Royal Caribbean International Reviews

Year Started: 1969
Ships in Fleet: 22
Category: Mainstream

Summary: The largest and most technically impressive cruise ships in the world. Great for kids, families and adventurous adults. A large fleet, but Oasis and Brilliance are often cited as favorites

Go

Royal Caribbean Cruise Ships

50 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean

Good for: Families. Overall Service. Seniors.

7 Reviews

Regions:Eastern Caribbean, Western Caribbean

Good for: Teens. Children`s Programs. Families.

45 Reviews

Regions:Caribbean, Canada, Transatlantic

Good for: Seniors. Group. Families.

48 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas, Southern Caribbean

Good for: Families. Children`s Programs. Seniors.

68 Reviews

Regions:Bermuda, Bahamas, Eastern Caribbean

Good for: Seniors. Group. Families.

16 Reviews

Regions:Eastern Caribbean, Western Caribbean

Good for: Seniors. Group. Families.

46 Reviews

Regions:Bermuda, Bahamas, Eastern Caribbean

Good for: Teens. Children`s Programs. Families.

2 Reviews

Regions:Western Caribbean, Eastern Caribbean

Good for: Children`s Programs. Group. Families.

27 Reviews

Regions:Western Caribbean, Southern Caribbean

Good for: Teens. Children`s Programs. Families.

20 Reviews

Regions:Western Mediterranean, Panama Canal

Good for: Teens. Children`s Programs. Families.

13 Reviews

Regions:Western Caribbean, Eastbound Transatlantic

Good for: Families. Value for Money. Teens.

47 Reviews

Regions:Bahamas

Good for: Teens. Group. Families.

37 Reviews

Regions:Singapore, Malaysia, Phuket & Port Kelang,

Good for: Teens. Children`s Programs. Families.

45 Reviews

Regions:Eastern Mediterranean, Caribbean, Eastbound Transatlantic

Good for: Foodies. Teens. Seniors.

14 Reviews

Regions:Eastern Caribbean, Western Caribbean

Good for: Teens. Children`s Programs. Families.

43 Reviews

Regions:Alaska, Hawaii, Tasmania

Good for: Children`s Programs. Seniors. Families.

40 Reviews

Regions:Hawaii, Alaska, South Pacific

Good for: Group. Families. Children`s Programs.

23 Reviews

Regions:Western Caribbean, Suez Canal, Bahamas, Dubai

Good for: Children`s Programs. Seniors. Families.

28 Reviews

Regions:Brazil, Western Mediterranean, Greek Isles

Good for: Seniors. Families. Singles.

33 Reviews

Regions:Norwegian Fjords, British Isles, Scan Russia, Southern Caribbean

Good for: Children`s Programs. Group. Families.

73 Reviews

Regions:Toyko To Taipei, Australia, Asia

Good for: Teens. Children`s Programs. Families.

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.18
from 725 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

User Reviews

725 User Reviews of Royal Caribbean Ships
Brazil coastal cruise
Publication Date: March 2, 2014

We took a weeklong cruise along the Brazilian coast, including Rio, in February 2014. Because this was an American cruise line, we never suspected that this is a cruise aimed at Brazilians rather than Americans. Out of 2000 passengers, only about 400 were English-speakers. Most folks who spoke Portuguese had little or no English proficiency. Both of us are experienced cruisers -- about 25 apiece -- so we chose to roll with the situation, but others might find it upsetting. In addition, this was the most disorganized cruise I've been on. The embarkation was a nightmare that took way too long. On the first night, there was no one to show us to our table in the dining room, so we wandered around 10 or 15 minutes until we found it. Even the waiters didn't know where the tables were unless it was a table they served. This was not an expensive cruise -- $900 -- but the air fare was $1300. We would have liked to get a little more for our money.

