Symphony Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Outstanding/Spectacular
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.6
from 7 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

7 User Reviews of Symphony Cruise Ship

Panama Canal
Publication Date: January 24, 2010

I have cruised on Crystal Symphony about 6 times. It is my favorite ship and I always have a wonderful time. The food is excellent, the service beyond excellent, and my fellow cruisers are almost all well mannered and friendly. It is; however, a real stretch for my budget.

It was announced that if you cruise on your birthday in 2010 you can take another cruise for 25% off, (50% for those in double cabins) as long as you take it before your next birthday. I signed up for the Panama Canal cruise that included my birthday. I was told that I could not reserve the discount cruise until I had actually taken the birthday cruise. I; therefore, signed up for the next cruise while on the ship for the birthday cruise. I signed up for the lowest price cabin as usual. Soon after the cruise I was notified that there were no cabins in that price category, or the next one up, for the cruise next November, 10 months away, The least expensive cabin available for my discount cruise was well over $5000. I feel that the line pulled a

"bait and switch" type of maneuver. I am angry enough that I will probably not cruise on Crystal for quite a long time. Although it is my favorite, there are other ships that are very nice. I have taken about 50 cruises and never failed to have a good time, although some ships and some cruises are better than others. A few have even been quite bad.

The things that make Crystal stand out are subtle, but add up to make a very enjoyable experience. To name a few:

1. The service is always cheerful, and the crew seems to really want to be sure you have a good time. There is no eye-rolling or comment if you ask the ice cream attendant to fix your cone a certain way or want something a bit different than usual. Someone is immediately there to take your tray to the table as soon as you step away from the serving line in the casual restaurant.

2. The price is really close to all inclusive; very few extra charges. The mini-bar items in your cabin are there for you to enjoy, and it is restocked daily. Alcohol costs extra. The ship features Coke products. I do not like coke so my mini-bar is stocked with Pepsi at no extra charge. There is no extra charge for any classes except private lessons. The needlepoint kits and instruction are included. There is no extra charge for the ultra deluxe alternate restaurants except $7.00 recommended tip for service.

3. A person from the ship goes on every shore excursion, and is in touch with people on the ship if there is any problem.

4. The guest lecturers have almost always been knowledgeable and interesting. There are a variety of topics on each cruise. Piano lessons, bridge lessons, and a language are offered at no extra charge.

5. An extremely well stocked library with CDs and DVDs available at no extra charge and a well informed librarian to help you find something you will like.

6. If you let the head waiter know what you would like to try at dinner it will be prepared for you. I have always wondered what lobster thermador is when it is mentioned in a novel. On this cruise I had the kitchen prepare it for me (and several of my tablemates who also wanted to try it). It was delicious and there was no extra charge. Several other special dishes were served to the table because someone asked for them.

7. The prizes at trivia are often something you would really like to keep as a souvenir; very few of the keychain type. On this cruise I won a journal to use as a cruise diary and a baseball cap with the Crystal logo.

8. The casino allows double and triple odds at the craps table which gives the player a fighting chance to come out ahead. Many ships allow only single odds if they even have a craps table.

Unfortunately, this wonderful service does come at a higher than most cost. There are a few items that can drive your onboard costs high too. Computer time, alcohol, spa treatments, onboard shops, and shore excursions are very expensive. The medical center was also very expensive for a simple problem. I had a great time without spending much in these areas excep two shore excursions and a drink on the last day.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: January 31, 2008

Background -- Panama Birthday Surprise Nearly 2 years ago at a family wedding in Israel my Mum suddenly said that she'd been thinking of a way to celebrate her 75th birthday which would be coming up soonish, and what did we think about it, "we" being myself and my two sisters and our respective spouses. Well, we obviously said "yeh, great, wow, brilliant" etc etc, and then my Mum said what did we think of New York? (She'd been on the QE2 a number of times with my late father and had very fond memories of transatlantics.) Well, we obviously said "yeh, great, wow, brilliant" etc etc.

That was the easy bit, agreeing to go!! As all you experienced cruisers well know, deciding exactly how, where, when, how much, where from, what size, which line, which ship, traditional, casual, formal, anytime dining, rock climbing wall, 15 alternative restaurants etc etc is the hardest part -- especially with a group of 7.

My Mum decided she'd always wanted to traverse the Panama Canal, so itinerary was settled upon, which "only" left the rest of the questions outlined above. Now, as I and Mrs nadge

only eat kosher food I started to look into cruise lines that could provide this. Nearly all lines can provide airline-type sealed kosher meals which can be reheated, but who wants to eat airline meals on a cruise?? I came across an article about Crystal's kosher-style dining, and it took off from there. I made some enquiries with the On-board Guest Services at Crystal, and that was that!

(I'll touch on the food later on, but I won't go into huge detail about what is and isn't kosher. For those wishing to know more about kosher food, and exactly what Crystal can do, I'd be only too happy to either open another thread, or e-mail. Just ask.)

Travel to New York Since New York was on the wish list from the start, and it's sort of "on the way" to Costa Rica from Israel, we decided to take advantage of the fact by doing a 3 night pre pre-cruise in Manhattan. Now, so that Mum wouldn't have to travel all the way to NY by herself (she lives in Manchester, England whilst the 6 of us live in Israel) we decided that we'd fly to NY via London, and pick her up in Heathrow in the departure lounge. So, after a very pleasant 5 hour flight on BA to London we have to transfer to the next flight. In Heathrow this entails a further (rather pointless) security check "x-ray" all hand luggage, and coats, and shoes, and belts, and phones, and wallets, then through the metal detector. Bear in mind that we have walked straight off a plane, our checked in luggage will only be collected in NY if we're lucky enough to win the BA lottery and not have to report missing bags, and gone nowhere other than walk straight to the security point. Anyway, then the fun starts.

