Norwegian Star Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Excellent
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.0
from 64 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

64 User Reviews of Norwegian Star Cruise Ship

Mexico
Publication Date: February 12, 2008

Norwegian Cruise Line Norwegian Star by Ginny Mexico February 12, 2008

This was our second cruise, our first with NCL. We had some serious issues with the sewer smell in the hallway and in our room on Deck 4. When we reported it, they told us it was "normal." YUK!!!

Our friends found a pair of shoes under their bed. Nice ones, too!

Sometimes they would leave coffee packets in the room, most often we had to ask for them. The coffee smell masked the sewer smell!

We can't stand the buffet. It is so unsanitary. People are such inconsiderate slobs. They pick up food with their hands and then put it back. I would like to be the buffet Nazi!

We had a horrible experience in the Endless Summer Restaurant. It took us two hours to be served. When we asked for coffee at the end of the meal we were given instant coffee. Our waiter thought he was funny when he told us it was Starbucks. The food was so-so, not worth the wait.

Our best experience was in the Versailles dining room. All meals were very nice. Breakfast menu could use some

variation. Servers were excellent!

We are trying Pride of America in November. After reading reviews, we are nervous! I hope they get their act together soon.

I was more impressed with the Carnival Holiday, even though it is a very old ship, than I was with NCL Star!

I won't recommend this ship to anyone. I will not cruise on it again!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: July 7, 2007

This was my sixth cruise, my second cruise on NCL and the first on the Star. This is a two-star ship (out of 5) and I may be generous.

Boarding was efficient and speedy. There was no one available to escort us to the cabin so we had to find our own way. The cabin (outside minimum) was satisfactory. It was downhill from here.

The passengers were (to put it delicately) not upscale sophisticated as on other ships. Standard dress was flip-flops, tank tops, tee shirts, jeans, etc. even at dinner.

Pricing policy encourages families with children. Lots and lots of children - even toddlers and newborns. Kids running about including up and down the halls throughout the day. Very annoying. I have a particular problem with children at the buffet handling food and utensils. The best bet was to patronize the restaurants with a "cover charge" ($15.00 pp) Service and food, although nothing special, were well worth the additional fee.

The Marketplace buffet, Aqua and the Versailles restaurants were too noisy.

Entertainment was okay but I could live without the illusionist or the hypnotist.

This ship may be worth the price but don't expect

fine quality as on other lines.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: May 19, 2007

Norwegian Cruise Line Norwegian Star by Bob & Patsy Alaska May 19, 2007

My wife and I have been on six cruises in the past and have found them all pleasant experiences. That is until we found NCL. This is the second time we have sailed on NCL. The first was to New England and Canada on the NCL Jewel. We were disappointed in this cruise, but believed that it was it's maiden voyage in the US and some bugs needed to be ironed out.

On this cruise we found out that the last cruise was in some ways better then this one. We had decided to give NCL the benefit of the doubt and try it again, because we had some friends that were booked on this cruise.

To start with, we attempted to book our excursions on line, and found out that many of the ones that are on the web site didn't exist. Phone calls to NCL didn't help as we were given the run around.

We flew to Seattle the day before the cruise was to live to give ourselves plenty of time to get to the ship.

We arrived early to register because we were given another run around when we tried to register early from home. We found the staff there was indifferent to down right rude. After we registered we were given a number and told to have a seat in the holding area. There were about one hundred seats for about one thousand people. Our number was finally called and we were allowed to get on the ship. There was no one to direct people to their rooms, or did we see any one along the way. We made it to the eleventh floor only to fine all of the doors to the hallways closed and locked and there was a girl by the elevators to tell us that the rooms were not ready. She directed us to the twelfth floor to have lunch. This is the area that NCL tries to pass as a buffet. There was very little selection and almost no taste. We decided to go out to the pool area and wait because the buffet area was filling up fast. There waiters trying to get us to buy drinks accosted us every two minutes. Some time the same waiter several times in rapid succession.

We finally went to our room, a "Mini suit" and found it to smaller the one on the Jewel. It looked like it was well lived in and was in need of refurbishing. Our bags came in short order and the was room to put every thing away. The bathroom was large and had plenty of space to put everything away. The bed was old and worn out, lumpy and hard. The room stewards came and introduced themselves, and were very efficient, although we did not see them very often. On NCL the stewards have certain hours that they are available. The cabin was not properly cleaned. When my wife put her suitcase under the bed she found two pairs of shoes under the bed that had been there for quite some time by the layer of dust on them.

There is nothing free about "freestyle" cruising. Because we were with a large groupe we were given permanent reservations at the Aqua restaurant. The first night we had a waitress that was delightful She was efficient, friendly, with a great sense of humor. Unfortunately She was not the waitress for those tables every night. For some reason they rotate the waitresses. One night we missed our dinnertime and sat at another table. The waiter was so bad that we exchange words. He had the worst attitude I have ever experienced on a cruise ship. As I stated before the buffet was a complete disaster. NCL is completely obsessed with making sure that all passengers keep their hands clean, with hand sanitizers every were. But I found plates and silverware that had not been properly cleaned and tables that were still sticky and not wiped down after the plates were picked up. The buffet closes several times a day and closes for good at nine o'clock in the evening. After that the only place to go is one of the "extra pay restaurants", which we tried on our last trip and found the over rated and as lacking as the rest of the eateries. You can also go to the Blue Lagoon restaurant. This is a small part of a hallway with almost no seating, lousy service, and terrible food. The menu consists of hamburger, hot dog and fish and chip. For desert the only offering are two types of cookies. They are open all night so NCL can say they have food twenty-four hours a day.

NCL is a "discount "cruise line and it shows. I do not intend to sail NCL again, and I would not recommend it to any friends.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Repositioning Cruise
Publication Date: May 2, 2007

Norwegian Cruise Line Norwegian Star by L. Lee Repositioning Cruise May 2, 2007

I have been on 8 cruises in the past and Norwegian has never been the top of my list, but our last experience has put me off for good. We found out that the cruise price keeps going down as the sailing date draws closer if they don't sell out. But our travel agent informed us that unfortunately, Norweigan cruise line is the only line that dosen't adjust the price for you if you book ahead of time. My husband and I said "That's okay, we won't let that spoil our vacation."

But when we got to our stateroom, we found that it was filthy; the glasses weren't washed, yet they presented it with a clean cover and my husband drank water out of it to discover a layer of redness on the bottom. There was also plenty of pubic hair in the bathroom. And as we lay our head down to sleep, we noticed that the walls were smeared with boogers. We called reception, and they said that they would sent someone in to clean it (The

same person who had cleaned it last time) Instead, my husband said that he didn't want that person in our cabin and that he'd clean it himself. (Don't you think that by cleaning the walls, they would spray chemicals which would contaminate the bed and then the boogers would land on the bed as well?) Our cabin was unforgivably dirty and I will never sail with Norweigan again. The food was mediocre. The kid's club was 1 supervisor to 52 kids. You can guess what that was like.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: November 29, 2006

Norwegian Cruise Line Norwegian Star by Shannon Mexico November 29, 2006

8-DAY MEXICAN RIVIERA ON THE NORWEGIAN STAR -- Round trip from Los Angeles, CA with stops in Acapulco, Zihuatenejo, Puerto Vallarta and Cabo San Lucas -- Cabin 10087 inside stateroom --

BACKGROUND – This was my 6th cruise, second with NCL and first Mexican Riviera trip. Previous cruises include HAL Westerdam in 1998 (East Caribbean), Celebrity Mercury in 2000 (West Caribbean), NCL Wind in 2003 (West Caribbean), Carnival Destiny in 2005 (South Caribbean) and Royal Caribbean Legend of the Seas in 2006 (West Caribbean). I went on this trip with my mom and my grandma.

EMBARKATION – We arrived at the port after a half hour shuttle ride from the airport (Super Shuttle?). It was about 11:30am. A porter took our luggage and we entered the holding room, went through security and began to check in. We went through the line, got our pictures taken for our room cards and were walking onto the ship within 30 minutes. I thought the process was well organized and there were even some staff members handing out refreshments.

CABIN – We knew our cabin was going to

pose a new challenge for us because there were three of us in an inside stateroom. I slept on the upper bunk while my grandma and mother slept on the lower beds. The upper bunk was not as comfortable as the lower beds. There was plenty of storage space in the bathroom and the tiled shower was large for a cruise ship cabin. Shampoo and body wash is provided in the shower through a dispenser. There is a safe, coffee pot, TV and a fair amount of storage – surely enough for two people but a little more cramped for three people. The only minor disadvantage to the room was that the bedside tables did not have any drawers or shelves and the drawer space throughout the room wasn't very sufficient.

