Triumph Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Excellent
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
3.9
from 96 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

96 User Reviews of Triumph Cruise Ship

Never again will we sail on Carnival
Publication Date: January 28, 2014

Never again will we sail on Carnival.

Sail date, yesterday 1-27-14. After booking a hotel the night before, and traveling to the docks, we learned that Carnival had cancelled our reservations. They said e-mails were sent, but we didn't receive any. Come to find out, they had the wrong e-mail address. Also, in the days leading up to the cruise, the Carnival web site said "welcome, 14 days til cruise", 12 days to cruise, 9 days til cruise, etc.. It was counting down the days til our cruise. It gave no indication to us that our cruise had been cancelled.

The lady at customer relations said that it was "impossible" to not get e-mails, and it was "impossible" for the web site to count down the days if there was a cancellation. But it did happen that way. She basically called me a liar, and offered no compensation, future discounts or anything. Not only that, our deposit, and cancellation insurance was forfeited.

Never again will we sail on Carnival.

Read More
 
Mexico
Publication Date: December 27, 2012

It's been a week and some change since my body returned ashore in Galveston again, but I'm still not myself. I'm pretty sure I'm still out in the middle of the Gulf of Mexico aboard the Carnival Triumph and don't have any intentions of returning anytime soon. I was a first time cruiser on this journey so my opinion may be biased as I have nothing to compare it to, but regardless, I felt compelled to write about my wonderful experience. This will probably be lengthy, so feel free to skip through if you don't have the time.

I went on a four day cruise with my mother and sister. My mother cruised a long time ago when Carnival Cruise Lines was just the Carnival, and my sister was a first timer the same as myself. Just to be clear, we're both in our twenties, so we went as a fully adult family (no kids). My aunt and uncle had been out of Galveston twice in the past year or so (but on the Magic), so they had a lot of experience to share with us for getting through Port

Galveston and utilizing time and money wisely on the ship. Just about everything they told us (except for the differences between the Magic and Triumph) was extremely accurate and made our experience wonderfully smooth. I recommend to any first time cruisers - regardless of ship and line - to find some family or friends whom have been at sea recently to brief you on your journey beforehand. It's extremely helpful!

Galveston was unseasonably cold and miserable on departure day, but for being a cruise during the holidays, things seemed pretty light at the port terminal. The porter was quick to help us with our bags and was the first of many very friendly Carnival employees we would come across. We were expecting gigantic lines for check-in through what were we told was a maze of a building and obstacles, but they breezed us through very quickly. I think we waited a total of five minutes to check in, and security was even faster than that. We were on the ship a lot earlier than we expected. We were also told that they wouldn't begin embarkation until 12:30 but we were eating lunch on the Lido deck by 11:30! They also made an announcement aboard the ship that staterooms would not be ready until 1:30, but being my inquisitive self, I left my family to continue eating as I explored the ship, and I found myself at our stateroom pretty quickly - and it was ready long before then (though the bags hadn't arrived yet).

There's really nothing to do while waiting for departure, and everything aboard the ship is closed except for the bars and food places on Lido, as well as the Lobby bar where everyone boards the ship. They are playing loud party music the whole time which is fun for a while, but you have to save some of that party for departure. Some people (including us) eventually went to their rooms to catch a quick nap or just learn the features of a stateroom. We had an exterior/ocean view room on Main deck near the bow on the port side - which gave us a good view of the boarding action and gangway. Once again a common theme, they said everyone should be aboard by 3:30, but people were still being allowed to board 10 minutes before the safety briefing. The crew of the Triumph seemed to be very lenient on scheduled times for important events throughout the entire voyage, which is fine, but it made for a late departure from Galveston as well as from Cozumel.

As far as organization goes, boarding was smooth and most everything while underway as well. However, there were a few times which the process seemed to be completely unorganized and the thousands of passengers aboard just flooded the stairwells and elevators. The first time this happened was for the mandatory safety briefing, which they ask you to report to your muster station so you can watch them demonstrate how to put on a life vest. One thing I noticed right away though, they do not make it very clear where the muster stations are even for someone who pays attention to details. I eventually found small signs near the stairs that depicted them, but that was long after we were underway. There is nothing in the stateroom that tells you where to go, and muster stations aren't really organized to staterooms either. It was for these reasons that you had people coming from forward cabins going to rear stations and vice versa, as well as crossing between port and starboard stations. It was pretty chaotic, and they lined everyone up shoulder to shoulder three or four lines deep, so it was pretty hard to watch the crew members demonstrate anything. I think a much more acceptable safety briefing would be to override all the TVs aboard the ship, including the big screen on Lido, and just let people watch it from where they are. It probably took a good half hour from our scheduled departure time to watch a five minute briefing, so most of that time was spent just getting people to the right stations and lining them up. I think that process can be streamlined big time - or in the very least provide each stateroom with a diagram of muster stations so people know where to go.

Once the mess cleared up though, the party was on and we left Galveston about an hour late. Other features aboard began to come alive as we made it into open water, but people were already attacking the bars and casino which were not allowed to open until international waters - because we left late they didn't get to open until around 6:00 that evening. We spent some time in the Lobby drinking, and of all the bars aboard I think I spent the most time there. It is in the middle of the atrium and there's constantly things going on around it, so it is not a quiet place to drink, but they seemed to be the most generous with the alcohol of all the bars during the voyage.

Dinner was quite a treat for us since we were allowed to dine in t-shirts and jeans on Casual nights, but the dining room and service is extremely formal. It takes some getting used to if you're not exposed to formalities too often. The food was good though, even though I have seen other reviews saying that it was bland, generic, etc. I found it to be very tasty, and the menu selection was pretty good for adults - and selection changes nightly. A lot of items offered I couldn't see too many children ordering though, but they have off-menu service as well if they can't pass on the chicken nuggets. The desserts are probably the best, and a lot of them are made with artificial sweeteners.

Afterwards I split from my family and went to the duty free liquor store. You can't beat 4 1-liter bottles of Bacardi products for $38 anywhere in the states! Of course you cannot have your liquor until it is delivered to you the evening before debarkation, but they delivered mine in time that we could have made some last minute drinks. A word of advice, though: be sure you know the allowances that U.S. Customs allows you to bring back, because if you're over the limit, you'll end up having to pay the tax on them anyway. Basically you can bring back 1 liter of alcohol per person of age in your group. I spent the rest of the evening exploring all of the bars aboard the ship, and I might have done a little gambling (which I don't really remember). Since you're isolated on the ship in international waters, the bartenders seem to have no problem getting you drunk as long as you remain civil and coherent, and of course can afford to keep paying $8/drink. Be careful - that adds up at the end of the trip, but I knew that going into it. I think I had some pizza on the Lido deck to end the night, and I managed to make my way safely back to the stateroom, where I found my family already fast asleep. Party poopers!