After passing our bags and belongings through the x-ray machine we were delayed in walking through the metal detector whilst the female security officer searched/checked an old lady's wheelchair which had set off an alarm when she went through in front of us. So what, I hear you ask. Well, in the absence of another female security officer we all had to wait. Eventually, we went through ourselves and collected our belongings. Well, I did, but Mrs nadge's small black leather handbag with ALL of her travel documents in it (passport, tickets etc) and money and cards, had gone. In its place was a similar bag, but not hers. We hoped that someone had made a genuine mistake. Considering the severity of the situation with our next flight due to take off in a couple of hours I was surprised at how calm Mrs nadge was. With a fair bit of persuasion we finally managed to convince the security people to look in the other black bag for some information as to its owner, and although there were no official documents in it there were some prescription tablets in a box with a lady's name on written in Hebrew! Someone had obviously just come off the same plane as us. Luckily, we can read Hebrew. The name was fed in to the system by the friendly BA staff and it turned out to be that very same lady in the wheelchair. What had obviously happened was that the attendant had been told to take a black leather bag, which he/she did, but didn't ask the lady if it was actually hers.

This wheelchair lady was nowhere to be seen and an APB was put out for her. After receiving conflicting information that her connecting flight didn't leave for another 4 hours, correct info was passed on that not only was she scheduled for a plane in the next hour she was already on it. Mrs nadge started to get a tad worried. By this time the police had appeared, very interested in the possible theft of a British passport, not to mention that there was an Israeli passport as well. The police literally ran off to the other plane, boarded the aircraft and retrieved the bag which had already been put in the overhead locker and when the old lady saw it she said "but that's not my bag".

Crisis over, we managed to fit in 20 minutes of retail therapy before our next flight. Joking apart, if you ever have a wheelchair or know someone who does, ALWAYS check that the bags the attendant retrieves for you are really yours.

We arrived in JFK on time, all our bags had amazingly arrived as well and in one piece, and immigration couldn't have been easier. I had been a bit concerned about this because I've heard many stories about extremely unfriendly (even antagonistic) US immigration officials. I'd arranged for my Mum to have a wheelchair to save her all the walking and hand-luggage schlepping, so we all just trooped behind her straight to the front of the immigration queue. Once through we went to a desk in the arrivals hall where the assistant phoned through to Supershuttle for us through whom I'd booked transfers.

Thanks again to those who answered my thread about transfer advice in New York. As there were 7 of us with tons of luggage (14 very large bags, 7 large hand-luggage wheelie thingies and another 7 small bags) normal taxis would have been very expensive, and Supershuttle was recommended. It cost $133 including the tip. The woman at the desk said that the van would arrive in 20 mins. A minute and a half later as we were settling down to wait a guy came in and called our name to say our van was here. Excellent service. He loaded everything in to the van with no fuss, and was very courteous.

New York Hotel We were finally off to Manhattan. Neither I nor Mrs nadge had been to America before so we were very excited about the whole thing. There wasn't very much traffic so it only took about 25 mins to get to our hotel, Radio City Apartments on W 42nd St. I'd done quite a bit of research on Tripadvisor about NY hotels and I'd been very surprised at the price of a room. I mean, I know NY is expensive, but so is London, but I never realized how expensive hotels are in NY. Anyway this hotel is in a great location a block and a half from Times Square, right next to the theatre district. I'd booked well in advance and got a very good rate for one 1 bedroom apartment (1 bedroom with 2 double beds, and a sitting room with sofa bed, plus kitchenette with stove, fridge microwave " all spotless) and one 2 bedroom apartment (1 bedroom with 2 double beds, 1 bedroom with twin beds, and a larger sitting room with sofa bed, plus larger kitchenette.) As before, if anyone wants any more information then please ask.

New York was definitely an experience. Up till then my New York had been the movies plus anything else I might have heard. There is definitely a hustle and bustle about the city; everyone seems to be walking around with great purpose. The buildings are really really tall, and the taxis really are yellow. I also saw a real life yellow old-fashioned looking school bus, just like in the movies. We only had two full days and my Mum can't walk either fast or far, but we managed a number of really touristy things. We went on a hop-on hop-off guided tour bus and we visited Ground Zero. We caught the ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, but unfortunately it was quite late so we had to choose only one island to get off at. We chose Ellis Island but because of the late hour didn't really spend enough time there. We'd definitely go again. We walked around Times Square and 5th Avenue, and wandered around Macy's. Due to lack of time we had to pick between the Empire State Building and the Top of the Rock. The Rock won and we weren't disappointed. The whole Rockefeller Centre is amazing, and the Rock exhibition is very good. The views from the top go without saying although it was a bit misty. We saw the famous skating rink that's always used as the closing scene in the movies. The Empire State will have to wait till next time. We discovered a breakfast place where the locals go, in the back of this jewelry shop in the diamond district. We also found time for a bit of shopping " my new camera came in very useful on the cruise. Oh yes, we managed to figure out the subway system and what a metrocard is, and apart from traffic police directing the traffic at an intersection I don't think I saw a single cop anywhere.

Overall, it was quite strange being on a mini holiday in the middle of a big holiday. I'd love to go again. Contrary to popular belief, everyone we spoke to was really friendly and made our stay very pleasant. My main impression of New York is standing in the street wondering whether there are more tall buildings in Manhattan or more Starbucks. I mean, about every 100 yards there's a Starbucks. What is it with Americans and coffee? Can't anyone go for more than 2 minutes without access to a cup of coffee?