STAFF – We found the staff to be very friendly in almost all situations. The wait staff in Endless Summer was lifeless, but we enjoyed the staff in both the Aqua and Versailles dining rooms. Also, our cabin steward did a wonderful job, and we were always greeted in the hallways by smiling faces. The cruise director was a friendly man from Australia named Simon. He came to our Cruise Critic meeting and spent a little time getting to know us.

FOOD – I believe NCL has improved the quality of their food since the last time I sailed with them in 2003 on the Wind. Even though the breakfast buffet selections became boring after a few days, the fruit was very fresh, bakery items were delicious and scrambled eggs weren't too runny or too dry. We ate breakfast in the Versailles dining room one morning. Extra items on that breakfast menu included Belgian waffles, smoked salmon dishes and biscuits with gravy. The buffet room was well organized – it was divided in two with identical buffets on each side of the room in order to split the crowd in half.

Many lunches were enjoyed off the ship, however, when on board, we usually had salads and pastas in the buffet or burgers near the pool. Selections at lunch seemed to change each day but maintained staples such as fruit, pizzas, Caesar salad, small sandwiches and an array of desserts from fruit tarts to a new moose each day.

Dinner, as I said before, was much better than the last time I sailed with NCL. A few dishes that stuck out in my mind are the Cooking Light Tilapia (the best meal of the week), the Warm Goat Cheese Potato Au Gratin appetizer and Cooking Light Apple Brandy Pork Roast. For the most part, appetizers, salads and desserts were great. Some entrees left something to be desired such as the Mahi Mahi which was way overcooked. We switched between the two free restaurants each night for dinner and found that the Aqua dining room was noisy and the staff not as attentive. Especially one night when we had dinner with a couple we meet through Cruise Critic. We preferred Versailles. One night we ate at Endless Summer and were disappointed in the food. I had red snapper that was overcooked and didn't have much flavor. The chips and salsa were a nice touch at the beginning of the meal but we decided to go back to the other restaurants for the rest of the cruise. We were unable to get a reservation in La Trattoria during the cruise and did not try any of the surcharge restaurants.

I am not a fan of freestyle dining because I don't think you should have to waste time waiting for a table or trying to make a reservation for dinner. During peak eating hours, typical wait time for a table is about 20 to 30 minutes. Although, it was nice to be able to enjoy a drink at a nearby bar while waiting for your table. I prefer traditional dining with the same wait staff, same time and same table each night – just so you don't have to think about it and plan ahead.

As for desserts, we were always pleased with the selection. Typically, a frozen yogurt, a sherbet, a Cooking Light selection, a chocolate treat and some type of fruit tart or cheesecake were offered every night. My favorites included the peach frozen yogurt, pineapple sherbet and the chocolate moose.

FITNESS CENTER My mother and I did a lot of exercise during the cruise. We walked the track every morning (4 laps is a mile) and then did some weight training in the gym located at the back of the ship just underneath the track. The walking a jogging track was a little narrow but it was nice to have a clearly marked and separated path (separated by a glass wall) from the rest of the pool and sunbathing area. The fitness center has a lot of machines and was never very busy. There are stationery bikes, elliptical machines, rowing machines, treadmills and a lot of quality weight training machines. There is also a stretch and toning area with yoga balls, free weights and mats. Next to this area is a separate room for aerobic, stretch and spinning classes. We participated in a stretch class one morning that was done very well and was a nice way to start the day. For $30, you could sign up for 3 fitness classes throughout the week that included yoga, Pilates and spinning.

We did not know until the last day of the cruise that you can collect points for all the fitness activities you participate in and then get a prize at the end of the cruise. We would have kept track of our activities if they had better promoted this program.

ACTIVITIES / ENTERTAINMENT Personally, I have always thought that NCL does a great job with daily activities which is one of the reasons I wasn't too worried about being bored during the first two consecutive sea days. There were dancing classes, language classes, cooking classes and history lectures as well as bingo and other casino games that my grandma enjoyed. My mom and I went to the Second City lecture (they teach you how to do "improv" and you can participate as a volunteer which my mom and I both did) as well as the Italian language lesson.

The most enjoyable shows throughout the week included the Second City comedy group, the Newly Wed Game and the talent show. Second City was great – maybe not totally appropriate for kids, but absolutely hilarious and extremely entertaining. It's an improve comedy group with locations throughout the United States – they have a contract with NCL to provide a group of comedians for ship entertainment.

PORTS OF CALL / EXCURSIONS

ACAPULCO (ship docked) Acapulco was much more urban than I expected (2.5 million people). We cancelled our ship-booked excursion to take an independent tour with some Cruise Critic members. For $30 each (price based on total number of people, and we had nine total), Rosie took us to many of the city's top attractions, most of which had few to no other tourists at them. I believe Rosie decides which activities to go to based on the traffic conditions and time allotted, but our tour included a stop at La Quebrada to watch the cliff divers' 1pm show. This was a very neat experience. Not only is the location beautiful but the divers are outstanding. The divers climb up the cliff and jump at different heights. There were two children (I'm guessing they were in training) that dove from the shorter heights and one diver from the very top of the cliff. Rosie told us the diver's only dive from the top of the cliff once or twice a week because it is so difficult on their bodies. My only complaint about the viewing area is that there are only a limited number of spaces where you will be able to see when the divers hit the water. I recommend either watching from the restaurant at the top of the hill or making your way down the stairs to the viewing area closest to the cliff (it fills up quickly). But just be aware – there are a lot of stairs at this attraction. The cost to see the divers was $3.50 each or around 30 pesos each. There are souvenirs available and a store at the top of the stairs for silver items, lots of jewelry, wood carvings and bathrooms.

Other stops included Casa Blanca Hotel, an abandoned hotel with arguably the best view of the bay, Los Flamingos Hotel with more outstanding views of the coast, Senor Frogs for lunch (not included in the price), the Chapel of Peace and ended the day at Rosie's parent's house. They do not speak English but Rosie helped to translate. It was a very interesting experience to see how they live, how their houses are designed and how they survive with their garden and chickens in their back yard. We made our way up to the roof of their house to see another beautiful sight, pink and orange clouds over the bay and our ship in the distance. I highly recommend learning some Spanish for this cruise. It will help you in the stores, in the streets and also grants you a little deserved respect from the locals.

Rosie also made a stop at the Hard Rock Café so I could run in and get a pin (I collect them). It was very nice of her to make that extra stop for me and we gave her an extra tip for that.

The whole tour lasted about six hours and was thoroughly enjoyable. I highly recommend Rosie for a tour of Acapulco.

ZIHUATENEJO For the rest of the cruise, we booked excursions through the ship. Usually, we like to book independent excursions through local tour companies, however, given it was our first Mexican Riviera cruise, we were unfamiliar with the local companies and didn't really know what the "must see" attractions were. We booked Rustic and Folkloric Countryside for $69 each. We boarded a bus (a very comfortable bus with plush seats and lots of room) and began our approximately 20 minute ride out of the area to the countryside. The first stop was a coconut plantation. We were able to watch a farmer open coconuts, carve out the "meat," and grind up the coconut flakes. There were some coconut products available for purchase including a coconut, honey and brown sugar candy bar that I highly recommend you purchase. I believe it was one dollar for two large pieces. The plantation also makes pita bread with coconut baked inside that tasted like a sweet sandwich. We were able to try this for free. The next stop was a tile plantation. The tour guide explained the process of making the clay roofing tiles as a local formed them by hand and laid them in the sun to dry. During this presentation, I walked over to a hut where a man was making plates and bricks out of the clay. He did not speak any English but was eager to show me what he was doing and allowed me to take pictures of him. He was also proud to show me the water source for the plantation which was a sad sight to see - a brown creek with bugs floating on top of the current. The man told me he was 82 years old and in great shape, so I'm amazed at how they are able to keep themselves healthy and survive on what they have. He also showed me some of the plants they have growing on the plantation including blue agave cactus (for tequila), aloe vera, loufa, lemongrass, basil and oregano. Everything smelled so wonderful.

The final stop for this excursion was a large outdoor restaurant on the beach. We were served fried Spanish mackerel and some local vegetables as well as a free drink (this meal was included in the excursion price). It was a big meal and everything tasked pretty good. We were then given about a half hour to explore the beach. It was a very large beach with some local families and many vendors selling jewelry. The water was clear, clean and very refreshing to wade in.