As far as bars go, I spent most of my time in the Lobby bar (which I think has another name but I just called it "Lobby"). There's lots of noise and people around everywhere, but like I mentioned they seemed the most generous on the good stuff. The bar in the casino is probably where I spent the least time drinking. It is always very busy and the staff seems to be the least attentive -but they do allow smoking on one side (cigarettes only as I learned - no cigars). Another bar I spent a lot of time in is the California Wine Bar. It serves wine, but it serves other stuff too (including a martini taster). I even saw some people angered by that fact. It is in a high traffic area but is often bypassed, so it's pretty quiet. Just behind it is the Big Easy piano bar, which is also nice if you're into that. There's going to be a lot of repeat songs in there, though. Club Rio is very much like a lounge, dark and drafty with velvety seats all around. It's a good place to drink while watching the comedy or karaoke acts, but tableside service is slow. There are also numerous smaller bars on the Lido deck, which are basically just poolside walkups. If you're looking for peace and quiet, the Oxford Pub is the best. It was always dead when I went there, so there's no one to talk to usually, but it's extremely quiet if you need a break from the noise and action of the ship. There are lots of comfortable seats, too. It is hard to find though, mid-ship on Deck 4, which is cutoff from the forward and aft parts of that deck.

The Fun Shops weren't exactly what I expected them to be, but worth a look nonetheless. The liquor store was my favorite, of course. It was small, though, which meant small selection - but they also have all your small dry good necessities, and some pharmacy items, on hand. The majority of these stores on one side were souvenirs and the other was jewelry. There was also a fragrance shop and clothing shop. Almost every time I passed them, one would always be jam packed full of people due to some promotion they were throwing, so one could hardly ever find breathing room to just browse. I suggest you do your shopping at port.

The Rome Lounge is more of a small auditorium stuffed into the forward part of the ship. I found it quite amazing something that grand would be in a ship (it took space on 4 decks and probably had close to 500 seats), but they didn't seem to offer very many shows of interest in there. Most of the time they were offering information about Carnival sailing and going ashore, and other times there was a lot of Bingo being played. In the evenings they did have some small productions. I caught the show that reviewed many of the Broadway hits, and the performers were very talented, but in general it just didn't keep my interest. I am a big fan of musicals too, but I didn't find it very entertaining. It is not formal theatre at all, either - people are allowed constantly to come and go as they please. It made me feel that they aren't utilizing the space to its full potential, because it truly is a grand theatre area.

The first sea day we went through some rough water, and sometimes would experience trouble walking. It wasn't too bad though, but the high wind forced them to close the mini golf and other activities on the upper decks. Otherwise, there was plenty of activity across the ship all day and night, and lots of activities offered. That was also the formal dinner night, or as they say, "Carnival Elegant". They even rent dresses and tuxedos for it, but I just stuck with a collared shirt and slacks. I didn't pack my dress shoes either, but I got by wearing my walking shoes. Most people stayed dressed well into the evening. I returned to Club Rio to watch the "family friendly" comedy act. Unfortunately, I think due to the self-censoring, the comedian I saw bombed horribly mostly because of lack of clean material.

The next morning we finally arrived to nice, warm weather in Cozumel. Getting off the ship was unfortunately the most unorganized mess I've had to wade through in a long time. As soon as people saw we were approaching the pier, they began to flood the stairwells, and so there was just a ton of people moving very slowly trying to squeeze through the small doors downstairs. Families were getting separated. No announcements were made other than a "welcome to Cozumel", and no efforts to organize the mess were being made either. In fact, there were even some employees in the middle of the chaos trying to sell $5 bottles of water. The only positive part of such an experience is that everyone was in such a good mood so there wasn't really any cutting in line, complaining, or anything else - just a lot of wise cracks and excitement. This was the part of the voyage where Carnival truly failed to impress me - everything else I was quite happy with.

Since this is a review of the Triumph, I will skip the details on Cozumel, only to say that it's so Americanized that you don't even feel the least bit out of place or unsafe - at least in the cruise ship area. I didn't go into town so I can't say what it's like there, but I assume it's very much the same. Getting back on the ship was the same nightmare as getting off - no organization and very slow security process. We departed about an hour late, but everyone was so drunk and happy that the entire ship was partying as we said goodbye to Mexico. They held a late night party on the Lido deck, which was a lot of fun, but we ran back into the weather we'd left behind and mid-party it began to get very windy and cold.

The second sea day was a rough one. Winter in the Gulf of Mexico at its finest. I was watching the waves from the outer part of the Lobby deck crash on the bow of the ship and then splash nearly twenty feet away from us. The rough seas were not unfelt throughout the ship. In fact, I could not really sit down for a long period of time because I'd begin to feel queasy. Walking around was tough for a lot of people, too, but everyone remained in good spirits. I stayed on the Lido deck most of the day, just because it seemed to be the least motionless deck, although the pools had been drained because it was so rough, water was going everywhere. Also, the list of ship's activities was much shorter than the outbound sea day's. There was hardly anything to do except drink and gamble. It seems like they should spend a lot of time that day entertaining people, because they'll all be sad the next when they have to get off the ship.

Carnival realized there were a lot of Dallas Cowboys fans requesting the game on this trip, so it made the big screen that evening as a planned event. So instead of dinner, my family and I took part in the dining room lunch for the first time. The menu was decent, but service was nothing like the evening dinner service. These were different waiters, and they were not as friendly or attentive as the evening crew. I would just stick to lunch on the Lido deck. So that evening in rough seas, my family went out on the Lido deck amongst a bunch of other Cowboys fans bundled up in warm clothes, blankets, and towels to watch the game on the big screen. It was not a scene you'd expect on a cruise, but everyone was making the best of it. This being a few days past Christmas though, there were a lot of kids on this trip. It seemed tolerable most of the trip for singles, couples, and adults in general, but the last evening things kind of got out of hand. There were a lot of kids just roaming free throughout the ship with no parents around. Yes, even in the casino. That wouldn't be tolerated in Las Vegas. I don't know why that evening was different from the rest, but it was enough to say I wouldn't go around Christmas again.

To counter that, I went to the late night "adults only" comedy show, where the comedian I'd seen before did a lot better material-wise. The second comedian was extremely funny, and had everyone laughing start to finish. It was a nice way to end the night and keep minds off of the rough waters we were all feeling. The host of the show also brought up an interesting statistic that made me think there were a lot of fellow Texans aboard. He said that the Club Rio bar for a standard four day trip usually takes in about $12000-$14000 in liquor sales, but this voyage being so near Christmas had over 1100 passengers under 18, they estimated a much lower take. By that night (and they weren't even finished serving yet), they had brought in $34000 on our trip alone, in that bar alone. I got a good laugh from that, too.