A great place.

Travel to Costa Rica We'd originally planned to go on this same cruise in November 2007 disembarking in Costa Rica. That would have meant an even longer journey home as it's another 5-1/2 hour flight. Taking the advice of many CC members I'd arranged to arrive in Costa Rica the night before embarkation, just in case. We again Supershuttled from Manhattan to the airport, Newark this time, definitely even more of a bargain this time as the price was the same $133 including tip. No problems with the journey on Continental, arriving about 9:40pm. Costa Rica airport is very quiet and organised, immigration very quick with about 8 lines open at once to process everyone. Once outside however it's pandemonium. Lots of people scurrying around and shouting. I hadn't been worried about being met because I'd ordered two taxis through the hotel ($20 each) we were staying at (making sure that there'd be enough room) but with all the commotion outside I was glad when we saw a little fellow jumping up and down and waving a sheet of paper with my name on.

In the end one van sufficed, with lots of luggage on the roof rack. We drove off into the night and after about 5 minutes turned off the main highway onto dark, twisting, narrow, bumpy roads. We hadn't a clue where we were but the driver seemed to know what he was doing, and after about 25 minutes we arrived at the Hotel Casa Alegre in Santa Ana which is a small suburb about 10 minutes from San Jose. It's a hacienda type hotel with about 7 rooms ranged around a central swimming pool, and a very cosy lounge with a super-comfy couch. It's very reasonable at about $300 for 4 very nice double rooms including breakfast.

Now, I don't know about you, but I wouldn't expect ex-pat Brits living in Israel to know anybody in Costa Rica! Well, at about 12 midnight there's non-stop ringing at the gate of the hotel, and it's our cousin come to visit us. He'd just moved to Costa Rica for work about a month and a half previously from England, and his wife and kids had just come out 2 weeks ago. If we'd have known when we made the arrangements we'd have arranged for a longer stay in Costa Rica. It was surreal meeting him there like that. We chatted till about 2 in the morning. They all joined us for breakfast the next day before we left for the ship so that was a really nice way to start off embarkation day. For them it was quite sad because they don't know when they'll see anyone from the family next.

Like a child who has been waiting all year round for his birthday to come round again, I've been involved in this trip "planning, organising, logistics," but mostly waiting impatiently for over a year and a half. Cruise sites have kept me going during that time, with everyone's advice and experience, and cruising vicariously with you all. My turn had finally arrived. Has anyone ever been Crystallised before sailing on Crystal? I expect I'm the first!

Our taxi came back for us bang on the dot at 9:30 and by 10:00 we were all packed up and ready to go, our van bursting at the seams with the never-ending mound of luggage that we apparently need for 2 and a half weeks of travel. The trip is very scenic and uses the Pan American Highway which officially stretches all the way from Monterrey all the way down to Buenos Aries. The road is very busy, full of cars and buses and an even larger quantity of huge trucks that haul Costa Rica's goods all over a country with no railroad. This means that we never make it over 80 kph the whole way with an average of about 60kph. (This is torture for someone who fancies himself as the new Nigel Mansell.) After what seems like an age we eventually see a sign pointing the way to Caldera. We're nearly there!

Check-In Suddenly we get our first glimpse of the ocean, and then the Symphony comes into view sitting proudly in port. Seeing the ship for the first time as we rounded a bend in the road was amazing. My camera is now working overtime of course. It was like when we were kids driving to Blackpool and the first to see the Tower would get sixpence (you Brits out there will understand). So much excitement after so much anticipation.

10 minutes later we're out of the van being handed yet more immigration forms to fill in by grumpy Costa Rican officials, who are flanked by helpful, smiling Crystal employees. Check in consisted of presenting your passport to another grumpy immigration man for stamping, on one side of a low hangar type building, whilst set up on the other side were stands with computers all emblazoned with the Crystal logo, staffed by smiling crew in sparkling white uniforms. Formalities took just 5 minutes, credit card details were passed over, passports were given in (quite a strange feeling but I had read that this is what happens), pictures taken for the room key, signatures signed and room key-card received, and the seven of us are having our picture taken for posterity in front of the Crystal Symphony posters.

From reading these boards for so long I was expecting the warm and genuine welcome we received, help with our bags, would we like to check in hand luggage whilst luncheon is served? But to be truthful, I was also wary of expecting too much. Perhaps everyone was exaggerating as to the completeness of the Crystal experience? Thankfully no. More than once over the cruise one of our little group would suddenly murmur "how did he remember that?" when a crew member would suddenly appear with a favourite treat.

We headed off to the dining room for lunch, with champagne of course. Just after we'd been seated a young lady comes up and asks which one of us is Nigel, so yours truly duly owns up. It turns out to be EitherOar who very graciously introduced herself and welcomed us on board. We got together later on in the cruise but I really appreciated that welcome. Thank you. Everyone else in our party was looking on in curious admiration -- only 5 minutes on board and already being greeted!!

Anyway, this conveniently brings me on to a subject very dear to my heart -- food.

Kosher Food and Crystal N.B. I won't go into the ins and outs and definitions of kosher food here, but if anyone is interested feel free to reply or e-mail me and I'll go into it with pleasure.

A long while back, when researching this whole trip, I sent off a whole load of questions about cruises with kosher food. This is how I found out about Crystal's kosher-style dining. After a series of clarification e-mails with On Board Guest Services I was satisfied that this met with our requirements. I assumed that this definition of kosher-style was standard. When we arrived however, the ship had not been informed of the things we were expecting, but I am happy to report that after outlining our requirements they did their utmost to fulfill them. I would suggest to anyone wanting this option to be in touch with your TA to make sure that your requirements have been transmitted to the ship.