PUERTO VALLARTA We booked "Mexican Cooking & City Tour" for $45 each. This excursion started with a bus ride into the city. We made a few stops and participated in a short walking tour of the waterfront areas. We were given some time to visit the Lady of Guadeloupe church; however, there was a ceremony taking place so we did not spend too much time there.

After walking through the city, we were taken to Santo Tequila for our cooking lesson and tequila tasting. We were taught how to make salsa, guacamole, tostadas and tortillas. It was a lot of fun and I've been making guacamole at home ever since this trip. We were also given free drink of choice. After eating, we were shown the tequila process and invited to participate in a tequila tasting that was not only a surprise, but a fun event that included four different types of tequilas and a lesson in how to say a Mexican cheer. There is some time to purchase tequila after the tasting. The tour then took us to a shopping area for about a half hour. We asked the tour guide to drop my mother and I off downtown so we could walk over to the Hard Rock Café and then we took a cab ride back to the ship for about $6.

CABO SAN LUCAS We booked "Deluxe Coastal Cruise" for $59. I had a feeling that, even though whale watching excursions were not suppose to start until mid-December (to give the whales a chance to settle in their seasonal homes), that the huge amount of coastal cruises would try to seek out the whale families and sure enough, we came across one. My goal for this trip was to see whales and I used a roll and a half of film on them. We were able to get pretty close and watch them swim with Los Arcos and Lovers Beach in the background. The cruise included lots of drinks (beer and margaritas, although the margaritas are not what you'd expect back home – it was tequila, triple sec and orange juice), a history discussion by a crew member and lots of pretty scenery. I think $59 is a little on the expensive side for what we got but seeing the whales made it worth the trip.

My mom and I walked into town to see Cabo Wabo and the Hard Rock Café and then took a water taxi (for $10 roundtrip) to Lovers Beach to get some sun and do some snorkeling. WOW! This is the neatest beach I've ever been too! The scenery is amazing with huge rocky boulders jolting out of the sand in strange forms and gold sand – the snorkeling wasn't too bad either. You have to take a water taxi to reach the beach and you will have to jump out of the boat into the shallow water to get to the beach – however there are a couple local guys willing to carry you and your belongings as long as you tip a couple bucks. It is highly recommended that you do not swim on the Pacific side of the beach because the current is very strong, but I recommend at least walking over to that side to see the rock formations and take some great pictures.

PUBLIC ROOMS The public rooms are very colorful and tastefully decorated. However, I got in the habit of tapping my fingernails against a lot of decorations throughout the ship and was disappointed to see that most of them were plastic, though they were made to look like concrete or marble. The ship was very clean and comfortable. The theater was very large and tiered well – so it was possible to see the whole stage from every seat. I enjoyed walking down the hallway outside the Steakhouse – it was painted like an outdoor sidewalk in Europe and with the sun rays coming through the windows, it didn't feel like you were on a cruise ship.

The only room I didn't like was the Carousel Bar – it was very tacky and I didn't like the whole circus theme. We also enjoyed the Spinnaker Lounge where the Second City performed on the last night as well as the Newly Wed Game Show and the talent show – all were great. Even though we didn't spend time in it, the Red Lion Pub was really neat. Usually the hang out for watching sports, it was like being in an old English pub. Gatsby's was a nice bar to get a drink at while you were waiting for your dinner table. There was usually a singer or piano player here.

We also used the internet café every day to email our significant other back home – it was $50 for about 100 minutes (I think) and there never seemed to be anyone in that café to help with the computers so you'll have to fend for yourself.

There was only one store for shopping but it had everything you would need including souvenirs, perfume, jewelry, clothing and all the cheap Bijoux Terner items

DISEMBARKATION This process took a long time. I'm not sure why some cruise lines make you go through customs on the ship and others make you go through it once you get off the ship. In any case, with NCL we were given colored luggage tags. We had to get new tags because we needed to get off the ship for an early flight. We had to be out of our rooms by around 8am, then we had to wait in a public room until our luggage tags were called – but this didn't mean we could get off the ship. This meant we could go wait in line for customs. And it was a good thing we ended up getting in line for customs before our luggage tags were called because the line was SO long. We were in line for about an hour. Then we waited for our tags to be called in order to leave the ship.

IN SHORT I really enjoyed this itinerary. The Mexican Riviera was much more fun and exciting than I thought it was going to be. I was nervous that I would miss the clear blue waters and sandy beaches of the Caribbean, but the dramatic cliffs, mountains and traditional ways of these port cities made it a thoroughly enjoyable cruise. The cruise ships' excursions were a lot of fun and the onboard entertainment was excellent. I look forward to going back to visit cities again. I would highly recommend the NCL Star's for this trip, not for the food, but for the adventure, the scenery and the itinerary.

If you have any questions about my experience, feel free to email me at deedesign0281@yahoo.com

Expand Review
Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: March 31, 2008

Norwegian Cruise Line Norwegian Star by Jim C Mexico March 31, 2008

My family of 6 just concluded an 8 day Mexican Riviera cruise. This is my 5th cruise, 2nd with my family We were attracted to this cruise by the itinerary and the price, despite the mixed reviews posted here. My wife and I had sailed on the Norwegian Sun in 2005 and thoroughly enjoyed it.

That experience was not to be re-lived. We had taken our three teenage kids on another cruise line and thoroughly enjoyed that cruise as well, so we thought this would be a good experience. We were all wrong.

I use these reviews to look at ships and cruise itineraries. This ship is definitely not for younger children or teenagers. Our children are older, so again we did not think this would be a problem.

I should have had a hint things would not go smoothly when I tried to book the cruise through the NCL website, it was a disaster, I had to call them directly and then received pretty good service. When I had to complete the eDocs on line, the process took over a week,

and NCL customer service was no help. Their website is the worst of any of the cruise lines. I sent several emails, none of which were responded to other than to say they would be in touch later; they never did call back. We tried several computers, none of which had much success.

They later had some company send me an online survey about my booking experience in which I was eager to fill out. After 10 agonizing minutes, I was not even half way through their survey, and they had yet to ask a service related question, so I closed the survey and never completed it. But the company kept sending me emails to complete, I had to put a spam block on them to get it stopped.

Embarkation We flew to LA the morning of the cruise; left LA and took a taxi right to the pier. The baggage process was easy, tipped the baggage handler $1 a bag (they all showed up at the cabin promptly). The registration and boarding was quick, professional and uneventful.

The first announcement from the captain was that his stabilizers were not working on this trip. We later found out they had not worked since the ship returned from a repositioning cruise many months earlier. It was only a problem on the last day. I think the fact that these have not been repaired for a long time, is an accurate reflection of the overall care and attention this ship receives.

Food & Drink Norwegian features "freestyle dining" which we really liked during our last cruise with NCL. This ship has the worst service and food of any of the 5 cruises I have been on. It comes no where close to what we experienced on the Sun three years earlier.

Most drinks were outrageously priced at $9.00 with the souvenir cup and $7.00 without. Beer was $5.00+ a bottle with gratuity added.

The buffet line is absolutely awful, morning, noon and night, and the menu selections do not change in 8 days. Honestly, I did not know scrambled eggs was a soup, and cream of wheat a broth.

The two main dining rooms are Aqua and Versaille. We dined at Aqua the first night, the service was terrible, we were actually ignored by the wait staff for over 10 minute at several different times, whenever we wanted refills of drinks the wait staff just walked on by. We dined at Versialle the rest of the trip, the wait staff there was pretty good except for one night. The hostess Olivia, was over her head in being able to schedule people for seating. I counted over 11 vacant tables for 6, yet two groups of six waited almost 30 minutes to be seated. The other group was as disgusted with this cruise as we were.

For people who are flexible, enjoy dining at off-peak hours, and do not want to share tables with other cruisers, freestyle is usually a great way to go.

We did try several specialty restaurants. Cagney's which we had read was good, was terrible. The steaks were good, but the appetizers, soups, salads and desserts were terrible, most were either sent back to the kitchen or we just did not finish them.

We also tried the Ginza restaurant, which we found to be quite good. We also ate at Le Bistro one night and found it to be surprisingly outstanding in service, food quality and taste. One warning however, they sock it to you with a double cover charge depending on which part of the menu you select from, however the food is excellent.

We tried the Blue Lagoon for snacks and light lunch, it was greasy and inedible except for the wanton soup, or I should say the single wanton in the soup soup.

We did not understand the attraction of the Market Buffet, though it was usually very crowded with bland food.

The chocolate night, which on the Norwegian Sun was a spectacular event, was again a joke on this ship. If we could attach pictures to this review, you would easily see what I am talking about.

