Carnival Valor Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Outstanding/Spectacular
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.4
from 61 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

61 User Reviews of Carnival Valor Cruise Ship

Carnival Valor Review - Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: July 2, 2013

We were in a group of six, all of which has cruised several times on Carnival. We sailed on the Carnival Valor Feb. 3-10, 2013.

We flew in a day early to Fort Lauderdale and stayed at the Ramada Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruiseport.

We purchased transfers from John's Service and arrived at the Miami Cruiseport by 10:50AM and were on board by 11:20AM. Everyone was very helpful and the line moved very quickly.

Lunch was served on the Lido deck, with grilled hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken, etc. available. By 1PM we were allowed in our cabins. Our luggage was delivered in a timely manner.

The ship is decorated in the red, white, and blue theme, hence the name Valor. The ship was clean and attractive. It has the usual shops onboard with specials running throughout the week.

Food- The food in the dining was overall pretty good, though it seemed there could have been a wider selection to choose from. You can order from the "comfort food" list everyday and steak is available daily, also. Just a quick note- if you are eating in the dining room for breakfast you have the option of

asking for real, not powdered, scrambled eggs, whereas on the buffet all that is available is powdered scrambled eggs.

The ham and cheese omelet in the dining room was very good

Lobster was available once, and there were several shrimp dishes available throughout the week. I ate the flat iron grilled steak one night and it was very good. .

One thing we thought was odd- when we were in port, after arriving back on the ship after an excursion, the only available place to eat was either Italian fare at the buffet, or the deli for a sandwich.

Entertainment- we like to dance to 70's- 80's music and the only band playing that type of music was playing in the casino, which has virtually no dance floor. So that was a disappointment to all of us. We felt like it had been planned intentionally in order to draw people to gamble.

The dancers were very good and entertaining, the juggler was great, as were the other entertainers as well. We did hear complaints about the "family friendly" comedian not actually being very "kid friendly" which caused several people to walk out of the show

The crew- everybody was very friendly- you would not pass a crew member without them smiling, telling you good morning, etc. Our cabin steward TokTok was fabulous!

Other services- after 13 cruises, for the first time ever, we had to use the infirmary. On a windy day my husband was hit with a lounge chair and needed glued/stitched. They were all very helpful. They had him come back after our first port stop so they could clean it and put a new bandage on it.

I have read many stories about how people are treated in the infirmaries and I have nothing but praise for the medical staff on the Carnival Valor. We were not even charged for this service.

In the past I would highlight the daily activities I was interested in doing and this time I did that the first day and then didn't do it again. It seemed there weren't as many activities going on, for free, as there used to be. I realize cruise ships need to make money and the money that is pulled in with gambling, bingo, drinks, etc. contributes a lot to this purpose so I'm not saying this practice is wrong but that maybe it should not be the only activities that are offered.

I can't really say much about the ships shore excursions as we booked our excursions independently.

We visited Grand Turk, St. Maarten, St. Thomas, and St. Kitts. At Grand Turk we purchased an excursion on our own. We arranged for rental of 2 golf carts to ride around the island. We used Nathan's for the rentals and I would not recommend them. When we arrived to pick up our carts there was a family of 4 that had also arranged to get a golf cart. There were only 2 carts available. We were told 1 cart had broken down a few weeks before and had not been fixed yet. My group took the 2 golf carts and one of them was not running properly. It broke down on us and we ended up pushing it to get it started again. We were so concerned about getting back to the port that we cut our day very short and returned the golf carts to the original starting point.

At St. Kitts we arranged for a tour with Javin's Island Tours. It was a great day and a wonderful way to see the island. I would highly recommend using Javin at St. Kitts.Javin is very knowledgeable and friendly and makes sure everybody

is having a good time.

At St. Maarten and St. Thomas we didn't do any excursion, mainly walked around.