We had been expecting some sort of kosher menu -- obviously much more limited than the normal one, but we just basically chose something suitable off the regular menu and had it done kosher. To make things easier we were shown the next day's menus during dinner and we made our choices then. That way the chef knew what was expected and what needed to be taken out of the freezer. Once things had been clarified with our head waiter Miguel and senior waiter Alan took great care of us. We could only have kosher food in the main dining room, which is a shame because the other venues looked wonderful too, especially the breakfast buffet up on the Lido deck. My sisters said that Jade Garden was very good, but Prego was probably about the best meal they'd ever had.

The food itself was amazing. The presentation was wonderful with special care taken over even the most insignificant dish like a simple salad or some fruit. You don't just get some smoked salmon on a plate, you get a work of art that you don't like to spoil by eating it. I didn't realize that breakfast could also be a command performance. The choice was huge and the eggs benedict with smoked salmon wonderful. My mum spoiled herself with hot porridge and brown sugar and cream whilst Mrs nadge made large inroads into the fresh croissants every day. Lunch and dinner weren't too bad either. The meat was to die for and done to perfection -- huge rib-eye steaks, beefburgers, lamb chops, enormous racks of lamb and a wonderfully thick juicy tender veal chop. I'm starting to salivate again!! They even made us chopped liver on Friday night. We were a bit limited in deserts because we cannot eat dairy dishes after meat, but the non-dairy sherbets were delicious and the hot cherries and bananas that our head waiter made for us were superb.

The Ship The ship is absolutely spotless. There is always someone cleaning or painting or polishing or varnishing. One can tell that the ship isn't new. There are many signs of age, but it doesn't detract an iota from how beautiful the ship looks. I was most impressed with the public toilets. I was also very impressed with all the arrangements -- a welcome envelope, TA credits in a gift envelope and an appointment with the bar manager to discuss a cocktail party I wanted to organise. Very professional.

Stewardess: We did have some problems with our stewardess. She was brand new. Embarkation day was our first day on a Crystal ship, and our stewardess had been on board exactly 3 days longer. She did not have much of a clue. She was very willing and pleasant, but it is not a good idea to put a new stewardess with new cruisers. We don't know what to ask for and she doesn't know what to suggest or the right questions to ask us. It's all so new that she kept forgetting things even though we would leave notes for her. Crystal definitely needs to make sure that new staff in this department receive proper training and proper real-time instruction.

We were in cabin 7046 and I can recommend it. There is a slightly limited view from the beam of a lifeboat crane but it is negligible. Plenty of room to put everything, and even our hugest suitcase managed to fit under the bed as well. The bathroom is big enough with instant hot water and good water pressure, and the twin bowls look very nice and didn't really splash. Never having experienced the loveseat we didn't miss it, and we just left the chair by the dressing table as it was. Mrs nadge just sat on the bed to watch telly. The linen laid out on the floor at turn-down service is a nice touch.

Activities Plenty to do on board. In fact, there's so much to do it sometimes seems like you're going to need another holiday when you get home just to get some rest. Up for breakfast in the dining room, a leisurely stroll to collect my book, get to Spanish class for 10:15, go to a lecture, make sure to get to the dining room for 12:00 for lunch so as to finish in time for the trivia quiz at 1.00pm. Need to relax after the quiz with a book and a coffee. Afternoon tea at 3.30pm for an hour, then a stroll along the deck to the ice cream bar to sample the delights. The coffee ice-cream is out of this world (and the butter pecan isn't bad either) especially with the assorted nuts. 2nd helping of coffee ice-cream and assorted nuts. Work off the 3rd helping of coffee ice-cream with assorted nuts and butterscotch sauce with a game of paddle tennis. Mrs nadge is by the pool most days relaxing and reading, or taking time to do some needlepoint. Early evening is time for some ice-cream, and then a well-earned rest before getting ready for one of the cocktail parties that we were invited to, or cocktails in our cabin, or cheese and wine in the art room. Down to late seating dinner -- the food is wonderful, the service top notch. On to the show, or one of the headline entertainers, finishing up either at karaoke or in the Avenue Saloon listening to Jeff Deutsch.

Entertainment During the cruise we played the "what job would I like to have on this ship?" game. Something not too demanding that enables you to cruise for a salary!! Well, if I could sing I'd like to be part of the acapella group The Castaways. They were brilliant, but over an 11 night cruise they performed for a maximum of 2 hours (1 hour for each sitting) -- hardly a strenuous position. Admittedly, they did take charge of the trivia quiz, and they ran the karaoke (3 times). It's just a shame that we couldn't enjoy them more.

The shows were very, very good, but repetitive. It's basically more of the same. Very professional, amazing costumes, excellent singing and dancing, but we all found ourselves nodding off at various stages of the performances. (Maybe the effect of too much booze, I hear you asking!!) My favourite was The Envelope Please which I thought was very well done, whilst the Cole Porter effort was boring -- probably because I didn't know the numbers. Cole, however, was my mum's favourite.

The headline entertainers were good. There was a Russian lady pianist who now lives in America, and a violinist who were both okay but they're not my cup of tea. The singer Brenda Cochrane was excellent but she was only on for about 30 minutes, and I was very pleasantly surprised by the comedian Jimmy Travis. He's apparently very famous in America though I'd never heard of him. I thought he might be too American for me but I enjoyed his humour very much. The last night illusionist wasn't too bad, but the lady who was "volunteered" to help him in his first trick stole the show with her total apathy.

Service Apart from our stewardess, about whom Crystal should take the blame, exemplary.

