to pastries.

Late night snacks were served at the Edelweiss between 11pm to 1.30am. But do not expect a scrumptious spread as the Executive Chef certainly did not prepare it. But there are lots of fresh fruits available.

Entertainment For entertainment we somehow gravitated towards the Schooner Bar and the Champagne Terrace each evening.

The Rhapsody Orchestra, a nine piece orchestra, led by a Polish alto sax player comprises alto and tenor saxophones from Poland, two trumpeters from USA, a bassist from Romania, a guitarist from Argentina, a pianist from Russia and a percussionist from the UK. All these talented musicians sight read from scores. The band's forte seems to be ballroom music, including those of Glen Miller's. We often parked ourselves at the Champagne Terrace listening to them playing our favourite tunes.

Another 4 piece combo, Tom's Band, plays ballroom pieces too and was equally impressive. I had the opportunity to speak to the Ryszard (Richard), the Polish drummer. This band sight reads too.

I was also mesmerized by Yuri Zhuk, a jazz guitar maestro from Russia, who appeared often at these two venues. We made sure we read the daily Cruise Compass to keep ourselves informed of the activities and program on board.

Derek Lewis, a guitarist cum vocalist from Texas is a one man band who performs at the Schooner Bar. You are most welcome to sing with him. And if you are good enough he may even award you a recording contract.

If you are into pop and rock music, then the Sea Monkeys, a 4 piece group from Canada will keep you happy.

Wayne Dalhoun, who hails from Quezon City, Philippines is an accomplished pianist who could play almost all Cole Porter numbers. For the elder set, do drop by to enjoy his music and take part in the guessing the tune contest. We walked with the first prize the first night.

There is also the Musicmaker Trio playing at the Champagne Terrace. You can buy their CDs too.

Rosario strings, a one man violinist plays while you take your soup at the Edelweiss, and also at the Schooner Bar.

Keep an eye on the daily Cruise Compass to know where the music is.

There was also nightly karaoke at the Moonlight Bay Lounge. We were informed that they have a 4500 song repertoire, all in English. There is no need to purchase drinks to sing as on the Virgo. But if you like to exhibit you crooning skill do be there early so you can show off as much as you want.

The nightly shows at the Broadway Melodies Theatre were simply superb. We enjoyed tremendously the country music show where 4 dancers sing in perfect harmony all the tunes we are so familiar with. There was a drum group from Argentina with synchronized drumming and poiyt slinging? And an Australian magician who could link rings together. How did he do it?

Other Facilities The ship is equipped with a comprehensive gym and fitness center aptly named the Shipshape Fitness Centre.

I was informed earlier when I made a tour of the facilities that they had decided not to provide keys for the lockers. So when I decided to do some exercise on the tread mill machines I was wise enough to lug along just my room digital card key. But still I was surprised when after a languishing shower I discovered they don't provide any comb or hair dryer. Quite unlike other ships we had sailed on.

Ports of Call Port Klang: The ship arrived at 8.00am and berthed alongside the pier. We did not go ashore to Kuala Lumpur although they organized buses to take us to Jalan Bukit Bintang in the city centre. The ride into town could be anything from 1 hour depending on the traffic.

The charge is USD30 per person for a return bus trip.

Penang: The ship arrived at 8.00am and anchored in the harbour. Those wishing to go ashore for scheduled excursions or as free and easy can take the tenders. We got our tender tickets at 9.30am and only went into the tender at 11am. At the disembarking area there was only one computer station to "beep" our access card. I saw the cruise director and suggested that more stations should be setup as in the Virgo, but he just rudely brushed me off with a big "Naaaah" and a wave of his hand.

I soon realised that they don't listen, and especially so when you mentioned the five letter word Virgo. So much for reception of our feedback.

Phuket: We got our tender tickets (No 16) at 11.30am and they were just calling for those holding ticket no 3. Needless to say we managed to board ours only at 1:30pm -- a tiring 3 hour wait and a complete waste of time at the Schooner Bar. I wished they should at least dish out drinks on the house to cool tempers. Many were flustered again at the inept logistics. The crew blamed it on the choppy waters and the lack of tenders.

I reckon if RCL wishes to be in Asia long term they need to wise up and listen to its customers and polish up this area.