Overall the cruise was okay. We weren't really disappointed about anything but just didn't come away with that feeling of excitement that we usually do after a cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
No major complaints, but still just HO-HUM
Publication Date: June 19, 2013

Carnival Valor February 3-10, 2013

We were in a group of six, all of which has cruised several times on Carnival. We sailed on the Carnival Valor Feb. 3-10, 2013.

We flew in a day early to Fort Lauderdale and stayed at the Ramada Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruiseport.

We purchased transfers from John's Service and arrived at the Miami Cruiseport by 10:50AM and were on board by 11:20AM. Everyone was very helpful and the line moved very quickly.

Lunch was served on the Lido deck, with grilled hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken, etc. available. By 1PM we were allowed in our cabins. Our luggage was delivered in a timely manner.

The ship is decorated in the red, white, and blue theme, hence the name Valor. The ship was clean and attractive. It has the usual shops onboard with specials running throughout the week.

Food- The food in the dining was overall pretty good, though it seemed there could have been a wider selection to choose from. You can order from the "comfort food" list everyday and steak is available daily, also. Just a quick note- if you are eating in the dining room for breakfast you

have the option of asking for real, not powdered, scrambled eggs, whereas on the buffet all that is available is powdered scrambled eggs.

The ham and cheese omelet in the dining room was very good

Lobster was available once, and there were several shrimp dishes available throughout the week. I ate the flat iron grilled steak one night and it was very good. .

One thing we thought was odd- when we were in port, after arriving back on the ship after an excursion, the only available place to eat was either Italian fare at the buffet, or the deli for a sandwich.

Entertainment- we like to dance to 70's- 80's music and the only band playing that type of music was playing in the casino, which has virtually no dance floor. So that was a disappointment to all of us. We felt like it had been planned intentionally in order to draw people to gamble.

The dancers were very good and entertaining, the juggler was great, as were the other entertainers as well. We did hear complaints about the "family friendly" comedian not actually being very "kid friendly" which caused several people to walk out of the show

The crew- everybody was very friendly- you would not pass a crew member without them smiling, telling you good morning, etc. Our cabin steward TokTok was fabulous!

Other services- after 13 cruises, for the first time ever, we had to use the infirmary. On a windy day my husband was hit with a lounge chair and needed glued/stitched. They were all very helpful. They had him come back after our first port stop so they could clean it and but a new bandage on it.

I have read many stories about how people are treated in the infirmaries and I have nothing but praise for the medical staff on the Carnival Valor. We were not even charged for this service.

In the past I would highlight the daily activities I was interested in doing and this time I did that the first day and then didn't do it again. It seemed there weren't as many activities going on, for free, as there used to be. I realize cruise ships need to make money and the money that is pulled in with gambling, bingo, drinks, etc. contributes a lot to this purpose so I'm not saying this practice is wrong but that maybe it should not be the only activities that are offered.

I can't really say much about the ships shore excursions as we booked our excursions independently.

We visited Grand Turk, St. Maarten, St. Thomas, and St. Kitts. At Grand Turk we purchased an excursion on our own. We arranged for rental of 2 golf carts to ride around the island. We used Nathan's for the rentals and I would not recommend them. When we arrived to pick up our carts there was a family of 4 that had also arranged to get a golf cart. There were only 2 carts available. We were told 1 cart had broken down a few weeks before and had not been fixed yet. My group took the 2 golf carts and one of them was not running properly. It broke down on us and we ended up pushing it to get it started again. We were so concerned about getting back to the port that we cut our day very short and returned the golf carts to the original starting point.

At St. Kitts we arranged for a tour with Javin's Island Tours. It was a great day and a wonderful way to see the island. I would highly recommend using Javin at St. Kitts.Javin is very knowledgeable and friendly and makes sure everybody

is having a good time.

At St. Maarten and St. Thomas we didn't do any excursion, mainly walked around.

Overall the cruise was okay. We weren't really disappointed about anything but just didn't come away with that feeling of excitement that we usually do after a cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: November 18, 2012

We left from Miami, to Cozumel, Jamaica and Cayman. Getting on board was easy no issues at all. I talked with some folks who had 'priority boarding' passes. I asked the fee, she said $40 or $50 for it. Not sure if we were just lucky or they simply wasted their money, but we were able to board within 10 minutes of them.