Ports and Shore Excursions Apart from traversing the Panama Canal we had four port days consisting of Aruba, Antigua, St. Maarten and St. Thomas, none of which we had visited before. We didn't particularly fancy any of the excursions which were bus sightseeing tours, if only for the reason that I hate travelling in buses and tend to get travel sick. I also feel that some of the tours are very expensive and can very often be found privately much cheaper.

This again brings up the eternal question of ship tours verses private tours. For example, we'd thought about getting the Crystal transfer on embarkation day which included sightseeing, from San Jose to Caldera, which cost $88 a person. Our private taxi (transfer only) for seven of us with ALL of our luggage (bearing in mind that we'd had 2-1/2 shopping days in New York before the cruise!) cost $110. Even adding on maybe another $100 if we'd done some sightseeing, there's still no comparison. On the other hand, you know that the ship's tours are reputable and they do what it says on the packet, and perhaps most importantly the ship will wait for you should anything untoward occur.

So we looked at the tours, dismissed any plain sightseeing ones, and chose to take part in two activities that we wouldn't normally do. In Aruba we went kayaking and snorkeling (quite expensive at $75 each), and in St. Maarten we chose the beginners scuba diving lesson/dive (fairly reasonable at $66 each). The kayaking was actually very good, with a personable guide/instructor which can make all the difference to any tour. We kayaked along the coast for about half an hour to a little beach where we had a little rest and a drink, then donned some snorkel equipment and life-jackets and swam out to see the coral. The last time I snorkeled was over 25 years ago in Sharm el-Sheikh and Nuweiba and I was looking forward to trying it again. The sea was a bit choppy which made progress difficult and made me feel a bit seasick. I'd been expecting it on the ship and happily I'd been fine, but I wasn't expecting to feel sick whilst snorkeling. I managed to survive, and what was even more surprising was that we didn't capsize our double kayak, especially on the way back when the sea got rough again. We were very proud of ourselves.

Scuba diving in St. Maarten was very nerve-racking. As first timers it's hard to get your head around the fact that you can breathe underwater. You have to make yourself relax. The instructors were excellent and I can heartily recommend this tour for the way it was run and led. After passing our "3 Skills Test" we actually dived to down to around 30 feet which was about three times deeper than I had originally envisaged. I don't think I'll particularly go diving again but it certainly is a great way to get an introduction to it.

After our kayaking in Aruba we became quick-change artists back on board, skipped lunch, and out again exploring within 15 minutes. Our kayak guide (originally from Brazil) had told us that the Portuguese parts of the local Papiamento language were brought to Aruba from Brazil when the Jewish community there was expelled (1694) after Portugal had re-conquered Brazil from Holland. He said that the Jewish community in Aruba is now assimilated but that there is still a Jewish cemetery on the island, so we of course were determined to find it. The town was pretty empty as it was the day after carnival week so everyone was "sleeping it off", but we finally managed to make ourselves understood and we were given directions. The cemeteries are all one after the other, a great big Catholic one, a small Protestant one, and a little Jewish one. It was very interesting to see that the cemetery is still being utilized and kept in very good condition.

Disembarking in Antigua we could hardly fail to notice the 3 other huge cruise ships in port with us. Only about 10,000 people unloading on to the island that morning. We hadn't booked a ship tour that day, so just took an official taxi tour from the end of the pier. My mum was with us that day whilst my sisters + spouses did their own thing. She can't walk very far so a taxi seemed like a good idea at the time. In fact it was a brilliant idea and for only $25 each we went on a 3-1/2 hour tour of the island in a nice new air-conditioned van, stopping off at the local spots, with time at various look-out points and also the famous Nelson Dockyard. Well worth it. This is in comparison with the official tour which did exactly the same thing (we saw the Crystal bus at points along the way) which cost $53 a person (see earlier discussion). We left the taxi in downtown St. Johns on main street, about 15-20 minutes walk from the ship. We ambled back doing bits of shopping on the way, so in the end we spent about two hours walking around. In case you're wondering, when it comes to shopping my mum has great stamina!

In St. Maarten we had our scuba diving in the afternoon so we went exploring in the morning by ourselves. We walked into town about 15 minutes away to Philipsburg, then caught a local bus to the French side to see what Marigot had to offer. Driving along the bumpy road all the signs were in English, but as soon we reached the French side the road was a lot better kept and the signs were in French. Shops don't really open till 10:00 am so we walked around, went to the sea front and then made our way to the open air market. Lots of stalls. Yes, of course we bought some bits and pieces. We're first time tourists in the Caribbean.

Finally we arrived at St. Thomas. To tell you the truth, this was the third port day in a row and it's exhausting. We would have preferred to have these days staggered. I don't know how people manage the port-intensive itineraries with hardly any sea days. As you all know St. Thomas is part of the United States so we had to go through the US immigration process. This was made very easy for us by Crystal as the immigration officials came on board to process us there, with separate rooms for US and non-US citizens. Two huge advantages were that firstly the whole process took about 45 seconds instead of the "hours" at a port or an airport, and it secondly it meant that we didn't have to do it in Miami which was the next stop for disembarkation.

Again we explored on foot, walking about 15-20 minutes into town and seeing what was on offer. We had no specific plan other than to wander around and go and find the synagogue which is the second oldest continuously functioning synagogue in the western hemisphere, dating back to 1796. We duly found the synagogue which lives on Synagogue Hill, and spent some time in the little museum reading through the history of the place. We found Britannia House where the old British Consuls lived, with a very friendly curator who gave us background information. Afterwards we went shop crawling in what cruise director Scott Peterson called Shopper's Disneyland, but we were disappointed. They were all basically the same, over-priced jewellery and over-priced souvenirs. Back at the port there are seven "shop buildings". Each "building" is really a street of shops but the same outlets are in each street so really there's hardly any choice at all. Even the single malt whisky that I looked at wasn't particularly cheap and there was a very poor selection. A much better drinks (liquor) shop is to be found on the pier in Antigua. All in all a pretty place but not one that I'd rush back to.