Disembarkation It is always sad to leave a cruise ship. On the day before we disembark we had to collect our passports. It took one hour of queuing as there were only 3 crew members searching and matching the passports against the access cards from the 2000 in boxes on the table.

A huge jam occurred in the corridors on the way out at the 2nd deck. Again there was only one computer station. We boarded the bus again to take us to the Cruise Centre. On arrival our bus had to wait another 15 minutes before it could maneuver along the precarious pier side to allow us to disembark. I dread the possibility of an inexperienced driver crashing the bus into the water as the windows are all sealed making no chance of escape possible. The Singapore authorities seem to be sleeping on this one. There is an accident waiting to happen here.

Would we go on this cruise again?

YES if we can. We are certain RCL, being one of the largest in the cruise business and very experienced will continue to do better if they wish to have a share of the cruise market in Asia.

YES 'cos we enjoyed the food, music and the entertainment on board.

YES 'cos our waiters Alifton and Lauro will be waiting for us.

Would we recommend this cruise?

YES and NO.

YES if you a WOG. Western orientated gentleman.

YES if you are really into western cuisine. I find the cuisine excellent. Not of Michelin Chef level, but nevertheless still excellent.

YES if you are into western music and broadway shows.

YES if you do not wish to disembark at each port.

NO if you are truly Asian and cannot change your Asian habits.

NO if you need to have your Singapore chicken rice 'cos there is none of this on board. If they have it, it would be probably a poor attempt by a Jamaican chef.

NO if you like to get onshore at every port and buy food to take home for your aunties, uncles, nephews and nieces, 'cos they will not allow food of any kind to be brought on board for health reasons.

NO if you like to get onshore at every port to shop 'cos it can take as long as 3 hours to get to shore.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: May 20, 2007

My husband and I decided to take a cruise for our 3 year anniversary and to celebrate getting into graduate school. We chose the 7 night Royal Caribbean Rhapsody of the seas, mainly because of the price and the itinerary. There were 4 ports, Cozumel, Mexico; Roatan, Honduras; Costa Maya, Mexico; Progresso, Mexico.

The overall review: This was an excellent deal, very much worth the money and we had the most relaxing, exciting, and fun vacation ever, all rolled into one. The ship was clean and a good size, our room was spacious and the service for our room, the dining room, and the rest of the ship was excellent. There was a laid back atmosphere on board and hardly any children, the children we did see were well behaved. We are in our mid twenties and found several people our own age to hang out with.

There were a few partiers on board, but we were never disrupted or bothered. The glass windows in the ship are marvelous, and there are plenty of quiet places to sit and watch the world go by. I have no complaints; the only things

I would change are more dining choices and better food in the buffet area, eat in the dining room every chance you get. My biggest tips that I would pass on would be, bring an over the door shoe hanger, it saves tons of space, pack everything on hangers, hang everything up that you can as soon as you get to your room. Be at the ship early, we had a 4pm sail away, and we boarded at 1pm, 15 minutes to get from the shuttle to our room. Fill out the Set Sail pass paperwork ahead of time online, this saves tons of time. Double check everything if you did not book through a travel agent, or the line, flight times and dates, shuttle times and dates and hotel reservations. Confirm these a week or so ahead of time. Bring insect repellent, we could not find it on board and did not have time to find some in port before leaving for our excursion. First seating for dinner was excellent for us, even though we are younger and did stay up late. Bring Bonine (over the counter motion sickness medication), and take it at the first signs of sea sickness (faint headache, slight tiredness, and slight nausea). Bring your own water, soda and alcohol on board if the line allows it, this will save you money – call your cruise line to see what restrictions apply, some lines will let you bring a “reasonable amount” of some of these. Research the ports and try to book not with the cruise line for shorter excursions, for longer ones, do book with the line to avoid getting left. Two people go left at one of our ports. Book excursion ahead to avoid the line at the excursion desk or in port, also reduces stress. We did not self assist off, although we debated it, we were off the ship and on a shuttle by 10:30am the next morning, and our color was towards the bottom of the list. We booked our own shuttle from Houston to Galveston and back to the airport, one tip, it leaves on the taxi, ground transportation side, NOT the shuttle side, unless you booked with the cruise line and then it does leave from the shuttle side. A little confusing, thankfully we figured that out in time.