Read More
 
Not what we expected
Publication Date: March 2, 2014

We booked a cabin on the Splendour of the Seas for the Feb. 16-23, 2014, cruise down the coast of Brazil, including Sao Paolo and Rio. Because Royal Caribbean is an American cruise line, it didn't occur to us that another language might be ;paramount on the cruise. But this is a cruise in Brazil for Brazilians, who speak Portuguese. Few speak much English, and few English-speakers know Portuguese. Out of about 2,000 passengers, 400 were English-speakers, and that was touted by the cruise director as the highest number they'd ever had. Some of the activities, such as exercise classes, were in Portuguese only. This isn't terrible, but Americans should know this before booking this cruise. In addition, the cruise was not well-organized. There was no one to show us to our dining table on the first night, so we had to wander around until we found it. Then when we did, our only tablemates were two ladies who spoke only Portuguese. The embarkation was a nightmare and took way longer than it should have. I've been on 25 cruises, including some considerably less expensive than this one, and I have never

experienced this level of disorganization. The whole experience wasn't terrible, but it was less than we expected from Royal Caribbean, which we have sailed on before without these problems. The cruise itself wasn't expensive, but the air fare was, so be warned. I didn't hate this experience, but I would never take this cruise again.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Wow -- I paid how much for this cruise?
Publication Date: February 26, 2014

Just returned from a 7-day cruise to the Bahamas abourd RCCL's Explorer of the Seas. Overall, this was a terrible cruising experience. We have been on at least seven cruises with various cruise lines including Cunard, Carnival, Disney and one previous cruise with RCCL. After this experience, we are very unlikely to ever cruise on Royal Caribbean again.

Some examples of what we experienced, in no particular order:

• The experience of getting on and off the ship was awful, especially at Co Co Cay. It was a complete disaster; we have never experienced anything like it on a cruise before. What added to the frustration was when I tried to tell a member of the cruise director staff (Amy T) that a contributing factor was that the elevators were opening on Deck One, allowing people to cut in line -- she was dismissive and sarcastic with me (we were told the elevators were programmed to stop at deck 2, but after waiting on the 2nd deck for an hour, when we finally made it to the 1st deck people were exiting the elevator and getting straight into the line- we saw a

few people almost resort to fist fights over this – never great to have your kids view this type of behavior) We later found out that the line at the forward tender station was practically non-existent, while the line at the aft station stretched up the second deck. Plenty of people, including us, were in line for OVER an hour. While the crew, with radios in their hands, just watched, and never once mentioned there was another exit from the ship.

• Information in the Compass was often at odds with what the crew told us. An example was the question of whether there was to be one or two formal nights during the cruise. During the “first†formal night our waiter informed us there would only be one formal night, we expressed our surprise, and he said we should double-check with Guest Relations – we did, and they confirmed there would be only the one formal night. (On other lines, the entire week is explained at the start of the cruise.) GR told us there would be only one formal night – on Sunday night. Then on Friday morning we read in the Compass that that evening there would be another formal night. Again, we approached GR; this time they concluded that the Compass must be right, and there were indeed two formal nights. A few minutes later, when we returned to our stateroom, we received a call from GR telling us the Compass was incorrect. That night would not be a formal night. But how do you suppose most people were dressed that evening?

• We paid for the premium drink plan. I have one drink: a gin and tonic – with lime. The ship decided to not put fruit in any cocktails. I appreciate the desire to make cleanliness the priority, as I think was the main motivation behind this, but I was given several conflicting reasons about why I could not ever have a lime with my drink. Meanwhile, we were always able to get lemon for our water in the dining room. This was a constant point of frustration and irritation, especially given what I had paid for the drink plan.

• The entertainment on the last night of the cruise was awful. While I cannot name the entertainer (Jeff something I think), it was more than just not entertaining; it was rude, crude, and uncomfortably off-color. Indeed, there were plenty of children in the audience, including our pre-adolescent girls. This, after the cruise director talked it up the night before and implied that the entertainment would be family friendly.