Disembarkation This was handled with Crystal's usual efficiency. Everyone received their colour-coded luggage labels and exact departure time from the ship. Unfortunately there was a problem with US customs so everything was held up by about an hour and a quarter. Once the go-ahead was given everything proceeded according to plan. The only problem was that for some unexplained reason (though we did ask) the Bistro did not open at 9:00 like it was meant to. That meant that there was nowhere to get a decent cup of coffee and a piece of cake whilst we were waiting. Maybe they were afraid of being swamped by passengers because everyone was in the Starlight Club waiting to disembark. As soon as disembarkation started the Bistro opened. Mrs nadge likes her coffee and croissant in the morning and we'd elected not to get room service in favour of the Bistro, so we were a tad disgruntled. Our flight out of Miami was only at 17:30 so we knew we had hours to kill beforehand. Taking Judith's advice we asked the concierge about transfers, who organised us on the Crystal transfer ($33 per person) which included transfer to the Hilton airport hotel for a light lunch, keeping all the luggage under lock and key whilst we waited and relaxed by the hotel pool, then transfer to the airport and escort during check-in. It was well worth it as we would have only had to wait out those hours at the airport with all our luggage.

Reasonable flight from Miami to Heathrow (about 8 hours) then another 5 hours to Tel Aviv. It was a bit foggy in London that morning so we were stuck on the plane for an extra hour and a half till we could take off. Arrived home safely about 36 hours after leaving the ship, and were met at the airport by four of our kids which was really nice.

Summary As many other people have said, the two main impressions that one takes away from the cruise is the quality of the service and the friendliness of both the passengers and the crew. The crew's friendliness is truly genuine and we appreciated it.

Highlights My Mum's birthday "the whole reason for the holiday" was really nice. We woke up early and gathered in her cabin for present giving. Her various grandchildren had also made her cards and presents, and there were balloons and decorations in the cabin courtesy of our stewardess. We gathered again for cocktails and more present giving before dinner, during which she was serenaded by all the personnel and we had a birthday cake of course. She was also serenaded by the Castaways at karaoke that evening. All in all a great day.

Mrs nadge looking beautiful all dressed up with plenty of places to go.

Mozart tea and the Amadeus hot chocolate. I was going for Patty's record (Paws10) as I managed three in 35 minutes. I started feeling a bit sick so I stopped after that! I'll have to pace myself better next time.

The service. Mum had a maintenance issue with the bath. It took 3 visits to sort it out. The next day she received a box of chocolates as an apology from Crystal because the service hadn't been up to scratch. She'd never even said a word to anyone about it. That's service.

One day I came in to lunch late just to pick up the others before trivia, as I'd been playing in the paddle tennis competition and I didn't feel like eating. The head waiter was genuinely disappointed that I wasn't staying to eat.

The best recommendation I can give is that I've been smiling as I've been writing this, remembering all the good times on board.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: November 26, 2005
Very high-end Cruise Line. Preferred by retirees - average age was 70 plus. This is not a ship for younger Cruisers or kids. There are many formal nights. Even the 'informal' is formal in reality. Service is excellent. Food is very good and the entertainment is also very good. We were on a 10 day cruise and the intinerary was quite good. Pros - Food, service. Cons - So so beds (though you can order different pillow types), pushy Spa staff who will try to sell you products.

Read More
 
World Cruise
Publication Date: April 14, 2003

The April 14 cruise was last segment of World cruise.

The ship was clean and inviting as in the past, but it soon became obvious that all was not well.caused I think by administration wishing to cut costs.

Embarkation as usual , but the staff member who escorted me to the cabin was on his first day of working for Crystal, He got lost.fortunately I knew the ship better than he did.

There were only 325 passengers, 100 of whom were Full World cruisers and this created a division of "sheep" and goats"

Dining even for dinner was "open seating", doors opened at 7pm and closed at 9pm. This was a very bad idea With the gratuities still on the individual system, the staff knew they were going to be misssing money on the last night. The kitchen could not cope with some passengers eating desert while others were just starting with the appetizer.

This seemed to produce chaos in the kitchen. What arrived was quite different to that ordered.

"Fresh raspberries with Vanilla ice cream" came up as "Bluberries with whipped cream","Fried oysters" came up as "oysters Rockafeller","Fried onion rings" came as two

spoonfuls of "braised chopped onions" (like those on top of a hamburger" At breakfast I cut into my pancake and a mess of uncooked batter oozed over my plate. An order of "link sausages with broiled tomato" arrived on a large plate, it consisted of one thin sausage and half a tomato.! I was told the kitchen had not got enough sausages! I have never has this happen on my previous 9 cruises with Crystal. There were other happenings also which made for difficulties.

The President of Crystal came on board for the last 5 days, he held a public forum in the Galaxy to brief us on the "future of Crystal" Full World cruisers demanded that in future the line would not sell segments , or would price the segments much higher per day than the full cruise "that will limit the numbers" To my astonishment he agreed to that suggestion, failing to point out that Crystal could not operate with just 100 passengers on board.

I am just your "Mrs Average", I dress well but do not buy expensives wines, a $1000 St John suit or $30,000 necklace in the shops on board. The full World cruisers did not want "segment" passengers or "Mr and Mrs Average "on what they had looked upon as their private yacht, and Crystal's President made it clear he supports that idea.