Dining Room: Good to Very Good food, if you do not like something, send it back, they really want you to be happy and it is truly a luxury to be able to do this. The beef was the best of all the fare, although the lobster was very good also. The desserts were so-so, the chocolate cake was excellent. I did not eat the lamb, but others at our table enjoyed it. The fish is okay, but the beef was the best. Very good bread. The best dinners were the best on the formal nights. Service was excellent an in my opinion could not have been better.

Buffet: Okay, some things were good, the pasta, the salad bar, the breads, my husband really enjoyed the deli sandwiches, and we did not try the carved meats. Service was great.

Room Service: We did not use this feature.

Stateroom: We booked the smallest cheapest stateroom, and we booked guaranteed instead of picking a specific room. We were upgraded to a larger interior stateroom and had plenty of space. We were close to the front of the ship and there was a rocking motion, but honestly it helped us sleep. The lack of the window was wonderful; we took a nap every day at all different times and the complete darkness was excellent.

Shows: Some were really good, the comedian, the juggler, and Lenny Welch, others were good, the Peru dancers and fluorescent puppet show. A couple were not that good, the impersonator (a good job, but too old for us, we did not know over half of the people he was impersonating) and we did not like the country musical, we did not go to piano man.

Other entertainment/activities: Tons to do on board, the casino was really fun, single deck blackjack was easy and fun. There were tons of dance classes that we went to, we went to a wine tasting, we went to some other shows such as the newlywed inspired game. We went dancing in the Viking crown lounge frequently. We went to the captain’s corner. We watched the art auction. All were lots of fun. There was definitely a lot to do, but no pressure to do it.

Ship: Clean, pretty, lots of windows, wonderful bars, lounges, and quiet areas. Easy to navigate.

Ports:

Cozumel, we took the ferry to Playa del Carmen, and took a bus to the ruins at Tulum, very beautiful, my hubby had never seen ruins, nice, not so far as Chichen Itza. Also went to Xel-Ha (pronounced Shel-Ha), which is Mayan for brakish, it was a water park, we did not have enough time here but it was excellent, I would come back here and spend all day. I heard Xcaret is nicer, though. Our friends went to the Chankanaab water park in Cozumel (ten minute taxi ride from the ship), and swam with the dolphins, they said this was excellent and worth the money. If we went back I would go here instead, less time commuting, more time playing in the water. However we LOVED Xel-Ha and Playa del Carmen.

Roatan, Honduras: Beautiful, much more tropical than Mexico. We went to Gumbalimba Park and then snorkeled off the beach there. This is a botanical garden, monkey refuge, and bird sanctuary, very beautiful and fun, great for kids. Also, there is a zip line canopy tour. We loved the snorkeling, you could swim right off the beach to a reef and we saw TONs of fish. Our friends went up the beach a ways to the Tabayana beach and said it was excellent, they also said the scuba diving was very good here. Bring insect repellent! There are no seeums here.

Costa Maya, Mexico: We took a boat out to the reef and went snorkeling. It was a lot of fun, beautiful reef. Too much time commuting and not enough time in the water, it was a lot of fun though. To get there we went to a fishing village about ten minutes away from Costa Maya, which was a lot more authentic and less touristy.

Progresso, Mexico: this is the only place we did not book anything. The pier is very long, four miles, but there are free busses to the town, they will direct you to the beach and the market place. We went to the beach and hung out and relaxed, we walked down to a restaurant and ate Guacamole and Pico de Gallo, it was excellent and no Montezuma. Our friends went to Chichen Itza, they said it was a lot of fun, but a long way there and back and very hot. Some other friends on a carnival ship the same week went on the the Caves and Caverns tour and did not like it. She was accidentally pushed into a cenote from a great height by another tourist and fell 30 feet or so. No one offered her any condolences, she was quite upset. This was booked through Carnival; however, I am not sure if RCL would have handled it differently. Overall: Best Vacation Ever!!!! We loved it and hope that this review was helpful.