The crew was nice, I really haven't known any crew that was rude or demanding. However, if your primary language is English, get ready for a lot of blank looks from the crew at times. Many are foreign, in fact I only saw or spoke with as many as 3 the entire trip that you could bet their language of native dialect was English. Not a big deal, but that's the industry I suppose. Just more or less a heads up. The ship, Valor was nice. A couple of things I noticed getting on Sunday afternoon. Deck 5 is the Casino, among other things. On the deck 6 (where our room was) the stairwell going down to five, you immediately smelled smoke, real bad too - as

if active gaming was currently in progress. Again no big deal, but ventilation was real bad.

I will post some good things, but let's get down to brass tacks here; you want to know what isn't good first. Here they are: The pool(s) is/are tiny. There is a water slide, pretty nice I'd say. Keeping in mind that the near top deck for the open pool (deck 9 LIDO) - the pool itself might fit 15 before you are bumping elbows. We too brought kids, and the sardine fest of kids in that pool was crazy. There was an equally sized pool towards the back for adults only I think, but geesh, what if I wanted to chill out by the pool with my kids without getting nearly jumped on by others. Don't mean to be Debby Downer here, again just voicing my opinion in hopes this helps you gain a visual or at least set expectations accordingly.

Two hot tubs on the main deck, pretty nice. I think there were others towards the front as well. There are some others in the adults only areas, I'm sure they were nice, but we stuck with our kiddos, so I really can't tell you much about those.

I know it's vacation or holiday, but for the love of God, does the music have to be so loud for 8 hours during the day on Deck 9? THUMPING OVER & OVER, etc... I like loud music, trust in that, but the selection was very slim, and was really directed towards the youth genre and other similar Jamaican type. That is fine, but a little more variety would certainly have been welcomed. Someone please tell me why there is a DJ on deck 9, using a laptop, as if he's actually controlling the music selection, wow. Gimme a break.

Food and dining was nice. I really like the formal (2 nights) dinning, very fun, as did the kids. I will say that on other cruise lines, I know the servers put on a 'singing/dancing show' in the middle of dinner. They cute and all good. The problem is that they were every night. It's like having a endless supply of Reese's Peanut Butter Cups; they are great but best in moderation.

O yeah, the 'Camp Carnival' (kid watching for babies up to young teens) was really nice. Good security, friendly folks. The shows: Comedy, dancing, magic, trivia, etc were pretty nice. Then again, the folks you may see or the shows will skew somewhat. O yeah, during football season (not soccer), they put a game up on the big screen on deck 9, pretty nice.

Overall, good stuff, nice break from work, kids had a great time. Put it this way, if my wife & I go on another cruise or take friends (but without kids) we will not book with Carnival. Hope these run on sentences didn't waste your time. Have fun all!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: November 4, 2012

This is the worst I have ever done. I've cruised Carnival twice before and decided to give it another chance to see if things had improved a bit, of course I was wrong by a long shot.

Embarcation was one of the most unorganized and to think that they have been doing this for so many decades over and over. Long lines and rude people were just unprofessional.

Ports of call were ok with the exception of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Not too many people were happy with this port, a complete ripoff.

Food was very, very poor. From selection of entries to just tasting right, It was all a dissapointment for me. There were food selections on the menu that were not the items that you would get.

The cabins seemed to be very acomodating and large enough, we had an ocean view on the second deck and was very comfortable with the exception of the bed mattres which should have been change on the previous overhaul.

And lastly was the layout of this ship was horrific. I know this is kind of late to remedy,so I belive Carnival need to go and

send spies to were they build Royal Caribbean ships to learn how its done.