Information was readily available about debarkation across the ship, so they are most organized when trying to get everyone off the ship. Everything is done the night before - if you're checking your bags they bring tags, and they also bring your Declarations forms. They tell you to debark by floor numbers and stay out of the Lobby. Carnival means business for arrival. Everything except Lido is shut down, and we went to breakfast before getting ready to leave. When we came back, they had already started to clean our room. They were friendly about it, but it was obvious they wanted to turn the ship fast, as it was leaving again that same afternoon. Everything in that process went smoothly, except that the handle on one of my liquor boxes broke and one of my bottles went leaking all over the floor of the Lobby. I was very upset for a few minutes, but to anyone that was trying to step around that mess, I apologize. It turned out that I would have had to pay taxes on it anyway as I was one over my family limit, but of course I was willing to do that so I still considered it a loss. But getting through Customs was a breeze and again Port Galveston was a cinch. We were on our way home in no time.

That is where I'll conclude my inexperienced cruise review. I hope it offers some insight into first time experiences and the Carnival Triumph. Carnival has some issues here and there, and I don't expect perfection, but overall it was an amazing experience that left me high, dry, and begging for more. It was not nearly long enough for me and I am already trying to arrange to go on my second cruise for my upcoming birthday. This time I'll probably go it alone or with a friend, and on a longer trip with more ports of call. Would I sail on Triumph again? Yes. Would I sail on Carnival again? Yes. But would I consider another cruise line as well? Yes, if just for the perspective.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: August 8, 2012

Overall experience with my 2nd carnival cruise, which we have done more with other cruise lines, was OK! The kids (8 & 6) loved it, but my wife and I had our issues.

embarkation: The only way to get on the boat is through VIP check-in, we were on the boat less that 10 minutes from being dropped off by the shuttle. Our room #9205 was set-up for 4, was a jr. suite and had plenty of storage and space for kids. with balcony, bed was comfortable,and in a section at the end of the hall where you heard nothing most of the time.

Leaving out of galveston, you had all sorts of people, and we noticed that a lot of couples were onboard. This makes me laugh, cause you know the KIDS rule the ship and swimming pools. Mostly all the kids were in the pools and hot tubs... if you think that the carnival ship is a place to romantic hot-tub relaxing... your wrong! all kids were jumping in and out (including mine) in the hot tubs and got many patrons upset.SORRY! Food: I have better, it the same

"Ryans, Furrs, or Golden Corral quality. We had breakfast in the main dining room to avoid the crowds, but that was super bad, and getting worse through the days. Every ham/chesse omelette, arrrive burned, burned enough to peel it open.

Drinks were ok but weak, had to have double shots,or drink beer. Formal dining is ok, but seemed rushed most nights. Food ok, nothing special, was disappointed with desserts like cherrys jubillee, and baked alaska. Ordered mostly on repeat food item menu.

Music on deck was too loud, and such old songs played, and I'm 55. would have like more upbeat tropical or dance music. Shows were bad. New Orleans finale show was stupid... didn't even celebrate Mardi Gras other that beads and streamers. Shore excursion: cozumel Great place for beach... Passion Island is great but to crowded... carnival dream was at port too. Progresso was horrid... vendors unbearable and transfer to ship/town ridicules. My kids dreaded kids camp, did not send them after seeing several kids crying for their "mommies". Staff was nice, not overly friendly, seemed to me that they were overworked or irritated. Some were just forced to say Good morning as we walked the halls.

The whole amostsphere of the Triumph was good, It's a GREAT ship for KIDS to enjoy. The water slide, pizza, and ice cream were my kids favs... wished they would show better movies on deck instead of oldies like :sweet home alabama. That was wierd. Photots on board are good. We brought so many, just because you pay just as much with a sitting in a studio with possible 2 backgrounds, whereas we had multiple scene backdrops that we paid close to %250.00/ same price. Overall good cruise, just as I expected, My kids love shopping at Walmart, and make any opportunity to go there, Carnival Triumph is the same quality and standards as such.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: October 29, 2011

The Triumph had about 2,000 people aboard this time and has 11 decks. This was a 5 day sail out of the port of Galveston to Progreso Mexico and Cozumel. I was on deck 10 in an inside state room about 4 rooms away from the forward elevators. This was really an ideal location because of the way the ship is laid out. There is a pool and hot tub close-by and the lido deck where most of the food choices and buffets are.. is one floor below. The cabin I had was spacious, the bed was unbelievably comfortable with buttery soft linens and pillows. I got towel animals every night with chocolates and the room is made up twice per day. I love the bathroom showers. They are quite roomy and set up perfectly..Very well thought out. They provide luxury robes as well. There is more than enough room for your hanging clothing as well as storing your other clothes. Ample room in the safe as well (no extra fee). The TV is old but it works and you do get at least 8 or so channels plus PPV

movies. They have some nights where they show free movies with no PPV charge. This is great compared to my Celebrity cruise where the TV never worked in the 7 nights we sailed in our balcony suite. You can also access all the charges to your account via the TV and they keep them current (daily).

The staff on board this ship are amazing..I don't think I ran into one bad staff member. They were all 10 steps above any staff member I encountered at Celebrity. They far exceeded any expectation and went out of their way to help and do everything they could to make sure you had fun and enjoyed your trip, period!! My room was always cleaned well, service everywhere always excellent. Employees here more often than not always smiling..truly enjoying their jobs!!

Now..Where Carnival could use some improvement is their food at the South Beach Buffet. The food here is often mediocre. One thing could always be counted on to be good, and that was the fish! The only time the fish was not outstanding was when they fried it. The other thing that was almost always delicious was their desserts..even the diet desserts!! The meatloaf was surprisingly delicious with au jus gravy. However, the other red meat and pork chop dishes were always TOUGH and needed some serious tenderizing!! I tried two or three different kinds of steak dishes and two different pork dishes and they were so tough that I took one or two bites and stopped. I also never saw mashed potatoes. Potato salad every single day gets old. Their cornbread dressing tasted like glue. Their chicken dishes were usually pretty good..On a 1 to 5 scale - usually a 3 to a 5. Fresh fruits and salads available daily and those were always good. Breads were just ok. Buffet recommendations overall - get the fish dishes, fried shrimps, potato salad, fresh fruits and salad and any dessert that looks good to you. Go over to Chopsticks (near the South Beach buffet line) and get the glass noodles!! They are to die for! I tried the Pizza place on board one day. I had the goat cheese (Chevre goat cheese), sausage and mushroom pizza. Honestly, it was not that good. I'd give it a 3 out of 5 at best. In the main dining room the only three memorable things I had to eat were: the Lobster (on elegant night), the dessert pear soaked in wine (diet), and the shrimp cocktail. Note: be sure to ask for two lobster tails on elegant night as the lobster tails they serve you are tiny and they don't mind bringing you a second! Breakfast - If you're like me and you do not want to bother with main dining room for bfast, the made to order omlets are good on the lido deck, sausages are just ok and you have to go to the middle of South Beach buffet line to be served up some bacon if you want any. Coffee is excellent in the main dining room but just ok at South Beach buffet.