The wine list is fairly good and many wines still reasonably priced.

Entertainment We found the theater and entertainment very impressive. The theater was comfortable and the performances were top notch. Murray, the magician, was entertaining and the Jean Anne Ryan company put on some great shows. Our cruise director, Ricky Matthews, was also outstanding & entertaining.

Bingo Every cruise ship tries to suck you into bingo, but this was the most expensive we have found with the smallest jackpots.

Casino I had read how bad the Casino was in other reviews, so we stayed away. We did stop by a couple of times but we saw no appreciable winning going on, or any relatively happy cruisers.

Shore Excursions The itinerary attracted us to this cruise.

Alcapulco: Acapulco was great, we explored on our own. The cliff divers were disappointing, though it's what everybody goes to see.

Zihuatenjo: The family went and did the canopy tour while I went scuba diving. The diving was so so, but the dive guide Terry was excellent. The family did not appreciate the canopy tour believing many of their practices to be dangerous. Several people in the tour got off the zip line and walked down rather than complete the course.

Puerto Vallarta: We booked the Misloya "movie" resort and jungle tour. This was a bit misleading because Eden at Misloya is the resort where the movie Predator was filmed, not the resort we were taken to. No movie had ever been made at this place. The resort we were taken to was below Eden, was a cheap lunch and then a hike through the jungle. The cruise ship refunded 45% of the fee to us upon our return.

Cabo San Lucas: This was a nice port. We walked around the shopping area, had lunch, went snorkling; a pleasant day.

Other Ship was clean and cabin was great. We had three mid-ship Deck 8 cabins, near almost everything but not too close to any noise, etc. Seemed to feel less ship movement in this part of the boat. The maid service however was not very timely. If we were not out of the room by the time they came by to clean or turn-down at night, you would go without for the day. Towels only got changed twice in 8 days.

Also, with the ship rocking side to side, there seemed to be a lot of sewer smells in the bathroom and hallways from time to time.

The cruise line objective was clearly to separate you from your money. While the base price of the cruise was less expensive than other 7 day cruises (this was 8 days). The on-ship prices made up for it.

In the onboard shopping Galleria, there are some bargains to be had in liquor and jewelry, but there are also some potential gouges, so buyer be educated and beware.

Service charges and gratuities are automatic and not negotiable. There is no way I would have given this ship half of what they automatically get otherwise.

One nice feature they have added is a baggage service. For $16 a person, they will ship your bags to your home destination. We signed up and placed bags out by 1:00 am the night before disembarkation. The bags showed up in Portland and were the first out on the carousel.

While we did relax and enjoy our family, this was not the super vacation we were looking forward to or expecting. Fortunately the kids were not soured on cruising by this experience. They all had a great time on our previous cruise and know what a great cruise looks like.

We had a great time meeting people who had the same thoughts we did on the food and service. Many people were mad, but it was vacation, we had to take it in stride.

We will never sail this ship again, and it will most likely be some time before we book our next cruise with NCL. They are only as good as their last cruise.

We will be looking at other cruise lines in the future.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Norwegian Star
Publication Date: September 29, 2007

Interior pictures are located at: http://www.cruise-addicts.com/picturepost/ Use the drop-down menu and click on "NORWEGIAN STAR"

NCL recently learned their new flagship, the NORWEGIAN STAR, would be finished a little early and they decided to offer a few shakedown revenue cruises. What better way to break in the staff, and receive some valuable feedback regarding the ship and operations? Four 1-night sailings were originally offered, with two of the sailings eventually being canceled. I sailed on Thursday, November 15th.

Keep in mind the majority of this review will be about the ship itself. Having been onboard for only one night, it's difficult to measure food and service levels objectively. As with any shakedown cruise, not everything was as smooth as NCL would prefer, and this was to be expected. For the most part, things were well organized, and the staff onboard was very enthusiastic and professional.

A little about myself. I am 35 years old and reside in Atlanta Georgia. I work for a major airline but ships and cruises are my passion. The NORWEGIAN STAR sailing ranks as my 45th cruise to date. My preferred lines are Celebrity and Royal Caribbean, but I'm not picky

and have tried all the major and not so major lines. This year has been an especially good one regarding cruises, with the "legendary NORWAY" in March, RADIANCE OF THE SEAS in May, GOLDEN PRINCESS in September, and of course the NORWEGIAN STAR.

For those of you into all the technical aspects of ships, this section is for you!

Gross Tonnage.......91,740 Overall Length.......965 feet Beam..........105 feet Draft...........26 feet Engines.........Diesel Electric Cruise Speed.......25 knots Passengers........2,240 (double occupancy) Crew...........1,100

The Captain of the NORWEGIAN STAR is Geir Loeken. The Cruise Director is John Anderson, who was also my Cruise Director on the NORWAY in March.

EMBARKATION

From the very beginning, I could tell that NCL has changed! New uniforms, new check-in procedures, new logo, new NCL! Checking in for this one night cruise was no different than any other sailing. You were still required to fill out forms, provide a credit card and so forth. NCL now uses laptops (connected to their mainframe via satellite) to speed up the process, putting them on par with Carnival, RCI, and Princess. After clearing security the process was fairly quick. Another change was the issuance of a Charge/ID/Cabin Key combo card. It's about time NCL caught up with the times. Although no security photo was taken (such as on Princess), they do swipe your card upon entering and leaving the ship. We entered the ship on Deck 7 and were escorted to our cabin. Nice touch NCL!

CABINS

Our cabin was a Category BA, cabin 10027. This is a standard outside with balcony on Deck 10. The first thing I noticed was the signage outside the cabin door. Not only did it display the cabin number, but also the message "Welcome". This device also contained a slot that could hold any mail for your cabin. The little welcome message was actually a dial that you could rotate from underneath. Other displays were "Make up cabin", "Do not disturb", and "Turn down cabin". A very ingenious way to let the steward know the status of the cabin.

The cabin itself was not huge, but adequate for a seven day cruise. The colors were bold (green, blue, gold, red) and I loved all the wood veneer on the walls. There were two closets, but only three drawers in the entire cabin. There were some shelves in the closet that could also be used. Amenities included a safe, refrigerator, TV (not interactive), hair dryer, and coffee/tea maker. There was a small sitting area with a yellow couch that could be turned into a single bed. A glass sliding door leads to the balcony which contained two chairs and a table. The balcony furniture was of high quality (better than plastic) although the balcony itself was rather narrow. The rail is made entirely of glass which was very nice.

The bathroom was certainly the best designed standard ship bath I have ever experienced. It's actually divided into three sections. You walk into the main section which contains a nice size sink and plenty of storage space. On one side of the sink is a separate section that contains the toilette, and on the other side of the sink is the large shower area. Both the toilette and shower sections have a glass sliding door to separate them from the sink area. This terrific design makes it possible for two people to use the bathroom at once. Certainly something that is hardly possible on most other ships. The use of wood veneer is even used in the bathroom, and the floor is a very nice blue tile. NCL installed soap and shampoo dispensers on the STAR instead of individual packets. Again a nice touch.

I was able to view many other cabins, in fact, just about every category. All cabins are beautifully decorated and well designed. For the money, I would say the Category AF Mini-Suites are an excellent value. They are stunning with rich deep colors, dark woods, and beautiful fabrics. They also provide more closet and drawer space than the standard cabins. The bathroom in the mini-suites is of the same sectioned design, but with a bath tub instead of a shower.

SUITES

First stop is a Romance Suite. Category AD, cabin 10228. Just beautiful from top to bottom! Dark woods, expensive furnishings, flat screen TV, dressing area and a large bathroom. There is even a table and four chairs for dining. The walls are all covered with a rich, silk wallpaper. The aft facing balcony offers teak flooring and furnishings, and is a decent size.

Next is the Owner's Suite. Category AA, cabin 10506. This is actually the "Picasso Suite", and decorated to suit the name. The style of this suite will not appeal to everyone, as it is very avant-garde and eclectic. I absolutely loved it! There are two bathrooms and two balconies. One facing the side, and one with a forward view. The artwork and furnishings are truly unique and appear to be quite expansive. I noticed a satellite phone was provided, along with a laptop computer and flat screen TV. Another flat screen TV was located above the Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom! This suite was truly stunning, and most certainly "one of a kind" in terms of decor.