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: November 12, 2006

I am 53 years old and love to travel, but had never thought I would enjoy a cruise until the last 2 or 3 years. I talked my best friend into going with me, and we chose the Rhapsody of the Seas based on Galveston's close proximity to where we live, high recommendations of Royal Caribbean from people I trust and the itinerary. I was not disappointed and absolutely everything about our cruise met my expectations or more.

I love doing all of the planning, preparation and research before taking any trip. Cruisemates.com was an invaluable tool as we planned our cruise. I checked it weekly to read the new reviews about Rhapsody of the Seas and also used all of the articles for first time cruisers and what to expect. I booked our cruise through priceline.com and have nothing but praise for how our reservations and the entire process were handled. I was always kept informed of what was expected of me and received all of my documentation on or before I was told I would. We both applied for and received passports before the cruise, even though we were

within the deadline of still being able to travel in the Caribbean with only photo id and a birth certificate. We both decided we would have to get passports eventually, so we went ahead and got them now. We received them in exactly 8 weeks, and did not pay for any expedited service. I made one special request through priceline.com regarding our dinner seating. We did not go on the cruise with any desire to meet new people or socialize a lot. My friend preferred the early dinner seating, but we had initially been assigned to the late seating. I requested through priceline.com that we be moved to the early seating and also requested a table for 2, and both requests were approved.

We drove to Galveston on Saturday before our cruise was to leave on Sunday. We live 6-1/2 hours away in Hope, Arkansas, and made the trip with no problems. I had booked a room at the Days Inn in Galveston (also through priceline.com). It is not on the beach, but was very convenient and was only $50. I was very pleased with the Days Inn, and when we told them where we had planned on eating, they gave us a coupon for a free appetizer and a free dessert. We had planned to eat at Gaido's, but instead ate at Casey's, which is right next door, owned by the same people, use basically the same kitchen, but is a little less formal and a little less expensive. It is right on the gulf coast. Our food was superb and the view was great. We were back in our room in time to watch the Arkansas Razorbacks beat Tennessee on tv.

Sunday morning we went to church, changed clothes at the church and drove to EZ Cruise Parking, where I had made a reservation over the internet. You get a discount by making your reservation on the internet. Galveston is very easy to navigate and everything was very convenient. EZ Cruise will shuttle you AND your luggage to the terminal, which was a real plus as I understand the other parking lots require that you drop off your luggage at the terminal and will only provide shuttle service for the drivers. Be sure to put your luggage tags (found in your cruise documents that are mailed to you) on your luggage before you get to the terminal. We were the only two on the entire shuttle bus who had done so, and we were going to have to wait for everyone else to write out their luggage tags and attach them. One of the stevedores realized that all of our luggage was properly tagged, so he put ours on a separate rack and we were on our way. I had printed our Set Sail passes, but had not signed them as I thought they would want them signed in person when we checked in. That was pretty much the only thing that slowed us down at all in the check-in process. Royal Caribbean had several employees around and available to point you in the right direction and help in any way needed. We did not get out of church until a little after 12:00 and even after changing clothes, getting to the parking lot, parking and checking in, we were on the ship by 1:00. We found our stateroom, dropped off our carry-ons and went to eat lunch in the Windjammer. After that we walked around the ship and got acclimated to where everything was located. I had printed the deck plans from the Royal Caribbean website, and it was helpful to have reviewed them. We found our table in the dining room (table for 2 and early seating as I stated earlier – yeah). We then saw most of our luggage, took it to the room and unpacked some. Muster drill went very smoothly and we went up to Deck 10 for sail-a-way. Carnival Conquest left a few minutes before us and it was fun watching it slowly slip away and then realize that we, too, were moving out of the harbor.

Rather than providing a day-by-day recounting, I will give you my thoughts on various aspects of the cruise:

Stateroom: Oceanview room was perfect for us. We were in 4502 which is 2nd from the front of the ship on the starboard side, so we probably felt more movement than rooms in the middle of the ship, but it was never a problem. Neither of us have ever had any motion-sickness problems, but I took some Dramamine with us just in case. We never needed it. The night between Cayman & Cozumel, the seas were rougher than usual. I got up during the night and had a little trouble walking to the bathroom. My friend woke up later and said the drawers on the night stand were opening and closing and the ice was rattling in the ice bucket. It did not bother us at all, and actually was kinda fun. Our room was below the stage of the main theatre or the backstage area, but I never heard any noise. We had more than enough storage room for all of our stuff. The large space between the window and our bed was especially helpful to put hats, books, magazines, purses, etc. We met our stateroom attendant, Natasha, in the hall. She was very nice and our room was always cleaned and straightened up twice a day. I had taken Razorback post-it notes and wrote her notes every day and she would write notes back to us.