All in all it was a bad cruise experience which I will never have to go thru again. Therefore I must say good-by to Carnival Cruise Lines and pay a little more for a better experience.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: June 23, 2012

This was my families 9th carnival cruise 16th overall with other lines. This was an 8 day.stopping at ST Thomas, Antigua,Tortola,Nassau. We had 2 balcony cabins on deck 8, one deck below lido which was great to run up and get some food. There was some noise at night from things being dragged on deck but not bad. We opened the panel on the balcony between the 2 cabins so we had a big balcony. We had late seating and the first night it took forever(1 hr to get apps) to get our food. It got better as the cruise went along. We had 4 different comedians and they where pretty good. It is nice to go to the family show before dinner and then the R rated later. The shows where alright too. There was plenty to do on the out to sea days. Getting on and off the ship did not take any time at all.

On the Islands we just get taxis and go to the beach. St Thomas-Sapphire beach $10.per person each way, Antigua-Dickenson beach $3.0pp Tortola- Brewers bay $8.00pp each way. Brewers was the calmest water

and best for snorkeling.All of these beaches where safe and had food and bathrooms. You can only get a raft in ST. Thomas. Nassau we took the Water taxi to the Atlantis. you CANNOT see the aquarium any longer without paying $35. you can only go through the shops and the casino for free.Overall the weather was great, not to hot and the water was wonderful everywhere. Of course we would cruise again. One problem we had was, We purchased liquor in the shop on board and when it was delivered to our cabin on the last night we did not open it.(we should have) when we got home we opened the boxes and they where not what we bought, and once you leave the ship you can not send it back so we are trying to get a refund from the store because the shops on board are not run by Carnival. It will take 8 weeks to get refund.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: August 7, 2011

The customer service was excellent, the staff were all professional. The entertainment in the Ivan Hoe was great.

The internet service was slow and very expensive.

We were told that we only had to pay for alchol, however we had to pay for all non alchol drinks. The only free drinks was the tasteless lemonade, lemonade,lemonade.......(7 days) or ice tea.

Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: May 8, 2011

Gem Palace (Milano Diamond Gallery) is one of Carnival Cruiseline's recommended stores. Carnival cannot be trusted when it comes to their port shopping program... it is all a ploy for them to make more money by receiving a cut when you make in-port purchases. The guarantee they offer is completely worthless.

On May 10, 2011, I purchased a 14 karat white gold diamond ring from Milano Diamond Gallery in Georgetown, Grand Cayman for the amount of $3395.00. I consider the item purchased at Milano Diamond Gallery to be a fraudulent product.

34 days after purchasing the ring, a small diamond fell out (one of 58 small diamonds surrounding 3 larger diamonds). I became uneasy about the product I had purchased, so on June 20, 2011 I took the ring to a very trusted and reputable jeweler whom I have done business with for years. After inspecting the ring, he informed me that it was a "total disaster" and that there were several more diamonds on the verge of falling out at any time.

I received a certified letter from the jeweler (and certified gemologist) who inspected the ring. He stated the following:

“Upon

inspection of a 14K white gold diamond ring belonging to Katie Morgan, it is evident that the reason for a diamond falling out of the ring is because of inferior workmanship in the setting process of the diamonds. It is evident that more diamonds will fall out of this ring because of the lack of stability of prong work when the diamonds were set. It is not an option to rebuild all prong work because of major expense involved and the initial instability of material to work with. We are custom-design manufacturers of jewelry of all types, and have over 30 years of experience in the field of manufacturing of jewelry, for not only the public but other stores as well."

I have since made numerous attempts to settle my dispute with Milano Diamond Gallery who has been extremely uncooperative and difficult to contact. My emails to the company have gone unanswered and when I called Milano headquarters in New York on June 22, 2011, my requests to speak to a supervisor were repeatedly denied.