Last stop is the Garden Villa on Deck 14. There are actually two of these, although they can be combined into one VERY large suite. The Garden Villa is actually six different cabins that share two very large living areas. These Villa's are located at the very top of the ship, with floor to ceiling windows that face the sea and pool area. In addition, both Villas offer a private deck decorated like a Japanese Garden. Complimenting the private deck is a personal Jacuzzi for yourself and any friends you may meet! J I thought the deck area was beautiful, but I was disappointed in the use of plastic plants and flowers instead of the real thing. The individual cabins (or bedrooms if you will) offer all the amenities as described in the Romance Suites. They are also somewhat eclectic in decor, and will not appeal to everyone. The shared living area is huge, complete with bar, kitchen, pantry, grand piano, dining table, flat screen TV's, and of course couches and chairs. All the furniture is very modern and unique. The view from the living area is directly over the main swimming pool.

Each of the six bedrooms/baths has it's own door and key, and I assume they could be sold separately, although I'm not certain if NCL is doing that. There is also a main entrance to each of the Villa Suites through a glass and chrome door. If both suites are purchased as one, the entire area can be closed off from a door on the deck below, making it completely private. There would really be no reason to ever leave!

THE SHIP

In general, the ship is a departure from any that I have sailed on. She is bold, eclectic, surprising, unique, and downright different! Most of it works, but not entirely. Remember that opinions are like a rear-end, everyone's got one and thinks that everyone else's stinks! J Just remember these are my viewpoints only, and yours may be different. The STAR was originally designed for the Asian market, and that explains much of the design and decor. I have heard she can be compared to her older and smaller sisters, the SUPERSTAR VIRGO and SUPERSTAR LEO of NCL parent company Star Cruises, but I have not seen these ships so I can't comment.

The easiest way to tackle this is to go from top to bottom..so here we go.

DECK 14

The Bier Garden is located midship here. Pretzels and a variety of beer are sold in a fun atmosphere of teak furniture and street lamps with a view of the pool.

DECK 13 (yes, 13! - remember, the STAR was built for the Asian market, where the number 13 is considered lucky.) All the outdoor decks are made of rubber composite, and I don't recall seeing any teak decking. The decks are very well designed, in a tiered arrangement both in the forward section facing the bow, and midship by the pool. It actually looks a little like a stadium with rows and rows of tiered deck chairs (ala CARNIVAL DESTINY). There is a Jacuzzi all the way up front with a great view.

Midship is the Star Bar, a very classy piano bar with leather chairs and a view of the pool. Aft of the Star Bar is the Las Ramblas Tapas Bar & Restaurant. NCL did a great job making this area look unique and authentic. Lot's of atmosphere and a far better representation than the generic Mexican restaurant onboard GOLDEN and GRAND PRINCESS.

All the way aft is the children's area which I cannot comment on. Never made it there!

DECK 12

Forward is the Spinnaker Lounge and Bar. This is the longest bar on the STAR, and the view is over the bow. This is a very large lounge that is also used as a secondary show lounge for smaller shows like a singer or comedian.

Just aft on the port side are a series of conference rooms. These are state of the art and named after the great cities of the world. The starboard side contains a beautiful card room and reading room. Both lounges feature floor to ceiling windows. In the center is a cinema and rather large Library. The Library was fully stocked with books and featured very comfortable seating. These areas were probably the most conservative you will find on NORWEGIAN STAR, and they would easily fit in aboard lines such as Princess Cruises.

Midship is the main pool area. Disappointing from my perspective. The main pool contains two slides that I feel would be better placed in a children's area. They take up a lot of valuable space and will most likely turn this area into a children's playground. Unfortunately, there is no other outdoor pool area onboard the STAR. In this same area is another very small well-like pool with a raised bench inside the pool. I guess the only thing you could do in this pool is sit, as it's not big enough to swim in. Aft of the pool is the main pool bar and grill. The entire area is decorated with large metal palm trees. At night, these light up and blink ala Carnival Cruise Line. Not really my taste, especially with the lack of a quieter second pool area.

Further aft is the Market Cafe and La Trattoria. La Trattoria is touted as an Italian dining area, but in fact it looks no different than the Market Cafe and is just an extension of this area. The Market Cafe is probably the most disappointing area of the ship in my opinion. It looks very much like a cafeteria with vinyl floors, plastic chairs and tables, and wall coverings that look like oranges, apples and other fruit. The whole area came across as cold and cheap, and not suited to the style of the rest of the ship.

Further aft is the top level of the Barong Fitness Center. It is connected to the deck below by a semi-circle staircase and mini-atrium. The fitness center contained every piece of equipment you could ever want, plus a very attractive juice bar. There are interior windows that look down through the small atrium, but strangely enough, no exterior windows which make this area a little dark.

Outside and all the way aft is the Splash Down Kids pool. I did not get a great look at this area, but it appeared to be quite festive for the young ones.

DECK 11

The lower half of the Barong Spa is located here all the way aft. Contrary to the fitness center, this area is completely surrounded by floor to ceiling windows facing the sea. This certainly ranks as one of the most beautiful spas at sea, complete with the longest indoor pool afloat. Separate men's and women's changing rooms, saunas, and steam rooms are offered. In addition, there is a beautiful lounge area for each sex in the port and starboard aft corners of the ship complete with aromatherapy.

DECK 9

Midship is the Internet Cafe. Happily all charges were waived during this inaugural sailing. The area is operated by Digital Seas and equipment was first rate. This area can only be accessed from stairs that lead up from the atrium area on Deck 8.

DECK 8

Midship is the Endless Summer Restaurant. This rather large and noisy restaurant is actually the upper balcony of the atrium. The specialty is Hawaii cuisine and this will probably be one of the easier restaurants to get a reservation at, due to its size. Check out the rather unusual chairs in the lounge area on the starboard side. Very fun to look at, and sit in!

DECK 7

Forward is the beautiful Stardust Theater. It's almost all in red, with comfortable theater style seating. Individual air vents are located in the back of the chair in front of you! NCL put on a show entitled "Music of the Night". As with all NCL productions, it was produced by the Jean Ann Ryan Company. I was surprised how short it was, only about a half hour. They may have actually abbreviated the show for this short cruise. The show was pretty typical, but the performers were extremely talented. The vocals of all the lead singers were exceptional and made up for a fairly blase production.

Just aft of the show lounge is Karaoke Circus. Unique to any cruise ship, this Karaoke bar even includes six private Karaoke rooms. This area was left in tact from the original design of the ship for Star Cruises. The design is like a Circus and quite festive. In the center is a main stage area with four large TV screens behind the stage. A large bar is across from the stage.

Moving further aft is the Sushi Bar, Ginza Restaurant, and Teppanyaki Bar. All three of these areas essentially share the same space, and all look quite authentic and pleasing. The Sushi Bar has an open kitchen where you can watch the preparation. Teppanyaki is actually a private room that features one large cooking table such as you would find at a Benihana. I'm not quite sure how you would reserve it though. The entire area is open to another mini-atrium that looks down to Gatsby's Bar below, and is connected by a staircase.

A long hall which includes the photo gallery leads to the Grand Atrium. The atrium is very attractive with fountains, four glass elevators, the reception deck, shore excursion office (port side), and a small sundry shop (starboard side). The center of the atrium is the raised Java Cafe. Coffee and baked goods are available here, and the seating area has a great view of all the action, complete with live music. The reception desk is open 24 hours and is fronted by an all white marble floor. Very attractive. Hanging from the ceiling is a large, retractable movie screen that is viewable from both the Java Cafe and the Endless Summer restaurant above. This was used to show promotional videos during my cruise, but I'm certain NCL will find other uses for it. There are also fountains to each side of the glass elevators along with a sea of plastic flowers. Again, I would have preferred to see real flowers as I found the plastic ones to be a bit cheesy, and not in keeping with the quality and style of the rest of the ship - not to mention Hawaii.

Continuing aft on the port side is the Red Lion Pub. This attractive bar reminds me of the Pig and Whistle on VOYAGER OF THE SEAS. It's pretty much the sports bar on the STAR and looks like an authentic pub. In the same position but on the starboard side is the Blue Lagoon Restaurant. This is another area that just doesn't seem to fit from my perspective. This small buffet restaurant is open 24 hours and is supposed to be like a diner. There are little tables and tiny round stools to sit on. This space is another left over from the original design for Star Cruises, and the small furniture seems like it was intended for the Asian market. In fact, this diner was going to be a 24 hour Japanese restaurant that served friend rice and egg rolls. The SUPERSTAR VIRGO and LEO offer a similar type restaurant which this was copied from.