Meals: The food, atmosphere and service were superb in the dining room. I do not see how anyone could not find something they like to eat. A couple of times I ordered two entrees just because I could not decide. The Norwegian salmon was especially delicious. We both really love seafood and that is what we ate most meals. I did get lamb one night and it was good. I also enjoyed the different cold soups (watermelon). All of the desserts were very good. I even took a picture of a couple of them because they were so attractively presented. My friend raved so much about the banana cream pie that she had one night that I wish I'd gotten it also. Our waiter, assistant waiter and head waiter were all three from India and were all very pleasant and helpful. Our head waiter stopped by our table every single night and answered any question we had. The last night we asked him how to say 'thank you' in Indian and he wrote down two words that mean 'thank you'. We used one to our waiter and the other to our assistant waiter and they both seemed very surprised and pleased that we spoke to them in their language. We also made a point to eat breakfast and lunch in the dining room at least once. For those two meals, you are seated at tables to fit the number in your party as you arrive. We met several very nice folks and enjoyed both of those meals tremendously. It was nice to be able to order and be waited on. The other meals we ate in the Windjammer and the Solarium. I have no complaints about either one. The food is good, the variety is plentiful and the tables are bussed quickly. All of the wait staff was always helpful and available. We ordered room service (coffee, juice and fruit) two mornings and it was there on time and very good.

Entertainment: I really enjoy trivia contests and there were several to choose from during the week: general info, sports, name that tune, tv shows, etc. The activities staff made them all enjoyable. One minor complaint --- the Broadway Show Tune trivia contest was not Broadway show tunes .. it was basically well-known songs. About half-way through one of the trivia games, someone at the bar (contest was being held in the Schooner Bar during the afternoon) starting yelling out the answers. Instructions had already been given to write down answers and not yell out answers. He was asked by the person in charge of the game to stop. His companion yelled out the answer to the next question. They were again warned. He then yelled out an answer to next question, and the person in charge very nicely told him that all passengers are required to comply with the policies and procedures posted in all staterooms, that the rules did apply to him too and that if it happened again security would be called. I thought this was handled in a very tactful and calm manner and I appreciate the staff person making the offending person accountable.

We went to every show in the main theatre. The Royal Caribbean singers and dancers were good and obviously enjoyed their job. I personally thought the singing in both of their production numbers was too loud. Our favorite show was El Goucho --- South American cowboy who played guitar, drums, piano and did outstanding tricks with the bolo, and he was very funny. It was a thoroughly enjoyable show.

We played bingo twice. It was fun, but we were not able to use the free bingo cards we were given the first day on the ship either time, and I still am not sure why. They just said they had to be used in a 'regular' bingo session. We went to a couple of karaoke programs, the Quest game, Love and Marriage game show, back-stage tour, and they were all fun and enjoyable. We also went to a couple of the art auctions – pleasant but won't do that again – not my cup of tea. The cooking demonstration and other demonstrations in the Centrum were very nice.

We had occasion to deal with the purser's office several times and they were always very helpful and friendly. We asked to get our passports stamped in the three ports and they were able to have them stamped in Jamaica and Mexico (too many ships were in port at Grand Cayman and they could not get the port agent to stamp them). I bought Jamaican postage and Cayman postage to mail post cards. Also, I left my fanny pack in the Windjammer one morning and when I went back to get it, the head waiter had already delivered it to the purser's office. They handled everything with efficiency and friendliness.

Ports: In Jamaica I booked a ½ day tour with Orville Taylor over the internet ($20 each). After we got off the ship we had to wait about 15 minutes and then he picked us up on his bus. It was the two of us and a family of 6 from Seattle. We had a very nice, informative tour of the highlights of Jamaica. We wanted to see Dunn's River Falls and the folks from Washington did not, so Orville dropped us off at Dunn's River Falls ($15 admission each) with instructions on when and where he would pick us up and then took the others where they wanted to go. My friend climbed the falls and I used the stairs that run next to them and took pictures. It is very pretty. Orville was waiting on us, and we all ended up at Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville. We did lots of shopping at the shopping area --- bought coffee, rum and t-shirts for gifts --- and walked back to the ship.