Extra charges - Bottled water does not come cheap on this ship. I spent at least $40 in 5 days on just bottled water. A canned coke is $2. Alcoholic beverages will cost you too..My tab for those was pretty pricy as well. About 6.50 for a small rum punch. Large rum punch was $14. You are not allowed to bring any alcoholic beverages on board. I rode in a transport van with 3 women who got their bottles of alcohol (that they had packed in their luggage) confiscated. I did see people attempting to bring cases of water and cokes on board - I do not know if they let them or not. I had one large bottled water in my carry on bag and no one questioned that or searched me. Make sure you have 2 robes and 2 beach/pool towels in your room when you get there, otherwise, you will be charged for them later! I was missing 2 robes. The tea and coffee is free. I suggest if you like coffee and tea, drink to your hearts content! $50 per person in the cabin is auto charged to your sail and sign card for tips (pre-paid) so you don't have to worry about paying at the end of the cruise. However, they will leave you and envelope for the Maitre' D on your last night to tip him at your last dinner. He is not included in that $50 pre-paid tip.

Port stops: I can't say much about Progreso, Mexico as I did not get off the ship. It was raining and I had heard that Progreso was not all that enthralling. However, don't go by what I heard!!! Cozumel: rented a car and snorkeled in front of the Cozumelena Hotel, Playa Corona, and Playa Palancar. All good snorkel spots. Playa Palancar is pretty far from port so you will need a rental car to get there but it is the most comfortable and probably most picturesque spot of all. It is also away from the throngs of tourists so you won't feel like a sardine. The fish tacos here are to die for and the loungers are pretty and padded. Tropical drinks are good and frosty and served chair side..as are any meals or snacks you want from the grill. All very reasonably priced. The snorkeling here is not bad either!!

Debarkation on this ship is long and arduous. It needs to be streamlined.

Overall, when I compare this cruise to Celebrity (which I paid tons more money for), Carnival wins hands down because of the excellence in service. My Cabin Steward (Muhammad) was stellar in his service, my cocktail waiter (Arthah) in the casino was outstanding, fast and always had a smile for me, and "Z" my main dining room waitress was fun, fast and always accommodating.

My recommedation..GO! Have a great time on the Triumph!!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: August 26, 2011

Our 2011 Carnival cruise ship experience on the Triumph was not a pleasurable or comfortable experience at all for my family, and consisted of such atrocities as a children's counselor using foul language in front of the kids, a sewage leak on our floor just 2 doors from our cabin, a terrible vibration in the room that kept us from sleeping at night, a sharp piece of aluminum floor trim that cut my 8 year old daughter's toe so badly we needed to seek medical attention off ship as the ship's doctor and nurse would not assist us, small groups of delinquent teenage/early 20′s men roaming the hallways looking for fights with other people, and a staff that generally didn't care about the issues we were having.

We created a website dedicated to our terrible cruise. Visit it and read about our Carnival trip.

Don't get Carnivaled!

visit www.carnivaled.com to read about our trip

Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: November 4, 2010

This was our 10th cruise on Carnival and our 12th from New Orleans. We are laid back travellers and pretty good at going with the flow. However, this cruise may have us looking to another ship and departure port in the future. As you read this be aware that I am a native New Orleanian

We live 3 hours away so drove in the morning of the cruise. Drive up, pay your money with credit card or cash, park and head into the terminal. Very easy. As platinum members, we went to a special waiting area where we sipped OJ and ate cookies while waiting for our names to be called. From the time we left the car to walking onboard took about 15 minutes.

Rooms were not ready until 1:30 so we had lunch at the buffet. The dining room is not open for lunch on embarkation day. At about 1:25 we headed up to our room area and found the hallway doors still closed. No problem. About that time two women with 4 children ages about 4-8 came through and began cursing about the rooms not being ready. They

repeatedly and loudly declared this wasl bull****. They had paid for this cruise and they were going to their MF***ing rooms. The children began chanting bull**** repeatedly. everyone in the party thought this was quite cute. They jerked open the door, berated the hall steward and went to their room. A few moments later the doors were open for everyone. This behavior became the norm for a very large number of passengers on this cruise.

The food on the Triumph was a completely mixed bag. Some items - fish, vegetables and salads were very well done, while the soups and deserts were just awful. The deserts especially seemed to have no flavor. Anything with a creamy filling or topping was a very attractive but tasteless greasy concoction. Portions were quite large, especially for cruise fare. Frequently I could not finish my entree portion and I'm a "clean your plate" kinda' gal.Dining room service was very good and the servers anxious to please. Since there is no steak house onboard, several items are available for $18 - steak and lobster.

While we did not order anything from the bar, it did seem that service was slow. We were seated at table 341 in the Paris dining room which afforded a great aft view. Anytime dining was advetised as being available in the London dining room, but our waiter said they were using some of the small tables in the Paris for anytime as well. The waiters only did their dance routine one time during the cruise.

Bands throughout the ship were very good and played a nice mix of music. Our only disppointment was that our version of dance music (ballroom, romantic stuff) was usually offered in the lounge reserved for cigar smoking and it was awaft with smoke, so we skipped the dancing for breathing.

Our cabin was 6350 and well located. Convenient and without ordinary problems. Had our hall neighbors not whooped, hollered, slammed doors and hung out in the hall all night it would have been quite nice.

The cabin is spacious and actually had TWO wall outlets in the cabin area. There is a shaver plug in the bathroom which is part of the wall mounted hair dryer. The shower is larger than most ships and had plenty of water pressure. Soap and shampoo are in wall mounted dispensers. There was a normal sized medicine cabinet complete with a door. There was more than enough storage place for DH and I.

There were three full sized closets in the cabin and two smaller ones beneath the vanity and the TV. There was a loveseat that folds out to a bed. I think this was the only ship I've been on where the bed is next to the window. My side of the bed gave me about 8" of walking space between the bed and balcony window. No problem for me, but a larger person might have a problem.