Moving all the way aft is the Galleria Shop. This is actually one large shop, which NCL calls a Department Store. Without a doubt, it is the largest shop afloat, as this space was originally intended to be the Casino (hence the lack of a single window). The shop was open although only halfway stocked. The shop staff had been working throughout the night opening boxes and setting up as much as possible. One unique feature is a cafe/bar directly in the shop. I'm sure this was originally intended as the Casino Bar, but it certainly makes for a nice cafe if you want to take a break from shopping. The very attractive shop staff were from Germany, South America and South Africa. Somewhat different than the American shop staff on most ships.

Deck 7 offers a wrap around promenade deck, again with rubber non-stick flooring. Instead of having plain, white steel bulkheads, there are whimsical paintings on all the bulkheads surrounding this deck. I liked them, but my companion said they reminding him of the pictures (art?) on some of LA's freeways!

DECK 6

Forward is the lower half of the Stardust Theater. Entry is from two long and ornate hallways, complete with glass displays and chandeliers. At the e ntrance are two authentic looking ticket offices, as you would find at an old theater. Lots of little details everywhere you look.

Moving aft is Dazzles Lounge and Nightclub. This lounge is completely enclosed and offers no windows. Even the entry doors are rather plain and nondescript. I guess NCL really wanted to make this like a true nightclub. I'm not sure if the disco will be in this lounge, or in Spinnakers, as Dazzles was turned into a Casino for this one night cruise. The decor was dark and nothing really stood out. I can't really comment further as the lounge was not in its true form during this cruise. I'm sure NCL was pleased they spent the money to turn this lounge into a makeshift casino, as it was packed with standing room only!

Further aft is Gatsby's Champagne Bar, The Soho Room, The Wine Cellar, Havana Club, and Le Bistro. All these spaces are in the lower level of a mini atrium and compliment each other. Gatsby's is the main bar area, and is very open and includes a piano. Right off of Gatsby's is the Wine Cellar, which includes a small sitting area for wine tasting, and open displays showcasing all the wine. Very attractive looking. The Havana Club is a glass enclosed lounge for cocktails and cigars. Very much like Michaels Club on the Celebrity ships, the lounge features large ocean view windows. The entrance to Le Bistro is also off this area, and this restaurant features French cuisine similar to the same offered on other NCL ships. There is a partially open kitchen where some of the preparation can be viewed. The final space of this area is The SoHo Room. Very light, airy, and bordered by floor to ceiling windows, this is another of the alternative restaurants on the STAR.

Walking aft down a long corridor past Le Bistro brings you to the first of the "included" restaurants onboard NORWEGIAN STAR. It's called the Aqua Restaurant, and is very attractive. The decor is similar to The SoHo Room, again very light, airy, with windows on both sides. The ceiling looks like a sky of twinkling stars. This restaurant is supposed to feature lighter, California style cuisine, although on this short sailing the menu was identical to the Versailles Restaurant.

All the way aft is the Versailles Restaurant. Entry to this restaurant is only from the aft staircase on Deck 7. The reason?, there is a large galley separating Versailles and the Aqua Restaurant that makes it impossible to pass through on Deck 6. The entrance to Versailles is via a grand staircase and the effect is stunning. Versailles is very ornate, and very French in decor. All the way aft are huge double height windows with an incredible view of the ships wake. Quite a beautiful setting to be sure. Versailles could be considered the "main" restaurant onboard NORWEGIAN STAR, and there is no extra fee to dine here just like the Aqua Restaurant.

Last are the foyers, corridors and stairs. There are 12 large elevators and three stair towers onboard. Four of the elevators are glass enclosed. Each of the stair towers are a different color. Red, Blue and Green. I guess this way you always know what part of the ship you are in. The cabin corridors are rather plain and void of any artwork. The cabin doors are steel and painted with a glossy paint that makes them look rather industrial. Too bad this small detail could not be improved upon.

FOOD AND SERVICE

My only meal onboard was dinner at the SoHo Room. The food was excellent, served on specially created dinner ware designed for each dish. Very unique and worth the extra charge to eat here. Dessert was flambeed table side which was a nice touch. Service was uneven at best, but this was only the second dinner these servers had under their belt. I'm certain they will become very proficient in a short period.

Most of the staff onboard were Asian (Malaysian, Thai, etc.), which is the direction NCL is headed in. This is a direct result of the Star Cruises ownership. Gone are the mostly Jamaican and Caribbean staff that NCL has used for many, many years. Even the reception staff were from Malaysia, transferred from the Star Cruises fleet in Asia. I'm sure it will take a little time for the staff to become accustomed to the style of service that Americans are used to. Although the service was uneven, everyone I encountered was polite, eager and pleasant. I feel only time is needed to transform this crew into a top notch, first rate staff.

CONCLUSION

I hope you can conclude that I thoroughly enjoyed the NORWEGIAN STAR, and her unique decor and design. She is truly NCL's first purpose built ship under the "Freestyle" concept, and the new management at NCL. There is nothing quite like her at sea, and although not everything is perfect, I would not hesitate to recommend her. I am looking forward to reading the reviews after her first Hawaii cruises. It's difficult to get a true feel for a ship after only one night, as sometimes the ship takes on an entirely different personality after a week onboard.

To all those sailing on NORWEGIAN STAR, I hope this review gives you a little idea of what to expect, and the good times that are ahead. Please feel free to contact me with any specific questions.

Aloha!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: April 7, 2007

Norwegian Cruise Line Norwegian Star by Richard Mexico April 7, 2007

Janet and I have been on seventeen cruises with six major cruise lines. This was our fifth sailing with NCL and most certainly the best of the five. We enjoy longer cruises 10 to 21 days as the seven day cruises pass too quickly and we have to travel considerable distance to get to a port. Eight days worked well this time as my wife had to get back to teaching following this Easter break.

I would be hard pressed to to complain about any factor that spoiled this vacation on the ship. Food was excellent which is possibly the most important consideration. Everything considered, I would rate the total package 8 1/2 out of 10.

From past experinces I will mention these minor concerns. The Market Buffet is just OK and does not have that "wow factor." It is always busy, noisy and tends to get messy with spills. I do not like automatic gratuities, ten dollars per person per day. I want to tip who I wish to. One expects great service on a ship and indiviuals not prepared to

provide it should not work on the ship. I would prefer a hidden charge built into the ticket price thus paying those who deserve it well. Those who don't deserve it find work elsewhere.

I've kept this short. All in all, your will enjoy sailing the Norwegian Star.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: March 30, 2007

Norwegian Cruise Line Norwegian Star by Cynda Mexico March 30, 2007

Background about us, this was our 3rd cruise, the first on Norwegian. We are a family of five, my husband and I are in our 40's, our childen are 18, 16, and 12 from Las Vegas Nevada. Our cruise was on the Norwegian Star to the Mexican Riviera with port cities of Acapulco, Zihuataneho/Ixtapa, Puerto Vallarta, and Cabo San Lucas. We had two adjoining balcony cabins, 9030/9032.

Embarkation-Very quick, we were pleasantly surprised. We drove to the port, dropped the kids and luggage at the curb about 11 am, parked the car about two rows out, walked back to the curb, staff member took our luggage. We were in line, no kidding, maybe 10 minutes, front desk verified our passport and boarding documents, took our pictures, and we were on the boat by noon.

Ship-The Star is a lovely ship overall, bright and airy Atrium, our favorite places included the Carousel Bar, Aqua restaurant, Versailles restaurant, and the entire walk around the Panorama deck outside. We spent more time on the Panorama deck in a lounge chair, than we did up around

the pool. This may have been due to the fact that it was spring break, and the pool was always completely overcrowded. We DID enjoy the pool too, and the jacuzzi's. The food grilled there was our favorite place for lunches each day. The casino is larger than other ships we have been on, good amount of table games as well as slot machines. They also had a few blackjack tables set up around the pool in the afternoons. The overall layout onboard was easy to navigate, but I did notice a couple odd things. First of all, Aqua restaurant, is hidden, and such a shame that you have to hunt for someplace that turns out so nice.(Deck 6, mid ship, behind So Ho and LeBistro) Secondly, the Galleria shops, it seems are an afterthought-at the back of the boat, where you can avoid them altogether quite easily.

Onboard experience-We had a great time on our cruise, especially having the two adjoining balcony rooms. When it was too crowded around ship, we could always retreat to our balcony and still enjoy the fresh air and views. The good, the bad, and the poorly planned: We tried only one of the specialty restaurants-Cagney Steakhouse. Terrific.

We would like to say we tried some of the others, but reservations were a nightmare. They only allow you to book one day in advance, good idea-but, we were informed that to actually 'get' a reservation, we needed to call between 7 and 8 am each day. Well, on vacation, who is up at that hour!?