After having no success reasoning with the merchant (Milano) I turned to Carnival and The PPI Group (who is in charge of the port shopping program) to take responsibility. I sent multiple emails to corporate leaders, contacted customer service many times, and even sent certified letters to The PPI Headquarters. I have only gotten responses from one staff member and she has repeatedly denied my requests to demand a refund from Milano.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: April 25, 2010

SUNDAY, APRIL 25, 2010:

EMBARKATION: How easy can it get? There were seven of us including my wife’s sister and her husband. They had never cruised before and had a wonderful week. We turned our luggage over to the porters, gave them a tip, and made our way inside. We hade a suite so we could have gone the VIP route but decided to stay with the rest of our group. We got there about 11:15 and were at our cabins by 11:45. They were ready and we put our stuff in and went to lunch. Eating is my favorite part of a cruise. The six new pounds will vouch for that. One word about the new kiosks that Carnival has installed to help you get through the lines quickly. GREAT! Use them. MEALS: Great food at lunch and in the main Washington Dining Room. Juan was our waiter for the early sitting and he was fantastic. Danilo was his assistant and they took great care of us all week long. We looked forward to the nights that they sang and danced. Two appetizers, two entrees and two desserts. This night

was Cream Brule’. One of my favorites but I had also heard about the Chocolate Melting Cake. Try both. CABINS; our suite was ready early and had a balcony that was large enough for all seven of us. The other two cabins were inside ones but were directly across the hall. ENTERTAINMENT: This was the one area where I thought some work could be done. We have cruised other lines and seen better. However, you have to realize that you get what you pay for. We could afford a suite on Carnival for the balcony cabin price on another line. The comedian that night was not great and we did not enjoy him. The dancers were not the best but we did enjoy them.

MONDAY, APRIL 26, 2010: A nice, quiet day at sea. We did the hot tub thing and the pool. I must say that this is the only day that we took the time for this. Too busy otherwise. The best part of my day was sitting on the balcony and getting a chance to read and relax. MEALS: again great food and great service. There are eight different buffets on the Valor, not counting the burrito bar, the deli, the pizza place, sushi bar and fish and chips. If you can’t find what you want stay home. The fish and chips were more than enough for me, but I also had the calamari. Like I said I like to eat. Got my brother-in-law to try the calamari and he loved it. ENTERTAINMENT: good show featuring the dancers and singers. I also enjoyed going along the fifth deck and listening to the individuals that sang on the small stage there. Some quiet time alone as I listened. Everyone else was in a hurry to do something or get somewhere.

TUESDAY, APRIL 27, 2010: GRAND CAYMAN: A visit to the turtle farm, Hell and Sting Ray City. My sister-in-law was scared of them at first but warmed up to them and said that it was one of the high lights of her trip. The water was so clear that you could see the sand at you feet. I grabbed a snorkel and got a view of some beautiful fish under the boat. On the way back in, the Captain saw a star fish, threw the boat into neutral and jumped out the window. He brought on board one of the largest ones I have ever seen. Then jumped in and brought up another one. Great treat and great pictures. MEALS: we hit the buffet when we got back. I was still full when dinner time came around but that didn’t stop me from eating. Tonight was escargot and I had three dishes. Love that stuff. Got the brother-in-law to eat snails and he enjoyed them as well. The first night he had shrimp cocktail and it became a joke every night because Juan would bring him two plus whatever else he ordered for the appetizer. Got him to try different foods but the sister-in-law stuck with steaks, pork chops and chicken. ENTERTAINMENT: I’m not certain if this was the night for the juggler or not. Just want to say that he was AWFUL. The comedian that followed him was a little better but not much. Again, you get what you pay for. I went back to a suite with a balcony and a Jacuzzi tub so it was worth it.

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 28, 2010: ROATAN, HONDURAS: Yes, a nice relaxing day on Mahogany Beach. We took the chair lift and rented a clamshell to cover two lounges. It got warm but then we would walk out into beautiful water to cool off. Needless to say, the tan is looking good. I recommend this to anyone. Great time. MEALS: again, excellent. The waiters sang and danced. Our two were up on little tables in the main room and we laughed so hard we almost cried. Buffets were great for breakfast and lunch. I enjoyed omelets every morning. Was never disappointed in them. ENTERTAINMENT: again left something to be desired but enjoyed it. Slept like a baby.