In Cayman I booked a ¼ day snorkeling and sting ray city tour with Captain Marvin over the internet ($40 each). We did the early-bird tender at 7:00 a.m. so we would not miss our tour. Captain Marvin's is great. We snorkeled in two different spots and the fish and underwater plant life was beautiful. I had never snorkeled before and really enjoyed it. The stingray city stop was also fun, even though I was a little hesitant after the Steve Irwin incident. I even kissed a stingray and got a back massage from one. The guides and assistants on the boat were extremely helpful. Snorkeling was the highlight for my friend. We ate again at Margaritaville, did some shopping and walked right onto a tender boat to go back to the Rhapsody – no waiting. It was starting to sprinkle and seemed that a little storm was coming up and when the tender boat got to the Rhapsody it took about 30 to 45 minutes before they were able to get us close enough to get back on the ship. It was interesting to see what all was going on. There were about 8 ships at Cayman that day. Some of the other folks on the tender boat seemed to be a little anxious at the waiting, but I thought it made it more interesting.

We had not booked anything in Cozumel as we wanted to wait and see what we enjoyed and what we might want to do after two days of planned tours. We tried to do some more snorkeling after we had enjoyed it so much in Cayman, but all of the water activities on our side of the island were cancelled due to the bad weather the night before and the undercurrent was still too strong. We walked around, did some shopping and went back to the ship and laid out by the pool and read. It was a very relaxing, nice day.

Other: Probably the thing I liked the best about the Rhapsody of the Seas was the many different places to sit and watch the sea go by. You could sit inside or outside, in large groups or alone, by the pool or away from all the activity, you could find any preference. I love, love, love the sea and thoroughly enjoyed watching it go by. Since our room was on the front of the ship on Deck 4 and the dining room is on the rear of the ship and our table was on Deck 5, every evening we would go outside on Deck 5 at the first door available from the front and walk along the outside promenade until we went inside to go eat. You can also walk outside the entire circumference of the ship on Deck 10, which is very nice (very windy at times). Also, there is some kind of music playing almost continuously at different places on the ship --- in the Centrum, by the pool, in the lounges, in the dining room --- which is very nice. We also used the library (friend read two books during the week) and the internet service (50cents minute) to check and send e-mail. One time the internet would not log off and would not give us the amount of time and money we were charged for one of the sessions. We contacted the purser's office and they told us to check back the next day to see what had posted to our account. We knew about how long we were on and the next day when we checked it was a much larger amount. The purser's office gave us a $10 credit on our account with no problem.

I had purposely chosen a week I did not think there would be very many kids traveling, and that was also nice. One night there were 3 or 4 pre-teen boys chasing each other in the hall, but that was the only time I ever saw any of the small number of kids doing anything out of the way. We chose a timed departure as we had too many bags (with the souvenirs purchased) to do the express departure. Our color was supposed to be called at 9:15. We ate a leisurely breakfast in the Windjammer and sat in one of the lounges until an announcement was made at about 8:30 that all remaining colors could disembark. EZ Cruise was waiting for us outside the terminal and we were in our car headed home by 9:00.

Things I'm really glad I took: water shoes, highlighter to mark the daily calendar for things not to miss, clock for the room, hats, lots of $1's for tips, fanny pack

What I'll do different on my next cruise: pack less clothes and shoes, leave room in luggage or take an extra bag for souvenirs

In conclusion, I will definitely cruise again, and with Royal Caribbean. You can do as much or as little as your want in wonderful surroundings. I loved the whole experience --- where else can you get a nice room (which is cleaned twice a day); as much food as you can eat 24/7; entertainment; the mesmerizing ocean all around you; and travel to Jamaica, Grand Cayman & Mexico for about $100 a day!!!! Incredible value!!! I would like to see some of the other Caribbean islands, which will probably mean leaving from a Florida port, or possibly New Orleans. I can't wait!!!!!

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 1 - 10 of 40 1234