Apparently, those other people who got 'our' reservations :) No matter, Versailles and Aqua were terrific. We also tried Endless Summer, it was so-so, and the buffet-which I have to review as 'yuck'. Thats probably not fair, I'm sure there were people who thought better of it, but I'm from Vegas, and used to buffet food, so you have to wow me at least a little bit here to get my attention. The kids club/teen club was a nice space, the kids had room for dancing, computers to play on, and room to just hang out. The activities for my sons age group 10-12 yr olds, he wasn't so excited about this trip. He did attend something each day, but not racing to see what the next planned activity might be like he did his previous cruise. Our older two daughters, settled in on a core group of friends after the first day at sea, and always used the teen club as their meeting spot, then kind of planned things on their own as well, always ending up back there at the end of the night when it became more crowded with other kids. *special note, spring break, we were told there were 700 kids on this sailing, 500 of them ages 12 and up.

Teen Club staff, Bethany and Stacey, were both excellent with the kids they were responsible for, and I can't rave enough about them. The staff was actually about 6 different people, but Bethany and Stacey stood out above the rest. We did not try the spa this trip, but did take their tour the first day, and the facility was quite nice. To use the pool and jacuzzi was a fee of $15.00 per day. The fitness center wasn't very big, and didn't have much of an ocean view. The movie theater had one nice feature, and that was the fact that they had more than one feature. The movie changed daily, and popcorn was available just around the corner at the Spinnaker lounge.

Service-Our room stewards did a remarkable job, I have to imagine that the quality was the same thruout the ship. They were at our room to meet us the first day, within about 10 minutes of our arrival. Oh, and I forgot to mention this before, our luggage, ALL OF IT, arrived by the time we were to our room-2 pm. That was a nice surprise. Our stewards, Alicia and Marlon never failed to speak to us, by name if they met us in the hall. They asked about our day, told us about their onboard experience and just seemed genuine and friendly the entire cruise. Service in the restaurants, was absolutely attentive, although because of the freestyle experience, you don't get to know your servers at all, and they are cycled thru to different restaurants all the time. Overall, service was great. One bad experience can sort of over shadow the rest though, so here's the deal: Buy your photos prior to the last day, if you plan to do so. You cannot imagine how many cranky, tired, loud guests were delayed from leaving the ship when we arrived back in Los Angeles. Why? Because they went to the photo gallery that morning to pick out their pictures before leaving. (Myself included) I only wanted one picture, which had just been taken the previous evening. I had $15.00 in my pocket, because of course, the bill for our trip had already been sent to our room. The photo shop said we cannot accept cash here, it must be billed to your room. Oh, ok. Took the photo, got in line to disembark, and when they swiped our cards thru, the staff notified us we had a problem because of a purchase after the close of our bill. Yes, well, we tried to pay cash, they said they can't accept cash.

No, they cannot, you have to go back upstairs to pay for this and settle your account at the front reception desk. The kids and I were sidelined while hubby went back upstairs to settle the bill. We listened as passengers were told one after the other, to step aside and go upstairs to settle their account. It was not pretty. Hubby says the reception staff was courteous and professional, but they didn't really have a system for handling the angry customers. Our final thoughts, this could have been solved easily. The Cruise Director should have made several annoucements the day before, reminding passengers to purchase photos and any last minute items that evening to avoid delays during check out in Los Angeles the next morning.

Shows/Entertainment-We attended the show each evening. The Jean Ann Ryan Company put on three shows, each a bit different from the other. Our favorite was "Band on the Run" with songs from the 70's. The magician was Shawn Farquhar, excellent. There were also a couple shows with the Second City Comedy Club, pretty funny. Stan Sykes was in the Carousel Lounge, we really enjoyed his music, stopped by for a little while each night. Typical entertainment around the pool, hairy legs contest, the not so newlywed game, bingo, kareoke etc.

Port Cities-Acapulco was horribly humid and hot. Take LOTS of water and a hand towel with you we were drenched in about 10 minutes time. We took a tour of city highlights that included the Port of San Diego, Flamingo Hotel, and of course the Cliff Divers at La Quebrada and a little time in the town square for shopping. Good and educational for our kids. Recommended.

Puerto Vallarta-We went to Sea Life Park/Dolphin Discovery. The water park has a couple pools, water slides, a lazy river, and you get to swim with the dolphins. Note-you can pay to go as a spectator rather than swim with the dolphins to save money. We paid full price for the kids, and then about a third of the cost for hubby and I, which allowed us to use the water park and pools but just be photographers for the dolphin swim. Very good experience. Recommended.

Cabo San Lucas-We explored here on our own. We did not take any excursions, we just walked thru the city doing our shopping, and had lunch at the Cabo Wabo Cantina. Nice relaxing day.

Zihuataneho/Ixtapa-We didn't leave the ship during this port. Unfortunately we had a child who wasn't feeling well so we spent the day around the pool, at the movie theater, and in the card/game room onboard.

Overall experience-Would we recommend NCL to others, YES. Would we travel NCL again, YES. I think our preference is away from the freestyle dining experience to the more traditional style, but for us itinerary and the interior design of the ship are most important.

Happy Cruising!

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Mexico
Publication Date: February 5, 2006

Norwegian Cruise Line Norwegian Star by DougMacP Mexico February 5, 2006

Before I booked the cruise I had concerns. Can a person who loves mid-size ships and "traditional" cruising find happiness going "freestyle" on a large ship? Am I going to miss the set dinner hours and the security of knowing with whom I'm dining each night? Will the service be impersonal and reservations impossible to come by? Will the food in the specialty restaurants be worth the extra money? If you like a review that is one paragraph long the answers are: yes, no, no and definitely yes. If you interested in more detail, read on.

I've done just under 20 cruises on the major standard, premium and several of the luxury cruise lines. On my last two cruises with Holland America and Celebrity I ended up changing tables because of (how does one say this nicely?) less than desirable tablemates. That is the risk with traditional cruising; bad assigned tablemates can make a cruise a miserable experience. While it's not the end of the world to move tables, I always felt sort of guilty about it, hiding from the people at

my former table the best I could the rest of the cruise. With freestyle I theorized I could control my own destiny, and that of my friend who was a first time cruiser.

Embarkation: 40 minutes from drop off to opening the stateroom door. NCL doesn't do the complete check in at the pier. You are allowed to board by group number into the ship where your credit card information is obtained, picture taken and cruise card is given. There is a bit of a musical chairs quality to this arrangement in reverse. The quicker you get up from where you're seated when your group number is called the closer to the front of the line you'll be. Tip: If you have e-docs and didn't receive luggage tags make sure you get the luggage tags from the pier personnel curb side first thing. Have pre-printed stick-on labels with your name and address so all you have to do is write your stateroom number on the tag.

Cabin: Balcony cabin on deck 10. I enjoyed the cabin very much with a few minor issues. It was attractive, well maintained and comfortable. The beds were great and I appreciated the duvets instead of the usual top sheet and blankets. The closets however are bizarre. It is a two door arrangement that gives you a larger hanging area but to access the shelves you have to literally get down on your knees, move any hanging clothes out of the way and reach around the side. I much prefer the three door arrangement where the middle door is the location of the safe and shelves. If you don't know about the closet light (located in the back behind the closet rod) it would be an impossible arrangement, especially because there are only three other drawers in the cabin.

The cabins seem to have soundproofing issues. Perhaps it was because we were blessed with amazingly loud neighbors with children above and beside us. If you leave the balcony door open, be prepared to hear everything! Beyond that, the stateroom creaks and groans (probably from the ceiling panels) which can be quite annoying at night. Tip: Bring ear plugs.

Public Areas: The Star is a big ship, no doubt about that, a true floating resort. The lack of a unifying ship theme troubled me at first, but I soon discovered that if you aren't in a public room to your liking, just keep moving and you'll find one. There are some beautiful rooms and lounges on the ship, covering almost all design themes. The longer the cruise went on, the more I appreciated the diversity of styles. I also loved the full outside promenade on deck 7, something sadly designed out of other modern cruise ships.

What I didn't appreciate is the pool deck. The two humungous water slides absolutely dominate the area. Not only are they unattractive, but they don't work! There isn't enough water flow or steepness for anyone other than the kids to use them. Trust me, I tried. I ended up crawling down one half of the way. The visual impact and atmosphere of the pool area would be greatly enhanced if they were removed. The other gripe is lack of "prime" sun lounging areas. Part of the problem is that they use the entire main deck area by the pool for table and chairs, instead of lounges. Another problem is that many passengers (for lack of a better word) "hog" the chairs. They'll lie in the sun for an hour or two but leave the towels there all day in case they want to come back later. Many cruise lines handle this by having the deck staff promptly remove the towels unless other personal items (bags, books, etc.) are left with them. I think this would solve a lot of problems, since it's easier to train the staff then to teach the guests manners.

