Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old September 10th, 2010, 04:03 PM
Familiar Face

Question What to pack

Okay, I am leaving very soon. Probably next week. Will NCL provide me with a packing list? Do I need to bring towels (I don't think so), but I think I need toiletries.

Does anyone have a packing list that might help me.

Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Old September 10th, 2010, 04:08 PM
Admiral

You don't need to bring anything other than your clothes & items of a personal nature, just like any top class hotel really. You will need a credit card to register at reception for your onboard spending.
Old September 10th, 2010, 04:53 PM
Familiar Face

I am a lounge technician. Are you sure?
Old September 10th, 2010, 06:19 PM
Admiral

Sorry didn't notice you were staff, can't help.
Old September 10th, 2010, 08:31 PM
First Mate

Replied to your PM . . but for anyone else out there

all cabins come with sheets/blankets/towels - so unless you want to really make your cabin homey . . don't worry about those. (as I'm on a ship for a few contracts at a stretch, I do bring my own duvet cover, foamy pillows, blender . . you get the idea ;-) - Uniforms, 'time off' clothes, socks/shoes/underwear for a couple weeks, toiletries for a month and you'll be set. Nice thing about ships is anywhere in the world you are, mostly likely there will be useful ports with grocery and drug stores to stock up, and most ships have a 'slop chest' with relatively useful things.

When I was with NCL - they did send a packing list that was totally useless! It was for a cruise staff . . i.e social host type . . not for a tech - so you probably don't need any 'theme' night wear other than a tux. ANY type of staff position you will need formal night wear. (Tux for boys/cocktail dress or equivalent for girls)