THURSDAY, APRIL 29, 2010: BELIZE: Rain started the night before and kept up all morning. Went to the Mayan ruins but did not enjoy them due to being wet. Not the cruise line’s fault. It stopped as we ate lunch at the Black Orchid Resort. A feast on the local cuisine: rice and beans, chicken, plantain and diet coke. Well, maybe not the diet coke. Then we got on a boat to float down the River Wallace. Wow, monkeys, iguanas, crocodiles, tarpon and manatees. Loved it. MEALS: We enjoyed the meal at the resort. It wasn’t that expensive. Let me say this about the excursions, I do not mind paying a little extra to get them through the cruise line. Then I have someone to complain to, however, we enjoyed all of them that we took so no complaints. The meal in the main dining room was enjoyable as well. We also made late night trips to the ninth deck for pizza and deli sandwiches. Ice cream machines are everywhere. ENTERTAINMENT: well this was the night I had heard about. Some of you had mentioned that the dancers’ costumes were getting smaller and they are. I knew this so when the girls came out in their cowgirl outfits I knew what to expect. I watched the eyes of my brother-in-law and thought that they would pop out when he saw the thongs that they had on.

FRIDAY, APRIL 30, 2010: COZUMEL, MEXICO: a trip to Passion Island on the Twister boat. Ready to do it again. My sister-in-law was worried that the boat would turn over and we would all drown. Didn’t happen, but the 360 degree turns at high speed made us hold on. Of course, you are strapped in and there is no danger. She says that this was the best thing all week. We got to the island and were treated like royalty. Wonderful water, great beach and good food. My brother-in-law slept most of the afternoon in a hammock. Got some pictures of him snoring. Then back on the twister boat. You have to take this trip. I told our host that when I retire I am going to come and be her assistant. No salary just all I can eat. MEALS: a Mexican buffet was included. Don’t eat the habanera (sp) peppers. HOT! Again, the meal in the dining room was to die for. Tonight one of the dancers was at the door when you left for pictures. Got mine taken and have a big smile. The brother-in-law almost split his sides when his was taken. ENTERTAINMENT: this was the best night of the week. John Wesley Austin was the comedian and he was so funny that I cried.

SATURDAY; MAY 1, 2010: A quite day at sea. MEALS: again, buffets for breakfast and lunch. Then into the dining room for dinner. I am one of those who enjoys shaving and a shower before the evening meal and don’t shave in the morning. I also love the formal nights and have no problem putting on a suit. Our pictures from those two nights are part of our cruise memories. ENTERTAINMENT: well, this was karaoke. I’m not sure if I would have enjoyed some time on the balcony better, but I went any way. Good, bad and the ugly. The Clint Black and Frank Sinatra were very, very good. The Madonna and whoever the other lady was supposed to be were the bad and the cruise crew were the ugly (funny, but ugly.)

SUNDAY, MAY 2, 2010: DEBARKATION: up early for a buffet breakfast. By 8: 30 you have to be out. We went to the theater and waited. I had anticipated a long one, but in less than 20 minutes our number (7) was called. Actually, our number was one because of VIP but we waited with the rest of the clan. We got off the boat quickly, had to wait for a few minutes on our luggage. Then into the Customs line. I think that they believe they have to make you wait no matter what happens. We had a good time joking with our porters as we stood in line. We were still through fairly quickly and off to home. I’m ready for the next one.

FINALLY: Like I said, you get what you pay for. Will I cruise Carnival again? Absolutely. They are a fine line and were worth what we paid. Will we cruise other lines? Absolutely, it just depends on where we are going and what the best value is.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: April 25, 2010

I PICKED THIS SHIP BECAUSE OF THE PORT OF CALLS,My wife and I had already been on the VICTORY and the impression we got from that trip made us want to cruise again with Carnival,due to the Fun Crew who were ridiculously FUN,FUN,FUN. Lil John and Smitty deserve more than our grattitude, they and the entire Victory staff were AWESOME! however, as fast as our fun meter were raise to a high level with the Victory crew,the Valor crew quickly lowered the fun meter to its lowest. Dont get me wrong Garry our cruise director tried in vain to keep the ship afloat but the supposedly fun crew (Christine,Stevie D)to name a few managed to curtail any hope I had to try and salvage any fun time. CARNIVAL "FUN SHIP" THE VALOR IS NOT!