Entertainment: There are three types of entertainment on a ship. Production shows, headliners, and lounge acts. Having worked with a production company in Vegas in the past I learned long ago not to expect too much from the entertainment on a ship, any ship. "Entertainment" is a relative concept, if you think you'll be seeing a Vegas or Broadway quality show, a famous headliner, or you'll catch a rising star in the lounge, you'll only be disappointed. With that said, overall I was very impressed with the Star. When it comes to shipboard entertainment, NCL knows its business.

The usual cruise ship production show is heavily lip synced with choreography so amateurish it would work if the ship was in the process of capsizing. Not the case here. The first show Music of the Night, the tribute to Andrew Lloyd Weber was very entertaining, well sung and danced. The second show "It's Fame" ended up being cancelled half through both shows due to technical issues. What was presented was extremely well done. The last show Cirque Pacific was my least favorite. While I enjoyed the Chinese acrobats very much, the "flying numbers" were done a death defying 10 feet above the stage (gosh!) and the Jean Ann Ryan Company dance numbers looked something like Tai-Kwon-Do meets Jazzercise. In this case less would have been more, just focus on the acrobats. Since it was the night before the end of the cruise they also bring out the Captain and fill the stage with crew members for an inane pandering tribute to themselves about how wonderful they made your cruise experience. Obviously, I was not moved to tears.

Also in the main showroom are the obligatory comic and magician (which I missed) and for our cruise the cabaret performer was Lorna Luft, the daughter of Judy Garland, and the far less frantic and famous half sister of Liz Minnelli. She did an abbreviated version of her club act without the benefit of photo and video clips.

NCL really seems to appreciate and understand lounge acts. From the bands to piano players the quality of the performers was surprisingly good. I won't name names, just wander around and I'm sure you'll find a room and a performer you enjoy.

Dining: NCL is a standard line, with an average outside cabin costing less than $100 per day per person for this cruise. To expect anything other than mass market cruise cuisine is not realistic. In the end, you get what you pay for. But for $15 to $25 per day more you can have a completely different experience. When it came to the specialty restaurants, the Star shines brightly (pun intended). In fact, the dinners were better then on luxury cruises for which I paid more than $300 per day. Shortly after boarding I set up reservations at Le Bistro, Teppanyaki (at Ginza) Soho and Cagney's for consecutive days. We ended up repeating Ginza twice and did Le Bistro one more time. Each of these restaurants greatly exceeded my expectations for service, food and presentation in a relaxed yet elegant atmosphere. We did have one dinner in the Versailles room, where the food and service was surprising good, certainly comparable with Holland America and Celebrity.

We ate most of our breakfasts and lunches at the Market Café, which is the buffet restaurant on deck 12. The food was perfectly acceptable as far as variety, taste and freshness. The Market Café's problem is the layout. The Café runs the full length on the starboard (right) side, but only half the way on the port, therefore there really isn't enough space to accommodate the number of people who utilize the room without cramming tables everywhere. It is not a classy room by any stretch of the imagination and the tables and chairs are rather unattractive. Make sure to check out the buffets when they are set up pool side, they have great chicken and ribs.

Service: The service staff on the Star is multi-cultural, with Asians and Eastern Europeans being in the majority in the restaurants and lounges. In days gone by some cruise lines would brag that their service staff was predominately Filipino's (technically Asian in these politically correct times), who came from a "culture of service". That sort of smiling, gracious and familiar service became the expectation of cruise passengers, and appears to exist to this day. Now you add into the mix Eastern Europeans, who approach service in a less familiar and more formal way. To many they come off as unsmiling, aloof and generally stern. Even when they do their cruise line jobs well, the passengers never warm up to them. I certainly agree with a recent review I read about the Star, what passengers may think as "spotty" service, in reality may just be the cultural difference. It was certainly my experience aboard this cruise. My only minor complaint about "service" had to do with the lounges. Be prepared to say "no thank you" a lot if you don't want a drink. Since the servers roam the various lounges instead of having a set service area you are constantly being asked if you want a beverage, even if you just ordered one from another server. It really bugged me at first, but after awhile I got used to just saying no.

Ports: We booked after Acapulco was dropped from the itinerary and were actually grateful about that. With all the recent news reports about gang wars, drive by shootings and general deterioration of the city many passengers felt the same way, besides I've been to Acapulco a number of times both by land and sea. NCL offered what I thought were some good and reasonable priced excursions in all the ports, although generally you can always do better at the pier or in town price wise, with the possible exception Manzanillo which does not have organized tourist facilities like the other ports. Personally, I always do my own research before I leave. If you haven't checked it out www.portreview.com do so, it's a wonderful site

Manzanillo: At first glance the downtown looks tiny, but like the tip of an iceberg most of it is hidden from view. I really enjoyed walking into town and exploring the back streets and shops. Manzanillo is a working port town and has one of the highest standards of living and lowest crime rates in Mexico. You are not assaulted by vendors, or children trying to sell "Chiclets". Speaking a few words of Spanish really helps here, as the town has not gone gaga for tourists (yet). Don't get me wrong, the people are friendly, it's just your not the center of their universe. Since NCL does not have recommended vendors here (meaning merchants who pay kickbacks) the Port Guide they provide is completely lacking.

Puerto Vallarta: I've been to PV more than 10 times, including an extended land based vacation last year. For "beach time" skip the large chain hotels, and head to Playa Los Muertos (beach) in the old section of town also know as the Romance Zone. If you tell the taxi driver to drop you off at the El Dorado Restaurant you'll be in the heart of things. Just walk up the beach until you find a spot you like, and then let the café personnel know you want to chair. For the cost of some drinks or food you can have a beach chair under a palapa (umbrella) and the best people watching in PV.

Mazatlan: On my perpetual least favorite Mexican resort town list. It doesn't have the sophistication, visual impact and beach environment PV has, or the shopping and glitzy newness of Cabo. Unless you're looking for diamonds or gemstones skip the tiny over-hyped "Golden Zone". Tour old town in one of the cute open air taxi's and save your shopping for the facility right next to the pier. You can get everything there that you could get in town, and actually at better prices.

Cabo: The only trouble with Cabo is time, or lack thereof. On almost every cruise I've been on the ship has to leave by 2pm to get back to the States. Therefore, Cabo is always a bit of a "rush." The most Americanized of the Ports, in the Marina area you'll swear you're in Southern California (is that a good thing?), complete with a Mall.

Cruise Staff and Activities: The Star offers the usually barrage of shipboard activities from Bingo to Trivia hosted by a very competent and charming cruise staff. If you were bored on this cruise you were: (1) anti social, (2) traveling with the wrong person(s), or (3) in need of anti-depressant medication. Make sure to check out the interactive Live at Five call-in show with the Cruise Director, it's a hoot.

Fellow Passengers: The whole gambit, from new born babies to the so to be departed, sophisticated travelers to drunken louts, chiseled fitness enthusiasts to enormous buffet junkies. Truly a bit of everything and everyone.

Disembarkation: No need to be out of your cabin at 8:00am like the old days, NCL continues to have a very urbane process for re-entering the world. You can stay in your cabin until your luggage tag color is called then you proceed to the designated lounge where you "clear" customs on the ship, instead of at the Pier. This eliminates the risk of being late off the ship because a person not of US citizenship doesn't understand announcements and cannot be located, because under the "Pier" system all non US residents were required to clear customs before any US citizens could disembark. While the itinerary said we wouldn't arrive in Long Beach until 9:00am, we actually were off the ship by then in plenty of time for our flight at 11:20am.

In the end: Every time I fill out the little survey cards you get the day before the end of the cruise I always come to the same conclusion; the complete experience is more than the sum of it's parts. Things can be less than perfect yet I still thoroughly enjoy myself. In the end it won't matter that a port got changed, or the waitperson trying to anticipate my every need didn't look completely thrilled while doing it. That's all small stuff. The big stuff is about completely relaxing and savoring the moment. The freedom of Freestyle dinning, and the quality of the specialty restaurants was the highlight of the cruise for me. This "traditional" mid-size ship lover couldn't help but appreciate the product the Star offered, and I'm certainly not complaining about the price.

DougMacP@aol.com
Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 21 - 30 of 64 1234567