The balcony had two side chairs and a small table. The partition between balconies can be opened by the room steward. When open it will partially obscure the view of one cabin.

The safe in the room is the kind which uses your room key or credit card. This is problematic as only one room kay opens it (if you set it with yours, your roommate cannot open it with his) We worked around it, but the pin number kind is more user friendly.

The casino has the usual assortment of slots and table games and the slots and video poker machines were about as tight as I've ever encountered on a ship. Not many happy slot players. You use your room key to download credits. This became a somewhat cumbersome process as many of the keypads on the machines were well worn and had to be mashed repeatedly to respond. Likewise, many of the multiple line slot machines were set only for the maximum number of lines and the lower bet per line values were not available.

There were two slot tournaments and one blackjack tournament. There was also a Texas hold 'em event but it was by video link or something.

The pool area in the back has adults only spas but the pool is for all ages. The children of course use the spas and no one oversees the usage. The roof of this area is retractable which was nice as our sea day home was quite cool. However, the closed space makes for a noisy place when you add a few dozen children. There is a bar, a grill and ice cream station in the area.

The main pool area has stadium style seating which is great for viewing the big screen TV. The LSU - Alabama game was on one afternoon which was quite an event! There is a water slide which was open depending on weather.

The buffet is your typical buffet food with the typical bottlenecks. There is plenty of seating, especially if you are willing to go upstairs. The NY deli and Chinese noodle restaurant are in the buffet area and offer a nice alternative to the buffet.

The spa area includes a free steam and sauna with rooms that look out over the sea. The showers are very large and a good alternative for those who find their cabin showers claustrophobic.

Disembarking was quick and easy. As platinum members we were to meet in the London dining room at 6:45 and actually were off the ship a few minutes before that. By 6:55 we were on I-10 heading home.

Now for the rant: There were several group reunions onboard and some behaved horribly. They seemed to have no concern whatsoever for anyone around them. One evening they decided it would be "fun" to blockade the bathrooms near the casino. Then they grew bored with that and decided to bar entry of staff members to a staff access door. They repeatedly would sit side by side and block entire stairways and defy you to try and pass them. Security was never anywhere to be seen and they became quite intimidating to a lot of passengers.

We have experienced a bit of this on our last short cruise from N.O. but decided it was a fluke. This cruise proved to us that it seems to be the norm for Carnival's New Orleans operation. I understand that 4 day cruises attract a different demographic than 7 day, but the lack of security's intervention is without excuse. I love New Orleans and it's people, but I'm afraid the Triumph will not be seeing us again.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Carnival Triumph
Publication Date: November 2, 2010

Having never cruised with Carnival, but having disparaged them because of their "Party Hearty" and advertising campaign featuring Kathy Lee Gifford I felt it only fair to give up all pre-conceived notions about Carnival Cruise Line and their newest ship the Carnival Triumph. This report is based on our 4 day cruise from NYC to Halifax, Nova Scotia on 9/12/99 to 9/16/99. This was our tenth cruise, other lines we have sailed include Holland America, Norwegian, Royal Caribbean, Princess and Commodore. All our previous cruises were in the Caribbean.

New York City is an incredible place to cruise away from. No other port has the look of NYC which seems to rise right out of the water. It is simply thrilling to sail from this port. We arrived at the passenger ship terminal at approximately 11:30am. We quickly located a porter to take our luggage and proceeded up to passenger registration. This was accomplished quickly and efficiently and despite our being told that we would not be boarding until 1:00pm, we were onboard ship by 12:15pm. All check-ins should be so simple.

Exploring the ship: The Triumph is a huge ship and navigating her

decks can be quite a challenge. Decks 1 and 2 are passenger decks with standard outside cabins of approximately 235sqft and insides of 185sqft. Additional signs would be of great help to most as they are really needed to help one navigate. The crew has resorted to posting there own paper signs to help passengers out.

Entrance to the ship is gained on deck three by walking across the side promenade and entering the ship. Entrance is into the Capitol Atrium. which extends from deck 3 to deck 10. On other ships I have sailed when one enters the atrium for the first time the word usually used is wow. In this sense the Capital Atrium is a letdown as it is not as striking a space as is seen on some other ships. Done in a combination of black and silver gray marble floors with black metal ceilings and smoked glass balcony railings the atrium is very dark and is entirely disconnected from the sea. There is a large, flat, gold map of the world on the atrium ceiling that bends around and extends up into the upper atrium. To give the impression of the earth floating in space the surrounding walls are done in black with gold stars. There are four glass elevators serving the atrium and these are lit with white lights and violet neon. Also outlining the stairs, balconies and floors are miniature lights and some more violet neon. The whole space reminds one of a Las Vegas or Atlantic City casino. This feeling extends to other areas of the ship as well.

Accessible from deck three of the atrium are the lower level of the two story London Dining Room, the Information Desk and Shore Excursion/Video Desk. Located in the center of the atrium is the Capital Bar, which is a central meeting spot and a nice place to people watch. Live music is played here as well. Forward of the atrium is the lower level of the Rome Lounge. This is the main show lounge and is a truly spectacular showplace. Equipped with the latest in high technology including lasers, the room is three decks high. The lowest level is not sloped and this means those in the rear will be dodging heads to get a good view. The balconies are steeply sloped and except for having to look around some railings great views can be had from the balconies. The stage has sections that rotate and elevate. The shows make full use of all the available technology and they are the best I have seen at sea.

All the way aft on deck three is the London Dining Room. This is the larger of the two dining rooms and is flanked on three sides by windows affording great sea views, at least for those luck enough to be seated near them. The center of the Paris dining room is large and is also very noisy. Situated between the two dining rooms is the Galley.

Going up to deck four the Atrium is flanked by the photo galleries on both sides. Photos taken during the cruise are displayed here and they sell for $8.00 for a 6"x9" and 8"x10" portraits sell for $19.95. Going forward of the galleries is the second level balcony of the Rome lounge, heading aft is the upper level of the London Dining Room. Tucked to either side of the dining room entrance are the Washington Library and the Photo shop. Aft of the dining room are the Oxford Bar, a very nice room for easy listening and dancing. Unfortunately, the Oxford Bar is located directly underneath the disco, which destroys the room's ambiance once the disco gets cranked up. During the afternoon tea is served here accompanied by chamber music and small pastries are served. Located on the port side just forward of the Oxford Bar is the Cardroom. Located all the way aft on deck four is the upper entrance to the Paris Dining Room.