I think Crystal is making a big mistake It is "Mr and Mrs. Average " who make up the bulk of the cruising public.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Sydney to Hong Kong
Publication Date: March 7, 2002

I cruised the third leg of the Symphony's world cruise which started in Sydney and ended 24 days later in Hong Kong. Embarkation was quick and easy and in less than 10 minutes I was sipping champagne in my cabin on deck 9. The room was spotless and my stewardess introduced herself and asked if there was anything I needed. I spent the next hour unpacking my luggage and waiting to be on the balcony to experience the sail away from Sydney Harbor. (As an aside, I shipped by bags via FedEx and they arrived at the ship in plenty of time.) Our first stop was Cairns, for a two day overnight. I participated in a tour of the Rainforestation, and an amphibious duck ride along with a train trip from Kuranda to Cairns. This was the best trip to experience Australia's wildlife---I got to hold a koala and pet a wallaby. Our next stop was Darwin, which is an interesting city and much smaller than I expected. We went on a tour of the jumping crocodiles. An OK tour, but seeing the crocs up close was quite interesting. Crystal decided

to cancel our two stops in Indonesia due to the international situation, which meant we had additional time in Singapore. What a great place to shop. It's a very metropolitian city, and impecibly clean. Next we had two stops in Vietnam, one for Ho Chi Minh City and three days later in Ha Long Bay, for Hanoi. These are two places I've always wanted to see and to say it was an education is an understatement. Both Ho Chi Minh City and Hanoi are culturally exciting, highly populated, polluted, dusty, dirty, friendly, noisy, in need of repair, and wonderful all in one big package. Believe it or not, there is still propaganda about the Vietnam war in many places, but Americans are very welcomed. Since they've only recently opened their doors to tourism, I can suspect that things will only improve for the tourists. Hong Kong was our final stop on this segment, and unfortunately, I had to return home.

As for the ship, Crystal, as always, was fantastic and they continue to amaze with their 6 star food and service. I opted for late seating, which is the smart thing to do if you're planning on doing a lot of port tours. My dining companions were fun and interesting and we never lacked for stimulating conversation. My waiter and assistant waiter were fabulous, and the wine steward was extremely knowledgable. Food selections were varied with a choice of four appetizers, four soups, two salads, four main courses, a pasta course, and four desserts. You could also opt for their vegetarian selections, or order off the menu. Some nights I just wanted a salad and grilled salmon, and this was taken care of with no problem. If you wanted caviar every night, you got it. One of my tablemates wanted mashed potatoes every night, and raspberries for dessert, and he had them without asking. I know people dislike Crystal because of their assigned seating at dinner, but as a single woman traveler, I much prefer assigned seating as it allows me to meet people early on in the cruise. For breakfast and lunch you could chose between the formal dining room, the Lido buffet or the Trident grill for burgers and things like that. (Boy, do they make a great chicken caesar wrap) Then of course, there's the alternate restaurants, Prego and Jade Garden, which I visited more than once each. The Jade Garden was taken over for 10 days by Chinois, Wolfgang Puck's restaurant in Santa Monica. It was the absolute highlight of the cruise. Their Asian delights were so popular that they were booked every night to capacity. It's nice to have choices when cruising.

Crystal has so many options for days at sea. There are dance lessons with the gentlemen hosts, computer classes, bridge lessons, wine tasting, cooking lessons, and lectures by some very well known individuals such as Garrick Utley, and Harm de Blij. Evening entertainment continues to be a Crystal stong point with everything from their Broadway-style shows to classical artists, comics and their new Repertory at Sea group who stage well-known one act plays.

Crystal continues to offer their loyal customers what can only be regarded as one of the finest experiences in cruising. When the new Serenity comes on line in 2003, it will only add to the great food and service that had become a trademark of Crystal Cruise Lines.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Panama Canal
Publication Date: January 5, 2002

This was our third Crystal Cruise and second on the Crystal Harmony. They are rated at the top by several travel and cruise books and magazines, and it is a reputation they well deserve. Their fortes are service, food and entertainment. The dining room offers a wide variety, all served hot and to perfection with few exceptions. The menu requires a bit of interpretation because the vegetarian, lighter side and chef recommendations are separate from the regular list, thus requiring integration for a complete picture of the many delicious choices. Their specialty restaurants, one Japanese and one Italian, compare with any major city's top restaurants - both in food and service. A $6 per person gratuity is recommended for each time you eat in one of these. A final note on food pertains to the Lido buffet. It is very much above the typical ship Lido in quality and selection. I would never expect to find crème brulee as one of the buffet dessert bar offerings nor osso bucco as an entree, yet both appeared as part of the daily luncheon selections.

Entertainment is also spectacular. The song and dance production team and

accompanying orchestra demonstrate a level of proficiency equal to performers in Las Vegas or with a traveling Broadway company. Costumes are elaborate. Variety acts are also of a very high quality. The only criticism I could offer is there does not seem to be as rapid a turnover on production shows as on some other lines. We last cruised with the Harmony in 1998 and two of the production shows are the same in 2002. Two supplemental lecturers, along with golf, dance and bridge instruction keep one well occupied on days at sea. My wife, particularly, enjoyed the Crystal Computer University where there is time to learn and use e-mail, Internet and word processing. Being a golfer, I was pleasantly surprised to find two group lessons a day when at sea. The instructor gives every attendee the chance to hit several balls with personal suggestions on needed improvements. The usual Scrabble, shuffleboard, ping pong, paddle tennis, crafts, trivia games, Bingo, and other shipboard standards are available every day. The spa and exercise facility seemed to draw approval from a few passengers that mentioned using them although we had no direct experiences with them. There are few children on this ship and very limited facilities - a small playroom and a few Sony playstations. The typical passenger would be about 50-70 and reasonably affluent and educated. Both our Harmony sailings have been during winter months so the composition could shift in the summer.