• The various staff did not seem to follow their own “rulesâ€. Our girls were very excited to go ice skating on Saturday. We showed up 15 minutes prior to the 1:45 session (it’s supposed to be first-come first-served 40 skaters per session) only to be told that not only was that session already closed, but they had already given out the slots for the remaining 3 sessions for the day, only “standby†was available. There was never any communication that we should have showed up in the morning and signed up for a slot during the day – many people in line were very angry.

Overall, most of the passengers we chatted with were very unhappy with how things were handled on this cruise, the staff were clearly “going through the motions†and were tired and cranky. The only WOW in this vacation was “WOW I can’t believe I spent all this money for such a bad vacation!â€

Expand Review
Read More
 
Handled special food needs with aplomb
Publication Date: February 7, 2014

This was my 2nd cruise (both on RCI), so my perspective is obviously limited.

We ended up with lots of special food needs for our group of 6 - Gluten intolerant, Vegan

Read More
 
ms. sunshine123
Publication Date: August 12, 2013

My best friend and I went on the carnival(fascination). We had a ball. I just loved the spa. The food, entertainment and the staff were just great. We attended the Captain's party. What a great time. I have been on 2 cruises with carnival.

Read More
 
Royal Caribbean not so enchanted with providing good customer service
Publication Date: August 4, 2013

Really disappointed with the customer satisfaction of this cruise line or lack there of. Paid for 12 people to cruise with them...

wrote to the CEO about a satisfaction issue and he had a guest relations person contact me to let me know they could not provide me with anything except a "too bad for you" response. They couldn't offer me a single drink credit, a voucher for my next cruise......... nothing.

If this was a real service organization I would not have to be on a review site warning people to take their chances when using this company. Instead, I would be telling my friends and family what a great experience I had after emailing and writing to the CEO. If you decide to use this cruise line and you have any issue with service don't expect to have anyone care. Not using this cruise line again. At a time when the cruise line industry is getting such bad press you would think that the executives of Royal Caribbean might care a little more about the customer.

Read More
 
Adventure of the Seas Cruise Review
Publication Date: July 2, 2013

From the very moment my wife and I stepped on board the Adventure of the Seas we were impressed by the cleanliness of the ship and the attention and politeness of the ship's crew. Within a half an hour we were instructed to our designated life boat site and given complete instructions on what we should do in the event of an emergency. The crew was very serious and performed this important task in a very organized, no nonsense manner.

We went to our balcony state room and were pleasantly surprised that our luggage had been delivered. We met our cabin steward named Elmer Torres from the Philippines who has been with Royal Caribbean for over 7 years and informed us that he would be taking care of us and our room.

Elmer did just that plus so much more. My wife and I wondered when or if he ever rested. He always seemed available. Each morning he greeted us by our first names. When we left our cabin for breakfast he was there at our door ready to make up our bed and clean the room. Each evening after we

had dinner and returned to our cabin we would find our room prepared with the bed ready for us with a special Elmer surprise, Each night Elmer would have one of his animal creations made from towels either setting on the bed or hanging from the ceiling such as a Rabbit, or a Turtle, or a Dinosaur, or an Elephant. We particularly liked the Monkey made of towels hanging from the ceiling on a coat hanger. It got to where we looked forward to this every night. Needless to say we liked and enjoyed Elmer very much.

Royal Caribbean has a slogan that says each of the crew that serves their particular area for passengers will also address the passengers by their first names after the first day. We found that they did this not only on the very first day, but every day of the 8 day cruise. We enjoyed how clean the ship was 24 hours a day, it was as if the ship had just been built and this it's maiden voyage, when in fact it was built in 2001, 12 years ago.

The food was wonderful no matter if it was breakfast, lunch or dinner. There was always a terrific selection regardless of any ones taste or preference (it was so good my wife and I each gained 4 pounds)

At one meal we met Francisco from Italy, who was the head person over one of the restaurants (oh yeah the have a bunch of restaurants on board, all of which are great)! He has been with Royal Caribbean cruise lines over 26 years. Do you see a pattern here? Every crew member we met was happy and would take time to talk as if they had been our friends for years, and they all had been with Royal Caribbean for years. I believe that says a lot about Royal Caribbean as a cruise line and as an employer.