Deck five is the main entertainment deck on the ship. Located forward is the upper balcony entrance to the Rome Lounge. Heading aft and located on either side of the atrium are the Triumph shops which offer a selection of logo items, liquors, clothing, jewelry and souvenirs. On the port side aft of the shop is the Olympic Sports Bar and on the opposite side is a small shop called Formalities which handles tuxedo rentals. Running along the starboard side all the way from the atrium to the Club Rio lounge at the stern is a promenade called World's Way. This promenade connects all the public rooms on Deck 5. These rooms include the Club Monaco Casino, World's Bar, Vienna Cafe, Underground Tokyo video arcade, Hollywood Dance Club disco, The California wine Bar, The Big Easy Piano Bar and Venezia. Whew! The Vienna Cafe offers specialty coffees, liquors, pastries and cakes for an extra charge. The cakes and pastries cost $2.00 and the coffees $3.00 and up. The Hollywood Dance Club is lined with 500 television monitors which can create amazing visual effects. Women be aware that the dance floor of the disco is clear which allows for some interesting views from the Oxford Bar dance floor located directly below!! The Big Easy Piano Bar has walls and ceiling lined with oyster shells inset into a blue colored plaster like material. Certainly the most unique wall or ceiling finish I have ever seen. Located in the middle of the room is a grand piano with circular seating around it. The tables in the room are provided with microphones for sing-alongs. The Vennezia is a room decorated to evoke Venice. The room is used for jazz music. Regrettably prior to dinner the room is used for karaoke which eliminates this room as a venue for a quiet drink with fine music prior to dinner. In fact it is darn near impossible to find a quiet spot anywhere on this ship. At the stern is Club Rio which is the second show lounge for cabaret type acts. The Captains welcome aboard cocktail party is also held here.

Decks 6, 7 and 8 are devoted to cabins. The outside cabins have a small verandah of 45 square feet and an interior area of 180sqft. The insides are of standard size.

Deck 9 forward is devoted to cabins with verandahs and inside cabins. Heading aft we find the lowest level of the outdoor lido area. This contains the Continental Pool, stage, and sunning areas. Further aft is the Lido dining area called The South Beach Club. This has dual buffet lines with a centrally located dessert island. On the Port side is located the Pasta D'Italia and Starboard is the Hong Kong Noodle Company. All the way aft on deck nine is the New World Pool and lido area. This area is covered by a moveable magrodome roof, allowing use in all type of weather. Next to the pool are two whirlpools. Also located in this area is a bar, pizzeria, hamburger grill and a self serve soft ice cream dispenser.

Deck 10 forward has more verandah outside and inside cabins. This is also the upper terminus for the Capitol Atrium. Going Aft outside there are terraced sunning areas and the second lido pool called Universe. Adjacent to this pool is a large whirlpool and the trough which is at the end of the water slide. Heading aft on either side and all the way to the stern is a large deck devoted to sunning. Near the stern is the upper dining level of the South Beach Club.

Deck 11 contains the Health Spa and gymnasium along with outside cabins. Aft and fully encircling the huge winged funnel is a the jogging track.

Lastly Deck 12 contains the aerobics room, juice bar and the children's room with a children's deck with wading pool located on the port side. Not shown on the deck plans is the Funnel Deck. This deck is at deck 12 level and is at the base of the funnel. The railings are screened off by canvas. This area is a topless sunbathing area. Signs state that it is for adults only, no still or video cameras are allowed.

ENTERTAINMENT The entertainment offered on this ship is outstanding. There are two main production shows "Around The World" and "Century Cafe". "Around The World" takes you on a musical tour across the globe. The special effects are wonderful and all one can say is WOW!. The standing ovation given by the appreciative audience was well deserved. This is the best show I have ever seen at sea. "Century Cafe" takes a look at music through the last 100 years, starting in the Victorian era and ending in the 90's all done on the premises of a cafe which serves as the connecting piece throughout. While not quite as spectacular as the other show, it is none the less entertaining and offers an elaborate laser light show to boot. Comedians, a jazz ensemble, a three piece chamber music group, and several individual entertainers all combine to provide a myriad of enjoyable entertainment options. However the layout of the ship works against some entertainment venues. For example the Disco is so loud that the it intrudes on the piano bar and the Oxford Bar. There is a piano player next to the casino who is quite talented but the din of the casino right across the promenade is a constant intrusion. Other entertainment includes bingo, horse racing, dance classes, cards and a wide variety of other daily activities. The Cruise Director on our cruise was John Heald. He is truly talented person, just the right blend of silliness and knowledge, he has a gift for poking fun at everyone and everything and even if you are the recipient of his barbs you cannot help but laugh. His talks and lectures should not be missed as they are almost worth the price of admission, (OOPS, I forgot, no charge!). Especially nice was the he was at the gangway when we departed to wish all a safe journey home. Well done, John!.

DINING The food on this ship is perhaps it's weakest link. While reported to be significantly improved from that offered previously by Carnival it was found to be nothing memorable. On most ships the menu's are beautifully printed and present the evenings offering in a way that makes them understandable and appealing. On this ship the menus were very small, never varied in color, form or layout and were somewhat indicative of the dining experience to follow. Appetizers were lumped together with soups making it harder than it should be to figure out what one wants for dinner. The appetizers and soups were pedestrian. The main courses concentrated on beef and fish, with a lamb and pork offering on two nights. Warm water lobster was offered on one night. Beef dishes included chateaubriand and prime rib (twice) and steak. Veal was never offered. All dishes were served warm and the meats were tender and of good quality. Most dishes were in the small nouvelle cuisine size portions so popular today. What the menu lacked was any sense of a dining adventure. Rolls and breads were poor in quality and selection and they were nearly tasteless. Also the choice of breads never varied from night to night. Desserts were a real letdown. On one night Baked Alaska is served. No other desserts are offered unless one specifically asks. Similarly Cherries Jubilee was offered and no other dessert found it's way to our table. I do not eat cherries so I ordered the Jubilee without the cherries, giving me a dish of vanilla ice cream. On one night a request for after dinner cheese was made, but never delivered. A souffle of some sort with a mysterious white sauce was offered another night. We did not order this. Our waiter said the chef had made our desert selection for us!.

The lido dining experience offers self serve buffet items with a selection of cold cuts, hot dishes, salads and a carving station with turkey, beef or fresh ham. There is plenty of space on two levels in which to partake lunch. The buffet area reminded one of nothing so much as an all-you-can eat buffet at a casino hotel. Nothing very special, but unlimited quantities. Oriental food items are available from the Oriental Noodle Company. This offers a limited menu of Chinese and oriental dishes. Pasta D'Italia offers just that, Italian pasta dishes.