Shore excursions are well-organized and certainly cover the highlights of the port area. We did have one glitch in a driver overloading his mini-van to get extra fares when the Crystal rep was elsewhere. The shore excursion office gave us a full refund stating customer satisfaction was paramount. We took an excursion in each port, and all ran on time and covered the advertised venues.

Cabins on the Harmony are not as generous in size as on many other luxury ships, nor even on HAL. We had a verandah deluxe with 246 square feet. Regular cabins are about 190. Bathrooms are particularly small though efficient. Beds are quite comfortable and there is good lighting. Our biggest complaint about the cabins is that they are full of "squeaks and creaks." There are lots of random rattles, etc, even in very smooth seas. You can also hear heavy occupants walking or children playing vigorously in the cabin directly above yours.

Public space is excellent. Very roomy lounges with comfortable seating. Main showroom does have a few obstruction supports toward the back; however, we never had a problem getting good seating even five minutes before show time. The casino is adequate for the size of the ship. Being a slot machine player, I was disappointed that the machines are relatively old style. Only two or three with secondary bonus screens, and those are nowhere close to what you find in the larger casinos on the mainland U.S.

The entire staff is courteous and friendly. There is definitely an attitude of the "passenger is our lifeblood" so we had better be sure there is customer satisfaction! This is an excellent example of getting what you pay for. Crystal costs a bit more, but the service and quality make you feel as if you are still getting good value for what you spent. We certainly give it the six star recommendation claimed.

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Crystal Symphony
Publication Date: March 1, 2001

I just returned from cruising the second segment of the World Cruise on board the Crystal Symphony. We embarked in Hong Kong and cruised to Vietnam, Singapore, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Cochin India, Mumbai (Bombay) India, and Dubai UAE. With this cruise, Crystal proves why they are constantly awarded the "World's Best" by many major cruise and travel publications.

Food and service were consistently above average, as was the entertainment and enrichment lecturers. Crystal does an excellent job with finding guest lecturers that fit the area in which they are cruising. Middle East experts Christopher Ogden and Peter Arnett gave some of the most interesting lectures on the history of the Middle East, and their own personal experiences in that region.

In Vietnam we stopped in Hong Gai and Ho Chi Minh City. Vietnam is a country that is going through some incredible changes. It's not at all what I expected. I guess I expected to see a run down third world country, but what I did see was a country striving to become a leader in tourism and trade. The people were friendly and helpful. There still seems to be some

aftereffects of the war, but the younger generation is striving to overcome these problems.

Hong Kong and Singapore and booming cities with huge skyscrapers and a mix of cultures. They are very clean and safe cities to tour, and the shopping is fantastic.

I was a little concerned about going into Myanmar (formerly Burma) because of the recent political unrest, but my fears were quickly put to rest as we were welcomed like long-lost family. The Symphony made history by becoming the largest cruise ship to dock at the port outside of Yangon (formerly Rangoon). As we walked off the ship, we were greeted by masses of cameras and TV reporters who were on hand to capture the moment. As many of the passengers walked the streets of Yangon, they were approached by the locals and asked if they were from the big ship. I guess the Symphony made the local TV news reports. We had many choices for shore excursions, but the best by far was the trip to the Shwedegon Pagoda at Night. This is the largest pagoda in the world, and to see it at night is truly an experience. The building is gold leaf with a huge diamond at the top. It's a mystical place that does not fail to capture the imagination.

Sri Lanka is another port that has had political troubles in the recent past. I heard that Crystal had scheduled this port many times in the past, but because of the problems, they have had to skip this stop. Not so on this cruise, and thank goodness for that. We had the experience of a lifetime in seeing the Pinewalla Elephant Orphanage. This organization takes in orphaned or injured elephants and rehabilitates them. Every afternoon the elephants come down the hill to the river to bathe. We had the opportunity to get up close and personal with these gentle giants. The babies are just about the cutest creatures I've ever seen.

Mumbai (Bombay), was by far the best stop of the entire trip. 120 of us woke up early to catch a flight to Agra, the city of the Taj Mahal. On the way to the airport we were able to experience Mumbai waking up to a very hot and humid day. The city is teeming with people, sounds and exotic smells. The poverty is overwhelming as we saw hundreds of people sleeping against the curbs. Shanties coexist next to million dollar apartments. Children in school uniforms wave to our bus, and women in colorful saris were walking to work. It definitely is a city of contrasts. Our 90 minute flight took us to the city where many of us have had lifelong dreams of seeing. We boarded our buses and within minutes we were within sight of the Taj. After a careful security search, we entered the vast enclave of the Taj. We walked through the surrounding gate and got the first glimpse of this magnificent building. When you consider that this was built in the 1600s you cannot help but stand in awe. The Taj is a perfectly symmetrical structure constructed of white marble and inlaid with precious stones. Although many of the stones are missing as a result of years of looting, the Indian government now takes great care to protect this important monument. Even though the area is very crowded, there is a serenity to the place, almost a reverence. It is a place that no picture can do justice to. All too soon we had to return to Mumbai, and our home away from home.

by far, this cruise was the best of the previous 19 I have cruised. Crystal does the very best job in all areas that concern passengers like food, service, accommodations, and shore excursions. They provide the best service for women traveling alone, and they have some of the best single supplements in the industry. I, for one, cannot wait until my next Crystal voyage.

Darcin5261@aol.com
Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 1 - 7 of 7 1