Read More
 
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: March 7, 2010

Management Ruins It

The problems with Carnival lie for the most part not with the Valor or her crew. The real problems stem from the malignant little toads of management whose greed and avarice know no bounds.

First let me state that the majority of the crew were attentive, friendly, and eager to please. The exceptions to this were the services desk, lots of shoulder shrugging and the reply use a thousands times a day by drones all over the world trying to protect their jobs, "That’s our policy", and one night in the Lincoln room where we and our tables mates were hustled out rather rudely at 10:20.

The food for the most part was good. Both the duck and the grilled Cornish Hen were the best I’ve ever had. Other dinner dishes, such as the prime rib were also excellent, but often served lukewarm or even cold. Stay away from the chateau unless you have a hacksaw handy. Rosie’s, especially the usually nearly empty fish and chips place upstairs, was good although the lines downstairs were often daunting.

THE REAL PROBLEMS

The real problems began before we even boarded the ship. Shortly after

I booked the cruise the price for our cabin was lowered by $380. On Celebrity we had as similar occurrence and were immediately offered a refund or ship board credit. But on Carnival, Nooooooo. My travel agent, Donna Smeal, had to fight tooth and nail to get us a modest upgrade. I’m sure the bean counters at Carnival smiled at $38 per ft. for the extra 10 sq. ft. we got in the cabin.

A request by email for information about an anniversary took several days to get a reply. I was informed that a cake could be supplied for a fee ($7-$10). On Celebrity a wonderful, small cake was presented to each of us on our birthdays free of charge.

The photographers, as annoying and bloodthirsty as a swarm of jungle mosquitoes. On formal dinner nights, when perhaps 1,000 guest are trying to make their way to dinner, they set up with backdrops that block half of the passageway which further congest the area and is a real irritation.

The final Straw was when a bottle of good champagne, that I was hoping to have with dinner on our anniversary, was confiscated when we boarded. It was in my baggage. On Celebrity we each brought a bottle on board and there were no problems with this at all. All I got at the Services desk was the "Our policy" litany and that it would be returned at 7:00 on the last evening of the cruise. The motive for this is all to obvious, More Greed! "You vill buy our champagne, our drinks. Unt you vill love buying zhem at our zo reasonable prices. " To add insult to injury, after we decided to try and make the best of it by sharing the bottle with our table mates at the last dinner, the bottles return time went from 7:00 to 7:30 then to 8:00 then to 8:30. There was no time to chill the bottle! A complete fiasco. The whole situation was a "cheap shot" by a management that sees only dollar signs and not the comfort of their guests.

Let us not even get into the overpriced with handling charge excursions offered by Carnival. NOTE: Go to the dock in Belize and ask for Manny. For $45 each he will take a small group of 6 to Atun Ha. He grew up there, was inside of two of the structures as a youth, knew the Canadian archeologist Pendergast who found the jade head, and knows the jungle and how to survive. He let us stay as long as we wanted and knew everything about the site.

The crew of the Valor only followed their orders. It is the greed driven policies, instituted by a pack of Molock worshipping weasels, that nearly ruined the cruise for us. So, if you really want to be exploited and gouged at every turn then Carnival is the cruise line for you.

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 1 - 10 of 61 1234567

Similar Cruise Ships

Carnival Conquest
Carnival Conquest
From 86 Reviews
Carnival Dream
Carnival Dream
From 20 Reviews
Carnival Glory
Carnival Glory
From 80 Reviews
Carnival Liberty
Carnival Liberty
From 38 Reviews