Our Mozart dining room waiters Andrei and Carlos could not have been more accommodating. They not only served us well, they also seemed to anticipate our needs. Both of them have also been with Royal Caribbean for a number of years.

It was great that each afternoon we would leave the island that we had visited that day, and would cruise to our next destination at night. This would allow us to dock at the next island around 6:30 am and spend all day there and be back on ship around 4:30 pm. The choice of islands could not have been better, and was complimented by the various tours offered by the ship that they had coordinated with tour groups in each port of call.

I know that this review is long, but believe me it could be much, much longer, it was just that good. This was my second cruise and my wife' third, and we look forward to taking another cruise on a Royal Caribbean ship.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Disappointing after other RCI cruises
Publication Date: May 13, 2013

Having been on Legend and Radiance of the Seas I was expecting more. The service was generally outstanding. The decor was, shall we say subdued. The cabins were small compared to other lines.

It apparently had a refurbishment last year but the cabins mustn't have seen that refurb.

The cabin steward was rarely seen and didn't make himself known until day 3.

The dining room staff were outstanding but the food was variable from quite good to not very good.

Radiance the previous year was excellent by comparison. The portions varied hugely - e.g. starters were sometimes as large as main/entrees and vice versa. Some menu items were not able to be delivered towards the end of the cruise because, according to staff, some food items had run out. The Windjammer buffet food was very mediocre.

The cruise Director - Luke - was excellent and the entertainers were very good also.

The cabin TV programming was appalling. A few incorrect public announcements made custom clearance and disembarkation slow and frustrating. Overall it was far from the best cruise ever taken.

Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: December 23, 2012

Cruise with husband and two friends. The service in the diningroom was exellent, and every dining was a pleasant experience. Thanks to Gemma and Jesus. The shops onboard was a disappointment with mostly horrible service, espesially in the jewelshop where we were harassed by a saleswoman. I tried to buy some sunglasses in another shop, but the saleswoman was not very interested. I bought a pair on one of the islads instead. This made the experience of the cruise less memoriable for us. Do not think we would like to cruise again.

Read More
 
 
Bahamas
Publication Date: December 10, 2012

Blatant Misrepresentation by RCCL.

Poor ship. Poor food. Poor entertainment.

After 4 previous cruises on Princess and Celebrity (all 7 nights or longer) we opted for a last minute short cruise on Royal Caribbean (RCCL). Since I knew that this was an older smaller ship, I first checked the RCCL web site to view the cabins to determine if they would be acceptable. I went to RCCL, then to plan a cruise, then to ships, then to Majesty Of The Seas, then to deck plans deck 3, then to interior cabin, then selected view cabin.

The cabin shown for THIS SHIP lowest possible category shows a 2 seat sofa and room to walk around both sides of the bed. The actual cabins have no sofa and no room to walk around bed. In fact the bed was bordered on 3 sides by wall so the inside person had to climb over the outside person to get out of bed. This is a total misrepresentation by RCCL designed specifically to procure business. In discussing this matter with RCCL customer relation after the cruise, I was told that all this was acceptable and

no adjustment would be made.

Other problems:- Food was of poor quality and poor selection. Entertainment included a good comedian, a hypnotist who had to keep sending people back to the audience because he could not keep them hypnotized, and a juggler who dropped his items 5 times. The review on the last night was quite amateurish.

The toilet did not work in the cabin the first night. One of the public bathrooms remained flooded for hours with no one attending to the problem. During the Muster Drill old and infirm people were forced to stand for 45 minutes. When they tried to sit, the chairs were taken away from them.

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 1 - 10 of 725 1234567

Similar Cruise Lines

Norwegian
Norwegian
From 518 Reviews
Carnival
Carnival
From 1229 Reviews
Princess
Princess
From 546 Reviews