Our favorite lunch time dining area was the Coney Island Grill offering hamburgers, hot dogs, steak sandwiches and grilled chicken breasts along with all the fixings. In the mornings fresh made omelet's are made here. On the other side is the Pizzeria Napoli. This is a real pizzeria offering a variety of fresh baked pizzas and calzones. The pizzeria is open 24 hours a day!. The pizza is very good and well worth a visit. Also located here is a soft serve ice cream machine where one could make ice cream cones anytime they wanted but no toppings were available. A similar set-up is located by the front lido area.

While maybe not the best dining experience at sea, I doubt if anyone will go hungry on the Triumph.

SERVICE Our dining room waiter was from Poland and his bus-girl assistant was from Chile. Both provided good service but did suffer some minor lapses. Iced tea was not refilled on a few occasions and bread refills were lacking. But overall they were competent and tried hard to please. We had a continental style breakfast in our cabin on our two days at sea and it was delivered exactly at the time we requested. Some bars seemed understaffed and on a few occasions we had to wait over five minutes for a bartender to take our order. This seemed especially true at the Capitol Bar. Deck drink service was good and not pushy, which was appreciated. A 15% gratuity is added to all bar bills. One place where service did shine was at the Captain's welcome aboard cocktail party. Hot appetizers along with champagne, whiskey sours and screwdrivers were constantly available, quite a change from other cruises where you were lucky to see the waiter once or twice.

DECOR The Triumph is reported to be much more subdued in decor compared to other Carnival ships. Based on pictures I have seen of other Carnival ships I would say that this is absolutely true. Carnival's interior designer, Joe Farcus, has made a deliberate attempt to tone down his somewhat amazing, bold and sometimes strange interior designs. What he has done with the Triumph interior is to create an interior decor that offers little of the neon, glitz and glitter of his other ship designs without offering the ambiance or refinement of other cruise ships. Mr. Farcus seems to absolutely hate an unadorned or undecorated wall surface. Every possible surface has a design of some kind or another. Something some designers like to call "surface excitement". Perhaps the oddest, at least for me, was The Big Easy Bar. This room is covered on the upper half of the walls and all of the ceiling with oyster shells set into a deep blue colored material. What oysters have to do with the "Big Easy" I don't know.

While this penchant for covering every surface with something is not a problem in some areas, it is bothersome in others. Especially bothersome is the rear lido area, including the South Beach Cafe, where wall decorations of different colored glass create a pattern that resembles a giant eyeball. These are lined up all around the room and lido area perimeter. The image is not unlike that of the CBS eye, but in color. It gives one the uneasy feeling that "Big Brother" is watching you!. I also found some floor covering color patterns a bit jarring. The show lounges, the Oxford Bar, the library and Venenzia lounge are all nicely decorated. Overall, the feeling one has is that of a themed casino hotel. In and of itself this might have been OK but the layout and decor has served to disconnect passengers from the sea. The interior is very dark in the atrium.

PORTS OF CALL Being a four day cruise we had just one stop, Halifax, Nova Scotia. This is an historic old sea port and has some sites of interest. Most of the shore excursions revolve around a visit to Peggy's Cove. This is a rocky and boulder strewn location situated around a very small cove. A white and red lighthouse sits at the highest point overlooking the Atlantic. The site offers great opportunities for photographs. However shopping is extremely limited with only two small shops.

On our day at Peggy's Cove the weather was perfect offering unlimited vistas. This is the exception rather than the rule. Our guide said that a day like ours happens only once in a hundred. whether this is true or not we were told that the prior few cruises had poor weather for their visits. One problem is that the place tends to get overrun with visitors. You get only about 1 hour or so at the cove and better than an hour ride to and from it. If were visiting Halifax again I would skip this trip and concentrate on the sites in and around Halifax as you would make better use of the limited time you are there. We didn't do much shopping so I can't really comment on what is available in Halifax. We did buy a few things at the pier-side vendor area, and given the favorable exchange rate, prices were very reasonable.

ODDS & ENDS The Triumph rides like all modern cruise ships. She is sensitive to wind and sea conditions and will list when she makes a turn. On our cruise we had very calm seas and the ship developed a very easy and slow motion that was barely perceptible most of the time. One could almost forget that they were at sea when inside the ship. However, on our return to NYC the ship did take on a noticeable list to starboard. This list lasted for about 10 minutes or so. Others noticed it as well, but I doubt if it exceeded 5 to 7 degrees. I have no idea what may have caused it. I also have no idea why Carnival provides nothing but a bar of soap in the bathroom (bring your own toiletries!).

The ship was spotless, as befits a new ship. The crew is doing a good job so far of keeping the ship in top condition. The swimming pools are filled with sea water on a daily basis, but the sea water temperature was in the high 60's and not really conducive to taking a dip. The hot tubs were all in operation and they were surprisingly un-crowded all of the time. The water slide was great fun and although the water was equally as cold as the pools it was barely noticed given the excitement of going down the slide. Watch out for that last turn, it comes quickly and you are discharged into a long trough, and you barely have time to catch your breath before you are in the trough. Regrettably, the slide is only open for limited hours during the day and I would imagine that on a Caribbean cruise the slide would be very crowded whenever it is open. There are rinse off showers next to the pools but these were cold water showers. Warn water would be much better.

Purchasing of shore excursion tickets needs to be rethought. I was told that it will be changed. But we had to endure a nearly 30 minute line in order to purchase tickets. Had we been alone we would have toured on our own, but we were with a small group and some felt uncomfortable doing this.

SUMMING UP I must admit that some of my preconceived notions about Carnival were wrong. The entertainment and service was better than I thought it would be. My fellow passengers seemed to be fun loving but far from the "Party Hearty" crowd I thought they would be. Perhaps this is due to the time of the year we cruised. I for one did not really care for most of the interior decor, the feeling of being disconnected from the sea or the sheer size of the ship.

I think the Triumph will be far better suited to the warm weather of the Caribbean as this is the area she was designed for. Our small group which included three first time cruisers left with mixed emotions. We had a great deal of fun during the cruise which was our main objective. Given the highly discounted price we paid for this cruise we received great value for our dollar. But we all came away with the feeling that four days on this ship was enough and in the future we would look elsewhere for our next cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: April 10, 2010

Embarkation was a breeze as Carnival allowed boarding starting at 10:30 am. No lines and right to the ship at 11:00am when we arrived.

Shows on cruise were good. Better than the 3 previous we went on all with Carnival. The hypnotist was the best. Food was as good as usual but found the portion size smaller than in the past. I guess they are cutting costs where they can. The Filet Mignon had broiled shrimp added as the entree. Very tasty. Ports of Call Belize, Roaton, and Cozumel. All were great! Best collection of ports we have seen thus far as we love to snorkel. Great reef!

Only disappointment was the layout of the Triumph. Did not like the fact that the 3 and 4 levels you could not go fore to aft on either side of the ship as the dining room is on the 3 and 4 level aft. All in all, a very good cruise.

Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: February 1, 2010

Our second cruise from New Orleans.We had a blast! Weather was kind of cool & windy going & coming back, but it was to be expected in Feb. Snorkeling in Cozumel was awesome! If I went back, I would stay on the boat in Progresso. It was dirty & not a lot to do. It is very convenient for us to drive to N.O. You can't beat the cost of the trip & the value that Carnival gives you. I will definitely go again. Maybe try Mobile next time!

Read More
 
 
Mexico
Publication Date: January 28, 2010

Just came off a fantastic cruise off the beautiful Carnival Triumph. After reading many reviews of the ship I was concerned with the quality of not only the crew but the ship as well, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised.

We live only a few hours from New Orleans so we drove our personal vehicle the day before departure. Looking for a good deal on parking is hard to come by as parking at the port ranges from $16.00 to $18.00 per day. We found a great cruise and park deal with the Holiday Inn Superdome, the package involves one night (or more if you wish) stay prior to your cruise and you have complimentary parking in their parking garage during the duration of your cruise. This hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle to the ship, however since Katrina the driver informed my husband and I that no hotels are allowed to pick up passengers upon their return to the port. The Holiday Inn Superdome is an older hotel, but it was well taken care of and the staff was professional and very kind.

The morning of departure we took

the time to wander around New Orleans, the French Quarter is only a few blocks from the hotel so it was an easy walk. Bourbon Street is a must; Café Beignet is a quaint jazz themed eatery who serves the infamous Beignets’ at a reasonable price. Fantastic…I think Carnival needs to add them to their breakfast buffet. There is still hurricane damage in parts of the city, some buildings are still boarded up, but otherwise the city was in fantastic and festive shape.

We arrived at the pier around 1:30pm thinking we would miss the crowd, but we were very wrong. Being our 4th Carnival cruise we thought we had this timing figured out. It took around an hour and a half to board the ship, this was a good lesson for my husband on why we need to keep cruising, once he saw the MUCH shorter VIP line he wanted to be Platinum already. ? Even though the line was long, the Carnival staff was helpful and in high spirits, they kept the lines moving and the crowd in a festive mood. However, it did help that the Saints are in the Super Bowl, WHO DAT??

Having sailed on the CCL Glory and a couple of the Fantasy class ships in the Carnival line we are used to that Vegas style feeling that Carnival is infamous for. The Triumph being built in 1999 was no exception to this rule; however it did seemed to be toned down from the Fantasy class ships we have sailed on. The ship is in great shape for her age, of course there will be some wear and tear but overall beautiful condition and very clean. We chose an inside stateroom for this cruise, it was our first experience with one and we actually loved it. The cabin is very spacious; there was plenty of room for the two of us and lots of storage, plenty for a 4 day cruise. I do highly suggest bringing a power cord as there is only one outlet in the room. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom, but I would suggest bringing one if you have very thick hair as the one provided is not very powerful. Our room steward was great he asked our names once and called us by name the rest of the cruise, even when we were just passing through. Our room was always picked up upon our return to the cabin.

We ate on the upper portion of the London dining room. I mention this because that was the only area on the ship assigned to Carnival new Any Time dining schedule. We were told to show up to the dining room between 5:30pm and 9pm and be seated for dinner. It was nice since it fit into our schedule, however it did take away the personal experience of getting to know your waiter and your fellow cruisers. You are asked if you would prefer a table for just your party or if you would like to eat with fellow cruisers, the only problem with this is that many cruisers wanted to eat with just their party. We ate with just the two of us all but the first night, which was a disappointment as we did not get the chance to make friends through this experience. The food was good, we have noticed the quality getting worse through the years, but it was much better than anything we would be eating at home. The Lido café always had some combination of pizza, hamburgers, and salad. Of course we still had our ritual of taking advantage of 24 hour ice cream cones.

Cruising out of New Orleans in late January means chilly cruising. Pack warm for those dates. The first day out it was in the 70’s so we were able to enjoy the lido pool area, our cruise was not full so there were plenty of deck chairs to choose from. We enjoyed Carnivals usual entertainment (hairy chest competition, carnival Olympics, dance contests, etc) and of course the live music. We had one musician who reminded us of a bad American Idol contestant, but the Calypso and variety bands were great. The LED screen on deck was nice; they usually showed the news and a relaxation video, at night they offered concerts and movies under the stars. On Sunday the Pro Bowl was featured….in Spanish. Cozumel was in the 80’s and sunny, absolutely beautiful. We chose to walk downtown, it took us about 45 minutes, and it is more like 2 miles, the taxis will tell you 4. We ate at Panchos’ Backyard, a gourmet Mexican restaurant, the food was great and the atmosphere was serene with live music and an open air design. This was our 3rd trip to Cozumel so we did not partake in any shore excursions, but you can see beautiful coral on the beach by the sidewalk into and out of town.

The last day at sea was very cold. The high was around the high 50’s, needless to say Carnival sold many sweaters and sweatshirts on our cruise. We enjoyed ice carving demonstrations and more Carnival games by the pool, however we wore our robes and used our beach towels as blankets. Still enjoyable, just had to improvise and overcome. ?

The shows were spectacular, how the dancers can dance so well and not topple over during the wavier shows is remarkable. Our cruise staff was very helpful and cheerful. We did not encounter one bad employee, and even had the chance to chat with many of them. We took part in Carnivals On Deck for the Cure walk, in the last 2 years Carnival has donated over $2.2 million to the Susan G Komen Breast Cancer foundation with this walk. We donated $20.00 and got pink bracelets and T-shirts as well as participated in the one mile walk around the track. Our assistant cruise director informed us that through this organized walk on every ship Carnival averages $90,000 a month in donations to the foundation. VERY GOOD WORK Carnival and Carnival Cruisers!!!!

Overall the Triumph is a beautiful ship, a truly classic Carnival fun ship. The crowd was a bunch of excited New Orleans fans looking forward to this weekend, WHO DAT??!! The staff only added to the enjoyment and festive atmosphere of the voyage. We are defiantly Carnival cruisers for life and are looking forward to cruising out of New Orleans again in the near future. Go Carnival and Go SAINTS!!!!

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 1 - 10 of 96 1234567

Similar Cruise Ships

Carnival Valor
Carnival Valor
From 61 Reviews
Carnival Victory
Carnival Victory
From 70 Reviews